
Vital Records - Adoption
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South    |   Denver, CO 80246
(303)692-2227   |   www.colorado.gov/cdphe/adoption

Application to Access an Original Birth Certificate
Original birth certificates are accessible to eligible parties through Vital Records.
All adoption records are held in county courts and certain state agency files and are directly accessible to eligible parties.
ALL REQUESTS MUST INCLUDE A VALID ID, PROCESSING FEE AND PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP.  See reverse side for additional information.

The following eligible parties have direct access:        check box that applies:
I am the... 

❏❏ Adult adoptee 
❏❏ Adoptive parent of a minor adoptee 
❏❏ Custodial grandparent of a minor adoptee 

❏❏ Legal representative of any such individual
❏❏ Sibling/half sibling 
❏❏ Birth parent

The following eligible parties MUST obtain notarized written consent of adult adoptee:   check box that applies:
I am the... 

❏❏ Spouse of an adult adoptee 
❏❏ Adoptive parent of an adult adoptee
❏❏ Legal representative of any such individual

❏❏ Adult descendant of an adult adoptee 
❏❏ Grandparent of an adult adoptee

**CONSENT TO RELEASE**
  -ATTACH A PHOTOCOPY OF ADULT ADOPTEE’S IDENTIFICATION

Signature of adult adoptee 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this  

_________day of _________________________20_______ 
 
Notary Public  
My commission expires______________________________  

In the county of  __________________________________  

State of _________________________________________

❏ Adoptee is deceased. All individuals above have access to the original birth certificate and must submit:  
   1) proof of relationship; and 2) a certified copy of the death certificate. 

REQUESTOR INFORMATION:
Print name of person 
making request:

First                              Middle                             Last Email

Mailing address:
Street address                             Apt#                   City                       State      Zip Daytime phone 

(        )

PROVIDE ADOPTIVE INFORMATION. BIRTH PARENT/SIBLING PROVIDE BIRTH INFORMATION
Full name:

First Middle Last

Date of birth:
Month Day Year

____  ____  _______  

Full name of father:
First Middle Last

Full name of mother 
prior to first marriage:

First Middle Maiden last name (prior to first marriage)

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by the Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct and tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties 
for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or imprisonment in the county jail for note more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118).

By signing below, I have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses. Today’s date
SIGNATURE

SIGNATURE

PROCESSING TIME:  
30 days from the date received on ALL requests below. 
Incomplete applications will be returned to requestor.

WAYS TO ORDER:  
A VALID ID IS REQUIRED WITH ALL REQUESTS.  
❶ Apply in person: Office hours are from 8:00-5:00, MONDAY-FRIDAY. 

❷ Fax your application with credit card information:  
   U.S. Fax (800)423-1108; outside U.S. Fax (303)691-9307. 

❸ Mail in your application along with a check, money 
    order, or credit card information.
Make check or money order payable to: Vital Records.

(✔)

❏
❏

❏
❏

CHARGES:  ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE

$10.00 Additional copies����������������������������������������������
$17.75 Amended copies�����������������������������������������������
(siblings/half siblings only)
$0.00 Regular mail (U.S. Postal Service)���������������������������
$19.00 Expedited shipping (USA only):������������������������������

❏   FedEx (check, money order, cash orders ONLY)
        ❏   UPS (credit card orders ONLY)
        ❏  Express Mail USPS
TOTAL ������������������������������������������������������������������

$37.75
$_______
$_______

$    0 . 0 0

$_______

$_______

Card Number:                                                                                   
Expiration Date:            /

o VISA	 o MasterCard	 o Discover	 o American ExpressCard Type:

Cardholder name:
*Credit card orders:
$10.00 convenience charge will be added to the total 
amount. American Express will be charged the conve-
nience charge on all orders.	



ÌÌ Alien registration receipt/permanent		

ÌÌ Resident card					   

ÌÌ Certificate of U.S. citizenship

ÌÌ City of denver county jail inmate ID		   

ÌÌ Colorado department of corrections ID card	

ÌÌ Co temporary driver’s license  
(with hole-punched driver’s license)

ÌÌ Department of human services youth corrections ID

ÌÌ Employment authorization card (I-766)

ÌÌ Foreign passport

ÌÌ Government work ID 

ÌÌ Job Corps ID		

ÌÌ Photo driver’s license

ÌÌ Photo ID card (DMV)

ÌÌ School, university or college ID card  
(must be current)

ÌÌ Temporary resident card			 

ÌÌ U.S. B1/b2 visa card with I-94		

ÌÌ U.S. Certificate of naturalization		

ÌÌ U.S. Citizenship id card (I-197)		

ÌÌ U.S. Military ID card				  

ÌÌ U.S. Passport

ÌÌ Matricula consular card		

ÌÌ Novelty ID card					   

ÌÌ Non-expiring identification cards

ÌÌ City or county prison/jail ID		   

ÌÌ Souvenir birth certificates	

ÌÌ Temporary driver’s licenses or temporary state ID card

ÌÌ Medicaid card

ÌÌ Acknowledgment of paternity document (Colorado only)

ÌÌ Birth certificate of applicant (U.S. only)

ÌÌ Court order of adoption or name change

ÌÌ Craft or trade license (Colorado only)

ÌÌ DD-214

ÌÌ Divorce decree (U.S. only)

ÌÌ Hospital birth worksheet  
(ID for mothers- within 6 months of event)

ÌÌ Hunting or fishing license (must be current-Colorado only)

ÌÌ IRS-TIN card

ÌÌ Marriage license (U.S. only)

ÌÌ Medicare card

ÌÌ Merchant mariner card

ÌÌ Mexican voter registration card

ÌÌ Motor vehicle registration or title (must be current—U.S. only)

ÌÌ Pilot license

ÌÌ Selective service card (U.S. only)

ÌÌ Social security card

ÌÌ Social services card (WIC)

ÌÌ State or federal prison or corrections card

ÌÌ Tribal ID card

ÌÌ Weapon or gun permit (U.S. only)

ÌÌ Work ID, paycheck stub (within 3 months), or W-2 (last tax year)

ÌÌ Any expired document from the “primary” list  
(cannot be expired more than 6 months)

‘Primary’ List

At least 1 of the following:
(No expired documents accepted)

We are sorry, but we cannot accept:

Or at least 2 of the following:
(Any document expired more than six months will not be accepted)

PROOF OF RELATIONSHIP
Please note that if proof of relationship is required the documents you provide must establish your relationahip: (e.g. marriage certificates, 
birth certificates, court orders). Identification may be used to establish proof of relationship for adoptee, birth parent or adoptive parent only.

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION

‘Secondary’ List:


