
 

CCrriimmiinnaall  HHiissttoorryy  RReeccoorrdd  CChheecckkss 

A fingerprint-based criminal history record check is required for all first time applicants for EMS Provider 
certification in the State of Colorado. Renewing applicants are only required to be re-fingerprinted if they 
have lived out of state any time during the last 3 years. 

Directions: 1) Fingerprints must be taken by a law enforcement agency on an official blue-lined fingerprint 
card  (For information on live scans, contact the CBI directly at 303-239-4208) 
2) Circle “FBI” in box 24 of the fingerprint card if you have lived out of state any time during the 
past 3 years 
3) Mail or deliver your completed fingerprint card with payment to: 

Colorado Bureau of Investigation 
690 Kipling Street, Suite 318 
Denver, CO  80215 

Tips: 1) Take these instructions with you when you get fingerprinted, as proper coding of the 
fingerprint card (specifically boxes 5 and 11, as shown on the following page) is vital for 
successful processing 
2) Early submission of fingerprint cards to CBI is strongly encouraged, as processing may take 
4 to 6 weeks 
3) DO NOT send your fingerprint cards and payment to the Department, as this will delay the 
processing of your application 
4) CBI accepts certified checks, cashier’s checks, money orders or preprinted business 
checks. Visa/MasterCard or cash are accepted for hand delivered requests only. 
5 ) RESULTS of your fingerprinting will come directly to the Department – please wait at least 
four weeks before calling to see if we have received the results 
6) CBI processes fingerprint cards; they DO NOT take fingerprints 
7) Do not fold or staple cards and please type or print legibly 

Fees: CBI Only: 
$17.50 

CBI with FBI (if you’ve lived out of state any time during the past 3 years): 
$39.50 

Additional 
Information: 

CBI website 
http://www.cbi.state.co.us/id/index.html or 303-239-4208 

 
 
 

The following tips may expedite the processing of your application:  

 
The Colorado EMS Provider certification application must be complete, legible, signed and dated 
before it can be processed 

 Submit your original application – photocopies will not be accepted 

 
Include copies of your proof of identification and CPR card (and ACLS card if applicable) with 
your application packet 

 Do not include payment (unless you qualify for and are applying for provisional certification) 

 
If using the continuing education/skills competency option to renew your certification, you do not need 
to include transcripts or records with your application 

 If renewing, include your expiration date in box 3b on page 1 
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FINGERPRINT CARD FIELD EXPLANATIONS 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1 SIGNATURE Signature of person being fingerprinted 

2 RESIDENCE Complete mailing address of person fingerprinted: city, state and zip code 

3A DATE Date fingerprints taken 

3B SIGNATURE OF LEO Signature of Law Enforcement Official taking fingerprints 

4 EMPLOYER 
Colorado Dept of Public Health 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 

5 
REASON  
FINGERPRINTED 

Print:  CRS 25-3.5-203 EMT Certification 

6 FINGERPRINTS All applicant prints must be taken by a law enforcement agency 

7 NAME Last, First, Middle Name 

8 AKA Maiden name, other married name or any other name used  

9 ORI To be filled in by Law Enforcement Official 

10 CITENZENSHIP U.S. OR Alien Registration number (if applicable) 

11 OCA Print CBI account number:  CONCJ3150   

12 FBI Leave this field blank 

13 ARMED FORCES Leave this field blank 

14 SOC Social Security Number 

15 MISCELLANEOUS Leave this field blank 

16 SEX CODES M (Male) or F (female) 

17 RACE CODES W (White or Hispanic), B (Black), A (Asian), I (Indian) 

18 HEIGHT Feet and Inches (5'6"=506, 6'=600) 

19 WEIGHT 090, 100, 250, etc. (pounds) 

20 EYE CODES BLK-Black, BLU-Blue, BRO-Brown, GRN-Green, GRY-Gray, HAZ-Hazel 

21 HAIR CODES 
BAL-Bald, BLK-Black, BLN-Blonde, BRO-Brown,  GRY-Gray, RED-
Red/Auburn, WHI-White 

22 POB Place of Birth (State 2-letter code only) or Country 

23 DOB Date of Birth (MM DD YYYY format) 

24 FBI Circle “FBI”  if requesting an additional FBI check ($39.50 payment required) 
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Colorado Dept of Public Health 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 

Denver, CO 80246 


