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DR 2711 (07/25/19) 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Division of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Services Unit
www.colorado.gov/dmv

State of Colorado 
Title or Salvage Title Established by Storage Lien

C.R.S. 38-20-116, 42-5-202, 42-5-204, 42-6-102 (16), (17)(a)
This procedure is used when a vehicle has been left for service or storage and there has been no contact with the 
person who left the vehicle for over 30 days. Vehicle was not sold, however a verbal or written agreement has been 
made between the parties.

•	 Applicant must have possession of vehicle.
•	 Vehicle must be physically located in Colorado.
•	 A Colorado repair shop must complete Vehicles Abandoned at a  

Repair Shop procedure, see DR 2542 checklist.

Step What You Need To Do Forms Needed

1 Have the motor vehicle inspected and the Colorado Certified VIN Inspection completed by a 
certified Colorado law enforcement officer or P.O.S.T. Certified Inspector. Your county motor 
vehicle office can refer you to a certified officer in your area.

	 Inspection must be less than one (1) year old.

	 Manufactured homes are exempt from providing a Certified VIN inspection. Verification 
of VIN (2395) must be completed 

DR 2704

Inspection Fee—$50.00 

DR 2395

2 Request a "Colorado Title Record Search". Complete a (DR 2489A) Motor Vehicle Record 
Search Request form. All out-of-state vehicles need a title and lien record search from the 
state they are from in addition to the Colorado Record Search. 

	 Record search must be less than one (1) year old.

**NOTE** Photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection and additional documents are required 
to be submitted with the record search request (DR 2489A). Please see online instructions 
for additional information:
(http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-MV/RMV/1220610980199).

Validated copy of  
DR 2539 record 
search for each VIN, 
and record search 
results.

Fee—$2.20 each 
search.

3 Fifteen days before applying for title or salvage title, you must attempt to contact by certified 
or registered mail (return receipt requested) the following:

•	 The owner of record, as indicated on the record search.
•	 Person with whom the agreement was made, if other than owner of record.
	 You must maintain proof of notification for one (1) year.

A copy of letter and 
certified/registered 
mail return receipt 
signed by addressee.

A copy of the returned 
envelope, certified/
registered letter and 
certified copy of the 
newspaper notice.

Continued on Next Page

If the registered letter(s) is returned unclaimed or if the return receipt is signed by a 
person other than to whom the certified/registered letter was addressed, a notice must be 
published for one day in a newspaper that serves the county in which the vehicle is located. 
Pursuant to C.R.S. 38-20-116 (2)

This notice must include the following information:

•	 That you are applying for title for this vehicle.
•	 The VIN, year and make of the vehicle.
•	 Name(s) of owner(s) of record and name of the person who made the contract, if 

other than owner(s) of record.
•	 Provide contact information (name, phone number or address).

	 The newspaper office will certify the publication of this notice.
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Step What You Need To Do Forms Needed

4 If the record search indicates an active lien on the motor vehicle, it must be released. If an 
attempt is made to secure a lien release and the lienholder is not available, the following 
procedure must be followed:

Lienholder not available — filed in Colorado
•	 A certified or registered letter must be sent to the lienholder’s last known address and 

be returned as undeliverable. Include this letter with the title application. Bond must 
be posted for the lien amount or twice the appraised value, whichever is greater.

Lienholder not available — Out-of-State Lien (Not filed in Colorado)
•	 Contact the state of record and request a lien release.  Many states will give a 

statement of release of lien or lien expired.  This statement must be on the state’s 
letterhead and be submitted with the title application.

**NOTE** A lien release is required for all active liens.  The lien release must be on 
the Colorado Certificate of Title or on lienholder letterhead (letterhead is not required if 
lienholder is an individual).  Photo and faxed copies are accepted and must include vehicle 
year, make, VIN, titled owners name(s), agent’s signature, date of lien release and must be 
signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree as defined in C.R.S. 18-8-503

Acceptable lien 
release.

Copy of letter and 
certified/registered 
mail return receipt.

5 Establish the reasonable appraised value of the vehicle (minimum appraisal - $200) by the 
following: Pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-115 (3)(a).

•	 Appraisal must be from a Licensed Colorado Dealer.
•	 Appraisal must be for the current condition of the vehicle at the time of titling.
•	 Must be on the dealer’s letterhead, describe the vehicle by VIN, year, make, 

signed, dated and state the dealership’s license number.
•	 If statement is not on dealer’s letterhead, the statement must be notarized or 

signed under penalty of perjury. 
•	 A dealership may do its own appraisal when bonding for title in its own name.
•	 The appraisal must be $200 or more. If the appraisal is less than $200, a salvage 

title is required.

Value from a current Kelley Blue Book or N.A.D.A. Official Use Car Guide.  Guidebooks 
only carry information on vehicles less than seven (7) years old. The specific model being 
appraised must be identified (i.e., highlighted).  Applicant may use the retail or wholesale 
value listed in the CURRENT Kelly Blue Book or N.A.D.A. Official Used Car Guide with a 
Statement of Fact (DR 2444) indicating that this is the applicant’s choice.

•	 Value established from Kelley Blue Book web site, www.kbb.com

Appraisal identifying 
the vehicle by VIN, 
year and make.

Photo copy of the 
front cover of the 
reference book and 
of page with the 
appraised value.
DR 2444

6 Purchase a surety bond for twice the appraised value as shown on the appraisal or twice 
the actual value determined by the county assessor’s records for a manufactured home. 
Bonding companies are listed in the telephone yellow pages under “surety bonds.”

Surety Bond Signed. 
Indicate year, make 
and VIN of the 
vehicle/manufactured 
home.

7 Complete the Storage Lien Bond Statement Guide, providing the following information:

•	 That you have not heard from the person who left the vehicle for over 30 days, and 
in good faith, you believe that the person has abandoned the vehicle.

•	 VIN, year and make of the vehicle.
•	 Name of person who left the vehicle with you.
•	 Copy of written agreement; or if verbal agreement, state terms of agreement.
•	 Date the vehicle was left with you. 
•	 Whether the vehicle is or is not roadworthy.

DR 2438

Copy of written 
agreement, if 
applicable

Continued on Next Page
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Step What You Need To Do Forms Needed

8 The applicant is required to disclose current or previous salvage information.

Upon receiving the record search information from the Department and if record indicates 
that the vehicle is salvage:

The applicant shall have a (DR 2704) Certified VIN Inspection completed to determine if 
the vehicle is roadworthy. If the vehicle is determined to be roadworthy, then the applicant 
may apply for title by following the (DR 2415) Title Established by Salvage Title Checklist. 
The applicant will complete the (DR 2424) Salvage Title Statement of Fact stating that the 
vehicle was obtained as an abandoned vehicle and that no repairs were needed.

If the (DR 2704) Certified VIN Inspection indicates that the vehicle is not roadworthy, the 
applicant may apply for a salvage title using the (DR 2410) Application for Salvage Title or 
the applicant may apply for Title by repairing the vehicle and following the DR 2415 Title 
Established by Salvage Title Checklist. The (DR 2424) Salvage Title Statement of Fact 
must indicate the repairs that were completed to make the vehicle roadworthy. After making 
repairs a new DR 2704 Certified VIN Inspection will be required.

If the record search obtained from the Department indicates that the vehicle was 
‘Previous Salvage’ (Rebuilt From Salvage), the applicant shall request a salvage history 
by submission of a (DR 2539) Title Information Request and Receipt indicating “Salvage 
Title History”, a photo copy of the (DR 2704) Certified VIN Inspection and a (DR 2444) 
Statement of Fact to determine the cause of the salvage designation. Once the reason for 
salvage has been determined, the applicant will complete a DR 2710 Rebuilt From Salvage 
Disclosure. If the reason for salvage is indeterminate, the applicant will complete the (DR 
2710) by marking the "Other" box and stating "Purchased as an abandoned vehicle, unable 
to obtain a salvage history, reason for salvage unknown”.

DR 2710

Results of the 
“Salvage Title History”

9 Apply for Title or Salvage Title at the county motor vehicle office in the county in which 
you live.

•	 Manufactured homes are titled at the county motor vehicle office in the county in 
which the manufactured home is located.

Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or registration in the 
state of Colorado. Please see DR 2841 for acceptable identification documents.

**NOTE** The odometer must be disclosed on a secure form for motor vehicles with 
model year of less than 10 years. The applicant taking title will disclose the mileage on 
the DR 2173 Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale. To obtain a DR 2173, please contact Standard 
Register at 1-800-877-0723.

Items listed above. 
Title fee—$7.20 
pursuant to 
C.R.S. 42-6-137(1)(a).

DR 2173
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