
The DR 1093 Annual Transmittal of State W-2 Forms should 
be filed in January for withholding taxes reported on W-2s 
for the prior calendar year.
If you are filing an amended return you are required to 
mark the amended Return box. A separate amended 
return must be filed for each year. The amended return 
must show the tax column as corrected, not merely the 
difference(s). The amended return will replace the original 
return in its entirety.
Most entities are required to file an Annual Withholding 
Transmittal. Attach this form to the total withholding 
statements (W-2s) that were furnished to each payee.
•	 If you use the electronic method for filing your W-2s 

(Revenue Online, www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline) 
submit this form if an amount appears on 3A or 3B. Mail 
this form to the address shown below.

•	 If you file paper W-2 statements, you must always 
attach this form before submitting documents.

Due Date
•	 Active (Open) Accounts – This form must be 

postmarked on or before the last day in January  following 
the end of the year in which withholdings were made.

•	 Inactive (Closed) Accounts – This form must be 
postmarked within thirty (30) days of the business 
closure. 
Should either due date fall on a weekend or holiday, it 
will be extended to the next business day.

Completing the Transmittal Form
Line 1	 Enter the total amount of state withholding 

withheld from all Colorado employees per W-2s.
Line 2	 Enter the total Colorado withholding payments 

you remitted. Do not include penalty and/or 
interest you paid.

Line 3	 If amount on lines 1 and 2 are the same, enter 
a zero on line 6.

Line 3A	Additional Tax  – If line 1 is greater than line 
2, complete lines 3A, 4, 5, and 6. Penalty and 
interest will be calculated automatically when 
there is a balance due.

Line 3B	Overpayment – If line 2 is greater than line 
1, complete line 3B. Do not enter amount on 
line 6. A tax refund will be issued automatically 
upon processing if form is filed timely, a review 
is not required, and there are no outstanding 
delinquencies on the account. 

Line 4	 Penalty – Enter 5% (.05) of tax due or $5, 
whichever amount is greater, for any payment 
made after the due date, add 1/2% (.005) 
additional penalty for each additional month you 
are late up to a maximum of 12% of the tax due. 
The minimum late filing penalty is $5.

Line 5	 Interest – Enter the interest computed on the 
balance of the tax due if you are filing this return 
after the due date. Interest is due at the current 
statutory rate of .3333% (.003333) for each 
monthly payment received after the due date.

Line 6	 Additional Balance Paid – If line 1 is greater 
than line 2, add lines 3A, 4 and 5. If lines 1 and 2 
are equal, enter 0 (zero).

Mail to and make checks payable to: 
Colorado Department of Revenue 
Denver CO 80261-0009

For your records
Filing period

1. Colorado income tax  
withheld per W-2s. 00

2. Colorado income tax withheld 
and paid. 00

3. A. Balance Due
or

B. Overpayment

00

00
4. Penalty
	 (see instructions) 	 00
5. Interest
	 (see instructions) 	 00

6. Additional Balance Paid $ .00

Annual Transmittal of 
State W-2 Forms (DR 1093)

Instructions
(See form on page 2)

*DO=NOT=SEND* DR 1093 (11/21/17)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Denver CO 80261-0009
Colorado.gov/Tax



SSN 1 SSN 2

FEIN Account Number

Last Name or Business Name First Name Middle Initial

Address

City State ZIP

Period (MM/YY – MM/YY) Due Date (MM/DD/YY)

	        –			 

Number of W-2s Attached Phone Number

Mark here if this is an Amended Return	 	 Paid by EFT		
1000-130

1. Total Colorado income taxes withheld per W-2 forms attached. 00

2. Total Colorado income taxes remitted for the period indicated above.	 (890) 00

3. A. Balance Due If line 1 is more than line 2, enter difference and (see instructions)	 (100) 00

B. �Overpayment If line 2 is more than line 1, enter the difference and (see instructions)	 (415) 00

4. Penalty (see instructions)	 (200) 00

5. Interest (see instructions)	 (300) 00

6. Additional Balance Paid Add lines 3A, 4,and 5	 (355) $	 .00
The State may convert your check to a one-time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will 
not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Mail reconciliation with W-2 forms and any payment due on line 6 to: Colorado Department of Revenue, 
	 Denver, CO 80261-0009
Signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree.
Signature Date (MM/DD/YY)

Departmental Use Only

Colorado Department of Revenue 
Annual Transmittal of State W-2 Forms

DR 1093 (11/21/17)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Denver CO 80261-0009
Colorado.gov/Tax
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