
Colorado Death Certificate Request

Apply in person for same-day services
Walk-in Hours: Monday-Friday  8:30 – 4:30
Correction Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 – 3:30

This office has death certificates for the entire state since 1900. Death certificates are also available in the county Vital Records office where the death occurred.  Death certifi-
cates are considered public record after 75 years.

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct and 
tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or impris-
onment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118).

• **Order certificates online at www.vitalchek.com  Certificate(s) mailed 3-5 days 
after receipt of all required documentation.

• Mail in application with check, money order, or credit card information. Make check 
or money order payable to Vital Records. Please do not send cash. Certificate(s) 
mailed within three weeks upon receipt of all required documentation.

• Apply in person for same-day service. Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 
p.m., Monday-Friday. 

Phone Orders: 1-866-300-8540 
Online Orders: www.vitalchek.com 
Phone/Online Follow-Up: 
1-866-632-2604

Vital Records Section HSVR-VR-A1
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords
Email: vital.records@state.co.us
Phone: (303) 692-2200

3 Requirements:
o This request must be completed in full.
o Enclose a copy of a current driver’s license, passport or State identification. (The complete list of  primary 
          and secondary ID’s are available online at www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords)
o Enclose appropriate fees.
o Person requesting to receive death certificate must sign below.
o Proof of relationship or legal interested is required (see reverse side).

		     First		     Middle			 Last Email:

Mailing Address				       City			 State		 Zip		 Daytime Phone
(          )

Physical Address				       City			 State		 Zip		 Alt Phone Number
(          )

Requestor Information

Deceased Information

Print name of person 
making request

Relationship to deceased 
(must submit proof of relationship)

*see reverse side

Reason for Request:  

o Parent	 o	 Spouse	 o	 Grandparent	 o	 Sibling	 o	 Child	 o	 Funeral Director
o Legal Representative o Other:

o Insurance	 o	Social Security	 o	Property	 o	Genealogy	 o  Other:

o Check here if you are requesting  a certificate of stillbirth

	 First Middle Last

Month   Day	 Year		 Date of birth or age at death (optional)		 State of birth (optional)

			   __  __  __  __
City County State

									           Colorado ONLY

Full Name of deceased

Date of death*
(or range of dates)

Place of death

Ways to Order:

Today’s dateBy signing below, I have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses.

Card Number:

Expiration Date:            /

o VISA	 o MasterCard	 o Discover	 o American ExpressCard Type:

Cardholder name:

Cardholder signature: 

**Credit card orders: ($10.00 convenience charge to be added)	

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:
_____pick up	 _____call
_____mail		  _____email

FORM-VR51

Charges: (FEES NON-REFUNDABLE)
*Search fee where date of death is unknown

($1.00 per year)...............................................................................  $______
Cost of death certificate –$20.00 for one (or search when no record found)
First copy - check one:
The various death certificates can be viewed online at https://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/
death-certificate-types.pdf.

o Standard death certificate (entire record)..........................................$20.00 = $______
o Legal death certificate (all legal and no medical information).....................$20.00 = $______
o Verification of death (limited legal information and no medical information)........... $20.00 = $______

Cost of additional certificates - $13.00 each:
Please check and indicate quantity of each certificate requested:
The various death certificates can be viewed online at https://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/
death-certificate-types.pdf.

Standard death certificate (entire record)......................................______x$13.00 = $______
Legal death certificate (all legal and no medical information)..............______x$13.00 = $______
Verification of death (limited legal information and no medical information)...______x$13.00 = $______

$10.00 credit card convenience charge (walk-ins excluded)..................................... $______
Please check your shipping method:

o Regular mail ($0.00) o FedEx (check, money order, cash orders ONLY) ($19.00)
o Express mail ($19.00) 	 o UPS (credit card orders ONLY) ($19.00)

........................................................................................................ $______
TOTAL CHARGES................................................................................... $______



Death certificates may issued to:	 Document(s) needed to prove relationship:
Current spouse	 Must be listed on death certificate.

Ex-spouse	 Must present proof of direct & tangible interest  (i.e. Social Security record, 
insurance policy).

Parent	 Must be listed on death certificate.

Stepparent	 Marriage certificate proving relationship to a parent that is listed on death certifi-
cate.

Grandparents/Great grandparents	 Birth certificate(s) proving relationship required (cannot accept baptismals, 
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the 
state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Siblings/Half siblings	 Birth certificate showing at least one same parent required (cannot accept bap-
tismals, hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter 
from the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Children/Grandchildren/Great grandchildren	 Birth certificate(s) showing relationship is required  (cannot accept baptismals, 
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the 
state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Step-Children	 Marriage certificate & birth certificate proving relationship required.

Legal representative/Paralegals	 Proof of client relationship required as well as proof of the client’s relationship 
to the registrant.  

Opposing counsel	 Certificate will be mailed to court w/ motion to seal “confidential record.”  
Name, address and case number of the court required.

Genealogists	 Notarized signed release from immediate family member required as well as 
proof of the family member’s relationship. Certificate marked “For Genealogi-
cal Use Only.”

In-laws/aunts/uncles/nephews/nieces/ cousins	 For death certificate 25 years or younger- Must present proof of direct & tan-
gible interest (i.e. insurance policy, personal will, etc.).

  For death certificates over 25 years- Must present proof of relationship (a family 
tree would be acceptable for this case)  Death certificate marked “For Genea-
logical Use Only.”

Probate Researchers	 	Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Creditors	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Employer	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Beneficiaries	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required (i.e. letter on insurance company/

pension company letterhead that clearly states the applicant is a beneficiary or is 
eligible to file a claim).

Insurance companies	 	Proof of direct & tangible interest required (Insurance policy).
Hospital/Nursing home/Hospice/Physician	 Proof of patient relationship required.
Funeral Directors	 Must be listed on death certificate.  
Informant	 Must be listed on death certificate.

Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible 
interest when information is needed for determination 
or protection of a personal or property right	 Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

NOTE:  Death certificates in Colorado become public record after 75 years, therefore, no proof of relationship or legal interest is re-
quired for these certificates.


