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Recycling Rebate Application 
Recycling Resources Economic Opportunity Fund  

 
August 1, 2016 

Overview 

The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (department), working through its Pollution Prevention 
Advisory Board (board) and the Assistance Committee (committee) to the board, requests applications for a 
monetary rebate from the Recycling Resources Economic Opportunity (RREO) Fund. The intent of the RREO rebate 
program is to financially assist free public recycling drop-off sites that must ship their recyclables considerable 
distances to bring them to market or to be further processed. The total amount available for the rebate period, defined 
as July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016, is $381,150. 

For this round, 100% of the rebate is dedicated to free public recycling drop-off sites. Fifty percent of the fund will 
be allocated based on tonnage recycled and miles traveled to bring recyclables to the nearest processing facility. The 
remaining 50 percent will be allocated based on the number of eligible recycling drop-off sites available to the 
public. The application template is located on the department’s website at 
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/recyclinggrantrebates.  

Application Time Line  

August 1, 2016 Application released 

August 31, 2016, 3:00 PM MDT Applications due 

September 1 - 13, 2016 Applications reviewed by staff and committee  

September 27, 2016 Board to give final approval of rebates 

October 18, 2016 Rebate payments mailed to recipients 

Future Rebate Cycles 

The committee and board have discretion on how the rebate fund will be allocated, and the rebate formula and/or 
eligibility requirements may change from one rebate cycle to the next. Applicants should not rely on the rebate 
program as guaranteed income in perpetuity. It is anticipated that the next rebate application will be released in 
August 2017, which will request data on tonnage collected for the period July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017. 

Eligibility  

According to the Colorado Revised Statutes, Section 25-16.5-105(1)(k), any local government, nonprofit, or for-
profit entity within the State of Colorado that performs the services or recycles the materials listed below may apply 
for a rebate. Any entity that incurs transportation/hauling costs associated with providing one or more free public 
recycling drop-off sites is eligible to apply for a rebate. The following facilities are considered drop-off sites and 
would be eligible for a rebate provided that recyclables are accepted from the general public: 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/recycling-grants-and-rebates
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A drop-off site that is operated by any local government, nonprofit, or for-profit entity on public or private land 
within the state of Colorado 

1) A Materials Recovery Facilities (MRF) or similar processing center that processes and sorts less than 8,000 
tons of recyclables per year  

2) An end-user of recyclable material within the State of Colorado that processes less than 8,000 tons per year 
3) A facility that collects and processes post-consumer glass for recycling, but processes less than 8,000 tons 

per year 

Additional eligibility requirements include: 

1) Entities who incur transportation/hauling costs for pickup service are eligible to apply for the rebate. Entities 
who only incur other costs (container purchases, site maintenance, etc.) are not eligible for a rebate. 

2) Drop-off sites must accept at least three different materials for recycling or accept single-stream recyclables. The 
following materials are eligible for a rebate: cardboard, chipboard, newspaper and inserts, office paper/mail, 
magazines, phone books, plastic bottles/tubs/jugs/jars #1 – #7, glass bottles and jars, aluminum and tin 
cans/containers.   

3) Buy back centers, clothing drop-offs, and similar drop-off sites are not eligible to apply. The committee reserves 
the right to disqualify any application in which recyclables collected are not deemed appropriate for a rebate. 

4) New drop-off sites that opened during the 12-month rebate period are only eligible if they opened to the 
general public on or before January 1, 2016. To be eligible, the new drop-off site must have been open to the 
general public for at least six months. Drop-off sites that ceased to operate during the 12-month rebate period 
are not eligible. Only drop-off sites that are currently open to the general public are eligible.  

5) Drop-off sites must be located at a permanent address and must be available to the public a minimum of 12 
hours per week. 

6) Each drop-off site must provide containers that collectively equal a minimum of 12 cubic yards of recycling 
capacity.  For instance, a drop-off site with three, 4-yard containers serviced once per week would be eligible, but 
a site with two, 3-yard containers that are serviced twice per week would not be eligible.  

7) For any drop-off sites that are MRFs or are similar processing facilities, and less than 8,000 tons are 
processed annually, all recyclables that are collected curbside or from commercial accounts must be 
subtracted. Only those recyclables that are delivered by the public are eligible and should be reported in the 
rebate application if the MRF (or similar) is listed as a public drop-off site. 

Rebate Formulas 

Two formulas will be used to calculate rebate awards for eligible recycling drop-off sites. Fifty percent of the fund 
will be allocated based on the tonnage recycled and the miles traveled to bring recyclables to the nearest processing 
facility. A threshold of 35 miles is the minimum number of miles that must be traveled before mileage is factored 
into the rebate formula. Only the number of miles traveled beyond 35 will be counted in the formula. This portion of 
the rebate will be calculated as follows: 

Drop-Off Site Rebate       =    (Total Material Tonnage) x (Total Miles Material Shipped) x (Total Dollars Available) 
Per Ton-Mile Per Location             (Total Number of Ton-Miles of Approved Applicants) 

The remaining 50 percent will be allocated based on the number of eligible recycling drop-off sites. This portion of 
the rebate will be calculated as follows:  

Drop-Off Site Rebate               =          (Total Dollars Available) x (Total Number of Drop-Off Site(s) for Applicant)  
Per Number of Drop-Off Sites                          (Total number of Drop-Off Site(s) by All Applicants) 

Any eligible entity that incurs transportation/hauling costs associated with providing one or more free public 
recycling drop off sites is eligible to apply for a rebate. To be considered for a rebate, list all eligible free public 
recycling drop-off sites that were available to the public between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016 in the attached 
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table. In the future, the formulas for awarding rebates may be re-structured or other materials may be added to or 
removed from the rebate program. 

Volume-To-Weight Conversion Calculations 

The following conversion factors* must be used if weight data is unavailable. Single-stream recyclables must be 
reported in tons. If accurate tonnages are not available, the volume-to-weight conversions provided below must be 
used to maintain consistency among all applicants.  

The formula for converting cubic yards to tons is (number of cubic yards) x (weight in pounds) ÷ (2000 pounds) = 
tons. 
 

Category Recyclable Material Volume Estimated 
Weight (lbs) 

Glass Bottles    
 Whole 1 yd3 620 
 Semi-crushed 1 yd3 1175 
 Crushed  (mechanically) 1 yd3 1840 
Aluminum Cans:    
 Whole 1 yd3 60 
 Flattened 1 yd3 225 
Ferrous (Tin Cans):    
 Whole 1 yd3 150 
 Flattened 1 yd3 850 
Old Corrugated Cardboard    
 Loose 1 yd3 200 
 Compacted 1 yd3 460 
Newspaper    
 Loose 1 yd3 445 
 Compacted 1 yd3 800 
Commingled Containers    

(cans, glass, plastics) Loose 1 yd3 180 
Office Paper    
 Loose 1 yd3 655 
 Compacted 1 yd3 1310 
Mixed Paper    
 Loose 1 yd3 490 
 Compacted 1 yd3 755 
Plastics, PET    
 Loose 1 yd3 35 
 Compacted 1 yd3 515 

Plastics, HDPE    
 Loose 1 yd3 25 
 Compacted 1 yd3 270 

    
Plastics, Mixed #1-7    

 Loose 1 yd3 38 
 Compacted 1 yd3 550 

Single-stream (mixed    
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recyclables) 

 Loose 1 yd3 177 

Proprietary Information Policy 

If proprietary information is provided by an applicant that constitutes a trade secret, confidential personnel 
information, or proprietary commercial or financial information, it will be treated in confidence by the department, 
the committee, and the board. This information must be clearly marked with the term “Proprietary Information” on 
each appropriate page. 

Rebate Payments  

The department will make rebate payments from the RREO Fund to successful applicants on October 18, 2016. Only 
rebates totaling $100 or more will be awarded. Rebate payments are capped at 10% of the total rebate fund available, 
or $38,115. No entity will receive more than 10% of the total rebate fund available. 

Submitting a Rebate Application 

The department will accept applications beginning August 1, 2016. All applicants must complete the provided cover 
sheet and application form in its entirety. An organization applying for this rebate for the first time must include a 
W9 form with their submitted application. If an organization has previously applied for and received a rebate from 
this program, a W9 form is not required unless the address you wish the rebate check to be mailed has changed. Be 
sure the mailing address on the rebate application matches the address provided on the W9 since rebate checks will 
be mailed to the address on the W9. A template of the required W9 form can be found on the department’s website: 
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/recyclinggrantrebates  

Electronic applications submitted in PDF format are strongly preferred.  Please e-mail your application to Eric 
Heyboer, Program Administrator, at cdphe.ppp2@state.co.us (Subject Line: Recycling Rebate Application). 
Applications received by mail will also be accepted at the following: 

RREO Rebate Program 
Attn: Eric Heyboer, DEHS-A2 
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246-1530 

The deadline to submit complete applications by e-mail is 3:00 PM MDT on August 31, 2016. Applications that are 
mailed must be received by 3:00 PM MDT on August 31, 2016. Applications postmarked on August 31 but delivered 
on a later date will not be reviewed. Incomplete applications and applications received after this deadline will not be 
reviewed. All applicants will receive e-mail notification of receipt of their application within one (1) business day. If 
you do not receive an e-mail notification after one (1) business day, contact Eric Heyboer immediately at 303-691-
4955 to confirm that your application was submitted successfully. Do not send both an electronic application and an 
application by courier or certified mail. Please direct all questions or concerns to Eric Heyboer via email at 
cdphe.ppp2@state.co.us (Subject Line: Recycling Rebate Questions) or call 303-691-4955. 
 
*Sources:  
 

1. Massachusetts Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs, Volume to Weight Conversions for Recyclable 
Materials, http://www.mass.gov/dep/recycle/approvals/dsconv.pdf  

2. United States Environmental Protection Agency, Standard Volume to Weight Conversion Factors, 
http://www.epa.gov/osw/conserve/tools/recmeas/docs/guide_b.pdf 

3. Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, SCORE Program Reporting Form, p.17   
http://www.pca.state.mn.us/index.php/data/score/score-program-survey.html  
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