Colorado Department of Agriculture

DIVISION OF PLANT INDUSTRY

Department
of Agriculture

MEMORANDUM

TO: Commercial Applicators

FROM: Plant Industry/Pesticide Applicator Section

RE: Licensing Requirements for Commercial Applicator

To license a business the following information is required:
e Commercial Applicator License Application (Form #DPI-PA 8)

o Pesticide Applicator Certificate of Evidence of Liability Insurance
(form #DPI-PA-30)

A. Minimum $400,000 general liability insurance required

e Notification of Qualified Supervisors or Certified Operators
(Form #PI-PA 58)

A. Business must employee at least ONE qualified supervisor
e Certificate of Good Standing (issued by Secretary of State)

A. Certificate of Good Standings are issued to a Corporation, Limited Liability Company,
Limited Liability Partnership, or similar entities

Sole-Proprietorships are NOT required to provide a certificate of good
standing. A certificate of good standing is required by the Rules issued
under Title 34, Article 10 for all corporations and other business entities for
which the Secretary of State provides such documentation. Certificates of
good standing that were issued over 60 days prior to an applicant's
application will not be accepted.

B. See reverse side for instructions on obtaining a Certificate of Good Standing

e Application fee of $350.00

e Application and fee of $100.00 for additional DBA’s (if applicable)
Form #DPI-PA 40(11/1999)

A Commercial Applicators operating under more than one business name from a
single location shall registered each additional DBA name

e For Aerial Applicators only a CFR, Part 137, issued by the FAA is required
Processing your application will continue when we receive the above applications material.

If you have any questions regarding licensing requirements, please contact Cheryl Shoup at (303) 239-4146.

See Reverse Side



OBTAINING A CERTIFICATE OF GOOD STANDING:

A Certificate of Good Standing may be requested from the Secretary of State’s Office
through the following:

e In person at 1700 Broadway, Suite 250, Denver, Colorado ;
e By phone at (303) 894-2200; or

e By fax at (303) 894-4864 or online at www.sos.state.co.us



DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
Colorado Department of Agriculture
Division of Plant Industry -618 LICENSE
700 Kipling Street, Suite 4000 -643 LATE
Lakewood, Colorado 80215-5894
(303) 239-4146

APPLICATION FOR COMMERCIAL
APPLICATOR'S LICENSE

INSTRUCTIONS: Please type or print legibly in blue or black ink. Complete this form in its entirety. Return: this
form; Evidence of Liability Insurance (DPI-PA-30); Notification of Qualified Supervisors (DPI-PA-58);
$350.00 license fee payable to the Colorado Department of Agriculture; and a Certificate of Good Standing (if
applicant is registered with the Secretary of State). If any of these parts are missing your application will be
rejected.

PERSON/ENTITY DESIRING LICENSE (Sole proprietorships please enter your name. Applicants other than
sole proprietorships please enter the entity name. See "Requirements and Procedures for Licensing or Registering as
a Pesticide Applicator" if you need further explanation.)

DOING BUSINESS AS NAME (DBA) (If no "doing business as" name is provided it will be assumed to be the
same as the person's name. The licensee can only do business under the listed DBA name. Additional "doing
business as" names can be added to the license using the Application for Registration of Additional "Doing Business
As" Names (DPI-PA-40).

MAILING ADDRESS OF BUSINESS (Address, city, state and zip)

LOCATION OF RECORDS (Must be a physical address, not a P.O. Box, including city, state, zip and county)

ADDITIONAL BUSINESS INFORMATION

Name of Primary Contact:

Business Phone: ( ) Aerial Applicator? O Yes [ No

APPLICATION CONTINUES ON THE REVERSE SIDE

DPI-PA 8 (10/2001)



** If you answer YES to questions 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, or 10 below, you must submit a written explanation. (If you
have previously provided the Department with this information, you do not need to resubmit an explanation.
Please indicate the year it was submitted) [F YOU FAIL TO SUBMIT THIS INFORMATION or you have had
recent actions taken against your license that you have not previously submitted an explanation for, your
application will be denied.

L.

10.

This business is operating as a: Sole Proprietorship: , Partnership: , Corporation: , Other
(describe):

List the person authorized to receive and accept service of summons and legal notices of all kinds for the
applicant in the state of Colorado. (Name, title, and complete address)

Name Title Complete Address

Have you filed a previous application for license as a commercial applicator in Colorado? I YES [ NO

Have you ever been licensed as a commercial applicator by any other state(s) or tribe(s)? [ YES O NO
If YES, list state(s) or tribe(s) name(s).

Has any action ever been taken regarding any license, or equivalent dealing with the application of
pesticides, which you now hold or have ever held? Include any actions by the U.S. military, U.S. Public
Health Service, any other U.S. federal government entity, any state licensing board, tribe, or any local
authority. (Actions include but are not limited to: cease and desist order, stipulation, suspension,
revocation, fines, probation, practice limitations, reprimand, letter of admonition, or other form of
censure.) If YES, attach an explanation including state or government agency, date, charge and
disposition. OYES ONO

Are there any complaints pending against any license dealing with the application of pesticides that are
not addressed by your answer to question five? If YES, attach an explanation. OYES ONO

Have you ever been denied a license or permission to apply pesticides in any state, tribal, or U.S. federal
jurisdiction? If YES, an attach explanation, include state or government agency, date and reason for
denial. OYES ONO

Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to apply pesticides? If YES, attach an explanation.
OYES ONO

Have you ever been convicted of, received a deferred prosecution or a deferred judgement for, or pled
nolo contendere to, any criminal offense related to the application of pesticides in any state, tribal, or
federal jurisdiction? Include any conviction that has been set aside, dismissed, or pardoned under any
provision of the law. If YES, attach an explanation. OYES ONO

Have you ever entered into a settlement or had a judgment entered against you in a court of law for
misapplication of pesticides? If YES, attach an explanation. OYES ONO

The undersigned states that the information contained in this application is true and correct to the best of my
knowledge. I also understand that under the Pesticide Applicators' Act, providing false information is grounds
for license denial, suspension, revocation, or other lawful discipline. The undersigned hereby acknowledges that
I understand and agree to the duties, obligations, and requirements imposed upon a commercial applicator
pursuant to Title 35, Article 10, C.R.S. and the rules promulgated thereunder.

Signature of Licensee or Authorized Representative Date

Printed Name of Licensee or Authorized Representative Title



Colorado Department of Agriculture
Division of Plant Industry
Pesticide/Pesticide Applicator Section
700 Kipling Street, Suite 4000
Lakewood, Colorado 80215-5894
(303) 239-4146

NOTIFICATION OF QUALIFIED SUPERVISORS OR CERTIFIED OPERATORS

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN BLACK OR BLUE INK.
NOTE: A copy of this document must be included with your application.

If you have not yet been assigned an ID #, write the word NEW in the ID # space. Future additions and/or deletions to your
business license or registration must be submitted on this form.

If you add a new qualified supervisor or certified operator, please be advised that this office requires the reverse side of this form
is filled out by that individual before they can be listed on your license. BOTH SIDES OF THIS FORM MUST BE
COMPLETED BEFORE A BUSINESS LICENSE OR REGISTRATION WILL BE ISSUED OR PRIOR TO AN
INDIVIDUAL ATTACHING TO A CURRENT BUSINESS LICENSE OR REGISTRATION.

BUSINESS OR
REGISTRATION ID: NAME:

Please INCLUDE/ADD the following qualified supervisors/certified operators to the business or registrant.

APPLICATORID # NAME

Please DELETE the following qualified supervisors/certified operators from the business or registrant.

APPLICATORID # NAME

Date Signature of Authorized Representative

Continued On Reverse Side
DPI-PA-58(10/00)



NOTIFICATION OF QUALIFIED SUPERVISORS OR CERTIFIED OPERATORS

THIS SIDE TO BE COMPLETED BY INDIVIDUAL

€ I WISH TO HAVE MY QS/CO LICENSE ATTACHED TO FOLLOWING BUSINESS LICENSE OR
REGISTRATION
€ I WORK FOR A LIMITED COMMERCIAL/PUBLIC APPLICATOR THAT DOES NOT APPLY

RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDES

BUSINESS OR BUSINESS OR
REGISTRATIONID#: ——— REGISTRATION NAME:
APPLICATORID # NAME NAME
PRINT SIGNATURE
PRINT SIGNATURE
PRINT SIGNATURE
PRINT SIGNATURE

I WISH TO HAVE MY QS/CO LICENSE DELETED FROM THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS LICENSE OR REGISTRATION.

BUSINESS OR BUSINESS OR
REGISTRATION ID: REGISTRATION NAME:
APPLICATORID # NAME NAME
PRINT SIGNATURE
PRINT SIGNATURE
PRINT SIGNATURE

PRINT SIGNATURE



Colorado Department of Agriculture
Division of Plant Industry
Pesticide/Pesticide Applicator Section
700 Kipling Street, Suite 4000
Lakewood, Colorado 80215-5894
(303) 239-4146

(303) 239-4177 (fax)

COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR CERTIFICATE OF EVIDENCE OF LIABILITY INSURANCE
Please type or print legibly with blue or black ink.

PERSON OR BUSINESS NAME

DOING BUSINESS AS

MAILING ADDRESS, INCLUDING CITY, STATE AND ZIP:

AS REQUIRED UNDER SECTION 35-10-106 OF THE PESTICIDE APPLICATORS' ACT.
(SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR DETAILS).

POLICY NUMBER

INSURANCE COMPANY NAME

INSURANCE COMPANY ADDRESS, INCLUDING CITY, STATE AND ZIP:

PHONE:( )
AMOUNT OF INSURANCE
BODILY INJURY - § per person $ per accident
PROPERTY DAMAGE - $ per accident
OR
CSL OR AGGREGATE
POLICY COVERAGE DATES
Coverage Start Date: Expiration Date:

In the event of cancellation of the above described policy, a prior written notice of not less than 10 days shall be given to the Commissioner of
Agriculture at the address above.

Agent Signature

Printed Agent Name

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Phone: ( )

THIS IS A LEGAL DOCUMENT. READ BOTH SIDES.

DPI-PA-30 (REV 10/2000)



From The Pesticide Applicators' Act

35-10-106. Commercial applicator - license requirements - application - fees.
(1) As requisites for licensure, the applicant for a commercial applicator business license
shall:

(a)  Obtain liability insurance in the minimum amount of four hundred thousand
dollars with the provision that such policy shall not be canceled unless
written notice is provided to the commissioner at least ten days prior to such
cancellation; except that liability insurance policies containing a so-call
pollution exclusion" shall satisfy this paragraph (a);

35-10-117. Unlawful Acts.
(4) 1t is unlawful and a violation of this article for any commercial applicator:

(a) To operate any device or to apply any pesticide if the insurance required by
section 34-10-106 (1) (a) is not in full force and effect at the time of such
use or application, or if it does not have on file with the department, in the
form and manner designated by the commissioner, verification that said
insurance is in full force and effect.



