
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

 
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPY OF: ()Box 

 The Correction form 
 The Acknowledgement of Paternity 
 A Testimonial letter 

   

APPLY IN PERSON FOR SAME-DAY SERVICE 
 

Walk-in Hours: 
Monday-Friday  8:30 pm – 3:30 pm 

MAILING AND PHYSICAL ADDRESS 
 

Vital Records 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246-1530 

  
Website: www.colorado.gov/cdphe 

Email: vital.records@state.co.us 
 

REQUESTOR INFORMATION 
Print name of person 

making request 
First                                  Middle                                     Last                                 Suffix 

Mailing Address Address/City/State/Zip Daytime Phone 
 

Email Address  

*Relationship to Registrant 
(Proof of relationship might be needed) 

Self  Parent  Grandparent  Stepparent  Sibling  Spouse  Child  Stepchild 
Legal guardian  Legal Representative (must show proof)  Other:  

Reason for Request 
 Give brief explanation why this form is needed: e.g., Travel/Passport, Proof of Name Change, Hospital/MD Name, Other: 

REGISTRANT INFORMATION:  Information about person whose document is being requested – Please type or Print 

Full Name at Birth 
First Middle Last Suffix 

Date of Birth 
Month/Day/Year 

Place of Birth 
City County 

State of Birth  COLORADO ONLY 

Full Name of Father First Middle 
 

Last 

Full Name of Mother 
Prior to 1st marriage 

First Middle Maiden Last Name (prior to 1st marriage) 
 

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct and 
tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or 
imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118) 
By signing below, I have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses. 
Signature ► 

Today’s date 

  

WAYS TO ORDER CHARGES (fees are non-refundable) 
 

 
Fax your application  - within continental USA to 1-800-423-1108 
                                    outside continental USA to 1-303-691-9307 
 
Mail in application - with check, money order, or credit card information.    
                                Make check or money order payable to Vital Records.  
                                Please do not send cash.  
 
Processing time - Upon receipt of your request allow up to 30 days for your  
                            request to be processed.  

 
**CREDIT CARD ORDERS mail-in, scan and email or fax request only 
 

Card Type:   Visa   MasterCard    Discover  American Express 
 

Card Number: ___________________________________________ 
 

Expiration Date: _________________________________________ 
 

Cardholder Name:________________________________________ 
 

Cardholder Signature:_____________________________________ 
 

 

 
COST OF CERTIFIED COPY: 
$17.00 for 1st copy or search ………………………………………….  

$10.00 for each copy of the same record ordered at the 
same time …………………………………….………………………….…….  
 
$20 expedite fee …....………..……………………………………..…..  
(processed within 15 days upon receipt of your request) 
 
**10.00 credit card convenience charge  
(Walk-in and Expedite fee excluded) ……………………………..  

 
PLEASE CHECK YOUR SHIPPING METHOD: 

 ***Regular Mail ($0.00 – no additional charge) …….….  
 

*** Fed Ex – within continental U.S. ($20.00) ………………  
 

 ***Express Mail-within continental U.S. ($19.00) ………  
 

 ***UPS (credit card orders only) ($19.00) ……….………..  
 

***Within continental USA only 
 

Grant Total: 

 
 
$__________ 
 
 
$__________ 
 
$__________ 
 
 
 
$__________ 
 
 
 
$__________ 
 
$__________ 
 
$__________ 
 
$__________ 
 
 
 
 

$__________ 
 

http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe�
mailto:vital.records@state.co.us�


THE OFFICE OF THE STATE REGISTRAR OF VITAL STATISTICS REQUIRES THE FOLLOWING ID DOCUMENTATION 
 

At least 1 of the following: 
(No expired documents accepted) 

‘PRIMARY’ LIST 
 

• Alien Registration Receipt/Permanent   
Resident Card      

• Certificate of U.S. Citizenship     
• Colorado Department of Corrections ID card  
• CO Temporary Driver’s License Form (with hole-

punched  Driver’s License) 
• Employment Authorization Card (I-766) 
• Foreign Passport   
• Photo Driver’s License 
• Photo ID Card (DMV) 
• School, University or College ID Card  (must be 

current) 
• Temporary Resident Card 
• U.S. B1/B2 Visa card with I-94 
• U.S. Certificate of Naturalization   
• U.S. Citizenship ID Card (I-197)   
• U.S. Military ID Card    
• U.S. Passport  

 
WE ARE SORRY, BUT WE CANNOT ACCEPT: 

 
• Matricula Consular Card 
• Novelty ID Card 
• Non-expiring Identification Cards 
• City or County Prison/Jail ID 
• Souvenir birth certificates 
• Temporary Driver’s license or Temporary State ID 

Or at least 2 of the following: 
(Any document expired more than six months will not be accepted) 

‘SECONDARY’ LIST 
 

• Acknowledgment of Paternity document 
• Birth Certificate of Applicant (U.S. only) 
• Court order of adoption or name change 
• Craft or trade license (Colorado only) 
• DD-214 
• Divorce Decree (U.S. only) 
• Hospital birth worksheet (for infants under 6 months) 
• Hunting or Fishing License (must be current-Colorado 

only) 
• IRS-TIN card 
• Marriage license (U.S. only) 
• Medicare Card 
• Merchant mariner card 
• Mexican voter registration card 
• Motor vehicle registration or title (U.S. only) 
• Pilot license 
• Selective Service Card (U.S. only) 
• Social Security Card 
• Social Services Card (Medicaid, WIC) 
• State or federal prison or corrections card 
• Tribal ID Card 
• Weapon or gun permit (U.S. only) 
• Work ID, Paycheck Stub (within 3 months), or W-2 
• Any Expired document from the “Primary” List 

(cannot be expired more than 6 months) 

 
 
 

 

If you cannot provide acceptable identification, it is suggested that you ask a spouse, parent, 
grandparent, sibling, or adult child, who can provide appropriate identification, to request the 
document.  *Proof of relationship is required, such as a birth certificate or marriage certificate.  
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