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Re: General Information Letter
Dear XOOOXXXXXXX,

You submitted a request for information regarding the application of the daily rental
fee. On July 12, 2010, we issued a general information letter on the issue. Although
we endeavor to provide the best possible advice on tax questions, we reserve the
right to revise the advice if we believe that it is incorrect. Advice provided in general
information letters is advisory only and is not binding on the department. Having
recently had an opportunity to review this issue, we believe that the guidance we
provided should be revised as set forth below. For more information about general
information letters and private letter rulings, see regulation 24-35-103.5 which can be
viewed on our web site at http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/tax and select FY| >
Publications > Rulings.

Issue
1. Is the maximum daily rental fee calculated using 44 days or 45 days?

2. If a motor vehicle is rented for more than 44 days, including renewals, is a fee
imposed on the first 44 days ($88.00) or is the rental completely exempt from
such fee?

Conclusion

1. The daily rental fee for retailers, whose primary business is the rental of motor
vehicles for less than 45 days, is the number of days the motor vehicle is
rented, including renewals, and is not limited to 45 days. There is no daily
rental fee for retailers whose primary business is the rental of motor vehicles
for more than 44 days, even if the retailer occasionally rents motor vehicles for
less than 45 days.
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2. If the retailer’s primary business is the rental of motor vehicles for less than 45
days, then the daily rental fee is charged on the number of days of rental, even
if the total number of rental days exceed 44 days.

Background

You company is in the business of renting motor vehicles for recreational purposes.
Some rental agreements are for a period of less than 45 days, but some are for a
period greater than 44 days, including renewals.

Discussion

Colorado imposes a daily rental fee of $2.00/day for motor vehicles rented in
Colorado. Specifically, subsection 43-4-804(1)(b)(l), C.R.S., provides,

b) (1) Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (lll) of this paragraph
(b), a daily vehicle rental fee, which shall be imposed on the rental of any
vehicle rented in the state at the rate of two dollars per day. Any person
who owns vehicles that are based in Colorado for rental purposes or who
owns vehicles that are based in a state other than Colorado for rental
purposes but rents such vehicles from a business location in Colorado and
whose primary business is the rental of such vehicles for periods of less
than forty-five days, including renewals, to another person shall collect the
daily vehicle rental fee from the renter of each vehicle rented. The rental
invoice shall list the daily vehicle rental fee separately as a Colorado road
safety program fee.

The statute is not a model of clarity. One interpretation is that the fee is imposed on
the first 44 days of rental. This interpretation is similar to the administration of the
state’s lodging tax, which is a sales tax imposed on lodging for less than 30
consecutive days. See, §39-26-704(3), C.R.S. Under the lodging statute, the entire
rental is exempt from tax, including the first 29 days, if the contract for lodging is for
30 days or more. Our initial advice regarding the motor vehicle daily rental fee was
modeled on this lodging tax.

An alternative interpretation is that the fee is imposed on retailers engaged in a
specific type of business rather than the number of days that the vehicle is rented.
That is, the daily rental fee is imposed on retailers whose primarily business is renting
motor vehicles for less than 45 days. The relevant language of the statute is,

Any person ... whose primary business is the rental of such vehicles for
periods of less than forty-five days, including renewals, to another person
shall collect the daily vehicle rental fee from the renter of each vehicle
rented.

Under this interpretation, the daily fee is imposed on all rentals by a retailer who fits
within the classification (i.e., a retailer whose primary business is renting vehicles for
less than 45 days), including rentals that exceed 44 days.
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We conclude that the latter interpretation is more consistent with the language of the
statute. In general, we endeavor to give substantive effect to every statutory term.
The first interpretation does not give effect to the phrase “whose primary business is
..." because the phrase would not have any bearing on whether or how the tax was
imposed. Moreover, the statute does not expressly state that the tax is calculated
based on the number of days the vehicle is rented. Rather, the 45-day provision
modifies the type of retailer who is obligated to collect the tax.

For these reasons, we conclude that a retailer, whose primary business is the rental
of motor vehicles for less than 45 days, must collect the daily rental fee on all
vehicles it rents. The fee is calculated on the number of days of rental, even if the
total number of days the vehicle is rented exceeds 44 days. If the retailer’s primary
business is rental of vehicles for 45 days or more, then the retailer cannot collect the
daily rental fee, even if some vehicles are rented for less than 45 days.

Miscellaneous

Enclosed is a redacted version of this ruling. Pursuant to statute and regulation, this
redacted version of the ruling will be made public within 60 days of the date of this
letter. Please let me know in writing within that 60 day period whether you have any
suggestions or concerns about this redacted version of the ruling.

Sincerely,

Neil L. Tillquist

Colorado Department of Revenue
Tele: (303)866-5627

Email: ntillquist@spike.dor.state.co.us
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Re: General Information Letter

Dear XXXXXXXXXX,

You submitted a request for information regarding the application of the daily rental
fee. Due to recent budget reductions, the department has discontinued issuing
general information letters. However, your letter raises an important issue and we
have elected to issue a general information letter to address it. For more information
about general information letters and private letter rulings, see regulation 24-35-103.5
which can be viewed on our web site at http://iwww.colorado.gov/revenue/tax and

select FY| > Publications > Rulings.
Issue
1. Is the maximum daily rental fee calculated using 44 days or 45 days?

2. If a motor vehicle is rented for more than 44 days, including renewals, is a fee
imposed on the first 44 days ($88.00) or is the rental completely exempt from
such fee?

Conclusion
1. The maximum daily rental fee is calculated using 44 days.

2. If a motor vehicle is rented continuously to the same customer for more than
44 days, including renewals, then the entire rental is exempt, including the first

44 days.
Background

You company is in the business of renting motor vehicles for recreational purposes.
Some rental agreements are for a period of less than 45 days, but some are for a
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period greater than 44 days, including renewals.

Discussion

Colorado imposes a daily rental fee of $2.00/day for motor vehicles rented for less
than 45 days. Specifically, subsection 43-4-804(1)(b)(l), C.R.S., provides,

b) (I) Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (lll) of this paragraph
(b), a daily vehicle rental fee, which shall be imposed on the rental of any
vehicle rented in the state at the rate of two dollars per day. Any person
who owns vehicles that are based in Colorado for rental purposes or who
owns vehicles that are based in a state other than Colorado for rental
purposes but rents such vehicles from a business location in Colorado and
whose primary business is the rental of such vehicles for periods of less
than forty-five days, including renewals, to another person shall collect the
daily vehicle rental fee from the renter of each vehicle rented. The rental
invoice shall list the daily vehicle rental fee separately as a Colorado road
safety program fee.

This statute imposes a fee of $2.00 per day for rentals that are less than 45 days,
including renewals. This means that the maximum fee that can be imposed is $88.00
(32.00 times 44 days).

Although not a model of clarity, this statute imposes the fee only when the rental
period, including renewals, is less than 45 days. If the motor vehicle is rented for 45
days or more, including renewals, then no fee is imposed, including a fee for the first
44 days. In order to qualify for this exemption, the motor vehicle must be rented to
the same person for 45 or more continuous days.

Miscellaneous

Enclosed is a redacted version of this ruling. Pursuant to statute and regulation, this
redacted version of the ruling will be made public within 60 days of the date of this
letter. Please let me know in writing within that 60 day period whether you have any
suggestions or concerns about this redacted version of the ruling.

Sincerely,

Neil L. Tillquist

Colorado Department of Revenue
Tele: (303)866-5627

Email: ntillquist@spike.dor.state.co.us



