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CHP+ and Medicaid

e CHP+ - Low-cost health insurance for Colorado children and
pregnant women who exceed the income guidelines for
Medicaid eligibility - Run as an insurance product

 Medicaid in Colorado is now known as Health First
Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid Program). While the name and
look of Colorado Medicaid are changing, member eligibility,
benefits, and choice of providers remain the same. The new
name and logo better represent Colorado’s member-focused
approach to public health care coverage.
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Health First Colorado

Health First Colorado (Colorado’s Medicaid Program) Is
public health insurance for low-income Coloradans who

qualify.

Health First Is funded jointly by the federal government
and Colorado state government, and Is administered by
the Department of Health Care Policy & Financing. Each
state manages Its own Medicaid program differently.

This is why benefits and payments vary state to state.
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http://www.colorado.gov/hcpf
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EPSDT = Medicaid (Health
First)

 EPSDT does not apply to CHP+.

 EPSDT Is not a different program - you are NOT EPSDT
providers.

 EPSDT cannot override licensing and other federal
provider requirements.

 EPSDT doesn’t have i1ts own “checkbook™, funding or
PAR process. All of the systems for this benefit belong
to HCPF and Health First Colorado.
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Private Primary Insurance

e Before Behavioral Therapies was a benefit within First
Health Colorado - you were able to collect co-pays and
deductibles for those patients who were under private
Insurance plans.

 Medicaid does not pay deductibles or co-pays for those
families In your practice.

* You cannot collect those co-pays or deductibles any
longer.
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No Co-Pays?

Please visit the provider bulletin of 4/15 - When Can | Bill a Patient.
Health First Colorado does not actually pay co-pays, but if the private

Insurance net is less than we would pay, we pay that difference.
So let’s look at it this way:

If the primary insurance payment is $60.00
The family has a 40.00 co-pay for the visit -$40.00
Netting you a payment of $20.00
Medicaid would pay 50.00 for that visit. $50.00
50.00 minus the 20.00 you received -$20.00
You can bill Medicaid $30.00

Which is less than the co-pay - but what Medicaid would have paid you
If the family dropped their primary insurance.
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Private Primary Insurance

Health First Colorado members who have commercial
Insurance coverage that requires them to obtain services
through a provider network must obtain all available
services through the network.

Members who insist upon obtaining non-managed-care
covered services outside the network may be charged for
such services.
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Rules and Regulations

« Refer to the following sites for questions concerning charging
Health First Colorado members for services rendered:

» Code of Federal Regulations: Title 42 Section 447.15 - Acceptance of State payment as
payment in full.

» Colorado Revised Statutes: 25.5-4-301 - Recoveries-overpayments-penalties-interest-
adjustments- liens.

» Code of Colorado Regulation for Medicaid (10 CCR 2505-10, Volume 8) (State Rules Concerning
the Medical Assistance Program): 10 CCR 2505-10, 8.000 et seq. 10 CCR 2505-10, section 8.012
10 CCR 2505-10, section 8.205.4.1 in the Medicaid Rules and State Plan section of the
Department's website.

» Colorado Medical Assistance Program Provider Participation Agreement, Page 2 Item G in the
Provider Enrollment Application located under each provider type in the Provider Services
Enrollment for New Providers section of the Department's website. [ Colorado Medical
Assistance Program General Provider Information manual in the Provider Services Billing Manuals
section of the Department's website.
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When Can | Bill the Family**?

Colorado Medical Assistance Program members who have
commercial insurance coverage that requires them to obtain
services through a provider network must obtain all available
services through the network.

Members who insist upon obtaining non-managed-care

covered services outside the network may be charged for
such services..

=You MUST have a signed agreement with the family
clearly stating why they are being billed, for how much
and for how long.
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Department Website
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COloradO The Official Web Portal
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Home For Our Members For Our Providers

Explore
Benefits

Feeling Sick? Get Covered.

For medical advice, call the Nurse Line:
800-283-3221 EcE?rzd!-.lgitheDlyl;
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Provider Home Page

Find what

you need COLORADO
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Home For Our Members For QOur Providers For Our Stakeholders About Us

For Our Providers

Contains important

information Why should How to Provider What's new?
] you become become a services (bulletins,
regardlng COIOradO a provider? provider (training, & newsletters,
Medicaid & other (erroll) oy THOTE updates)

topics of interest to
providers & billing
professionals
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Submitting Claims

 Methods to submit:
» Electronically through Web Portal
» Electronically using Batch Vendor, Clearinghouse,
or Billing Agent
» Paper only when:

= Pre-approved (consistently submits less than five (5) per
month)

« Claims require attachments
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Providers Not Enrolled with EDI
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MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

Provider EDI Enrollment Application

Colorado Medical Assistance Program
PO Box 1100

1400237 0757
colorado.gowhopt
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Providers must be enrolled with
EDI to:

e use the Web Portal

e submit HIPAA compliant claims

* make Inquiries

 retrieve reports electronically

» Select Provider Application
for EDI Enrollment

Colorado.gov/hcpf/EDI-Support




Reminders - Enrolling ““New’” Providers

* You need to know If you are hiring a provider who Is
already in the system with another entity

»You need to be sure to complete the proper forms since they are
not new to the billing system

»You need to have their current billing number to associate with
your organization - providers can associate with multiple agencies at

the same time
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Reminders - Applications

 The Department is no longer tracking applications. You
do not need to send tracking numbers to the
epsdt@state.co.us email address.

* You should contact the provider helpline at 1/800-237-
0757 with any questions or concerns.

* As always, If you don’t get a helpful response, email
the epsdt@state.co.us email with the name of the
person you talked to, the date and the topic and we
will try to help.
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Reminders - Line Staff (Assistants)

e You do not need to have all line staff enrolled with
a Medicaid number.

»You are able to bill for them under your billing number/BCBA
number.

»Visit the BT Billing manual for more information.
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Reminders - Health First Managed Care

e There are some counties across the state who have
physical health managed care - Denver Health/Rocky
Mountain Health Plans.

o |f a child has another dx outside of Autism, you may
need to get a PAR from the behavioral health entity In
the area.

Behavioral health organizations have the responsibility to
provide behavioral therapies to those members who meet the
diagnosis codes included in their contract.

A child with Autism only can be billed directly to Health First as
they are not included in the behavioral health contract
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Possible Changes

* A code addition for a new, basic assessment prior to
new PAR request.
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Contact Information

Gina Robinson
Program Administrator
epsdt@state.co.us

CHPplus.org
Colorado.gov/hcpf
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Thank Youl
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