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Service Types 
 

Current Rates Rates Effective 
February 1, 2013 

Capitation 100% 100% 
Pharmacy 75% 100% 
Inpatient 10% 10% 
Outpatient 65% 100% 
Practitioner/Physician 65% 100% 
Emergency Dental 65% 65% 
Independent Laboratory 65% 65% 
Medical Supply 65% 65% 
Home Health 65% 65% 
Emergency Transportation 65% 65% 
Mcare Part A Crossover 100% 100% 
Mcare Part B Crossover 100% 100% 
Mcare UB92 Part B Crossover 100% 100% 
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future dates. 
2)  In order to receive proper reimbursement, submit procedure codes that 

require a LT or RT modifier as separate line items. 
 

All Providers 
 

Medicaid Expansion in 2014 
On January 3, 2013, Governor John Hickenlooper announced plans to 
expand Medicaid in Colorado as authorized by the Affordable Care Act. 
More information is available on the Department of Health Care Policy and 
Financing’s (the Department) Web site at colorado.gov/pacific/hcpfFor 
Our Stakeholders  Learn About Health Care Reform 
 

Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Program (OAP State 
Only) Provider Rate Increase 

The Colorado OAP State Only was established to provide health services to 
persons: 

• Who are not eligible for Medicaid benefits, 
• Who qualify to receive old age pensions, and 
• Who are not patients in an institution for tuberculosis or mental 

diseases. 
OAP State Only is not an entitlement program, and expenditures are limited 
by the statutory appropriation. To stay within the available appropriation, the 
Department sets reimbursement rates at a percentage of Medicaid, and 
several services are reimbursed at less than 100 percent (%) of Medicaid 
rates. Due to long term reductions in caseload, the Department is able to 
increase rates for certain service types, ensuring access to care for OAP 
State Only clients. 
The following provider payment rates are effective for dates of service on or 
after February 1, 2013 and will remain in effect until further notice: 

 

 
 

Xerox State Healthcare 
Denver Club Building 

518 17th Street, 4th floor 
Denver, CO 80202 

Contacts 
Billing and Bulletin Questions 
1-800-237-0757 or 1-800-237-0044 
Claims and PARs Submission 
P.O. Box 30 
Denver, CO 80201 
Correspondence, Inquiries, and 
Adjustments 
P.O. Box 90 
Denver, CO 80201 
Enrollment, Changes, Signature 
Authorization and Claim Requisitions 
P.O. Box 1100 Denver, CO 80201 
ColoradoPAR Program PARs 
www.coloradopar.com 
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More information about the OAP State Only program can be found in the Old Age Pension (OAP) Health and 
Medical Care Program section of the Department’s Web site. Please contact Cindy Arcuri at 303-866-3996 
with questions regarding these changes. 

 

The Colorado Medical Assistance Program Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive 
Program 

The Colorado Medical Assistance Program EHR Incentive Program paid more than $36 
million in incentive payments in 2012. Eligible Professionals (EP) include Physicians, 
Dentists, Certified Nurse Midwives, Nurse Practitioners, and Physicians Assistants 
(practicing in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or Rural Health Center (RHC) 
led by a Physician Assistant). 
The grace period for submitting Adopt, Implement, or Upgrade (AIU) attestations for EPs is February 28, 2013 
for calendar year 2012. In order for the attestation to be valid for 2012, “Step 5: Sending Year 1 Attestation” 
must be completed. 
To learn more about the Colorado Medical Assistance Program EHR Incentive Program, how to verify 
eligibility, or how to begin an AIU attestation, visit the Colorado Registration & Attestation System Web 
site or email Tracy McDonald at MedicaidEHR@corhio.org. 
Due to additional mandatory changes to the program, AIU attestations for 2013 did not begin on 
January 1, 2013. AIU attestations are scheduled to begin in March 2013. Meaningful Use attestations 
are scheduled to begin April 1, 2013. 
Learn more about these changes in the February 2013 Colorado Medicaid EHR Incentive Program 
Update. 

 

Healthy Living Initiatives: Wellness Messages for Medicaid Clients 
The Department has identified four (4) priority areas for health promotion and disease prevention. 
These are the Healthy Living Initiatives, which include oral health; behavioral health (with a focus on 
depression); nutrition and fitness (with a focus on obesity); and tobacco cessation. 
The Department has four (4) Wellness Messages that are promoted online, in letters to clients, 

through electronic communications, in the Tool Kits for providers, and through the Healthy 
Communities program. The four (4) key messages we emphasize for Healthy Living are: 

1)  Every child should see a dentist by their first birthday, and then regularly as recommended by their 
provider. 

2)  Adults and children should receive a weight and height (BMI) screening at every provider visit to track 
and manage issues of obesity. 

3)  Every teen (ages 11-20) should receive an annual screening for depression. 
4)  Medicaid pays for two tobacco quit attempts per year. For help with quitting, call the QuitLine at 1-800- 

QUITNOW (1-800-784-8669). 
The Medicaid program covers these benefits; providers are encouraged to inform clients to take 
advantage of these prevention services. 

 
2013 Health Care Procedure Codes (HCPCS) and Fee Schedule 

The Department’s implementation of the 2013 HCPCS and fee schedule has been delayed and was not 
effective in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) on January 1, 2013. Please continue to 
check the Department’s Web site and future Provider Bulletins for the 2013 HCPCS implementation date. 

 
Presidents' Day Holiday 

Due to the Presidents' Day holiday on Monday, February 18, 2013, claim payments will be 
processed on Thursday, February 14, 2013. The processing cycle includes claims accepted on 
Thursday before 6:00 p.m. Mountain Standard Time (MST). The receipt of warrants will be 
delayed by one (1) or two (2) days. State and the ColoradoPAR Program offices will be closed 
on Monday, February 18, 2013. The Department’s fiscal agent, Xerox State Healthcare, will be 
open during regular business hours. 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/oap
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/oap
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1218102966137
http://co.arraincentive.com/
mailto:MedicaidEHR@corhio.org
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-implementations
http://www.corhio.org/ehrs-meaningful-use/meaningful-use.aspx
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Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) Providers 
 

ASC Project 
In partnership with ASCs, the Department conducted a study to open a new code and increase reimbursement 
for six (6) ASC codes. This was done in an effort to shift care from the outpatient hospital to the lower cost 
ASC setting. The study demonstrated the desired shift for procedure code 47562-Laparoscopic 
Cholecystectomy. 
As a result the Department will keep procedure code 47562 open to ASCs at its current rate of $1,668.35. This 
procedure will now be listed in Grouper 10. All other procedures will be moved back into their original ASC 
groupers. Please see the codes below for the applicable groupers. 
ASC Group 10 (Reimbursement Rate $1,668.35) 
47562 - Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy 
ASC Group 11-deleted 
ASC Group 12-deleted 
ASC Group 3 (Reimbursement Rate $383.11) 
42820 - Tonsillectomy and Adenoidectomy; younger than age 12 
69436 - Tympanostomy General Anesthesia 
ASC Group 5 (Reimbursement rate $538.61) 
42821 - Tonsillectomy and Adenoidectomy; age 12 or over 
42825 - Tonsillectomy, Primary or Secondary; younger than age 12 
42826 - Tonsillectomy, Primary or Secondary; age 12 or over 
42830 - Adenoidectomy, Primary; younger than age 12 
Please contact Dana Batey at Dana.Batey@state.co.us or at 303-866-3852 with questions. 

 
Durable Medical Equipment (DME)/Supply Providers 

 

Billing Shared Liquid Oxygen Systems at Nursing Facilities 
In order to be reimbursed for shared oxygen systems used in nursing facilities, the supplier must bill procedure 
code E0439 or E0440 along with modifiers TT and RR. The claim must include the number of clients using the 
reservoir by noting the number of clients in the notes/comments section of the claim. Only bill one unit per 
month for each client sharing the system. For example, if four (4) clients use one system in a month, bill four 
(4) separate claims. 

If a claim is submitted for E0439 or E0440 along with modifiers TT and RR and the notes do not 
identify the number of individuals using the system or the number of individuals identified in the 
notes/comments section is one (1), the claim will deny. When only one client is using the system, 
the claim should be submitted with the RR modifier only. In this case, only one claim 
will be processed. If a claim includes more than one unit per month using modifiers TT and RR, 
the claim will deny. 

Please contact Richard Delaney at 303-866-3436 or at  Richard.Delaney@state.co.us with any questions or 
concerns. 

 
Home Health Providers 

Home Health Pediatric Assessment Tool Implementation 
As a result of working with clients, advocates, home health providers, and the ColoradoPAR Program, the 
Pediatric Assessment Tool (tool) has been developed. This tool defines medical necessity review criteria for 
pediatric long-term home health (LTHH) services. The Pediatric Assessment Tool can be found on the 
Department’s Web site in the Provider Services section Forms Home Health Forms. 

 
Providers must use the Pediatric Assessment Tool to evaluate all existing pediatric long-term home health 

clients at their next scheduled re-certification review beginning February 1, 2013. 
Providers must complete the tool two (2) months before the client’s current home health certification expires. 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf
mailto:Dana.Batey@state.co.us
mailto:Richard.Delaney@state.co.us
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-services
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-forms
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This will allow ample time for the ColoradoPAR Program to review the tool, obtain 
additional information if needed and notify clients and agencies if the level of 
authorized home health services will change. 
The Pediatric Assessment Tool must be used for all new pediatric long-term home 
health clients at the first certification for long-term home health. 
Please work closely with these clients and the clients’ families to ensure that all 
supporting information is submitted with the initial tool submission. This is imperative if the provider or family 
thinks the client’s needs exceed the amount of services indicated on the tool. 
The ColoradoPAR Program provides training on how to complete the tool and submit Home Health prior 
authorization requests (PARs). More information is available on the ColoradoPAR Program’s Web site. 

 

Long-Term Home 
Health PAR Start Date 

Date PAR is due to 
the Colorado PAR 

Program 
April 2013 February 2013 
May 2013 March 2013 
June 2013 April 2013 
July 2013 May 2013 

Please contact the ColoradoPAR Program at 1-888-454-7686 with any questions. 
Feedback Opportunities 

The Department will conduct monthly meetings to evaluate the Pediatric Assessment Tool and accept 
feedback. Providers, clients, family members, and any other interested parties are welcome to attend. 

Fourth Wednesday of every month 
10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. 
225 E. 16th Ave, Denver, CO 80203 
1st Floor Conference Room 

Participants may also call in: 
1.  Dial 1-877-820-7831 
2.  Enter conference number 977000# (be sure to enter the pound key after the 6-digit number) 

 

Home Health Rule Update & Benefit Coverage Standard Effective as of January 1, 2013 
The Benefit Coverage Standard and Home Health prior authorization request changes were effective as of 
January 1, 2013. 
The covered services rule incorporated the newly adopted Home Health Services Benefit Coverage Standard. 
Agencies must comply with the entire Benefit Coverage Standard in order to be compliant with the Home 
Health rules and regulations. There were two changes to the Prior Authorization section: 

1.  Removal of the specifically named utilization review entities and replaced with “Designated Review 
Entities.” 

2.  Provider requirements have been removed to request extraordinary home health requests when the 
client was identified as Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT). 

Providers will request all pediatric home health requests through a single process and the designated review 
entity will determine if the pediatric long-term home health request falls under EPSDT regulations. 

 

Pediatric Home Health Prior Authorization Request Certification Period 
As of January 1, 2013, all pediatric therapy only PARs may be requested for up to a one (1) year period. 
The first time a pediatric Long-Term Home Health PAR is requested for skilled nursing or certified nurse aide 
skilled tasks, utilizing the Pediatric Assessment Tool, the PAR shall be requested for no more than a (6) six 
month period. All subsequent pediatric long-term home health PARs that include pediatric nursing and/or 
certified nurse aide services may be requested for up to a (1) one year period. 
Long-Term Home Health pediatric PAR for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and/or speech therapy 
ONLY, may be requested for up to a (1) one year period. 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf
http://coloradopar.com/
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Change of Provider Letter – Home Health Agencies 
When an LTHH client changes providers during an active PAR certification, the receiving Home Health 
Providers shall complete a Change of Provider Form in order to transfer the client’s care from the previous 
provider to the receiving agency. 
Once the receiving agency completes the Change of Provider form, the form must include the 
client’s signature to indicate that the client is in agreement with the change of provider request. 
The completed Change of Provider form must accompany a new Home Health PAR from the 
receiving agency. 
The agency must submit the Change of Provider form along with a new PAR to the appropriate 
reviewing agency. The new PAR start date should coincide with the first day that the new agency plans to 
provide LTHH care. The provider should not include dates for acute home health or any lapses in care 
between the last date of service provided by the previous home health agency and the receiving agency. 
The previous provider’s PAR end date will be revised to match the information provided in the “last date of 
service” box, and a new PAR will be entered for the receiving agency. The Change of Provider letter authorizes 
Department’s fiscal agent to end the current PAR so that a new Home Health PAR may be entered. 
Single Entry Points (SEPs) and Community Centered Boards (CCBs) must include the Case Management 
Agency’s (CMA) identification number on the PAR form. 
If the receiving agency is unable to obtain the necessary PAR information from the previous agency, the 
receiving agency may call the Department’s fiscal agent at 1-800-237-0044 to find out whether there is a current 
Home Health PAR in the system. If a current PAR does exist, the Department’s fiscal agent will provide the 
name and phone number of the Home Health Agency who currently has the approved PAR, but will not be able 
to provide any of the details for the PAR. 
The receiving agency should contact the previous agency, when possible, and notify the agency that the client 
is transferring agencies and the effective date of the change. The Change of Provider Form is located on the 
Department’s Web site Provider Services Forms Update Forms section. 

 

Next Home Care Information Exchange Meeting 
February 6, 2013 from 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. 
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246 
Building A 
Sabin-Cleere Conference Room 

Attendees may also choose to attend the meeting via telephone: 
1.  Dial 1‐218‐936‐7930 
2.  Enter the pin number: 6922901 followed by # key (be sure to enter the pound key after the 7-digit 

number) 
Topics will include: 

• Updates from the Department regarding: 
o Medicaid Home Health 
o Medicaid Private Duty Nursing (PDN) 
o The Department’s Waivers 

• Updates from CDPHE include: 
o Home Care licensure and surveys 
o Outcome and Assessment Information Set (OASIS) 

All Class A and Class B Home Care Agencies and PDN agencies are invited to attend this informational 
meeting. Participants are encouraged to submit recommended agenda items or questions that may be 
addressed prior to the meeting as well as any recommended in-service topics and/or offers to provide 
informational in-services. 
To be added to the e-mail reminder list or to submit suggested topics or questions please email Guinevere 
Blodgett at Guinevere.Blodgett@state.co.us. 
Future meeting dates are May 1, 2013, (Sabin-Cleere Room at CDPHE); August 7, 2013 (Sabin-Cleere Room 
at CDPHE); and November 6, 2013 (Room C1E in Building C at CDPHE). 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-services
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-forms
mailto:Guinevere.Blodgett@state.co.us
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Waiver Providers 
 

Colorado Choice Transitions (CCT) Program Launch The 
Colorado Choice Transitions (CCT) Program will launch on March 1, 2013. Provider 
enrollment began in November 2012 and continues on an ongoing basis throughout the 
program. For more information on this program or provider enrollment please visit the CCT 
Web page. 

 

Pharmacy 
 

Indian Health Services (IHS) Pharmacies Billing Updates 
It had been previously reported that effective January 1, 2013, the pharmacy claim system would be moving to 
an encounter based reimbursement for claims submitted from Indian Health Services pharmacies. Due to 
unforeseen circumstances, this implementation has been temporarily delayed. Upon full implementation, the 
Department will work with the individual entities currently registered as IHS billing pharmacies with Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program to adjust claims as necessary. Please contact Jim Leonard at 
Jim.Leonard@state.co.us with questions. 

 

Updated Pharmacy Reimbursement Methodology 
Effective February 1, 2013, the Department will be moving to its new pharmacy reimbursement methodology. 
This methodology uses data from surveys of Colorado pharmacies to determine a professional dispensing fee 
and actual acquisition costs for drugs dispensed to Colorado Medicaid clients. The professional dispensing 
fees shall be tiered based upon the pharmacy’s total prescription volume. The Medicaid prescription volume 
and the associated dispensing fees are listed below. 

 

Number of Prescriptions Professional Dispensing Fee 
Less than 60,000 $13.40 
60,000 and 89,999 $11.49 
90,000 and 109,999 $10.25 
More than 110,000 $9.31 

More details are available in the For Our Providers section under Provider Services, Training in the Department’s 
Web page. 

 

Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board Meeting 
Tuesday, February 19, 2013 
7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. 
225 E 16th Avenue 
Denver, Colorado 
1st Floor Conference Room 

 

Preferred Drug List (PDL) Update 
For the long-acting opiates class on the PDL, the Department plans to phase-out grandfathering prior 
authorizations for non-preferred medications. This proposed phase-out is planned for the spring of 2013 and 
will include educational materials for provider reference. Please monitor the PDL Web page or the Pharmacy 
Web page for updates. 

 
 

February and March 2013 Provider Workshops 
Provider Billing Workshop Sessions and Descriptions 
Provider billing workshops include both Colorado Medical Assistance Program billing instructions and a review 
of current billing procedures. 
The current and following month’s workshop calendars are included in this bulletin. 
Class descriptions and workshop calendars are posted in the Provider Services Training 
section of the Department’s Web site. 
Who Should Attend?  
Courses are intended to teach, improve, and enhance knowledge of Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program claim submission. 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/colorado-choice-transitions
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/colorado-choice-transitions
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1251580925860
mailto:jim.leonard@state.co.us
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-training
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-training


B1300333 Page 7 

Improving health care access and outcomes for the people we serve while demonstrating sound stewardship of financial resources 
colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf February 2013 

 

 

 

Staff who submit claims, are new to billing Medicaid services, need a billing refresher course, or administer 
accounts should consider attending one or more of the Provider Billing Workshops listed below. 

February 2013 
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
10 11 12 

Beginning Billing – 
CO -1500 
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837P 
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
Substance Abuse 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

13 
Beginning Billing – 
UB-04 
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837I 
11:45 AM-12:30 P 
Dialysis 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

14 
DME/Supply Billing 
9:00 AM-11:00 AM 
Pharmacy 
1:00 PM-2:00 PM 

15 
Basic Billing – 
Waiver Providers 
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837P 
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
*WebEx – 
FQHC/RHC 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

16 

 

March 2013 
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
10 11 12 

Beginning Billing – 
CO -1500 
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837P 
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
OT/PT/ST 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

13 
Beginning Billing – 
UB-04 
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837I 
11:45 AM-12:30 P 
IP/OP Hospital 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

14 
Provider Enrollment 
9:00 AM-11:00 AM 
Home Health 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 
*WebEx – 
Vision 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

15 
*WebEx – 
Beginning Billing – 
UB-04 
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837P 
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
Transportation 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

16 

 

Reservations are required for all workshops 
Email reservations to: 
workshop.reservations@xerox.com 
Leave the following information: 
•  Colorado Medical Assistance Program provider 

billing number 
•  The date and time of the workshop 

 
 
Or Call the Reservation hotline to make reservations: 

1-800-237-0757 or 1-800-237-0044 Extension 5 
 
 

•  The number of people attending and their names 
•  Contact name, address and phone number 

All the information noted above is necessary to process reservations successfully. Look for a confirmation by 
e-mail within one week of making a reservation. 
Reservations will only be accepted until 5:00 p.m. the Friday prior to the training workshop to ensure there is 
adequate space available. 
If a confirmation has not been received at least two business days prior to the workshop, please contact the 
Department’s fiscal agent and talk to a Provider Relations Representative. 
All Workshops presented in Denver are held at: 

Xerox State Healthcare 
Denver Club Building 

518 17th Street, 4th floor 
Denver, Colorado 80202 

*Please note: For WebEx training, a meeting notification containing the Web site, phone number, meeting 
number and password will be emailed or mailed to those who sign up. 
The fiscal agent's office is located in the Denver Club Building on the west side of Glenarm Place at 17th Street 
(Glenarm is a two-way street). 
Free parking is not provided and is limited in the downtown Denver area. Commercial parking lots are available 
throughout the downtown area. The daily rates range between $5 and $20. Carpooling and arriving early are 
recommended to secure parking. 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf
mailto:workshop.reservations@Xerox.com
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Whenever possible, public transportation is also recommended. Some forms of public transportation include 
the following: 
Light Rail Station - A Light Rail map is available at:  http://www.rtd-denver.com/LightRail_Map.shtml. 
Free MallRide - The MallRide stops are located on 16th St. at every intersection between Civic Center Station 
and Union Station. 

 
Please direct questions about Colorado Medical Assistance Program billing or the information in this 

bulletin to 
Xerox State Healthcare at 1-800-237-0757 or 1-800-237-0044. 

Please remember to check the Provider Services section of the Department’s Web site at: 
colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf
http://www.rtd-denver.com/LightRail_Map.shtml
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-services
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf

