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Colorado Birth Certificate Request

Apply in person for same-day services Vital Records Section HSVR-VR-A1 Phone Orders: 1-866-300-8540

Walk-in Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 - 4:30 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South Online Orders: www.vitalchek.com

Correction Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 - 3:30 Denver, CO 80246-1530 Phone/Online Follow-Up:
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords 1-866-632-2604

Email: vital.records@state.co.us
Phone: (303) 692-2200

Colorado has birth records for the entire state since 1910. Birth certificates are also available from the county office(s); for all county locations visit http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords
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Requestor Information

Requirements:

This request must be completed in full.

Enclose a copy of a current driver’s license, passport or State identification.
(See reverse side for complete list for primary and secondary ID’s)

Enclose appropriate fees

Person requesting to receive a birth certificate must sign below.
Proof of Relationship is required (Parents and Registrant excluded)
Enclose a copy of the death certificate if the person is deceased.

Print name of person First Middle Last Email:

making request

Mailing Address Aptt City State Zip Daytime Phone
( )

Physical Address At City State Zip Alt Phone Number
( )

Relationship to Registrant 1 Self (] Parent [ Grandparent [ Step-parent [ Sibling [ Spouse

(person named on certificate)’see [ J Child [ Stepchild [ Legal guardian [ Legal representative

reverse side O Other:

Reason for Request: [_]Newborn [ Travel/Passport [ Records [d School [ Insurance [ Other:

. . Information about person whose birth certificate is being requested — Please type or print
Reg istrant Information ***]f adopted, provide adoptive information and see special service on other side.***
Full Name at Birth First Middle Last
. Month| Day |Year Is this Person Deceased? [J Yes [J No
Date of Birth If yes, must provide a copy of the death certificate
. City County State
First Middle Last
Full Name of Father
First Middle Maiden Last Name (name prior to first marriage)
Full Name of Mother

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct and
tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or impris-
onment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118).

By signini below, | have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses.

Today’s date

Ways to Order:
o R0 R

**Order certificates online at www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords Certificate(s)
‘ mailed 3-5 days after receipt of all required documentation. ‘

Mail in application with check, money order, or credit card information. Make check
or money order payable to Vital Records. Please do not send cash. Certificate(s) ‘
mailed within three weeks upon receipt of all required documentation
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**Credit card orders: $35 for each he1rlo9m .certlﬁcate... ..........................
Please check your shipping method:
Card Type: [ visa [ MasterCard [ Discover (] American Express | Regular mail ($0.00)

Cardholder name:

Charges: (FEES NON-REFUNDABLE)
- 7 Cost of certificates:
$17.75 for one (or search when no record

$10.00 credit card convenience charge (walk-ins

(] FedEx* (check, money order; cash orders ONLY) ($19.00)

Card Number: | | | | | |

‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ D Express Mail* ( 519.00)

ExpirationDate: ___ /
FORM-VR50

(] ups* (credit card orders ONLY)($19.00)

Total Charges. ...cccuucrreerrssrsenns srrsenssesssmsssansss sessens

**$10.00 convenience charge to be added “Within continental U.S.

fOUN) .t e e

$10.00 for each additional certificate of same record
ordered at same time.......coooviiiiiiiiiiiiiieen vae



*Certified birth certificates may be issued to:

Please note that proof of relationship is required if your name is not listed on the birth certificate: (e.g. marriage certificates, birth certificates,

court orders)

The registrant (person named on the certificate)
Parents

Grandparents

Great grandparents

Grandchild

Stepparents

Siblings

Spouse

Adult children

Legal guardian

Legal representatives of any of the above must present proof of client relationship
For complete list visit: http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords

The Office of the State Registrar ov Vital Statistics requires the following documentation:

At least 1 of the following:
(No expired documents accepted)

‘Primary’ List

* Alien Registration Receipt/Permanent

e Resident Card

e Certificate of U.S. Citizenship

o City of Denver County Jail Inmate ID

e Colorado Department of Corrections ID card

e CO Temporary Driver’s License (with hole-punched Driver’s
License)

o Department of Human Services Youth Corrections ID

«  Employment Authorization Card (I-766)

e Foreign Passport

e Government Work ID

e Job Corps ID

e Photo Driver’s License

+ Photo ID Card (DMV)

« School, University or College ID Card (must be current)

« Temporary Resident Card

e U.S. B1/B2 Visa card with 1-94

e U.S. Certificate of Naturalization

o U.S. Citizenship ID Card (I-197)

o U.S. Military ID Card

o U.S. Passport

Or at least 2 of the following:
(Any document expired more than six months will not be accepted)

‘Secondary’ List:

Acknowledgment of Paternity document (Colorado only)

Birth Certificate of Applicant (U.S. only)

Court order of adoption or name change

Craft or trade license (Colorado only)

DD-214

Divorce Decree (U.S. only)

Hospital birth worksheet (ID for mothers- within 6 months of
event)

Hunting or Fishing License (must be current-Colorado only)
IRS-TIN card

Marriage license (U.S. only)

Medicare Card

Merchant mariner card

Mexican voter registration card

Motor vehicle registration or title (must be current -U.S. only)
Pilot license

Selective Service Card (U.S. only)

Social Security Card

Social Services Card (WIC)

State or Federal Prison or Corrections Card

Tribal ID Card

Weapon or gun permit (U.S. only)

Work ID, Paycheck Stub (within 3 months), or W-2 (last tax year)
Any Expired document from the “Primary” List (cannot be ex-
pired more than 6 months)

We are sorry, but we cannot accept:
e Matricula Consular Card

« Novelty ID Card

« Non-expiring Identification Cards

o  City or County Prison/Jail ID

e Souvenir Birth Certificates

o Temporary Driver’s Licenses or Temporary State ID Card
e Medicaid card

If you cannot provide acceptable identification, it is suggested that you ask a spouse, parent, grandparent, sibling, or
adult child, who can provide appropriate identification, to request the certificate. Proof of relationship is required,

such as a birth certificate or marriage certificate.

***OPTION AVAILABLE FOR ADOPTIONS***

Only an adoptive parent or adopted person is eligible for this special service. ONLY sign below if you wish the statement
“ISSUED PURSUANT TO ADOPTION” to appear on the birth certificate which indicates this person is adopted.

Number of copies to be issued with “Issued pursuant to adoption” requested:

)

[l

Signature of: [ adopted person [Jadoptive paren
Relationship to registrant (chek one v)




