Effective October 30, 2000

COLORADO INSTANT CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK SYSTEM

BEFORE CALLING THE CBI:

The potential firearm transferee must be present.

The Department of the Treasury Firearms Transaction Record (Form 4473) must be filled out completely by the
transferor. Identification must be verified by the FFL.

1. Have the customer complete the Department of Treasury Form 4473.

A.

B.

If the customer’ s answers indicate a prohibition, do not call the CBI.

Check the DOB. If the customer is under 21 years of age he/she can not purchase a handgun, but can purchase
along gun.

If the customer is 21 years of age, he/she can purchase either a handgun or long gun.
If the customer did not write out his’/her middie name, or only wrote the initial, request the full middle name.
Check the Customers’ State of residence. If customer is not aresident of Colorado they cannot buy a

handgun. Colorado residency requirements do not apply for long gun sales. *Per Californialaw, residents
of California cannot purchase any firearmsin Colorado.

EXEMPTIONS

A CBI Insta-Check is not necessary if: (@) your customer is a police officer buying a duty weapon with letterhead
from his’her commanding officer indicating the firearm is for official duty.(attach letter to paperwork). A permit
for a concealed weapon ISNOT AN EXEMPTION to the NICS requirementsin Col orado.

2. The customer must have a government issued, valid photo identification. Compare and verify the information on
the ID with the transaction form. (NOTE: The ID/Driver’s license must have the correct date of birth and social
security (if applicable) to be avalid form of 1D).

A.

B.

Colorado Driver's License/Colorado Identification Card is the best forms of identification.

A “Green Card”, which is actualy pink in color, is not sufficient to establish that apersonisin the U.S. under
non-immigrant status. A “permanent resident alien” card will establish immigrant status. Please remember
that the Omnibus Appropriations Act amended the Gun Control Act to include a new category of prohibition;
aienslegally in the US under a non-immigrant visa.

3. Cadll the CBI at 1-800-486-2023 or 303-239-4681 (local).

Clearly state:

@mMmoOm>»

Thelast five digits of your FFL number.

Long gun, handgun or bath.

Customer's name — LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE. Say and spell each name if necessary.
Customer’s Date of Birth. (Year-Month-Day).

Customer’s Sex and Race.

Social Security —optional.

Customer’s Driver’s License Number/ID Number.



NOTE: Operator may ask for additional information such as a physical description.

When the CBI operator gives you the Approval or Denial number and NIC' s transaction number, please writeit in
the space provided on the 4473 form in section 12B form and read it back to the operator to ensure accuracy. In
theevent of a wait/delay, the CBI has 3 business days to approve or deny the transferee. No numbers will be
given at thistime.

THREE BUSINESS DAY S defined: (also see 28 CFR, part 25.2)

A “business day” means a 24-hour day (beginning at 12:01 a.m.) on which state offices (other
than Insta-Check) are open in Colorado.

Example: A saleor transfer isplaced on a“wait” at noon on Friday. The clock does not
start until 12:01 a.m. on Monday mor ning (assuming that day is not a holiday) and the sale
or transfer cannot proceed without an approval until 12:01 a.m. on Thursday.

In the event of adenial, you must give your customer a copy of the NOTICE OF DENIAL form with the denial
number and the date filled in. NOTE: The CBI does not handle denial appealsin person or over the phone. Law
prohibits the CBI from disseminating criminal justice information over the phone.

Please maintain al 4473 formsin accordance with federal law. Y ou will need them to verify your records, and
you may be asked to send copies to the CBI on those occasions when criminal charges are being filed.



