
Consumer Use Tax Return and Instructions
You can file this return online at www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline

You can access your tax account information, file your tax return, 
see your payment history, make payments online and more - all 
on our one-stop, streamlined Web site called Revenue Online. 
Sign Up and begin using your Login immediately. Visit  
www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline to get started today.
When filing consumer use or RTA consumer use tax 
electronically, Revenue Online will do all the calculations for you 
and remind you what the taxes and rates are for your location. 
Consumer use tax is not currently visible on Revenue Online as 
many of the other tax types are. 
Use Tax is Due if:
• You purchased items without paying sales tax in Colorado or 

out of Colorado.
• Your items purchased were used, stored, or consumed in 

Colorado.
State use tax must be paid for all purchases that meet the use tax 

requirement in Colorado.
RTD/CD use tax must also be paid if the items purchased are 

used, stored or consumed within these districts.
• RTD .010 (Regional Transportation District) and CD .001 

(Scientific and Cultural District).
• Refer to DR 1002, “Colorado Sales/Use Rates” for district 

boundaries.
Line 2a
 If you paid state sales tax but not RTD/CD on certain 

purchases (or vice versa), enter the amount of the purchases 
on this line in the proper column.

Tax Credit Line 4
 With proof of payment, you may take credit for the amount of 

any legally assessed state sales tax paid to another state. Any 
credit taken is limited to the amount of Colorado state use tax 
due on the transaction. The credit should be first applied to the 
state tax and any unused credit should be prorated among the 
remaining use taxes.

Rounding
 All entries on this use tax return must be rounded to the 

nearest dollar. Round amounts under 50 cents down to 0 
cents, increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next dollar. 
Books and records must reflect actual tax amounts and only 
the totals appearing on the tax return are rounded.

Motor Vehicles
 Tax is paid on motor vehicles at the time of purchase or when 

the vehicle is registered with the county clerk. Do not complete 
this form for any motor vehicle purchase.

Due Date
• If your total tax is less than $300.00 per year, you may file this 

return once a year. The due date on the return is January 20 of 
the following year.

• If your tax computed totals to $300.00 or more at any time, you 
are to file this return before the 20th of the following month.

Penalty and Interest
• Failure to file the return and pay the tax on time subjects the 

purchaser to penalty of 10% plus 1/2% for each additional 
month not to exceed 18% of the tax due and interest. See 
publication FYI General 11 Colorado Civil Tax Penalties and 
Interest on our Web site at www.TaxColorado.com

Important New Instructions 
RTA (Rural Transportation Authority) use tax must be reported on 
a separate form, DR 0251 “RTA Consumer Use Tax Return” (DO 
NOT complete this form for RTA consumer use tax).
There are four RTA Districts that have a use tax. See the “Colorado 
Sales/Use Tax Rates” (DR 1002) publication or the DR 0251 form 
instructions for specific boundaries of the following RTA Districts:

Roaring Fork RTA (See publication DR 1002)
Pikes Peaks RTA (El Paso County)
Baptist Road RTA (Monument)
South Platte Valley RTA (Sterling)

• Amended Return-If you are filing an amended return, you 
are required to mark the amended return box. A separate 
amended return must be filed for each period. The amended 
return must show all tax columns as corrected, not merely 
the difference(s). The amended return will replace the original 
return in its entirety. The DR 0252 Web form may be used to 
file an amended return.

City and county use tax is collected by local authorities, not 
the State of Colorado, Department of Revenue.
Mail to:  
Colorado Department of Revenue, Denver, CO 80261-0013
Make checks or Money Orders Payable to: Colorado Department 
of Revenue, Please include your account number on your check.
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Consumer Use Tax Return

Purchaser Business Name

Street Address City State ZIP Code

County Phone
(          )

Signed under penalty of 
perjury in the second degree.

Signature 
0370-102

If out-of-state taxpayer, give Colorado address (Street, City, County, ZIP Code) Date (MM/DD/YY)

Acct. Number Period Covered (MM/YY-MM/YY)

	 —
Location/Juris Code FEIN SSN

1a. Purchase invoices covering the tangible property included in this return. Attach a separate sheet of paper if necessary.
Invoice Date Name of Vendor Address Amount

Mark here if this is an  
Amended Return                      1b. Total from attachments

FD (Prior to 2012) CD RTD State
1c. �Taxable amount (total purchases 

1a plus 1b) 00 00 00 00
2a. �Less Amount of Purchase From Line 

1a On Which Tax Has Been Paid 00 00 00 00
2b. �Taxable Amount (Line 1c  

Minus 2a) 00 00 00 00

3. Tax Rate .001 .001 .010 .029

4. �Less Tax Credit (See Instructions) 00 00 00 00

5. Net Tax Due	

(5-2)

00
(5-3)

00
(5-4)

00
(5-5)

00

6. Penalty:	

(6-2)

00
(6-3)

00
(6-4)

00
(6-5)

00

7. Interest 	

(7-2)

00
(7-3)

00
(7-4)

00
(7-5)

00

8. TOTAL of Each Tax Due 00 00 00 00
The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. 
Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the 
State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected 
due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may 
collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

9. Total Amount Owed 
(add all columns 1, 2, 3, & 4.) $ 	 .00    Paid by EFT       (355)
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Departmental Use Only
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