
 
TO:  ALL WORKERS'  COMPENSATION INSURANCE CARRIERS, THIRD-PARTY 

ADMINISTRATORS, AND ALL SELF-INSURED EMPLOYERS 
 
FROM:  PAUL TAURIELLO, DIRECTOR  

COLORADO DIVISION OF WORKERS'  COMPENSATION 
 
DATE:  MAY 2, 2016 
 
SUBJECT: MAXIMUM RATES FOR WORKERS'  COMPENSATION BENEFITS FOR THE YEAR 

BEGINNING JULY 1, 2016, THROUGH AND INCLUDING JUNE 30, 2017. 
 

MAXIMUM TEMPORARY DISABILITY BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

Days: 1 2 3 4 5 6
134.26$     268.52$    402.78$     537.04$    671.30$    805.56$     

1 Week 939.82$    1,074.08$  1,208.34$ 1,342.60$  1,476.86$ 1,611.12$ 1,745.38$  
2 Week 1,879.64$ 2,013.90$  2,148.16$ 2,282.42$  2,416.68$ 2,550.94$ 2,685.20$  
3 Week 2,819.46$ 2,953.72$  3,087.98$ 3,222.24$  3,356.50$ 3,490.76$ 3,625.02$  
4 Week 3,759.28$ 3,893.54$  4,027.80$ 4,162.06$  4,296.32$ 4,430.58$ 4,564.84$   
 
 
 

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2016, AT 12:01 AM 
 

MAXIMUM COMPENSATION BENEFIT RATE:  To qualify for the maximum rate of $939.82, a w age 
of at least $1,409.73 per w eek must be earned. C.R.S.§ 8-42-105. 
 
SCHEDULED IMPAIRMENT RATE:  Payable at a w eekly compensat ion rate of $294.93. C.R.S. 
§ 8-42-107(6)(b) 
 
NON-SCHEDULED (OR MEDICAL) IMPAIRMENT: Payable at the TTD w eekly rate, but not less than 
$150.00 per w eek and not more than $516.39 per w eek. C.R.S. § 8-42-107(8)(d). 
 
BODILY DISFIGUREMENT:  Maximum is $4,975.46 and up to $9,949.17 for extensive facial or 
body scars, burn scars or stumps result ing from the loss of limbs. C.R.S. § 8-42-108. 
 
LUMP SUMS: Maximum lump sum for an injured w orker or sole dependent w ith a date of injury 
after January 1, 2014 is $86,697.04.  For cases w ith mult iple dependents, the aggregate of all 
lump sums cannot exceed $173,391.90. 
 
COMBINED CAPS: Maximum combined TTD and PPD benef its for individuals w ith 25% or less 
w hole person impairment is $86,697.04.  Maximum combined benef its for individuals w ith greater 
than 25% w hole person impairment are $173,391.90. 
 
FATAL CASE: Maximum of $939.82 per w eek, C.R.S § 8-42-114. 

Dependents Benefits: and the extent of their dependency is determined as of the 
date of injury.  The right to death benef its becomes f ixed as of that date except as 
provided in C.R.S. § 8-41-501 (1)(c). 
Minimum Death Benefit:  25% of Maximum Weekly Benef it  or $234.96, C.R.S. 
§ 8-42-114. 
Claims with no dependents: $15,000.00 payable the Subsequent Injury Fund, 
C.R.S. § 8-46-102, C.R.S. 



 

 
STATE OF COLORADO 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 
DIVISION OF WORKERS′ COMPENSATION 

 
ORDER 

 
WHEREAS, pursuant to Colorado Revised Statute § 8-47-106, the State Average Weekly Wage shall be established 

by the Director of  the Division of  Workers′ Compensat ion annually, on or before July 1, and 
 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the requirements of  said statute, the Director of  the Division of  Employment and Training 
has furnished stat ist ics to the Director of  the Division of  Workers′ Compensat ion based upon the average w eekly earnings in 
Colorado as referenced in C.R.S. § 8-73-102 (1)-(3), and 
 

WHEREAS, the Director of  the Division of  Workers′ Compensat ion having review ed the stat ist ics so furnished and is 
now  fully advised in the premises; 
 

THEREFORE, THE DIRECTOR FINDS: 
 
1. That the Colorado State Average Weekly Wage as referenced in C.R.S.  § 8-73-102 (1)-(3) is $1,032.78 
 
2. That the maximum benef it  rate for Temporary Total Disability, Temporary Part ial Disability, Permanent Total 

Disability, and Death Benef its under the Workers′ Compensat ion Act of  Colorado shall be ninety-one percent (91%) 
of  such Average Weekly Wage or $939.82  

 
3. That to be eligible for the maximum of $939.82 the claimant must have a w eekly income of  at  least  $1,409.73. 
 
4. Pursuant to §8-42-108(3), C.R.S., the limits of  disf igurement are adjusted based on the percentage of  adjustment 

to the state average w eekly w age.  The maximum limit  for disf igurement is $4,975.46 and up to $9,949.17 for 
extensive facial or body scars, burn scars or stumps result ing f rom the loss of  limbs. 

 
5. Pursuant to §8-42-107(6)(b), C.R.S., the scheduled compensat ion rate shall be adjusted based on the percentage 

of  adjustment to the state average w eekly w age.  The compensat ion rate for a scheduled injury is $294.93. 
 
6. Pursuant to §8-42-107.5, C.R.S., the limits on the amount of  compensat ion for combined temporary disability 

payments and part ial disability payments shall be increased to $86,697.04for claimants w hose impairment rat ing is 
tw enty-f ive percent of  the w hole person or less and $173,391.90for claimants w hose w hole person impairment 
rat ing is greater than tw enty-f ive percent.   

 
7. Pursuant to §8-43-406, C.R.S., for injuries sustained on or af ter January 1, 2014, the maximum lump sum 

payment for an injured w orker or sole dependent is $86,697.04.  In cases w here there are mult iple dependents, the 
maximum aggregate of  all lump sums is $173,391.90.   

 
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED:  That as of  12:01 a.m. July 1, 2016, and for the ensuing tw elve months through and 
including June 30, 2017, the maximum rate for compensat ion benef its for Temporary Total Disability, Temporary Part ial 
Disability, Permanent Total Disability, and Death Benef its shall be at  the w eekly rate of  $939.82 or at  the daily rate of  
$134.26. 
 
Dated:  May 2, 2016 
 

 DIVISION OF WORKERS′ COMPENSATION 
 
 
 

        
 By __________________________________ 

 Paul Tauriello 
 Director 


