FLSA FAQ — Based on Department of Labor (DOL) Guidance

Created by Consumer Direct Colorado and approved by
Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (HCPF)

Regardless of the service option; agency-based, In Home Support Services (IHSS)
or Consumer Directed Attendant Support Services (CDASS), minimizing risk is a
joint effort between the client or Authorized Representative and providers. This
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) information sheet has been created to highlight
the features and responsibilities associated with in the CDASS model. It is
intended to assist clients and Authorized Representatives to understand the
responsibilities and requirements to employers under the FLSA.

Likewise, clients and Authorized Representatives have the responsibility to follow
CDASS rules, FMS Provider policies and procedures, and employment
regulations. These are put in place to provide protection to the client or Authorized
Representative, attendants, and the CDASS program.

The following Frequently Asked Questions have been compiled by Consumer
Direct Colorado to assist clients and Authorized Representatives. Please note,
Consumer Direct Colorado cannot provide tax advice or legal advice. Advice from
a tax professional or a lawyer regarding individual situations is recommended.

1. Q: What is the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)?

A: FLSA is the Federal Law that requires employers to pay employees,
minimum wage and overtime. This includes domestic services employees.

“Domestic Service Employment” means services of a household nature
performed by an employee in or about a private home.

2. Q: What are my requirements as the employer to pay attendants for sick
time, paid vacations, and holidays?

A: In CDASS, clients may elect to set different rates of pay for shifts that fall
on holidays, weekends etc. if they would like. CDASS budgets are not built
with funds to pay for sick time, unworked holidays and paid vacations.
Timesheets may only be submitted to FMS providers for hours worked.
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3. Q: Are there any exemptions from the FLSA Overtime requirements?

A: There are two exemptions under FLSA an employer may claim should all of
the criteria be met. These are known as “Live-in Domestic Service Employee
Exemptions” and “Companionship Services Exemption”

Because CDASS is a task based service, the Companionship Exemption DOES
NOT apply due to the definition established by DOL.

Live-in Domestic Service Employee Exemptions

To be a “live-in” home care worker, the employee must either live at the consumer’s home full-
time (that is, have no other home of their own), or spend at least 120 hours or five consecutive
days or nights in the consumer’s home per week.

A live-in home care worker could be a family member of the consumer or a provider who
moved into a consumer’s home as part of a shared living arrangement. Workers who come to a
consumer’s home for 24-hour shifts but are not present for at least 120 hours each week or for
five consecutive days or nights are not live-in workers.

Employees who do not meet this definition are not considered live-in domestic service workers
and must be paid at least the federal minimum wage for all hours worked and overtime pay at
one and a half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

« Workers who work temporarily for the household for only a short period of time, such as two
weeks, are not considered live-in domestic service workers, because residing on the premises
of the household implies more than temporary activity. The employer, in this case, cannot
claim the overtime pay exemption and must pay overtime at one and a half times the regular
rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in the workweek.

« Workers who work 24-hour shifts but are not residing on the employer's premises
"permanently” or for "extended periods of time™ are not considered live-in domestic service
workers and, thus, the workers must be paid overtime at one and a half times the regular rate
of pay for all hours worked over 40 in the workweek.

See Wage and Hour Division Fact Sheet 79B, Live-in Domestic Service Workers Under the FLSA, for more

information about live-in home care workers and how they must be paid.

www.dol.gov/whd/homecare/factsheets.htm
http://consumerdirectco.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/homecare_guide_20160331.pdf
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4. Q: What is my requirement for Overtime Pay under the FLSA regarding
Sleep Time for my attendants?

A: This can depend on many factors such as whether or not the employee is a
live in caregiver or not, and how many hours are in their scheduled shift. The
chart below summarizes the sleep time rules for each category of worker.
Additional information about these requirements is available at
http://www.dol.gov/homecare/sleep_time.htm.

Live-in employee Shifts
Shifts of of fewer

Extended Permanent 24 hours or more than

periods of time 24 hours

» Reasonable agreement to exclude  » Employer provides Sleep time
sleep time adequate sleeping may not be
* Employer must provide private facilities excluded
Requirements . N
guarters in a homelike » Employee can usually
for excluding . .
environment enjoy an

an employee’s
sleep time
from hours
worked

uninterrupted night's
sleep (5 consecutive
hours)

» Express or implied
agreement to exclude
sleep time

Up to 8 hours per  Up to 8 hours Up to 8 hours, in a fixed Sleep time
night as long as per night as long period, in each 24-hour  may not be
the employeeis  as the employee shift excluded
paid for at least 8 is paid for some
hours during the  other hours
24-hour period during the

workweek

Maximum
number of
hours that can
be excluded

BT EEL S @ Any interruption to sleep time must be paid

SRR e If during any night the employee does not get reasonable
particular periods of uninterrupted sleep totaling at least 5 hours, the
night employer may not exclude any sleep time

Source: Fact Sheet # 79D: Hours Worked Applicable to Domestic Service Employment Under
the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs79d.pdf
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