DR 7118 (07/08/14)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Denver CO 80261-0009

(303) 205-8205

Fuel Tax Refund Claim
Instructions

See form on page 3

If above address is not correct please call
(303) 205-8205

l. General Information

A refund of the Colorado fuel tax paid may be allowed on
the fuel purchased and used in Colorado for tax exempt
purposes listed below. A claim for refund must be submitted
within 12 months after the date of purchase of the fuel.
Only one claim may be filed in a calendar quarter.

A fuel tax refund may be claimed if the fuel has been used:

A. To operate stationary engines, motor boats or vehicles
on or over the rails.

B. To operate tractors and other farm implements or
machinery used for agricultural purposes only on farms
and ranches.

C. For cleaning and dyeing.

D. To operate any machine owned or operated by the state,
town, city, county, city and county, school district or other
political subdivision of the state.

E. For any other commercial use of equipment or
machinery NOT used on the highways or public roads.

F. For Crop Dusting (Aviation Fuel, 50% of fuel purchased),
if using a private landing strip.

G. For Commercial, scheduled air carriers or commuter
airline operators (Aviation Fuel).

No refund shall be allowed to any person on any fuel used
for propelling motor vehicles operated in whole or in part
during the calendar year upon public roads, streets and
highways, except those used by political subdivisions.

For additional information, see publication FYI Excise 7
“Tax Refunds for Exempt Use of Fuel.” This and other FYls
are available on the Web at www. TaxColorado.com

Il. Refund Permit

A refund permit must be issued before any claim for refund
can be paid. This can be obtained by filing an application

for permit (form DR 7189). The first claim may accompany
the application for permit. A permit is not transferable. The
refund permit shall be canceled if there is no claim filed by
the permit holder for a period of 24 months. Claimants are
required to notify this office of any changes in the nature of
business or address by secure messaging or in a written
letter. Claimants are also required to notify this office and
re-apply for a new permit if there is an ownership, name,
DBA or FEIN change. Refunds will not be made on claims
for quantities of less than 20 gallons total.

Ill. Invoices

You will be required to retain all invoices along with a copy
of each claim submitted for a period of three years in the
event the department requests the invoices for review.
Failure to comply with any of the requirements may result in
the disallowance of your claim, cancellation of your fuel tax
refund permit account and/or may subject you to penalties.

IV. Approved Refund Percentage Decimal

The pre-printed refund percentage decimal is based on
historical data retrieved either from an individual permit/
account or from a specific industry group (for example,

Agriculture —Farm crops; Agriculture—Farm animals.)

V. Penalties

If any person makes any false statement in an application
for a permit or upon any claim for refund or submits with
any claim for refund an invoice which does not represent a
bona fide purchase of gasoline or special fuel at the time
and place and in the quantity indicated on the invoice, or
if any dealer or other person prepares an invoice which
does not represent a bona fide sale of gasoline or special
fuel at the time and place and in the quantity indicated

in the invoice, or if any person used gasoline or special
fuel on which refunds are claimed in any motor vehicle
on the public highways of this state, except as provided
in subsection (2) of this section, said person is guilty of

a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be
punished by a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or by the



imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year,
or by both such fine and imprisonment. In addition, the
executive director shall forthwith cancel the permit of such
person and such person shall not be issued a new permit within
one year of such cancellation (§ 39-27-103(3)(c) C.R.S.).

Any applicant for refund who makes any false statement
in connection with an application for a permit or an
application for a refund of any taxes, or who used the
gasoline or special fuel other than as stated in the permit
and application, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon
conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more
than $500.00, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not
more than 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment,
and by suspense or revocation of his permit or license.
These penalties shall be in addition to any other penalty
imposed by this part. If any applicant for refund under the
provisions of this section makes any false statement on
any application for permit or credit for refund, or submits
any invoices on which erasure, changes, alterations

or additions have been made, or which are otherwise
incorrect, the executive director shall cancel all or part of
any pending claim for refund of such applicant and shall
also deduct from any subsequent claims an amount equal
to one hundred percent of the amount claimed on any
altered or incorrect invoice (§ 39-27-103(4), 39-21-118
C.R.S)).

VI. Claim Form Instructions (DR 7118)

NOTE: Refund requests for special fuel types:
compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas and LPG
are to be completed under the appropriate columns.
DO NOT include refund request for these fuel types
under the Special Fuel column.

Line 1—Enter number of gallons used for business
purposes and drawn from bulk storage facilities or
purchased from a dealer for exempt use. Colorado fuel
excise tax must have been paid on the fuel reported on line
one.

Line 3—For every fuel type, multiply line 1 by the
approved percentage on line 2.

Line 4—The tax rate for Gasoline and Gasohol is 22 cents.
The tax rate for Special Fuel is 20.5 cents. The tax rate for
Aviation Gas is six cents. The tax rate for Aviation Jet Fuel
is four cents. The tax rates for compressed natural gas,
liquefied natural gas and LPG are shown below:

Year CNG LNG LPG
2014 0.030 0.030 0.030
2015 0.060 0.050 0.050
2016 0.090 0.070 0.070
2017 0.120 0.080 0.090
2018 0.150 0.100 0.110
2019 0.183 0.120 0.135

Line 5—Amount of refund claim: multiply line 3 by Tax
Rate line 4.

VII. IFTA Vehicles

Taxpayers receiving a separate refund claim form for IFTA
must separately claim:

« fuel placed in the ordinary fuel tank of a vehicle whose
miles are reported on an IFTA return, and

» must attach a copy of the corresponding IFTA return to
each quarterly claim for refund.

Mail to and make checks payable to:

Colorado Department of Revenue
Denver, CO 80261-0009
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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Denver CO 80261-0009
(303) 205-8205

Fuel Tax Refund Claim

Audit Date (Mm/DD/YY)

Time Limit Date (Mm/DD/YY)

No. of Invoices

Earliest Date (Mmm/DD/YY)

Latest Date (mmDD/YY)

7118-650

Last Name or Business Name

First Name

Middle Initial

Street Address

City

State| Zip

Colorado Permit/Account Number

Refund Period (Mm/YY — MM/YY)

FEIN

SSN

Whole Gallons Only—No Decimals

A
Gasoline

B
Gasohol

Cc
Special Fuel
(Diesel, Etc.)

Aviation
Gas

D E F
Aviation
Fuel

Compressed
Natural Gas

G
Liquefied
Natural Gas

LPG

@ 1. Total number of
gallons of qualifying
fuel purchased in
Colorado. See

General Information |

2. Approved refund
percentage decimal

3. Net number of
gallons of fuel
purchased in
Colorado for which
refund is being
claimed. (Line 1
multiplied by line 2,
for every fuel type)

Tax Rate per gallon.

4. Colorado Fuel Excise

Line 3
multiplied by

Line 3
multiplied by

Line 3
multiplied by

Line 3
multiplied by

Line 3
multiplied by

Line 3
multiplied by

Line 3
multiplied by

Line 3
multiplied by

5. Amount of Refund
Claim (Multiply line 3
by Tax Rate line 4)

Total amount of refund claim. (Add together lines 5A thru 5H)

$

second degree.

| certify and declare that this application is true and correct and that it is made under t

he penalties of perjury in the

Name of Claimant, Corporation or Partnership

Signature of Claimant

Signature of Witness

Date (vm/DD/YY)

Telephone Number
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