
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
 
 

Eligiblity to give consent to release an original birth certificate from a sealed adoption file 
 
Eligible parties per Colorado Revised Statutes §19-5-305 are: 

 
  adult adoptee (18 years of age or older) 
  birth mother 
  birth father 

 
The following parties are also eligible but will need to submit the notarized Affidavit of Relationship 
verifying relationship to the adoptee: 
 

  adoptee’s biological parent 
  adoptee’s adoptive parent or grandparent 
  biological grandparent of the adoptee 
  adult biological sibling or half-sibling 
  adult descendant of the adoptee or adoptive parent 
  legal guardian of an adoptee 
  spouse of an adoptee 
  adult stepchild of an adoptee 
  legal representative of any such individual through the appointment of a Confidential 

Intermediary* 
 
Please note: If our records do not have the same identifiers as you have listed, we will refer you to the 
Confidential Intermediary Service*, the court that finalized the adoption, or the adoption agency that 
handled the case.  
 
Please contact Samuel Vasquez Jr. by phone (303-692-2227) or e-mail (samuel.vasquezjr@state.co.us) with 
additional questions.  
 
The fee to open a sealed adoption file and issue one certified copy of the original birth certificate is 
$37.75 (per case), additional copies are $10.00 if ordered at the same time. Please make your check 
payable to Vital Records, attach it to this completed form, and mail to the address shown in the 
instructions. 
 
 
*Confidential Intermediary is a person 21 years of age or older who has completed training that meets the standards set forth by the commission 
pursuant to section 19-5-303 and who is authorized to inspect confidential relinquishment and adoption records at the request of an adult adoptee, 
adoptive parent, biological parent, or biological sibling. 
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Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
Consent To Release An Original Birth Certificate From A Sealed Adoption File 

 
          http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/certs/adoption.html 
 
If you were adopted between July 1, 1951 and June 30, 1967 and September 1,1999 to present (must be 18 years of age or older) click here for application. 
 
Please submit a completed consent form along with $37.75, and copies of ID's of the adoptee and the living biological parents (the notarized signatures of the 
adult adoptee and birth parent(s) are required on one form) to Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Vital Records, HSVR-VR-A1,  
Attn: Closed Records, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246-1530. Your request will be processed within 15 working days. 
If you are eligible, but not an adult adoptee or birth parent, complete this form plus the Affidavit of Relationship.  
 
Per Colorado Revised Statute § 19-5-305, Concerning Procedures Related to Adoption, I hereby authorize the Colorado Department of Public Health and 
Environment to release the original birth certificate from a sealed file to: 

Name ________________________________________________ Relationship _________________________________ 
Address  ___________________________________________________________ City ___________________________ 
State __________________________ Zip Code ______________ Daytime Phone number _______-_______-_________ 
 

 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Adoptee’s  name on original birth certificate 
 
___________________________________________________________________
Adoptee’s  name that appears on the adoptive birth certificate 
 
___________________________________________________________, Colorado 
Adoptee=s date of birth                            Adoptee’s place of birth 
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Adoptee’s signature 

 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this   
 
_________ day of _____________ 20 ___ 
 
__________________________________ 
Notary Public 
 
My commission expires _______________  
 
In the county of  _____________________  
 
State of  ___________________________ 

 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Biological  mother’s  name on adoptee’s original birth certificate 
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Biological mother’s current name 
 
________________________            _____________________________________ 
Date of birth                                                Place of birth 
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Birth mother=s signature  

 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this   
 
_________ day of _____________ 20 ___ 
 
__________________________________ 
Notary Public 
 
My commission expires  _______________  
 
In the county of _____________________ 
 
State of ____________________________ 

 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Birth father’s name, as it appears on  the adopteee’s  original birth certificate 
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Birth father’s current name 
 
_________________________            ____________________________________ 
Date of birth                                            Place of birth 
 
___________________________________________________________________ 
Birth father=s signature     

 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this   
 
_________ day of _____________ 20 ___ 
 
__________________________________ 
Notary Public 
 
My commission expires _______________  
 
In the county of _____________________  
 
State of ___________________________   

If any of the persons on the original birth certificate are deceased, submit a certified copy of their death certificate in lieu of the signature, as 
required above. 
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