
  
  

Colorado Emergency Medical Services Provider Certification 
Fingerprint Instruction Guide 

 
 

Current Colorado certification is required to practice as an EMS Provider in Colorado 
NREMT certification does not constitute Colorado certification 
Colorado does not recognize EMS Provider certification from other states 

 
  

Criminal History Record Checks 

A fingerprint-based criminal history record check is required for all first time applicants for EMS 
Provider certification in the State of Colorado. Renewing applicants are only required to be re-
fingerprinted if they have lived out of state any time during the last 3 years. 

Directions: 1) Fingerprints must be taken by a law enforcement agency on an official blue-lined 
fingerprint card  (For information on live scans, contact the CBI directly at 303-239-4208) 
2) Circle “FBI” in box 24 of the fingerprint card if you have lived out of state any time 
during the past 3 years. Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records 
of the FBI.  
3) Make payment out to “State of Colorado” 
4) Mail or deliver your completed fingerprint card with payment to: 

Colorado Bureau of Investigation 
690 Kipling Street, Suite 318 
Denver, CO  80215 

Tips: 1) Take these instructions with you when you get fingerprinted, as proper coding of the 
fingerprint card (specifically boxes 5 and 11, as shown on the following page) is vital for 
successful processing 
2) Early submission of fingerprint cards to CBI is strongly encouraged, as processing may 
take 2 to 3 weeks 
3) DO NOT send your fingerprint cards and payment to the Department, as this will delay 
the processing of your application 
4) CBI accepts certified checks, cashier’s checks, money orders or preprinted business 
checks. Visa/MasterCard or cash are accepted for hand delivered requests only. 
5 ) RESULTS of your fingerprinting will come directly to the Department – please wait at 
least four weeks before calling to see if we have received the results 
6) CBI processes fingerprint cards; they DO NOT take fingerprints 
7) Do not fold or staple cards and please type or print legibly 

Fees: CBI Only: 
$17.50 

CBI with FBI (if you’ve lived out of state any time during the past 3 years): 
$39.50 

Additional 
Information: 

CBI website 
http://www.cbi.state.co.us/id/index.html or (303) 239-4208 
Challenging FBI criminal history records 
https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks/challenge-of-an-
identity-history-summary 

 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.cbi.state.co.us/id/index.html


Fingerprint Card Field Explanations 
 

 
 

1 SIGNATURE Signature of person being fingerprinted 

2 RESIDENCE Complete mailing address of person fingerprinted: city, state and zip 
code 

3A DATE Date fingerprints taken 
3B SIGNATURE OF LEO Signature of Law Enforcement Official taking fingerprints 

4 EMPLOYER 
Colorado Dept of Public Health 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 

5 REASON  FINGERPRINTED Print:  CRS 25-3.5-203 EMT Certification 
6 FINGERPRINTS All applicant prints must be taken by a law enforcement agency 
7 NAME Last, First, Middle Name 
8 AKA Maiden name, other married name or any other name used  
9 ORI To be filled in by Law Enforcement Official 
10 CITENZENSHIP U.S. OR Alien Registration number (if applicable) 

11 OCA Print CBI account number:  CONCJ3150 
12 FBI Leave this field blank 
13 ARMED FORCES Leave this field blank 
14 SOC Social Security Number 
15 MISCELLANEOUS Leave this field blank 
16 SEX CODES M (Male) or F (female) 
17 RACE CODES W (White or Hispanic), B (Black), A (Asian), I (Indian) 
18 HEIGHT Feet and Inches (5'6"=506, 6'=600) 
19 WEIGHT 090, 100, 250, etc. (pounds) 
20 EYE CODES BLK-Black, BLU-Blue, BRO-Brown, GRN-Green, GRY-Gray, HAZ-Hazel 

21 HAIR CODES BAL-Bald, BLK-Black, BLN-Blonde, BRO-Brown,  GRY-Gray, RED-
Red/Auburn, WHI-White 

22 POB Place of Birth (State 2-letter code only) or Country 
23 DOB Date of Birth (MM DD YYYY format) 

24 FBI Circle “FBI”  if requesting an additional FBI check ($39.50 payment required) 
 

CONCJ3150 
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