
TEMPLATE 
The following template is not intended as nor should it be construed as legal 
advice; rather, it is meant to assist those preparing to issue an order of 
quarantine in thinking about the types of issues that one might address in such 
an order.  Prior to finalizing any such public health order, it is recommended 
that legal advice be sought. 
 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT 

PPUUBBLLIICC  HHEEAALLTTHH  OORRDDEERR  FFOORR  QQUUAARRAANNTTIINNEE  
For Individuals with Probable or Definite Exposure 

to an Infectious Case of Measles 
 

TO:             
Social Security Number:        
Date of Birth (if available):        
 
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE or “health 
department”) has determined that you were exposed to a person who is infectious 
with measles during the time period ________________.  We do not have 
documentation that you are immune to measles.  Adequate documentation consists of 
either: 
1. a medical record stating that you have received two doses of measles vaccine 

after 12 months of age.  [One dose of vaccine is not currently considered 
adequate protection against exposure to measles.] 

2. a record of a blood test showing measles antibodies that indicate immunity or 
previous infection.   

 
Symptoms of measles may initially resemble a cold with fever and cough followed by 
a rash occurring several days later.  The symptoms may develop as long as twenty-
one days after exposure to a contagious person.  Persons infected with measles may 
be contagious from four days before rash onset until the fifth day of rash. In some 
persons, contagiousness can last longer.   Due to your exposure to this virus, you may 
now be incubating the infection.   If you develop measles symptoms, you could 
spread the virus before you develop any symptoms.  To protect the public’s health 
and to prevent further spread of the disease, you must not continue regular activities 
in the community until the full incubation period has passed.   
 

TERMS OF QUARANTINE 
To prevent the spread of this serious and contagious disease, pursuant to Colorado 
Revised Statutes § 25-1.5-102(1), you are subject to quarantine.  Assuming that you 
do not become ill with symptoms consistent with measles, effective ____________, 
the provisions of the quarantine order are: 
1. You are not allowed to attend childcare until ____________ (21 days after your 

first exposure. 
2. You are confined to your home,  <insert location>, until _____________.   
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3. Other than a person authorized by CDPHE or the designated local public health 

authority, you may not have visitors at your home unless the visitors are immune 
to measles as described above or were born prior to January 1, 1957 (which, for 
this purpose, is considered immunity to measles); this is in effect 
until____________.   

4. CDPHE or the designated local public health authority, will monitor your 
condition in the following manner: 
             

5.  You must cooperate with CDPHE or the designated local public health authority, 
in monitoring your condition by doing the following:   

           . 
6.  If you develop any symptoms of measles, or any other medical emergency or 

problem requiring treatment, immediately contact CDPHE or the designated 
local public health authority, at <insert phone number(s)>. 

 
If you become ill with measles, you may be contagious beyond _____________, in 
which case you will be notified in writing that this quarantine will be extended. 
                                                                                                                             
If necessary, CDPHE or the local public health authority may designate<insert local 
law enforcement agency> to enforce this order. 
 
IT IS UNLAWFUL FOR YOU TO WILLFULLY VIOLATE, DISOBEY, OR 
DISREGARD THIS PUBLIC HEALTH ORDER.  ANY PERSON WHO DOES SO 
IS GUILTY OF A MISDEMEANOR AND, UPON CONVICTION THEREOF, 
MAY BE PUNISHED BY A FINE OF UP TO $1,000.00 AND IMPRISONMENT 
IN A COUNTY JAIL FOR UP TO ONE YEAR, PER COLORADO REVISED 
STATUTES §25-1-114.  IF YOU DO NOT FOLLOW THIS ORDER, WE WILL 
SEEK A COURT ORDER IN COLORADO DISTRICT COURT.  IF YOU DO NOT 
COMPLY WITH THIS ORDER PENDING THE DISTRICT COURT’S DECISION, 
YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO ARREST AND INVOLUNTARY ISOLATION, PER 
COLORADO REVISED STATUTES §25-1-112. 
 
Immediate issuance of this order is necessary for the preservation of public health, safety, 
or welfare, and observance of the requirements of the Administrative Procedures Act 
would be contrary to the public interest.   If you have questions regarding this order, 
please contact <insert contact name> of CDPHE at 303-692-2700 or <insert contact 
name> of <insert designated local public health authority> at <insert phone 
number>. 
 
Issued this ___ day of ____________, 20___. 
 
Chief Medical Officer 
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
 
 


