CIVIL UNION LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Law as of May 1, 2013

In accordance with the requirements below, a Civil Union License may be
obtained in the Office of the Logan County Clerk and Recorder, located in the
Logan County Courthouse, Monday thru Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. {except
holidays). The license is valid upon receipt, and must be used within 35 days
anywhere within the State of Colorado. There is a $30.00 cash fee required,
checks will not be accepted.

Civil Union means a relationship established by two eligible persons pursuant to
Article 15 (C.R.S. 14-15-101) that entitles them to receive the benefits and
protections and be subject to the responsibilities of spouses.

Ceremony date must be within 35 days of the issue date listed on the License.

License must be returned for Recording/Registration to the Clerk and Recorder
within 63 days.

1. $30.00IN CASH

2. Both parties are adults 18 years old or older and not under guardianship, if under
guardianship we need written consent of his or her guardian.

3. Neither party is a party to another civil union and or neither party is married to another
person.

4. Proof of L.D. Valid Driver's License, Birth Certificate or other 1.D with Date of Birth

5. If either party has previously been married or has previously been a party to a civil union, we
need the name of the spouse or the name of the other party and the date, place and court in
which the marriage or civil union was dissolved or declared invalid or the date and place of
death of the deceased other party.

6. Name and address of the parents or the guardian of each party.

7. License is only good for 35 days from the date that we issue it. * MUST BE USED IN THE STATE
OF COLORADO 35 DAYS START THE DATE WE ISSUE IT*

8. if one party cannot come in, there is an Absentee Affidavit Application for the Civil Union
License, This form must be filled out completely and sighed in the presence of a Notary




9,

Public, and a copy of identification showing Proof of Age will take the place of the person who
cannot come in the office.

There is not a provision for Proxy.

10. Not to enter into with a relative: an ancestor or descendant or with a brother or sister or

uncle or aunt or with niece or nephew, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole
blood. {first cousins are acceptable)

COPY OF RECORDED CIVIL UNION CERTIFICATE IS $.25 PER PAGE
CERTIFIED COPY OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE IS $1.25
CERTIFIED COPY OF APPLICATION IS $1.25

PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO CERTIFY CIVIL UNIONS

14-15-112 (1) A civil union may be certified by:

1.

2.

A Judge of a Court;

By a District Court Magistrate,

By a County Court Magistrate,

By a Retired Judge of the Court,

By The Parties to the Civil Union, or

in accordance with any mode of recognition of a Civil Union
by any religious denomination

Or Indian Nation or Tribe.




REQUIREMENTS TO GET A MARRIAGE LICENSE

In aceordance with the requirements below, a license to marry in Colorado may be obtained in the
Office of the Logan County Clerk and Recorder, located in the Logan County Courthouse, Monday
thru Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (except holidays). The license is valid upon receipt, and must be
used within 35 days anywhere within the State of Colorado. There is a $30.00 cash fee required,
checks will not be accepted.

1) PROOF OF IDENTIFICATION FROM BOTH OF YOU.

Such as a Valid United States issued Driver’s License, United States issued State Identification
card, Birth Certificate (Must be original or a certified copy)

2) ARE BOTH PARTIES 18 YEARS OLD OR OLDER?

If both parties are 18 years old no parental consent needed.

If one or both partics under 18 years old need parent(s) consent. If parties are divorced who has
sole custody of the minor that parent would need to sign if joint custody both parents would need
to sign consent.

If under 16 years old you would need parents consent and a Court Order telling us to issue
Marriage License.

3) HAVE EITHER OF YOU BEEN MARRIED BEFORE?

Divorced — we need the date the last divorce was finalized, the court that did the divorce and the
city and state where the divorce occurred.,

Death of Spouse - Date and place of death,

4) WE WILL GET BASIC INFORMATION FROM BOTH OF YOU SUCH AS:

Birth Date, City and State of your birth, Social Security Number, Your parents names, city and
state where they live, 1f they are deceased we will mark them deceased, if you do not know where one or
both live we will mark it unknown,

5) COST FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE 1S $30.00 IN CASH.
We can not take a check, debit card or credit card. It must be CASH.

6) ONCE WE ISSUE THE MARRIAGE LICENSE YOU NEED TO USE IT IN THE STATE OF
COLORADO IN 35 DAYS. MARRIAGE LICENSE NOT USED WITHIN 35 DAYS NEED
TO BE RETURNED TO OUR OFFICE TO BE VOIDED.

7) GENERALLY THE COUPLE WILL COME IN TOGETHER TO GET A MARRIAGE
LICENSE.

If 1 person can not come in, there is an Absentee Affidavit Application for Marriage License.
This form must be filled out completely and signed in the presence of a Notary Public, and a copy
of Identification showing Proof of Ages (See above #1). This form will take the place of the
person who can not come into the office to get the Marriage License.

8) PLEASE ALLOW APPROXIMATELY 30 MINUTES TO ISSUE A MARRIAGE LICENSE.




APPLICATION: Both the bride and the groom must complete and sign the marriage application
form. Af least one of the parties must apply in person before the marriage clerk, If one of the parties
cannot appear in person, he or she must complete an affidavit form which may be obtained from our
office, which requires a notarized signature. A couple already married, who wish to renew their
marriage vows, or those who have a common law marriage may obtain a license by stating that they
are married fo each other. Applicants for a marriage license do not need to be Colorado residents.

wxx:+]F YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS PLEASE DON'T HESITATE TO CONTACT OUR
OFFICE*####sxss
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