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TITLE SECTION
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STATE OF COLORADO
REBUILDER'S TITLE
CHECKLIST

C.R.S. 42-5-206, 42-6-102(15), 42-12-101, 102, 103, 42-12-202

A Rebuilder’s certificate of title will be issued to a motor vehicle valued principally because of the vehicle’s early date of
manufacture, design, historical interest, or value as a collector’s item. Vehicle must be physically located in Colorado
and not in roadworthy condition to complete this process.

STEP WHAT YOU NEED TO DO FORMS/FEES
Have the motor vehicle inspected and a Certified VIN Inspection form (DR 2704) DR 2704
completed by a P.O.S.T. certified inspector. Your local county motor vehicle office can
1 refer you to a P.O.S.T. certified inspector in your area. Inspection Fee — $20.00
® [nspection over one (1) year old
® The motor vehicle model year must be 1975 or earlier
Provide a Statement of Fact (DR 2444) or a written statement, made under penalty of | DR 2444
perjury in the second degree, providing the following information:
® \Why there is no title for the vehicle Any other documents proving
® Reason bonding for ownership is required purchase or ownership
2 ® Describe the vehicle by year, make and VIN
® From whom and when it was purchased, and the amount paid
® That there are no liens against the vehicle
® That the vehicle is not roadworthy
A Colorado assigned VIN is required when there are multiple VINs or no VIN exists. DR 2408
If an assigned VIN is required, submit to your local county motor vehicle office: DR 2444
® Application for Colorado Assigned Vehicle Identification Number, (DR 2408)
® Colorado Certified VIN Inspection (DR 2704) DR 2704
® Statement of Fact (DR 2444
3 All approved assigned VIN applications will be forwarded to the Colorado State Patrol | Fe€ - $3.50 for Assigned VIN
who will contact you for an appointment to physically affix the VIN plate to your vehicle.
All supporting documents will be returned to you at that time.
Upon having all supporting documents returned to you by the Colorado State Patrol,
complete Steps 4, 5, and 6.
For the purpose of purchasing a surety bond or evidence of a savings account, deposit, | Vehicle appraisal
or certificate of deposit meeting the requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S. (see step | identifying the vehicle, by
5), establish the reasonable value of the vehicle determined by one of the following: VIN, year and make
® Price guide books
4 ® Computerized valuation services
® | icensed Colorado automotive dealer
® C(Certified appraisal
The Vehicle appraisal must identify the vehicle by VIN, year and make.
Furnish evidence of a savings account, deposit, or certificate of deposit meeting Account Deposit Certificate
the requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S., or a good and sufficient bond with a or signed Bond. Indicate
5 corporate surety not less than twice the reasonable value of the vehicle. The savings | year, make and VIN of
account, deposit, certificate of deposit, or surety bond must indicate the year, make vehicle
and VIN of the vehicle.
Apply for a “Rebuilder’s Title” at the county motor vehicle office in the county in Title Fee — $7.20
which you live. Secure and Verifiable Identification is required to obtain a title and/or pursuant to C.R.S. 42-6-137
6 registration in the state of Colorado. Please see DR 2841 for acceptable identification | (1)(a)
documents. Vehicles issued a rebuilder’s title shall not be registered and/or driven.




