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Colorado Death Certificate Request

Vital Records Section HSVR-VR-A1

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South

Denver, CO 80246-1530
Apply in person for same-day services
Walk-in Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 - 4:30

Correction Hours: Monday-Friday 8:30 - 3:30 Phone: (303) 692-2200

www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords
Email: vital.records@state.co.us

Phone Orders: 1-866-300-8540
Online Orders: www.vitalchek.com
Phone/Online Follow-Up:
1-866-632-2604

Fax Orders: 1-800-423-1108

This office has death certificates for the entire state since 1900. Death certificates are also available in the county Vital Records office where the death occurred. Death certifi-

cates are considered public record after 75 years.

Requirements:

This request must be completed in
Enclose a copy of a current driver’s lic
and secondary ID’s are available onlin
Enclose appropriate fees.

Person requesting to receive death

ooD Cos

Requestor Information

full.
ense, passport or State identification. (The complete list of primary
e at www.colorado.gov/cdphe/vitalrecords)

certificate must sign below.

Proof of relationship or legal interested is required (see reverse side).

(must sibmit proof of relationship) [_] Legal Representative
*see reverse side

Print name of person First Middle Last Email:
making request
Mailing Address City State Zip Daytime Phone
( )
Physical Address City State Zip Alt Phone Number
( )
Relationship to deceased [ Parent [ Spouse [ Grandparent [ Sibling [ Chid [ Funeral Director

(1 Other:

Reason for Request: [ Insurance [ Social Security [ Property [ Genealogy [d Other:

Deceased Information

D Check here if you are requesting a certificate of stillbirth

First Middle

Full Name of deceased

Last

Date of death* |Month| Day Year Date of birth or age at death (optional) State of birth (optional)
(or range of dates) e —

City County State
Place of death Colorado ONLY

tangible interest in the record requested. The penalties for obtaining a record

Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health R

onment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment (CRS 25-2-118).

By signing below, | have read and understand that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses.

ules and Regulations, applicant must have a direct and
under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or impris-

Today’s date

Ways to Order:

**Order certificates online at www.vitalchek.com Certificate(s) mailed 3-5 days Bl

after receipt of all required documentation.

**Fax your application with credit card information: within continental U.S. fax

1-800-423-1108; outside continental U.S. fax 1-303-691-9307. Certificate(s) mailed ‘

at the end of five business days upon receipt of all required documentation.

Mail in application with check, money order, or credit card information. Make check

‘ or money order payable to Vital Records. Please do not send cash. Certificate(s) ‘
mailed within three weeks upon receipt of all required documentation.

Apply in person for same-day service. Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30

p.m., Monday-Friday. _

L
**Credit card orders: ($10.00 convenience charge to be added)
Card Type: [dvisa [ MasterCard [ Discover

]

[ American Express

Cardholder name:

Charges: (FEES NON-REFUNDABLE)
*Search fee where date of death is
($1.00 per year)
Cost of standard death certificate:
$20.00 for one (or search when no record
fOUNd).eeieiieiiiit i

$13.00 for each additional certificate of same record
ordered at same time...... .covveviiiiiiiiiiineen veens

$10.00 credit card convenience charge (walk-ins
excluded)
Cost of verification of death:
20.00 for one (or search when no record is
L o183 Ve ) N

$13.00 for additional verifications of same record
ordered at the same time

Cardholder signature:

Please check your shipping method:
[ Regular mail ($0.00)

CardNumber: || | | [ | [ [ [ [ [ ||
/

Expiration Date:

FORM-VR51

[ FedEx* (check, money order, cash orders ONLY) ($20.00)
[ Express Mail* ( $19.95)
(] UPS* (credit card orders ONLY)($19.00)

Total Charges




Death certificates may issued to:

Current spouse

Document(s) needed to prove relationship:
Must be listed on death certificate.

Ex-spouse Must present proof of direct & tangible interest (i.e. Social Security record,
insurance policy).

Parent Must be listed on death certificate.

Stepparent Marriage certificate proving relationship to a parent that is listed on death certifi-

cate.

Grandparents/Great grandparents

Birth certificate(s) proving relationship required (cannot accept baptismals,
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the

state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Siblings/Half siblings

Birth certificate showing at least one same parent required (cannot accept bap-
tismals, hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter
from the state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Children/Grandchildren/Great grandchildren

Birth certificate(s) showing relationship is required (cannot accept baptismals,
hospital records or school records, unless the customer presents a letter from the
state of birth stating no record of birth was found).

Step-Children

Marriage certificate & birth certificate proving relationship required.

Legal representative/Paralegals

Proof of client relationship required as well as proof of the client’s relationship

to the registrant.

Opposing counsel

Certificate will be mailed to court w/ motion to seal “confidential record.”

Name, address and case number of the court required.

Genealogists

Notarized signed release from immediate family member required as well as
proof of the family member’s relationship. Certificate marked “For Genealogi-
cal Use Only.”

In-laws/aunts/uncles/nephews/nieces/ cousins

For death certificate 25 years or younger- Must present proof of direct & tan-

gible interest (i.e. insurance policy, personal will, etc.).

For death certificates over 25 years- Must present proof of relationship (a family
tree would be acceptable for this case) Death certificate marked “For Genea-

logical Use Only.”

Probate Researchers

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

Creditors Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Employer Proof of direct & tangible interest required.
Beneficiaries Proof of direct & tangible interest required (i.e. letter on insurance company/

pension company letterhead that clearly states the applicant is a beneficiary or is
eligible to file a claim).

Insurance companies

Proof of direct & tangible interest required (Insurance policy).

Hospital/Nursing home/Hospice/Physician

Proof of patient relationship required.

Funeral Directors

Must be listed on death certificate.

Informant

Must be listed on death certificate.

Others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible
interest when information is needed for determination

or protection of a personal or property right

Proof of direct & tangible interest required.

NOTE: Death certificates in Colorado become public record after 75 years, therefore, no proof of relationship or legal interest is re-

quired for these certificates.



