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REGULATORY ANALYSIS 

 
1. Describe the classes of persons who will be affected by the proposed rule, including classes 

that will bear the costs of the proposed rule and classes that will benefit from the proposed 
rule. 

Colorado hospitals bear the cost of the provider fee, but also benefit from increased 
reimbursements made possible through provider fee funding.  Low-income persons benefit from 
the expanded Medicaid and Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+) eligibility.  
 
In regard to the Hospital Quality Incentive Payment, Colorado hospitals will benefit from the 
receipt of supplemental provider fee payments based on performance on measures related to the 
quality of care provided.  Medicaid clients benefit to the extent that the supplemental payments, 
as well as quality measurement and reporting activities, lead to improved quality of care and 
health outcomes. 

2. To the extent practicable, describe the probable quantitative and qualitative impact of the 
proposed rule, economic or otherwise, upon affected classes of persons. 

For FFY 2014-15, hospitals will pay approximately $526.9 million in fees, which will generate 
nearly $1.4 billion in federal funds to Colorado.  Hospitals will receive $899 million in payments 
resulting in increased reimbursement for care provided to Medicaid and CICP patients of $209 
million.  In addition, by September 2014, an estimated 225,000 Coloradans will have health 
coverage due to expansions of the Medicaid and CHP+ programs. 

 

3. Discuss the probable costs to the Department and to any other agency of the implementation 
and enforcement of the proposed rule and any anticipated effect on state revenues. 

While there are administrative costs associated with implementation of the Colorado Health Care 
Affordability Act, all such costs are covered by provider fees collected; no state General Fund is 
used. 

 

4. Compare the probable costs and benefits of the proposed rule to the probable costs and 
benefits of inaction. 

If no action is taken, the Department will not be able to collect sufficient fees from hospitals 
to fund the health coverage expansions and hospital payments to comply with state statute 
and the Medicaid State Plan agreement with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.  
The state does not currently have the resources to fund the hospital payments and coverage 
expansions under the Colorado Health Care Affordability Act in absence of the provider fees. 
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5. Determine whether there are less costly methods or less intrusive methods for achieving the 
purpose of the proposed rule. 

The state does not currently have the resources to fund the hospital payments and coverage 
expansions under the Colorado Health Care Affordability Act.  The Department began collecting 
fees from hospitals in April 2010, after the rules were established and federal approval was 
obtained.   

 

6. Describe any alternative methods for achieving the purpose for the proposed rule that were 
seriously considered by the Department and the reasons why they were rejected in favor of 
the proposed rule. 

No alternatives were considered.  These rules are necessary for the Department to comply with 
the Colorado Health Care Affordability Act under section 25.5-4-402.3, C.R.S.   
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8.2001: DEFINITIONS 1 

"Act" means the Colorado Health Care Affordability Act, C.R.S. § 25.5-4-402.3. 2 

"APR-DRG" means all patient refined-diagnosis related group. 3 

"Bad Debt" means the unpaid dollar amount for services rendered from a patient or third party payer, for 4 
which the hospital expected payment, excluding Medicare bad debt. 5 

"Charity Care" means health care services resulting from a hospital’s policy to provide health care 6 
services free of charge, or where only partial payments are expected, (not to include contractual 7 
allowances for otherwise insured patients) to individuals who meet certain financial criteria. Charity Care 8 
does not include any health care services rendered under the CICP or those classified as Bad Debt. 9 

"Charity Care Day" means a day for a recipient of the hospital’s Charity Care. 10 

"Charity Care Write-Off Charges" means the hospital’s charges for Charity Care less payments from a 11 
primary payer, less any copayment due from the client, less any other third party payments 12 

"CICP" means the Colorado Indigent Care Program, as described in 10 CCR 2505-10, Section 8.900. 13 

"CICP Day" means a day for a recipient enrolled in the CICP. 14 

"CICP Write-Off Charges" means those charges reported to the Department by the hospital in accordance 15 
with 10 CCR 2505-10, Section 8.903.C.65. 16 

"CMS" means the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 17 

"Cost-to-Charge Ratio" means the sum of the hospital’s total ancillary costs and physician costs divided 18 
by the sum of the hospital’s total ancillary charges and physician charges. 19 

"Critical Access Hospital" means a hospital qualified as a critical access hospital under 42 U.S.C. § 1395i-20 
4(c)(2) 1302 Section 1820(c) and certified as a critical access hospital by the Colorado Department of 21 
Public Health and Environment. 22 

"Diagnosis Related Group" or "DRG" means a cluster of similar conditions within a classification system 23 
used for hospital reimbursement. It reflects clinically cohesive groupings of inpatient hospitalizations that 24 
utilize similar amounts of hospital resources. 25 

"Essential Access Hospital" means a Critical Access Hospital or General Hospital located in a Rural Area 26 
with 25 or fewer licensed beds. 27 

"Fund" means the hospital provider cash fund described in C.R.S. § 25.5-4-402.3(4). 28 

"General Hospital" means a hospital licensed as a general hospital by the Colorado Department of Public 29 
Health and Environment. 30 

"High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital" means a hospital with at least 3530,000 Medicaid Days per 31 
year that provides over 30% of its total days to Medicaid and CICP clients. 32 

"HMO" means a health maintenance organization that provides health care insurance coverage to an 33 
individual. 34 
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"Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share Hospital Limit" means a hospital’s maximum allowable 1 
Disproportionate Share Hospital payment eligible for Medicaid federal financial participation allowed 2 
under 42 U.S.C. §1302 Section 1102 1396r-4. 3 

"Inpatient Services Fee" means an assessment on hospitals based on inpatient Managed Care Days and 4 
Non-Managed Care Days. 5 

"Inpatient Upper Payment Limit" means the maximum amount that Medicaid can reimburse a provider for 6 
inpatient hospital services and still receive federal financial participation. 7 

"Long Term Care Hospital" means a General Hospital that is certified as a long term care hospital by the 8 
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. 9 

"Managed Care Day" means a day listed as HMO or PPO Days on the hospital’s patient census. 10 

"Medicaid Day" means a Managed Care Day or Non-Managed Care Day for which the primary or 11 
secondary payer is Medicaid. 12 

"Medicaid Fee-for-Service Day" means a Non-Managed Care Day for which Medicaid is the primary 13 
payer. For these days the hospital is reimbursed directly through the Department’s fiscal agent. 14 

"Medicaid Managed Care Day" means a Managed Care Day for which the primary payer is Medicaid. 15 

"Medicaid NICU Day" means a Medicaid Fee-for-Service Day in a hospital’s neo-natal intensive care unit, 16 
reimbursed under APR-DRG 588, 591, 593, 602, 609, 630, or 631 up to the average length of stay. 17 

"Medicaid Nursery Day" means a Managed Care Day or Non-Managed Care Day provided to Medicaid 18 
newborns while the mother is in the hospital. 19 

"Medicaid Psychiatric Day" means a Managed Care Day or Non-Managed Care Day provided to a 20 
Medicaid recipient in the hospital’s sub-acute psychiatric unit. 21 

"Medicaid Rehabilitation Day" means a Managed Care Day or Non-Managed Care Day provided to a 22 
Medicaid recipient in the hospital’s sub-acute rehabilitation unit. 23 

"Medicare Fee-for-Service Day" means a Non-Managed Care Day for which Medicare is the primary 24 
payer and the hospital is reimbursed on the basis of a DRG. 25 

"Medicare HMO Day" means a Managed Care Day for which the primary payer is Medicare. 26 

"Medicare-Medicaid Dual Eligible Day" means a day for which the primary payer is Medicare and the 27 
secondary payer is Medicaid. 28 

"Medicare Cost Report" means the Medicare hospital cost report, form CMS 2552-96 or CMS 2552-10, or 29 
any successor form created by CMS. 30 

"MMIS" means the Medicaid Management Information System, the Department’s Medicaid claims 31 
payment system. 32 

"MIUR" means Medicaid inpatient utilization rate which is calculated as Medicaid Days divided by total 33 
hospitals days. 34 

"Non-Managed Care Day" means a day for which the primary payer is an indemnity insurance plan or 35 
other insurance plan not serving as an HMO or PPO. 36 
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"Non-State-Owned Government Hospital" means a hospital that is either owned or operated by a local 1 
government. 2 

"Other Payers Day" means a day where the primary payer is not Medicaid or Medicare, which is not a 3 
CICP Day, Charity Care Day, or Uninsured/Self Pay Day, and which is not a Managed Care Day. 4 

"Outpatient Services Fee" means an assessment on hospitals based on outpatient hospital charges 5 

"Outpatient Upper Payment Limit" means the maximum amount that Medicaid can reimburse a provider 6 
for outpatient hospital services and still receive federal financial participation. 7 

"Oversight and Advisory Board" means the hospital provider fee oversight and advisory board described 8 
in C.R.S. § 25.5-4-402.3(6). 9 

"Pediatric Specialty Hospital" means a hospital that provides care exclusively to pediatric populations. 10 

"PPO" means a preferred provider organization that is a type of managed care health plan. 11 

"Privately-Owned Hospital" means a hospital that is privately owned and operated. 12 

"Psychiatric Hospitals" means a hospital licensed as a psychiatric hospital by the Colorado Department of 13 
Public Health and Environment. 14 

"Rehabilitation Hospital" means an inpatient rehabilitation facility. 15 

"Rural Area" means a county outside a Metropolitan Statistical Area designated by the United States 16 
Office of Management and Budget. 17 

"State-Owned Government Hospital" means a hospital that is either owned or operated by the State. 18 

"State University Teaching Hospital" means a High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital which provides 19 
supervised teaching experiences to graduate medical school interns and residents enrolled in a state 20 
institution of higher education, and in which more than fifty percent (50%) of its credentialed physicians 21 
are members of the faculty at a state institution of higher education. 22 

"Third-Party Medicaid Day" means a day for which third party coverage, other than Medicare, is the 23 
primary payer and Medicaid is the secondary payer. 24 

"Uncompensated CICP Costs" means CICP Write-Off Charges multiplied by the most recent provider-25 
specific audited Cost-to-Charge Ratio and inflated forward to the payment year. 26 

"Uncompensated Charity Care Costs" means Charity Care Write-Off Charges multiplied by the most 27 
recent provider-specific audited Cost-to-Charge Ratio and inflated forward to the payment year. 28 

"Uniform Inpatient and Outpatient Medicaid and Uninsured Care Cost and Charge Report" or "Uniform 29 
Cost Report" means the online hospital data reporting system which combines information from hospitals’ 30 
Medicare Cost Reports, the MMIS, hospital financial statements, and other hospital records. 31 

“Uninsured Cost” means uninsured charges multiplied by the most recent provider-specific audited Cost-32 
to-Charge ratio from the cost reports applicable to the Uniform Cost Report. 33 

"Uninsured/Self Pay Day" means a day for self-pay patients and patients without third party health 34 
insurance coverage. Uninsured/Self Pay Day does not include Charity Care Days or CICP Days. 35 
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"Uninsured/Self Pay Write Off Charges" means charges for self-pay patients and those with no third party 1 
coverage less adjustments for a hospital’s courtesy or uninsured or self-pay policy discounts. 2 

"Urban Center Safety Net Specialty Hospital" means a hospital located in a Metropolitan Statistical Area 3 
designated by the United States Office of Management and Budget where its Medicaid Days plus CICP 4 
Days relative to total days, rounded to the nearest percent, equals or exceeds 65%. 5 

6 
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8.2003: HOSPITAL PROVIDER FEE 1 

8.2003.A. OUTPATIENT SERVICES FEE 2 

1. Federal requirements. The Outpatient Services Fee is subject to federal approval by CMS. The 3 
Department shall demonstrate to CMS, as necessary for federal financial participation, that the 4 
Outpatient Services Fee is in compliance with 42 U.S.C. §§ 1396b(w), 1396b(w)(3)(E), and 5 
1396b(w)(4)  1302 Sections 1903(w), 1903(w)(3)(E), and 1903(w)(4). 6 

2. Exempted hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals and Rehabilitation 7 
Hospitals are exempted from the Outpatient Services Fee. 8 

3. Calculation methodology. The Outpatient Services Fee is calculated on an annual basis as 9 
1.59392.0119% of total hospital outpatient charges. High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospitals’ 10 
Outpatient Services Fee is discounted by 0.84%. 11 

8.2003.B. INPATIENT SERVICES FEE 12 

1. Federal requirements. The Inpatient Services Fee is subject to federal approval by CMS. The 13 
Department shall demonstrate to CMS, as necessary for federal financial participation, that the 14 
Inpatient Services Fee is in compliance with 42 U.S.C. 1302 Sections 1903(w), 1903(w)(3)(E), 15 
and 1903(w)(4). 16 

2. Exempted hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals and Rehabilitation 17 
Hospitals are exempted from the Inpatient Services Fee. 18 

3. Calculation methodology. The Inpatient Services Fee is calculated on an annual per inpatient day 19 
basis of $71.3476.16 per day for Managed Care Days and $318.83 340.39 per day for all other 20 
Days as reported to the Department by each hospital by April 30 with the following exceptions: 21 

a. a. High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospitals’ Inpatient Services Fee is discounted 22 
to $37.2439.76 per day for Managed Care Days and $166.46177.72 per day for all other 23 
Days., and 24 

b. b. Essential Access Hospitals’ Inpatient Services Fee is discounted to $28.5330.46 25 
per day for Managed Care Days and $127.53136.16 per day for all other Days. 26 

8.2003.C. ASSESSMENT OF FEE 27 

1. The Department shall calculate the Inpatient Services Fee and Outpatient Services Fee under 28 
this section on an annual basis in accordance with the Act. Upon receiving a favorable 29 
recommendation by the Oversight and Advisory Board, the Inpatient Services Fee and Outpatient 30 
Services Fee shall be subject to approval by the CMS and the Medical Services Board. Following 31 
these approvals, the Department shall notify hospitals, in writing or by electronic notice, of the 32 
annual fee to be collected each year, the methodology to calculate such fee, and the fee 33 
assessment schedule. Hospitals shall be notified, in writing or by electronic notice, at least thirty 34 
calendar days prior to any change in the dollar amount of the Inpatient Services Fee and the 35 
Outpatient Services Fee to be assessed.  36 

2. The Inpatient Services Fee and the Outpatient Services Fee will be assessed on the basis of the 37 
qualifications of the hospital in the year the fee is assessed as confirmed by the hospital in the 38 
data confirmation report. The Department will prorate and adjust the Inpatient Services Fee and 39 
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Outpatient Services Fee for the expected volume of services for hospitals that open, close, 1 
relocate or merge during the payment year. 2 

8.2003.D. REFUND OF EXCESS FEES 3 

1. If, at any time, fees have been collected for which the intended expenditure has not received 4 
approval for federal Medicaid matching funds by CMS at the time of collection, the Department 5 
shall refund to each hospital its proportion of such fees paid within five business days of receipt. 6 
The Department shall notify each hospital of its refund amount in writing or by electronic notice. 7 
The refunds shall be paid to each hospital according to the process described in Section 8 
8.2002.B. 9 

2. After the close of each State fiscal year and no later than the following August 31, the Department 10 
shall present a summary of fees collected, expenditures made or encumbered, and interest 11 
earned in the Fund during the State fiscal year to the Oversight and Advisory Board. 12 

a. If fees have been collected for which the intended expenditure has received approval for 13 
federal Medicaid matching funds by CMS, but the Department has not expended or 14 
encumbered those fees at the close of each State fiscal year: 15 

i. The total dollar amount to be refunded shall equal the total fees collected, less 16 
expenditures made or encumbered, plus any interest earned in the Fund, less 17 
four percent of the estimated expenditures for health coverage expansions 18 
authorized by the Act for the subsequent State fiscal year as most recently 19 
published by the Department. 20 

ii. The refund amount for each hospital shall be calculated in proportion to that 21 
hospital’s portion of all fees paid during the State fiscal year. 22 

iii. The Department shall notify each hospital of its refund in writing or by electronic 23 
notice by September 15 each year. The refunds shall be paid to each hospital by 24 
September 30 of each year according to the process described in Section 25 
8.2002.B. 26 

iv. For State fiscal year ending June 30, 2011 only, the Department shall not refund 27 
unencumbered and unexpended fees for which the intended expenditure had 28 
received approval for federal Medicaid matching funds by CMS. Unencumbered 29 
and unexpended fees in the Fund shall remain in the Fund to be used for 30 
allowable expenditures in State fiscal year 2011-12. 31 

v. For State fiscal year ending June 30, 2012 only, the Department shall not refund 32 
unencumbered and unexpended fees for which the intended expenditure had 33 
received approval for federal Medicaid matching funds by CMS. Unencumbered 34 
and unexpended fees in the Fund shall remain in the Fund to be used for 35 
allowable expenditures in State fiscal year 2012-13. 36 

vi. For State fiscal year ending June 30, 2013 only, the Department shall not refund 37 
unencumbered and unexpended fees for which the intended expenditure had 38 
received approval for federal Medicaid matching funds by CMS. Unencumbered 39 
and unexpended fees in the Fund shall remain in the Fund to be used for 40 
allowable expenditures in State fiscal year 2013-14. 41 

8.2004: SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID AND DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL PAYMENTS 42 
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8.2004.A. CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL SUPPLEMENTAL PAYMENTS 1 

1. All supplemental payments are prospective payments subject to the Inpatient Upper Payment 2 
Limit and Outpatient Upper Payment Limit, calculated using historical data, with no reconciliation 3 
to actual data for the payment period. In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other 4 
unforeseen payment calculation errors are realized after a supplemental payment has been 5 
made, reconciliations and adjustments to impacted hospital payments may be made retroactively, 6 
as determined by the Department. 7 

2. No hospital shall receive a payment exceeding its Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share 8 
Hospital Limit. If upon review, the CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital Ppayment, described in 9 
10 CCR 2505-10, Section 8.2004.D, or the Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment 10 
exceeds the Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share Hospital Limit for any qualified hospital, 11 
that the hospital’s payment shall be reduced to the Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share 12 
Hospital Limit retroactively. The amount of the retroactive reduction for the CICP Disproportionate 13 
Share Hospital payment shall be retroactively distributed to the other qualified hospitals by each 14 
hospital’s percentage of Uninsured Costs compared to total Uninsured Costs for all qualified 15 
hospitals not exceeding their Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share Hospital Limit. in the 16 
category based on the qualified hospital’s proportion of Uncompensated CICP Costs, relative to 17 
the aggregate of Uncompensated CICP Costs of all qualified providers in the category which do 18 
not exceed their Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share Hosp 19 

2. ital Limit. The amount of the retroactive reduction for the Uninsured Disproportionate Share 20 
Hospital payment shall be retroactively distributed to the other qualified hospitals in the category 21 
based on the qualified hospital’s proportion of Uncompensated Charity Care Costs relative to the 22 
aggregate of Uncompensated Charity Care Costs of all qualified providers in the category which 23 
do not exceed their Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share Hospital Limit. 24 

3. In order to receive a Supplemental Medicaid Payment or Disproportionate Share Hospital 25 
Payment, hospitals must meet the qualifications for the payment in the year the payment is 26 
received as confirmed by the hospital during the data confirmation report. Payments will be 27 
prorated and adjusted for the expected volume of services for hospitals that open, close, relocate 28 
or merge during the payment year. 29 

8.2004.B. OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 30 

1. Qualified hospitals. Hospitals or certified as a General Hospital by the Colorado Department of 31 
Public Health and Environment and provides providing outpatient hospital services to Medicaid 32 
clients shall receive this payment. 33 

1.2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 34 

2.3. Calculation methodology for payment. Hospital-specific outpatient billed charges from the 35 
Colorado Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) are multiplied by the hospital’s 36 
Medicare cost-to-charge ratio to arrive at hospital-specific outpatient billed costs. For each 37 
qualified hospital, the annual Outpatient Hospital Supplemental Medicaid Payment Supplemental 38 
Medicaid Payment equals hospital-specific outpatient billed costs, adjusted for utilization and 39 
inflation, multiplied by a percentage adjustment factor. The percentage adjustment factor may 40 
vary for sState-Oowned Government Hospitals, Nnon-sState-owned Ggovernment Hospitals 41 
owned, and pPrivately-Owned hHospitals, for urban and rural hospitals, for State University 42 
Teaching Hospitals, for Major Pediatric Teaching Hospitals, for Urban Center Safety Net 43 
Specialty Hospitals, or for other hospital classifications. The percentage adjustment factor for 44 
each qualified hospital will be published annually in the Colorado Medicaid Provider Bulletin. 45 

8.2004.C. CICP DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL PAYMENT 46 
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1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals that participate in the CICP 1 
shall receive this payment. 2 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals and Rehabilitation Hospitals 3 
shall not receive this payment. 4 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. There will be three categories for qualified hospitals: State-5 
Owned Government Hospitals, Non-State-Owned Government Hospitals, and Private-Owned 6 
Hospitals. State-Owned Government Hospitals shall receive 19.67% of the State’s annual 7 
Disproportionate Share Hospital Allotment, Non-State-Owned Government Hospitals shall receive 8 
49.18% and Private-Owned Hospitals shall receive 29.51%. 9 

A qualified hospital’s annual payment shall equal its share of the percent of Uncompensated 10 
CICP Costs of all qualified hospitals in the category divided by the State’s annual 11 
Disproportionate Share Hospital allotment allocated to the category, except that no hospital shall 12 
receive a payment which exceeds its estimated Hospital-Specific Disproportionate Share Hospital 13 
Limit. 14 

8.2004.D. UNINSURED DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL PAYMENT 15 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals with a MIUR equal to or 16 
greater than the mean plus one standard deviation of all MIURs for Colorado hospitals and that 17 
report charges for services provided to low-income uninsured persons to the Department in a 18 
manner as prescribed by the Department shall receive this payment. 19 

2. Excluded hospitals. Hospitals that participate in the CICP, Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care 20 
Hospitals and Rehabilitation Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 21 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. Three million two hundred thirty thousand three hundred 22 
ninety five dollars ($3,230,395) of the State’s annual Disproportionate Share Hospital allotment 23 
shall be allocated to the Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment. A qualified 24 
hospital’s annual payment shall equal its share of the percent of Uncompensated Charity Care 25 
Costs of all qualified providers divided by the State’s annual Disproportionate Share Hospital 26 
allotment allocated to the Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment, except that no 27 
hospital shall receive a payment which exceeds its estimated Hospital-Specific Disproportionate 28 
Share Hospital Limit. 29 

8.2004.E. CICP SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 30 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals that participate in the CICP 31 
shall receive this payment. 32 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals, Rehabilitation Hospitals 33 
and hospitals that do not participate in the CICP shall not receive this payment. 34 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. 35 

a. Qualified hospitals shall receive an annual payment, such that, when combined with the 36 
CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment, shall total to a percentage of Weighted 37 
Uncompensated CICP Costs. The percentage applied to Weighted Uncompensated 38 
CICP Costs shall be: 39 

i. Fifty two point forty-five percent (52.45%) for High Volume Medicaid and CICP 40 
Hospitals, 41 
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ii. Seventy-seven point forty-five percent (77.45%) for Rural Hospitals, or 1 

iii. Fifty-two point forty-five percent (52.45%) for all other qualified hospitals. 2 

4. Calculation methodology for weighting CICP uncompensated costs 3 

a. Hospitals can qualify for up to two increases to weight their inflated CICP costs. Weighted CICP 4 
costs are calculated separately for hospitals within a Rural Area and hospitals not within a Rural 5 
Area. Qualifying for, and weighting inflated CICP costs are determined and calculated as follows: 6 

i. CICP Cost as a percentage of total cost 7 

a. Hospitals not within a Rural Area whose CICP costs as a percentage of total costs is greater than 8 
the mean plus one standard deviation percentage for all hospitals not within a Rural Area will 9 
have their inflated CICP costs increased by 2% for the purposes of calculating the CICP 10 
Supplemental Medicaid Payment and CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment. 11 

b. Hospitals within a Rural Area whose CICP costs as a percentage of total 12 
costs is greater than the mean plus one standard deviation percentage 13 
for all hospitals within a Rural Area will have their inflated CICP costs 14 
increased by 2% for the purposes of calculating the CICP Supplemental 15 
Medicaid Payment and CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment. 16 

ii. Medicaid and CICP Days as a percentage of total days 17 

a. Hospitals not within a Rural Area whose combined Medicaid and CICP 18 
Days as a percentage of Total Days is greater than the mean plus one 19 
standard deviation percentage for all hospitals not within a Rural Area 20 
will have their inflated CICP costs increased by 5% for the purposes of 21 
calculating the CICP Supplemental Medicaid Payment and CICP 22 
Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment. 23 

b. Hospitals within a Rural Area whose combined Medicaid and CICP Days 24 
as a percentage of Total Days is greater than the mean plus one 25 
standard deviation percentage for all hospitals within a Rural Area will 26 
have their inflated CICP costs increased by 5% for the purposes of 27 
calculating the CICP Supplemental Medicaid Payment and CICP 28 
Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment. 29 

c. For those facilities that qualify for both CICP Inflated Cost weightings, the 30 
inflated CICP cost will be increased by 2% first, and the resulting 31 
weighted CICP costs will then be increased by 5%. 32 

8.2004.FC. INPATIENT HOSPITAL BASE RATE SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 33 

1. Qualified hospitals. Hospitals providing inpatient hospital services to Medicaid clients shall 34 
receive this payment. 35 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 36 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. For each qualified hospital, this the annual payment equals 37 
the difference between the hospital’s expected Medicaid discharges, multiplied by the hospital’s 38 
average Medicaid case mix, multiplied by the hospital’s Medicaid base rate and the hospital’s 39 
expected Medicaid discharges, multiplied by the hospital’s average Medicaid case mix, multiplied 40 
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by the hospital’s Medicaid base rate increased by a percentage adjustment factor.  The 1 
percentage adjustment factor may vary by hospital such that total payments to hospitals do not 2 
exceedo the available Inpatient Upper Payment Limit.  The percentage adjustment factor may 3 
vary for State-Owned Government Hospitals, Non-State-owned Government Hospitals, and 4 
Privately-Owned Hospitals, for urban and rural hospitals, for State University Teaching Hospitals, 5 
for Major Pediatric Teaching Hospitals, for Urban Center Safety Net Specialty Hospitals, or for 6 
other hospital classifications. The percentage adjustment factor for each qualified hospital will be 7 
published annually in the Colorado Medicaid Provider Bulletin. 8 

8.2004.D. DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL SUPPLEMENTAL PAYMENT  9 

1. Qualified hospitals.  10 

a. Hospitals that are Colorado Indigent Care Program providers and have at least two 11 
Obstetricians or is Obstetrician-exempt pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4(d) shall receive 12 
this payment; or   13 

b. Hospitals with a MIUR equal to or greater than the mean plus one standard deviation of 14 
all MIURs for Colorado hospitals and have at least two Obstetricians or is Obstetrician-15 
exempt pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4(d) shall receive this payment.  16 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 17 

3. Calculation methodology for payment.  For each qualified hospital, the annual payment equals 18 
the hospital’s percentage of Uninsured Costs compared to total Uninsured Costs for all qualified 19 
hospitals multiplied by the State’s total annual Disproportionate Share Hospital allotment in total 20 
computable published by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services in the Federal Register.  21 
No hospital shall receive a payment exceeding its Estimated Hospital-Specific Disproportionate 22 
Share Hospital Limit.   23 

8.2004.E. UNCOMPENSATED CARE HOSPITAL SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 24 

1. Qualified hospitals.  Hospitals that are not Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals, and 25 
Rehabilitation Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 26 

 Calculation methodology for payment.  For each qualified hospital with twenty-five or fewer beds, 27 
the annual payment equals the hospital’s percentage of beds compared to total beds for all 28 
qualified hospitals with twenty-five beds or fewer multiplied by thirty million dollars ($30,000,000).  29 
For each qualified hospital with greater than twenty-five beds, the annual payment equals the 30 
hospital’s percentage of Uninsured Costs compared to total Uninsured Costs for all qualified 31 
hospitals with greater than twenty-five beds multiplied by eighty five million four hundred eighty 32 
thousand one hundred seventy six dollars ($85,480,176).  33 

1. a. Pediatric Specialty Hospitals shall have a 9.5% increase. 34 

b. State University Teaching Hospitals shall have a 20.0% increase. 35 

c. Long Term Care Hospitals and Rehabilitation Hospitals shall have a 10.0% increase. 36 

d. Hospitals located in Rural Areas shall have a 73.0% increase. 37 

e. Urban Safety Net Hospitals shall have a 36.00% increase. 38 

f. Other General Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals shall have an 38.0% increase. 39 
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8.2004.G. HIGH LEVEL NEO-NATAL INTENSIVE CARE UNIT (NICU) SUPPLEMENTAL 1 
MEDICAID PAYMENT 2 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals certified level IIIb or IIIc neo-3 
natal intensive care unit (NICU) shall receive this payment. 4 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals, and Rehabilitation 5 
Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 6 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. For each qualified hospital, this payment is calculated on 7 
an annual basis at $2,400 per Medicaid NICU Day. 8 

8.2004.H. STATE TEACHING HOSPITAL SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 9 

1. Qualified hospitals. State Teaching Hospitals shall receive this payment. 10 

2. Calculation methodology for payment. For each qualified hospital, this payment is calculated on 11 
an annual basis at $100 per Medicaid Day. 12 

3. Effective October 1, 2012 the State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid Payment is 13 
suspended. 14 

8.2004.I. ACUTE CARE PSYCHIATRIC SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 15 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals with distinct-part psychiatric units shall receive this 16 
payment. 17 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals, and Rehabilitation 18 
Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 19 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. For each qualified hospital, this payment is calculated on 20 
an annual basis at $100 per Medicaid Psychiatric Day. 21 

8.2004.J. LARGE RURAL HOSPITAL SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 22 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals located in a Rural Area with 26 or more licensed beds shall 23 
receive this payment. 24 

2. Calculation methodology for payment. For each qualified hospital, this payment is calculated on 25 
an annual basis at $525 per Medicaid Day, Qualified hospitals who participate in the CICP, and whose 26 
percentage of Medicaid Days plus CICP Days to total days is in the top 25% of all providers will receive 27 
an additional $50 per Medicaid Day. 28 

8.2004.K. DENVER METRO SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 29 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals located in Adams County, Arapahoe County, Boulder 30 
County, Broomfield County, Denver County, Jefferson County or Douglas County shall receive this 31 
payment. 32 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals, Rehabilitation Hospitals, 33 
and High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 34 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. 35 
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a. For each qualified hospital located in Adams County or Arapahoe County, this payment is 1 
calculated on an annual basis at $770 per Medicaid Day. Qualified hospitals who participate in the CICP, 2 
and whose percentage of Medicaid Days plus CICP Days to total days is in the top 25% of all providers 3 
will receive an additional $50 per Medicaid Day. 4 

b. For each qualified hospital located in Denver County, this payment is calculated as $755 per 5 
Medicaid Day. Qualified hospitals who participate in the CICP, and whose percentage of Medicaid Days 6 
plus CICP Days to total days is in the top 25% of all providers will receive an additional $50 per Medicaid 7 
Day. 8 

c. For each qualified hospital located in Boulder County, Broomfield County, or Jefferson County, 9 
this payment is calculated as $770 per Medicaid Day. Qualified hospitals who participate in the CICP, and 10 
whose percentage of Medicaid Days plus CICP Days to Total Days is in the top 25% of all providers will 11 
receive an additional $50 per Medicaid Day. 12 

8.2004.L. METROPOLITAN STATISTICAL AREA SUPPLEMENTAL MEDICAID PAYMENT 13 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals located in El Paso County, Larimer County, Mesa County, 14 
Pueblo County or Weld County shall receive this payment. 15 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals, Long Term Care Hospitals, Rehabilitation Hospitals, 16 
and High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospitals shall not receive this payment. 17 

3. Calculation methodology for payment. For each qualified hospital this payment is calculated on 18 
an annual basis at $550 per Medicaid Day. 19 

8.2004.M. PEDIATRIC SPECIALTY HOSPITAL PROVIDER FEE PAYMENT 20 

1. Qualified hospitals. Hospitals qualified to receive the Pediatric Major Teaching Hospital Payment 21 
in 10 CCR 2505-10 Section 8.903.C.6 shall receive this payment. 22 

2. Calculation methodology for payment. For each qualified hospital, this payment is calculated on 23 
an annual basis and shall equal $1 million. 24 

8.2004.NF. HOSPITAL QUALITY INCENTIVE PAYMENT 25 

1. Qualified hospitals. General Hospitals, Rehabilitation Hospitals, Pediatric Hospitals, Long Term 26 
Acute Care Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals Hospitals with an established Medicaid 27 
inpatient base rate, and that meet the minimum criteria for one or more of the selected measures, 28 
may qualify to receive this payment. 29 

2. Excluded hospitals. Psychiatric Hospitals and Out-of-State Hospitals in both bordering and non-30 
bordering states. 31 

3. Measures. The measures for the Hospital Quality Incentive Payment are: 32 

a. a. Rate of Central Line-Associated Blood Stream Infections (CLABSI)Rate of Non-33 
Emergent Emergency Room Visits, 34 

b. Rate of elective deliveries between 37 and 39 weeks gestation, 35 

c. Rate of Postoperative Pulmonary Embolism or Deep Vein Thrombosis (PPE/DVT), 36 

d. Rate of thirty (30) day all-cause hospital readmissions, and 37 
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e. Rate of Cesarean section deliveries for nulliparous women with a term, singleton baby in 1 
a vertex position. 2 

4. Calculation methodology for payment. Payments shall be calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal 3 
Year (October 1 through September 30) basis and dispensed in monthly installments. For each 4 
qualified hospital, this payment will be calculated as follows: 5 

a. Determine Available Points by hospital, subject to a maximum of 10 points per measure. 6 

i. Available Points are defined as the number of measures for which a hospital 7 
qualifies multiplied by 10the number of points designated for the measure. 8 

b. Determine the total points earned per measure by hospital based on scoring criteria 9 
established by the Department. 10 

c. Normalize the total points earned per measure to total possible points for all measures by 11 
hospital. 12 

d. Calculate Adjusted Medicaid Discharges by hospital 13 

i. Adjusted Medicaid Discharges are calculated by multiplying the number of 14 
Medicaid inpatient discharges by the Adjusted Discharge Factor. 15 

 For hospitals with less than 200 annual Medicaid discharges, the total number of 16 
discharges multiplied by .25 to arrive at the number of Medicaid discharges for 17 
use in this calculation, consistent with the Medicare Prospective Payment 18 
System calculation. 19 

i.ii. The Adjusted Discharge Factor is defined as the most recently available annual 20 
total gross Medicaid billed charges divided by the inpatient gross Medicaid billed 21 
charges. 22 

e. Calculate Total Discharge Points 23 

i. Discharge Points are defined as the total number of points earned per for all 24 
measures multiplied by the number of Adjusted Medicaid Discharges. 25 

f. Calculate the Dollars per Discharge Point 26 

i. Dollars per Discharge Point will be calculated by dividing the total HQIP funds 27 
available under the inpatient UPL by the total number of Discharge Points across 28 
qualified hospitals. 29 

g. Determine HQIP payout by hospital by multiplying the total Discharge Points for that 30 
hospital by the Dollars per Discharge Point. 31 

5. The total funds for the Hospital Quality Incentive Payment for the Federal Fiscal Year beginning 32 
October 1, 2012 will be $32,000,000. 33 

 The total funds for the Hospital Quality Incentive Payment for the Federal Fiscal Year beginning 34 
October 1, 2013 will be $34,388,388. 35 

6.5. The total funds for the Hospital Quality Incentive Payment for the Federal Fiscal Year beginning 36 
October 1, 2014 will be $61,448,873. 37 
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