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SHIPPING OF PERSONAL LIQUOR INTO COLORADO 
 

 
 

To Whom It May Concern: 
 

You are allowed to bring liquor, including wine, spirits and beer into Colorado that is intended for 
personal use without a permit or permission letter.   However, you must pay the state excise tax on any 
amount in excess of four (4) liters. 

 

If your shipment comes through U.S. Customs, it will be held by them until you can produce evidence 
of payment of the excise tax.   To pay the tax, use Form DR 0449 (attached) and mail the completed 
form and payment to: 

 

Colorado Department of Revenue 
Excise Tax Division 
PO Box  173350 
Denver, CO 80217-3350 

 

Attach a copy of the completed form and check with your shipment as proof of payment for customs 
agents. 

 

The tax rate for wine - 7.33 cents per liter; for spirits - 60.26 cents per liter; and for beer and hard 
cider - 8 cents per gallon. An additional surcharge rate of $.01 (one cent) per liter of all wine also 
applies. 

 

If the liquor comes into Colorado other than through U.S. Customs, the payment of the excise tax 
would follow the same procedure. 

 

If you have additional questions, refer to the attached FYI or contact Excise Tax at (303) 205-6848. 
 

Sincerely, 

 

 

Patrick Maroney 

Director 

Colorado Liquor Enforcement Division 
 

 

 
DR 4041 B (06111114) 



 

r 
Departmental Use Only 

 

\ !IiIll!Imm IIii 1111! 111\ I IW\1111 

1 40449 1 9999 

DR 0449 (08/01/14) -, 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
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www.TaxColorado.com 

Personal Excise Tax Return for Alcohol 

Beverages 

 
 

 
Who must file this return? 

General Information and Instructions 

Line 1 Enter amount in excess of four (4) liters shipped to 

• Any passenger age 21 or older arriving at any airport in 
this state on an air flight originating in a foreign country, 
who is subject to customs clearance, and is importing 
more than four (4) liters of wine, beer or spirituous liquor. 

• The alcoholic beverages brought into the United States 
must be for personal consumption only and not for 
resale or other commercial purposes. 

• Attach a copy of this form and a copy of your payment to 
your shipment. 

• Photocopy and keep for your records 

Mail Completed Form to and Make Check Payable to: 

Colorado Department of Revenue 

Denver, Colorado 80261-0009 

Colorado. 

Line 3  Excise tax. Multiply line 1 by line 2 for each column. 

Line 4  Wine development fee. Vinous column only. Multiply 
line 1 by $.01 (.01). 

Line 5  Subtotal for all columns of line 3 

Line 6  Total tax due. Add lines 4 and 5. 

Line 7 Penalty. If payment is made after the alcohol 

beverage is shipped to Colorado. 

Line 8  Interest. If payment is made after the alcohol 
beverage is shipped to Colorado. Multiply line 6 by 
1% (.01) per month. 

Line 9  Amount Owed. Add lines 6, 7 and 8. Round to the 
nearest dollar. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

correct to the best of mv knowledge. 

Signature 
  IDate (MMIDDIYY)   

I
 

L ..J 

SSN (MM/YY - MM/YY)

 
 

0449-100 
 

 

    

  

Liquor
 

 

Liquor
 

 
 

(Gallons) 

 
 

(Gallons) 

3.2% Beer 
 

(Gallons) 

 
     

 

2. Tax rate 

 
$ .0733 

 
$.6026 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
3.  Excise tax due (Multiply line 1 by 2) 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

4. Wine development fee
(Multiply line 1 by $.01(.01)) 

 

 
    

 
(Add line 3, all columns) 

 

 

 
(Add lines 4 and 5)  

 
 

 

(If payment is late multiply line 6 by 10% (.10)) 
 

 

 
(If payment is late multiply line 6 by 1% (.01)) 

 

 

 
(add lines 6, 7, and 8) 

 

.00 

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction.Your bank account may be debtted as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check 

will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient funds or uncollected funds, th Department of Revenue may collect the payment directly from your bank account electronically 

 

 

http://www.taxcolorado.com/


 

Colorado Department of Revenue 

Taxpayer Service Division 
12/13 

 
 
 
 

FOR YOUR 

INFORMATION 

 
Excise 20 

Bringing Personal Liquor Stock into Colorado 

 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

This FYI explains bringing Personal Liquor Stock into the State of Colorado for personal consumption. 

 
Colorado Alcohol Beverage Personal Inventory 

Colorado law allows any passenger age 21 or older arriving at any airport in this state on an air flight originating in a 
foreign country, who is subject to customs clearance, to lawfully possess up to four (4) liters of wine, beer or 
spirituous liquor without liability for Colorado liquor excise tax if the alcohol beverages brought into the United States 
are for personal consumption only and not for resale or other commercial purposes. 

 
Tax Rates 

For any alcohol beverages in excess of four (4) liters, the owner is liable for the state excise tax ($0.08/gallon for 
beer, $0.0733/liter for wine and $0.6026/liter for spirits) . The reporting of inventory and payment of the tax is reported 
on the Personal Excise Tax Return for Alcohol Beverages (DR 0449). 

 
Surcharge Rates 

Colorado imposes a Vinous Surcharge known as the Wine Development Fee. The surcharge is $.01 (one cent) per 
liter on all wine and must be reported on form DR 0449, line 4. 

 
Complete the Proper Form 

The Personal Excise Tax Return for Alcohol  Beverages (DR 0449) is available on the department's Web site 
www.TaxColorado.com . The instructions are included with the form. 

 
Make sure your name, address and Social Security number are listed on the form and that the form is signed and 
dated. Wine (vinous) and spirits are taxed by the liter. Hard cider, malt liquor and 3.2% beer are taxed by the gallon. 
Include the one-cent per liter Wine Development Fee for any wine reported. The period is the month and year the 
alcohol is brought into Colorado.  Make checks payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue. 

 
Include a copy of completed DR 0449 and a copy of the completed check with the shipment in order for federal 
customs officials to verify payment of Colorado liquor excise tax. 
 

Call 303-205-6848 with any questions regarding bring personal liquor stock into Colorado. Send completed form and 
payment to: 

 
Colorado Department of Revenue 
Denver, CO 80261-0009 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

FYls provide general information concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and straightforward language. Although the FYls represent 
a good faith effort to provide accurate and complete tax information, the information is not binding on the Colorado Department of Revenue, nor 
does it replace, alter, or supersede Colorado law and regulations. The Executive Director, who by statute is the only person having the authority to 
bind the Department, has not formally reviewed, and/or approved these FYls. 
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