
Return Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
Completed                  Vital Records Section 

Application to:    DELAYED RECORDS SPECIALIST 
   4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver CO 80246-1530 

     (303) 692-2188 

                   

 
 

AAPPPPLLIICCAATTIIOONN  TTOO  RREEGGIISSTTEERR  AA  DDEELLAAYYEEDD  

BBIIRRTTHH  CCEERRTTIIFFIICCAATTEE  
 
PLEASE SUBMIT ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS AND FEE TO AVOID DELAYS. 

  
RREEGGIISSTTRRAANNTT  IINNFFOORRMMAATTIIOONN      

 
RREEQQUUEESSTTOORR  IINNFFOORRMMAATTIIOONN    

Print Name                               First                                                        Middle                                            Last 

 

Mailing Address                                                                                       City                                                 State                                         Zip 

Phone Number  

(          ) 

Alternate Phone Number  

(          ) 

Email (optional) 

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THERE ARE PENALTIES INCLUDING THOSE PURSUANT TO THE COLORADO REVISED STATUES 18-5-114 FOR OFFERING A FALSE 

INSTRUMENT FOR RECORDING. PENALTIES FOR OBTAINING A RECORD UNDER FALSE PRETENSES INCLUDE A FINE OF NOT MORE THAN $1,000.00, OR 

IMPRISONMENT IN THE COUNTY JAIL FOR NOT MORE THAN ONE YEAR OR BOTH SUCH FINE AND IMPRISONMENT (CRS 25-2-118)  

By signing below, I have read and understood that there are penalties for obtaining a record under 

false pretenses. 

 

Relationship to 

Registrant 

 

Date 

 

 CCHHEECCKKLLIISSTT--  Completed application by an eligible party      Copy of a valid I.D.       Processing fee      Documentary evidence        

       Copy of Notification of No Record   
  

 

REQUIREMENTS TO REQUEST THE REGISTRATION OF A DELAYED BIRTH CERTIFICATE: 

WHO MAY REQUEST 

THE REGISTRATION? 

 

(a) Registrant (person whose birth was not registered) 

(b) Parent 

(c) Guardian 

(d) Any older person in his immediate family having personal knowledge of the facts of birth. 

IDENTIFICATION 

 

VALID I.D. IS REQUIRED WITH ALL REQUESTS. Include a photocopy of your driver’s license, state identification or passport.  
(To review the full list of primary and secondary identification, please visit www.colorado.gov/cdphe) 

PROCESSING FEE 

 

$37.75 PROCESSING FEE -FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE. Make check or money order payable to “Vital Records” 

Fee includes issuance of ONE certified copy of the delayed birth certificate after it has been accepted for registration. 

DOCUMENTARY 

EVIDENCE 

 

1. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS- Documentation is required to support the birth facts. Requirements depend on registrant’s age. 

See reverse side for documentation requirements and suggested documents.  

2. PHOTOCOPY OF THE “NOTIFICATION OF NO RECORD” 

PROCESSING TIME  
The verification of documents and review process may take up to ONE (1) YEAR to complete.  

All delayed birth applications are subject to final approval by the Colorado State Registrar.   

REGISTRANT’S INFORMATION 

NAME AT BIRTH 
First Middle Last                                                                 Suffix 

DATE OF BIRTH 

Month                    Day                 Year  

 

 

Time of Birth 

                                             A.M. 

Hour:                            P.M. 

Gender                             

                                                  

Male     Female                

IS THIS PERSON:  

           Deceased?  Yes   No 

           Adopted?   Yes   No 

PLACE OF BIRTH 
City County State 

        COLORADO ONLY 
FATHER’S INFORMATION 

FATHER’S NAME 
First Middle Last 

FATHER’S DATE OF 

BIRTH 

Month                    Day                 Year  
 

 

Father’s Place of Birth (State or Foreign Country) 

MOTHER’S INFORMATION 

MOTHER’S NAME 
First Middle Maiden Last Name (name prior to first marriage) 

MOTHER’S DATE OF 

BIRTH  

Month                    Day                 Year  

 
 

Mother’s  Place of Birth (State or Foreign Country) 

FFOORR  OOFFFFIICCEE  UUSSEE  OONNLLYY  
 

No Record:  ____/____/____ 
 

 Fee     3rd Search     Under 7   

http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe


 
DOCUMENTARY EVIDENCE REQUIREMENTS 
 

Documentation is required to support the birth facts.  Documents must be from independent sources and internally consistent.  

All submitted documents will be reviewed and verified with the issuing agency. Any document that appears altered will NOT  

be accepted. If documentary evidence is deficient or invalid, the certificate shall NOT be registered. The State Registrar may 

establish a priority of best evidence. 
 

 

RREEQQUUIIRREEMMEENNTTSS 

APPLICANTS AGE 1 TO 6 APPLICANTS AGE 7 AND OLDER 

One document may be used to support several birth facts. 
One document may support several facts but will NOT suffice to meet all the 

requirements. Minimum of TWO documents must be submitted to support all 

the requirements. 
 

 ONE document to prove full name 
 

 ONE document proving date of birth  
 

 ONE document proving place of birth as Colorado  
 

 ONE document proving father’s name 
 

 ONE document proving mother’s full maiden name 

 

 

 ONE document made during the first seven (7) years of  life 
 

 TWO documents proving date of birth or age  
    (At least one showing the actual date of birth) 

 

 TWO documents proving place of birth as Colorado  
 

 ONE document proving father’s name 
 

 ONE document proving mother’s full maiden name 
 

 

ALL ORIGINAL SUBMITTED DOCUMENTS WILL BE RETURNED 

 

*SUGGESTED DOCUMENTS TO SUPPORT BIRTH FACTS 
   

Certified baptism certificate or church blessing certificate 

 Must include the name of the church. 
 

Church ledger or other church record 

 Must include the name of the church.  
 

Certified school census or school transcript 
Certified school records may be obtained from the county 

superintendent of schools. Report cards will only be 

acceptable if they list the registrant’s name and date of birth 

or age.   
 

Census record 
Records may be obtained from the following agencies: 

US Census Bureau (812) 218-3046 

US census records 
 

Colorado State Archives (303) 866-2358 

Colorado census records for years 1850 -1930  
 

Bureau of Indian Affairs Census Records 

Must include agency name and contact information. 
 

Medical or hospital record 

Must include facility name and contact information. 
 

Insurance policy (Application page of policy) 

Must show evidence of being accepted or legally recorded 

with the agency. 
 

Certified birth certificate of son or daughter  

(County or State issued ONLY)  
 

U.S. Passport 

 Copy of current or expired passport. 

 

 

 

Marriage Records 

Certified marriage records may be obtained from the 

County Clerk and Recorders office where the marriage 

license was issued. 
 

Certified marriage certificate 

A marriage certificate may be submitted only if it lists  

the registrant’s age or birthplace and contains evidence of 

being recorded with the County Clerk and Recorders office. 
 

Certified copy of original application page/affidavit 

A marriage application may be submitted if it contains 

evidence of being recorded with the County Clerk and 

Recorders office. 
 

Social Security Records   

Records may be obtained from the Social Security 

Administration. Request a copy of the original SS5 form or 

computer extract (numident printout)  
 

The receipt identifying the individual’s name and social 

security number is NOT acceptable 
 

Social Security Administration (410) 965-1727 
 

Newspaper announcement of birth  

Birth announcement must be dated. 
 

Parent’s Last Will and Testament (to prove parentage)  

Must show evidence of being legally recorded with a court 

of competent jurisdiction. 
 

Obituary records of parent(s) (to prove parentage)  

The obituary record must be dated.   
 

Military or Selective Service Records  
Military Discharge Record (DD 214) 

Draft registration card

 

If documentary evidence is deficient or invalid, the certificate shall NOT be registered in accordance to the  

Colorado Revised Statutes (25-2-114) 
 

Contact Information:  

Blanca Casillas, Delayed Records Specialist 

Office of the State Registrar of Vital Statistics  

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246 

blanca.casillas@state.co.us 303.692.2188
 

Rev. 01/14-BC 

 

mailto:blanca.casillas@state.co.us

