
State of Colorado
Title Or Salvage Title Established By Surety Bond

C.R.S. 38-29-119, 42-5-204, 42-6-102 (16), (17) (a), 42-6-115
The bonding procedure is completed when ownership documents are not available or are incorrect.

•  Applicant must have possession of the motor vehicle/manufactured home.
•  Motor vehicle/manufactured home must be physically located in Colorado.

STEP WHAT YOU NEED TO DO FORMS NEEDED

1

Have the motor vehicle inspected and a Certified VIN Inspection form, DR 2704, completed 
by a P.O.S.T. certified inspector.  Your local county motor vehicle office can refer you to a 
P.O.S.T. certified inspector in your area.

		    Inspection must not be over one (1) year old

DR 2704

Inspection Fee - $50.00.

Cash or check only

DR 2698Manufactured homes are exempt from providing a Certified VIN inspection. Verification of 
VIN, (DR 2698) must be completed.

2

Complete a (DR 2489A) Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use

	 •  All out of state motor vehicles also need a title and a lien record search from the  
		  state they are from in addition to the Colorado Record Search.

•  You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested)
	 the owner of record as indicated on the record search
	   Inspection must not be over one (1) year old.

Validated copy of a DR 
2489A for each VIN

Fee - $2.20

Copy of letter and 
certified/registered mail 
return receipt (PS 3811 
green card)

	   Inspection must not be over one (1) year old.

Manufactured home – 
•  You must attempt to contact by certified or registered mail (return receipt requested) the  
	 owner of record, as indicated on the record search

**NOTE** A photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection, (DR 2704), and additional documents 
are required to be submitted with the (DR 2489A) Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of 
Intended Use.

3

If the record search indicates an active lien on the motor vehicle or manufactured home:

	 •  Lien MUST be released
	 •  Lien release must be on lienholder’s letterhead
		  • Not required if lienholder is an individual
	 •  Photo and FAXed copies of lien release are acceptable
	 •  Lien release must include
		  • Vehicle year, make and VIN 
		  • Title owner’s name
		  •  Agent’s signature
		  •  Date of lien release
		  • Signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503
	 •  If an attempt is made to secure an acceptable lien release and the lienholder is not 		
		  available, the following procedure MUST be followed:
		  • Lienholder is not available – filed in Colorado
			   •  A certified or registered letter must be sent to the lienholder’s last known 
			      address and be returned as undeliverable
			   • A bond must be posted for AMOUNT of the lien or TWICE the actual value of 
			      the manufactured home as determined by the County Assessor’s records

Without one of the above statements, the Title or Salvage Title Established by Surety Bond 
procedure cannot be completed and a court order will be required.
	 •  The court order MUST identify the motor vehicle/manufactured home by year,  
		  make & VIN

Acceptable Lien 
Release

Copy of letter and 
certified/registered mail 
return receipt (PS3811 
green card)

USPS printout of 
signature acceptance
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4

If the manufactured home is abandoned, the following information MUST be provided, 
pursuant to C.R.S. 38-29-119:
	 •  Copy of the court order or judgment for possession obtained through a civil
		  proceeding

		  •  Court order or judgment must

			   •  Identify manufactured home by year, make and VIN

		  •  Proof of ownership of the real property on which the manufactured home is 
	     located

		  •  Proof of property taxes paid

**NOTE** Step 4 only applies to manufactured homes. Step 4 does not apply to 
motor vehicles

Copy of court order(s)

Copy of the real 
property deed

Authentication of Paid 
Ad Valorem Taxes, or
Certificate of Taxes Due 
(obtained from the 
County Treasurer), 
pursuant to C.R.S. 38-
29-107.
Proof of taxes paid 
is required on all 
manufactured home 
bond applications.

5

For the purpose of purchasing a surety bond or evidence of a savings account, deposit, or 
certificate of deposit meeting the requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S. (see step 5), 
establish the reasonable value of the vehicle determined by one of the following:
		  •  Price guide books
			   •  If the motor vehicle is newer than seven (7) years old
		  •  Computerized valuation services
		  •  Licensed Colorado automotive dealer
			   •  If not on dealer’s letterhead, must be notarized or signed under penalty of 
				    perjury
			   •  MUST include Dealer’s license number
			   •  MUST be signed and dated
			   •  Dealership may perform its own appraisal when bonding for title in their 
				    name
			   • Certified appraisal
Appraisal must be
	 •  MUST be for the current condition of the motor vehicle at the time of titling

ALL motor vehicle 
appraisals MUST  
identify the vehicle, by 
year, make and VIN

Manufactured home values MUST be established using the actual value determined by the 
County Assessor’s records, pursuant to C.R.S. 38-29-119.

	 •  Records must identify manufactured home by year, make and VIN

Copy of County 
Assessor’s records

6
Furnish evidence of a savings account, deposit, or certificate of deposit meeting the 
requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S., or a good and sufficient bond with a corporate 
surety not less than twice the reasonable value of the vehicle. The savings account, deposit, 
certificate of deposit, or surety bond must indicate the year, make and VIN of the vehicle

Account Deposit 
Certificate or signed 
Bond.  Indicate year, 
make and VIN of 
vehicle

7

Complete the Bond Statement Guide & In Lieu of Bond Affidavit, (DR 2394), providing the 
following information:

	 •  Why bonding for ownership is required Account Deposit Certificate or signed Bond.
		  Indicate year, make and VIN of vehicle
	 •  What attempts were made to contact the owner of record to insure they have no 
		  interest
	 •  From whom and when purchased and amount paid
	 •  Efforts to have the seller establish title
	 •  Motor vehicle’s/manufactured home’s year, make and VIN
	 •  Whether or not there are liens against the motor vehicle/manufactured home
	 •  Whether or not the vehicle is road worthy
	 •  Whether or not the manufactured home is on a permanent foundation

DR 2394

Continued on next page
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8

Motor Vehicle has been or is now “salvage”
	 •  Have the motor vehicle inspected by a P.O.S.T. certified inspector and a Certified  
		  VIN Inspection, (DR 2704) completed. Your local county motor vehicle office
		  can refer you to a P.O.S.T. certified inspector in your area.

		    Inspection must not be over one (1) year old

If the DR 2704 indicates that the motor vehicle is roadworthy, applicant will:

	 •  Apply for title by following the Title Established by Salvage Title Checklist, (DR 2415)
		  •  Complete the Salvage Title Statement of Fact, (DR 2424)
			   •  MUST state that
				    •  The motor vehicle was purchased without proper ownership document
				    •  No repairs were needed
				    •  Bond is required for title

If the (DR 2704) indicates that the motor vehicle is not roadworthy, applicant will:

	 •  Apply for salvage title using the Application for Salvage Title, (DR 2410) or
	 •  Apply for Title by repairing the motor vehicle
		  •  Follow the Title Established by Salvage Title checklist, (DR 2415)
	 •  Complete the Salvage Title Statement of Fact, (DR 2424)
		  •  MUST state
			   •  What repairs were completed to make the motor vehicle roadworthy
		  •  Obtain a new Certified VIN inspection, (DR 2704)

If the record search indicates the motor vehicle was “Previous Salvage” (Rebuilt from 
Salvage), the applicant shall

	 •  Request a salvage history by
		  •  �Submitting a Motor Vehicle Requestor Release Affidavit of Intended Use  

(DR 2489A)
		  •  Include a photocopy of the (DR 2704)
		  •  Include a Statement of Fact, (DR 2444)
			   •  Indicate cause of salvage designation
	 •  Complete a Rebuilt from Salvage Disclosure, (DR 2710)
		  •  If the reason for salvage is indeterminate
			   •  Mark the “Other” box
			   •  State that the motor vehicle was “Purchased without proper ownership 
				    documents through the bond process;  unable to obtain a salvage history, 		
				    reason for salvage unknown.”

DR 2704

Inspection Fee - $50.00

Cash or check only

DR 2410

DR 2415

DR 2424

DR 2489A

DR 2704

DR 2710

Results of the “Salvage 

Title History Search”

9

Apply for Title or Salvage Title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which  
you live.

Manufactured homes are title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which the 
manufacture home is located.

Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the state 
of Colorado. Please see (DR 2841) for acceptable identification documents.

**NOTE** The odometer must be disclosed on a secure form for motor vehicles with model 
year of less than 10 years. The applicant taking title will disclose the mileage on the  
(DR 2173) Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale. To obtain a (DR 2173), please contact Standard 
Register at 1-800-877-0723.

Items listed above

Title fee - $7.20, 

pursuant to C.R.S. 42-

6-137 (1)(a)

DR 2841

DR 2173
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