
What Else Should I Know?
An alcohol and drug program the court orders 
you to complete may differ from your Motor 
Vehicle reinstatement requirements.

Education and treatment classes must begin 
after the date of your most recent alcohol or 
drug violation.

Colorado Revised Statute 
(CRS 42-2-132) requires completion of a Level 
I or Level II education and treatment program, 
and provides for the Affidavit of Enrollment.

If you used an Affidavit of Enrollment, DR 2643, 
in-lieu of a completed Level II to reinstate your 
privileges and the Department receives notice 
from the OBH provider that you are discharged 
as non-compliant with the Level II program, your 
license/privilege will be Cancelled & Denied 
for failing to complete the Level II. A letter will 
be mailed to you at your last known address 
on record with Motor Vehicle. Once a letter is 
sent, you will need to provide proof that there 
was no lapse in your enrollment (renewed 
Affidavit of Enrollment) or proof of completion of 
a Level II program. You cannot use an Affidavit 
of Enrollment once the Cancel & Deny restraint 
becomes active.
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Education and Treatment 
Programs
Level I education and Level II education/
treatment programs, as required by statute, 
are defined by the Office of Behavioral Health 
(OBH) of the Colorado Department of Human 
Services.

Level I
What is a Level I?
Level I consists of 12 hours alcohol and drug 
education over a minimum of three sessions, 
unless an alcohol evaluator says more is 
required.
When is a Level I required?
Completion of a Level I alcohol and drug 
education program is required when a minor 
driver has had their license/privilege revoked for 
one year for their first DUI, DWAI or .02 or more 
BAC conviction, for a violation that was received 
while under the age of 21. A minor driver may be 
required to complete Level II education or Level 
II education and treatment depending on the 
alcohol and drug evaluator’s recommendations.

Level II
What is a Level II?
Level II consists of an alcohol and drug 
education and treatment program, as defined by 
OBH, and are identified in their chart as Tracks 
A, B, C, and D, shown above.

Enrollment
What is an Enrollment?
An ‘Affidavit of Enrollment’, (DR 2643) 
completed by an OBH certified treatment 
agency, allows a driver who is required to 
complete a Level II course for reinstatement, 
to attend and complete their education and 
treatment program after and as a condition of 
reinstatement.

Who is eligible to use an ‘Affidavit of 
Enrollment’?
Any driver, required to have a Level II program 
for reinstatement, that is a Colorado resident, 
is currently enrolled in an approved Level II 
program, and is eligible for reinstatement but has 
not yet completed their Level II program, can use 
the DR 2643 Affidavit of Enrollment form.

A Level II is required when a driver:

•	 Is convicted of 2 alcohol violations that occurred within 5 years, OR 
•	 Is convicted of 3 or more alcohol violations in a lifetime, OR 
•	 Is revoked for having a BAC of .15 or more, OR 
•	 Is revoked for multiple BAC tests of .08 or more (Per Se), OR 
•	 Is revoked for refusal to take a test.

Level II Education and Treatment Course Guidelines

MINIMUM 
B.A.C.

CRITERIA 
Priors

LENGTH 
OF TX 

(months/weeks)

LENGTH 
OF TX 
(hours)

LENGTH 
OF L2 ED 

(hours/weeks) 

COMBINED LENGTH L2 ED &TX

(months) (hours)

TRACK A: < .15 None
5 months 
21 weeks 42 hours

24 hours 
12 weeks 8 months 66

TRACK B: ≥.15 or 
Refusals None

6 months 
26 weeks 52 hours

24 hours 
12 weeks 9 months 76

TRACK C: < .15 1 or more
8 months 
34 weeks 68 hours

24 hours 
12 weeks 11 months 92

TRACK D: ≥.15 or 
Refusals 1 or more

10 months 
43 weeks 86 hours

24 hours 
12 weeks 13 months 110


