
This complimentary guide is provided by the Division of Labor Standards and Statistics. Its condensed and simplified content is for general informational purposes only, and does not constitute legal advice.  
For more information contact the Division, an attorney, or an HR professional. 

  The Colorado Wage Act (C.R.S. 8-4-101 et seq.) requires Colorado employers to pay employees their earned wages in a timely manner.  
The Wage Act is commonly referred to as the Colorado Wage Law or Colorado Wage Claim Act, and was amended by the Wage Protection Act of 2014. 

Applies to private sector employers in Colorado.  

Does not apply to public sector employers.  

Does not apply to independent contractors.  

COVERAGE  
(8-4-101) 

 Pay periods can be no greater duration than a 

calendar month or 30 days, whichever is 

greater. 

 Paydays must occur no later than 10 days 

following the close of each pay period.  

PAY PERIODS AND PAYDAYS  
(8-4-103(1)) 

At least monthly, or at the time of payment of 

wages, the employer shall furnish to the 

employee an itemized pay statement in writing 

showing: 

 Gross and net wages, earned 

 All withholdings and deductions 

 Inclusive dates of the pay period 

 Name of the employee or SS# 

 Name and address of the employer 

PAY STATEMENTS  

(8-4-103(4)) 

Wages must be delivered to either the work site, 

employer’s local office, or the employee’s last 

known mailing address as follows: 

Employer ends the employment relationship 

1. If the accounting unit is scheduled to be 

operational, pay is due immediately. 

2. If the accounting unit is not scheduled to be 

operational, pay is due not later than 6 hours 

after the start of the accounting unit’s next 

regular workday. 

3. If the accounting unit is located off-site, then 

wages are due no later than 24 hours after the 

start of the accounting unit’s next regular 

workday. 

Employee quits or resigns 

Wages are due by or on the next regular payday.  

FINAL PAY 
(8-4-109) 

If an employer refuses to pay all earned wages, 

the employer shall be liable for the owed wages 

and a penalty that may meet or exceed 125% of 

the amount owed, or up to 10 days of the 

employee’s daily earnings, whichever is greater. 
 

3 Categories of Employer Fines 
 

1. A fine of up to $250 per employee, per month, 

for failures to retain or provide proper pay 

statements to the Division or to employee(s), 

with a maximum of $7,500. 
  

2. A fine of up to $50 per day, per employee, for 

each failure to pay an employee, commencing 

from the date that the wages were due and 

payable to the employee(s). 
  

3. A fine of $250 for each failure to respond to a 

notice from the Division that required a 

response.  

WAGES OWED, PENALTIES, AND FINES 
(8-4-109(3)),(8-4-103),(8-4-113) 

1. The Director of the Division is required or 

authorized to conduct investigations and 

inquiries regarding alleged violations of the 

Wage Act. 

2. District Attorneys in Colorado may prosecute 

violations of the Wage Act. 

3. Employees may pursue wages in a civil action. 

ENFORCEMENT  
(8-4-111) 

Employers may not intimidate, threaten, restrain, 

coerce, discharge, or in any manner discriminate 

against any employee who has filed a complaint 

under the Wage Act.  

DISCRIMINATION PROHIBITED  
(8-4-120) 

Any agreement, written or oral, by any employee 

purporting to waive or modify such employee’s 

rights in violation of the Wage Act shall be void.  

NONWAIVER OF RIGHTS 
(8-4-121) 

All actions brought pursuant to the Wage Act shall 

be commenced within 2 years after the cause of 

action accrues. Willful violations of the Wage Act 

shall be commenced within 3 years after the cause 

of action accrues. 

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS 
(8-4-122) 

Permissible deductions from wages include: 
 

1. Deductions mandated by local, state, or federal 

law, such as taxes, FICA requirements, 

garnishments, and court-ordered deductions. 

2. Deductions for loans, advances, goods or 

services, and equipment or property provided by 

an employer to an employee pursuant to an 

enforceable written agreement. 

3. Deductions to cover the cost for theft if a report 

has been properly filed with law enforcement. 

4. Deductions authorized by an employee that are 

revocable, including medical insurance, savings 

plans, stock purchases, pension plans, charities, 

and deposits to financial institutions. 

5. Deductions for the amount of money or value of 

property that the employee failed to properly 

pay or return when the terminated employee was 

entrusted with such money or property. 

6. Deductions below the minimum wage 

applicable under FLSA are not authorized.  

DEDUCTIONS FROM WAGES 
(8-4-105) 

 Wages are defined as all earned, vested, and 

determinable amounts for labor or service 

performed by employees, regardless of the 

method of calculation (e.g., time, task, piece, 

commission, etc.). 

 Bonuses or commissions earned in 

accordance with the terms of any agreement 

are wages. 

 Vacation pay earned in accordance with the 

terms of any agreement is wages.  

 Severance pay is not defined as wages.  

DEFINITION OF WAGES  
(8-4-101(14)) 

Payment of wages by direct deposit must be  

voluntarily authorized by the employee. Such 

direct deposit must be in the financial institution 

chosen by the employee.  
 

An employer may deposit wages on a paycard as 

long as the employee is provided free means of 

access to the entire amount of net pay at least 

once per pay period. 

 

DIRECT DEPOSIT AND PAYCARDS 
(8-4-102) 

Employer must post conspicuously a notice 

specifying the regular paydays and the time and 

place of payment. The notice must include any 

changes to paydays & time and place of payment. 

POSTING REQUIREMENTS 
(8-4-107) 
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