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Monthly Return of Oil  
and Gas Tax Withheld

Colorado Account Number FEIN

Name

Address City State Zip

Period (Mm/Yy-MM/YY)

-
Due Date (MM/DD/YY)

Mail to and make checks payable to: Colorado Department of Revenue
Denver, CO 80261-0006

Instructions
Oil and gas withholding must be remitted electronically. (Submit this paper return only if you are reporting an amount 
on line 2, 3, 4 or 5, or until your EFT account is established.) Penalty and interest will apply to payments submitted 
with this form if you are not actively pursuing an EFT account.

Line 1: 	 Enter the total of all Colorado oil and gas severance taxes withheld from disbursements made during the 
month.

Line 2: 	 Enter the total of any underpayment adjustments for prior periods. (Attach explanation.)

Line 3: 	 Enter the total of any overpayment (not to exceed the sum of lines 1 and 2) adjustments for prior tax periods. 
(Attach explanation.)

Line 4: 	 Penalty: 30% of tax or $30, whichever is greater if payment is delinquent.

Line 5: 	 Interest applies at the current rate on the total tax due from the date due until paid if the payment is 
delinquent.

Line 6: 	 Enter the total. (Add lines 1, 2, 4 and 5 minus line 3.)

You must round to the nearest dollar Oil and Gas

1. Total Colorado severance tax withheld 1 $ 00

2. Additional tax due for prior period within calendar year
Month

2 $ 00

3. Overpayment of tax for prior period within calendar year to be applied to current tax 3 $ 00

4. Penalty 4 $ 00

5. Interest 5 $ 00

6. Total Amount Due and Payable 
   Paid by EFT 6 $ .00

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early  as the same day  received by the State. If converted, your 
check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account 
electronically. 

Please include the account number on your check to ensure proper credit.
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury in the second degree that this return, including any accompanying schedules 
and statements, is a true, correct and complete return to the best of my knowledge.
Trade Name Title Phone Number 

(          )
Signature of Officer or Agent Date (MM/DD/YY)
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CDOR
Instructions
Monthly date format is: (MM/YY - MM/YY)
Example: (01/13 - 01/13)

Quarterly date format is: (MM/YY - MM/YY)
Example: (01/13 - 04/13)

Annual date format is: (MM/YY - MM/YY)
Example: (01/13 - 01/14) 

CDOR
Instructions
Monthly date format is: (MM/YY - MM/YY)
Example: (01/13 - 01/13)

Quarterly date format is: (MM/YY - MM/YY)
Example: (01/13 - 04/13)

Annual date format is: (MM/YY - MM/YY)
Example: (01/13 - 01/14) 

CDOR
Instructions
Date format is MM/DD/YY
Example: 04/25/14



Withholding Rate and Monthly Due Dates:
Section 39-29-111, Colorado Revised Statutes, as 
amended, provides that every producer or every first 
purchaser of oil or gas shall withhold 1% from every 
payment disbursed, including overriding royalties and 
working interest. Withholding is not required from payments 
to the State of Colorado or U.S. Government.
It is further provided that the aggregate amounts so 
withheld during each month shall be paid to the Department 
of Revenue by these dates:

A return must be filed for each calendar month.
The paper return may only be used to report information on 
lines 2 through 5 or if you experience a delay in receiving 
your EFT authorization. Submitting payment with paper 
returns after EFT authorization is received, or not applying 
for EFT authorization, may result in penalty and/or interest 
charges on your payments.

Be sure to round your payment to the nearest dollar. 
The amount on the check and the amount entered on 
the payment voucher must be the same. This will help 
maintain accuracy in your tax account.

Interest:
Failure to file a return and pay the tax on or before the due 
date will result in interest at the current statutory rate from 
the due date to the date of payment.

Penalty:
Failure to file a return and pay the tax on or before the 
due date will result in a penalty at the rate of 30% or $30 
whichever is greater, per §39-29-115(1), C.R.S.

Annual Reconciliation Reports:
On or before April 15 following the close of the calendar 
year, all producers or first purchasers withholding 
severance tax from oil and gas during the calendar year 
must file the Annual Reconciliation of Severance Tax 
Withheld from Oil and Gas Payments (DR 0456). The Oil 
and Gas Withholding Statement (DR 0021W) for each 
person from whom Colorado gross severance tax was 
withheld from oil and gas payments during the calendar 
year must be submitted with the DR 0456.

For further information call (303) 238-SERV (7378) or go 
to www.TaxColorado.com

Mail to and make checks payable to: 

	 Colorado Department of Revenue
	 Denver, CO 80261-0006

Oil and Gas Withholding Information

Withholding Month
January 
February
March
April
May 
June
July 
August
September
October
November 
December 

Due Date
April 1
May 1
June 1
July 1
August 1 
September 1
October 1
November 1 
December 1
January 1
February 1 
March 1
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