
Step What You Need To Do Forms/Fees

1
Have the motor vehicle inspected and a Certified VIN Inspection form (DR 2704) 
completed by a P.O.S.T. certified inspector. Your local county motor vehicle office can 
refer you to a P.O.S.T. certified inspector in your area.
	 • Inspection must not be over one (1) year old

DR 2704

Inspection Fee – $50.00

2 Provide proof of the $3.50 assigned ID fee (validated on the DR 2539, or registration receipt) DR 2539 or  
registration receipt

3

If vehicle has proper ownership documents, whether in-state or out-of-state, skip to 
Step 5.
If there are no proper ownership documents, perform a title record search for in-state 
and out-of-state vehicles:

•	Colorado record search
		  • �Provide photocopy of the Certified VIN Inspection form (DR 2704)
		  • �Provide a completed Motor Vehicle Record Search Request form (DR 

2489A) and Title Information Request and Receipt form (DR 2539) for 
each vehicle identification number involved

		  • �Provide a completed Statement of Fact form (DR 2444)
	 • How, when and from whom the vehicle was obtained
	 • How much was paid for the vehicle
	 • Why applicant is requesting a title search or history

Fee – $2.20 per search

DR 2444

Validated copy of a
DR 2539 and DR 2489A 
for each VIN

DR 2704

4

Contact all owners of record found as a result of the search via certified or registered 
(return receipt requested) mail
	 • Letter must include

		  • �Year, make, VIN
		  • �Your intent to title
		  • �Your contact information
		  • A request that owner of record indicate his/her intent to keep or release
		  the vehicle
		  • Print out of signature acceptance

Letter must be returned with proof of delivery via Post Office Return Receipt form 
(PS 3811) or envelope stamped “Undeliverable”

Copy of letter sent to 
all owners of record

PS 3811

5

If title record search result indicates an active lien, it must be released via an 
acceptable lien release.

•	If Lienholder is not available:
	 • �Filed in Colorado
	 • Letter must be sent via certified or registered (return receipt  
		  requested) mail
	 • Letter must include
	 • Year, make, VIN
	 • Your intent to title
	 • Your Contact information
	 • Request for release of lien
	 • Letter must be returned “Undeliverable”
	 • Bond must be posted for the lien amount or twice the appraised value

•	Out-of-state (not filed in Colorado)
•	Request lien release from state of record
•	 Release must be on the state of record’s letterhead

Acceptable lien release

Copy of proof of 
delivery (PS 3811, or 
envelope stamped 
"Undeliverable")

Court Order that 
identifies vehicle by 
year, make and VIN
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Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Checklist
C.R.S. 42-5-110, 42-5-202, 204, 42-6-115, 118, 42-12-202, 203

A vehicle identification number is assigned when a vehicle identification number has been 
removed,changed, altered, obliterated or the vehicle is manufactured from a kit.



6

Provide proof of ownership for all other components used in the reconstruction of 
the vehicle including an original Bill of Sale, invoices or receipts; these must be 
notarized or signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree.

•	Original Certificate of Title properly assigned to the applicant, or
•	Bill of Sale or
•	Original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), properly assigned to, 

the applicant, and
NOTE: If the Certificate of Title or MSO shows an active lien, an acceptable lien release is 
required.
Provide proof of ownership for all other components used in the reconstruction 
of the vehicle to include an original Bill of Sale, invoices or receipts, if notarized 
or signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree. Original Bill of Sale must 
include:

•	Description of the part sold, VIN, year, make 	 • Buyers Name
•	Date Sold 					     • Seller's Name

NOTE: If you do not have acceptable ownership documents, you must purchase a surety 
bond, pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-115. If you have a homemade motorcycle, built from 
the ground up, only receipts signed under penalty of perjury for the major components, 
including the engine case, are required. No bond will be required in this instance.

Bill of Sale

Certificate of Title

MSO

Invoices

Receipts

7
Compile photographs of the completed vehicle showing vehicle is road worthy, 
including:

•	Pre-repair photos, if available.
•	Showing entire front and driver’s side
•	Showing entire rear and passenger’s side.

8 Complete a Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number Declaration of Facts 
form (DR 2426) DR 2426

9
If vehicle is less than 10 years old, secure odometer disclosure is required.
If vehicle has no odometer, submit a DR 2444, Statement of Fact form explaining 
why there is no odometer.

DR 2173
DR 2444

10

Submit a Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number form (DR 2408) with 
supporting documents listed to the right, to your local county motor vehicle office. 

All approved applications will be forwarded to the Colorado State Patrol who will 
contact you for an appointment to physically affix the VIN plate to your vehicle. All 
supporting documents will be returned to you at that time. If your application indicates 
that bonding is required for titling your vehicle, you must obtain a bond after your VIN 
tag has been affixed but before you apply for title.

All rejected applications will be returned to you with detailed reasons for rejection.

*Bond should be purchased after assigned ID is affixed otherwise a rider to the bond 
will be required

DR 2408

DR 2704

Validated DR 2539 and 
copy of search result 
(for each vehicle)

DR 2841

Copy of Certified 
letter of notification to 
owner(s) of record and 
lienholder, if applicable

Copy of proof of 
delivery (PS 3811, 
envelope stamped 
“Undeliverable”)

DR 2173

DR 2444

Assigned ID fee - $3.50


