Exemption from Rabies Vaccination Form
Date of Exam:

(This certificate is valid until -NOT to exceed 3 years from date of issuance)
Owner name: Phone #: ( )
Last First

Address:

Street City State ZIP Code
Animal name: Species: Breed:
Age: Weight: Color: Sex: [ ] Male [ ] Female Neutered:[ ] Yes[ ] No
Microchip Manufacturer: Microchip#:

I have examined the animal above and determined it to be exempt from the local licensure
requirements for rabies vaccination because this procedure is contraindicated due to the medical
condition of the animal.

Describe nature and duration of health risk:

Veterinarian’s signature: License number:
Printed name: Name of Practice:
Address:
Street City State ZIP Code

By signing above, pursuant to Colorado Administrative Code, 6 CCR 1009-1, Section 8, | acknowledge that a valid veterinary-client-patient
relationship, as defined under C.R.S. §12-64-103 (15.5), has been established between the veterinarian, owner and animal to be exempted from
rabies inoculation. Duration of exemption is limited to the anticipated duration of the animal’s medical condition that precludes inoculation, not to
exceed 3 years from date of issuance.

By signing below, I acknowledge that I am the owner of the animal described above. I have been
informed that this animal is exempt from rabies vaccination for a period of up to three years, and
also that I have been informed of the following important information:

* This animal must be re-examined by the expiration date listed above. At that time, the
animal must either be vaccinated against rabies or, if exemption still applies, a new
certificate be issued.

* This animal is not adequately protected against rabies, and as a result is at increased risk of
becoming infected if exposed to a rabid animal

* Exemption from rabies vaccination does not exempt the animal from other Colorado
regulations and laws related to rabies. If this animal bites (or potentially exposes a person
to rabies by other means), it must be confined for 10 days in a facility approved by the local
health department where the exposure occurred. If this animal is potentially exposed to
rabies (e.g. due to a bite from an unknown animal), the local health department may require
it to be quarantined for 6 months, at the expense of the owner.

Owner’s signature: Date signed:

A copy of this certificate must be provided to the owner of the animal listed above and be kept as proof of exemption within the
medical records of the animal. For dogs (and cats in some jurisdictions), this certificate must be presented with an application
for a dog (or cat) license. Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statute 25-4-607, Section (3), (c): *“A veterinarian supplying a waiver exempting
an animal from a rabies vaccination, county and municipal health departments, their assistants and employees, the health department, health
officers, and anyone enforcing this part 6 shall not be liable for any subsequent accident, disease, injury, or quarantine that may occur as a result
of an animal exempted from a rabies vaccination pursuant to the rules of the health department.”
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