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Adult Medicaid Dental Benefit  

and Post Eligibilty Treatment of Income   
Provider Frequently Asked Questions  

 
 
Background 
 

Beginning April 1, 2014 – Medicaid enrolled adult clients age 21 years and over will have 
access to a new $1,000 annual dental benefit, starting with basic adult dental preventive, 
diagnostic and minor restorative dental services (such as x-rays and minor fillings) and 
treatment planning.  
 
Effective July 1, 2014 – More comprehensive adult services such as root canals, crowns, 
partial dentures, periodontal scaling and root planing (and other procedures requiring prior 
authorization) will be available. The Department is hiring an Administrative Services 
Organization (ASO) vendor to manage dental benefit utilization and build a robust dental 
provider network. There is a need for more dental providers to enroll and participate in the 
Colorado Medicaid program. The annual dental benefit for adults will be based on the 12-
month state fiscal year period (July 1 to June 30).   

Frequently Asked Questions 
 

What does this mean for dental providers serving PETI-eligible residents? 
Effective April 1, 2014 all nursing facility Medicaid residents (PETI-eligible residents as well 
as non PETI-eligible residents) will have access to a new $1,000 annual dental benefit, 
starting with basic adult dental preventive, diagnostic and minor restorative dental services 
(such as exams, x-rays, cleanings, and fillings). Dental providers currently caring for PETI 
clients will need to enroll as Medicaid dental providers in order to submit claims for 
reimbursement against their client’s $1,000 annual maximum and maintain continuity of care 
for their PETI clients. 

• Once the $1,000 benefit has been exhausted by the PETI-eligible client, any additional 
services can be submitted to the Department for review and determination using the 
current process. 

• Use of PETI funds for medically necessary services not covered by Medicaid’s new 
adult dental benefit will not change. Non-covered services will continue to be 
submitted to the Department for review and determination. 

 
How will the $1,000 annual benefit be tracked?  

• Starting on July 1, 2014, the Department is hiring an administrative service 
organization (ASO) vendor to manage the dental benefit, provide customer service 
support for providers and clients, and enhance the dental provider network throughout 
Colorado. 

• More comprehensive adult services (such as root canals, crowns, partial dentures, 
complete dentures*, periodontal scaling and root planing, and other procedures 
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requiring prior authorization) will be included in the annual dental benefit effective 
July 1, 2014. 
 

* The Joint Budget Committee has included funding for complete dentures (with prior 
authorization) in the FY2014-2015 state budget (Long Bill). The Long Bill still has to be 
approved by both houses of the Legislature and signed by the governor. More information on 
complete dentures will be available prior to July 1st. 

  
How do I enroll as a Medicaid provider? 
Provider enrollment application is available on the Department website under Provider 
Services.  

 
Where do I find the Medicaid dental billing manual? 
For detailed billing instructions please refer to the Dental Billing Manual available in the 
billing manual section of the Departments website.  
 
Is there assistance or training that can be provided? 
Our Provider Enrollment web page includes several resources to help interested providers.  
These include an enrollment tutorial and a trainings and workshops section with a variety of 
specialty presentations to help providers with their application and billing processes. 
Providers can also call the Department’s provider services call center at 800-237-0757 for 
help with enrollment and application questions. Additionally, providers can sign up for the 
Provider Enrollment Application Workshop WebEx Presentations which are offered every 
month, please note that an RSVP is required one week in advance.  
 

 
 
 
 

PETI Program Contact: 
Susan Love 
303-866-4158 

Media Contact: 
Marc Williams 
303-866-3144 
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