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Air Pollution Control Division 
Stationary Sources Program 

 

 

SUBJECT:  Final Approval Self-Certification Packet for the enclosed 

 Issued Construction Permit(s) 

 

Dear Permittee: 

 

Under Colorado law, a source subject to Colorado’s air quality regulations is required to demonstrate compliance 

with the terms and conditions of a Construction Permit (“permit”) within 180 days after commencement of 

operations by submitting certain information to the Air Pollution Control Division (“Division”) of the Colorado 

Department of Public Health and Environment.  While the Division maintains discretion to inspect a source prior 

to issuing a Final Approval Letter, the Division will not as a matter of course conduct any Final Approval 

inspections.  It is your responsibility to maintain and demonstrate compliance with your permit.  Records 

demonstrating compliance must be readily available for inspection upon request by the Division or other 

representative of the Division. 

 

Enclosed, please find the following information provided to assist you in finalizing your permit(s): 

 

 Guidance on how to self-certify compliance; 

 Final Approval Self-Certification Form, to be submitted with any additionally required materials; and 

 Regulatory definition of “Responsible Official,” the person required to sign the Final Approval Self-

Certification Form for finalization of the permit(s). 

 

If you cannot demonstrate compliance with all of the provisions of your permit, you should contact the 

Division immediately at the number listed below.   
 

Please use the enclosed guidance to verify that the source is in compliance with all of the conditions of the permit.  

To self-certify, submit a Final Approval Self-Certification Form signed by a designated Responsible Official for 

the facility for each individual permit to be finalized. Please submit the information to the address below. 

 

Certification of a permit does not in any way preclude the Division from pursuing formal enforcement for 

violations of permit terms and conditions. 

 

The Division is available to provide assistance with self-certification, including a site visit at the express request 

of a source.  While the Division may charge all businesses at the rate of $76.45 per hour for compliance 

assistance, small businesses may also obtain free assistance through the Division’s Small Business Assistance 

Program. 

  

To request assistance with self-certification or to obtain additional information regarding the Final Approval 

process, please contact Doug Ryder, the Final Approval Coordinator, at (303) 692-3189. The Small Business 

Assistance Program may be reached at (303) 692-3175 or 3148.  Thank you for your cooperation. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

Stationary Sources Program 

Air Pollution Control Division  
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Mailing Address: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 

  APCD-SS-B1 

  Attn: Doug Ryder 

  4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 

  Denver, CO  80246-1530 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENT: 
HOW DO I SELF-CERTIFY COMPLIANCE WITH MY CONSTRUCTION PERMIT (“PERMIT”)? 
 
Completion of the Final Approval Self-Certification Form in most cases shall be considered sufficient to certify 

that the conditions set forth in the permit are being met.  It is important for you to review each and every 

condition and verify that you are in compliance with that condition.  This guidance is organized to explain what is 

needed to satisfy the compliance requirements for each condition in the permit in order to self-certify for Final 

Approval of the permit.   

 

Below the Division will outline the major sections and subsections of the permit.  To begin, the permit has two 

major sections that you should be aware: the Permit Conditions and the Notes to Permit Holder. 

  

A. PERMIT CONDITIONS 

 

All permit conditions are enforceable and it is important to understand your compliance responsibility.  

Permit conditions may be generally classified into eight different categories of requirements, described more 

fully below:  

A.1 general identifying information;  

A.2 requirements to self-certify for final approval; 

A.3 production and emission limitations (including reporting and record keeping 

requirements used to demonstrate compliance with the prescribed limits);  

A.4 specific state or federal standard(s) applicable to the operation;  

A.5 operations and maintenance plans (O & M Plans); 

A.6 testing requirements;  

A.7 other specific conditions not related to the other categories; and 

A.8 general terms and conditions. 

 

A.1 GENERAL IDENTIFYING INFORMATION 

 

A.1.1 Review the company name, location and equipment information on the permit.   

 

If any information is incorrect or missing, please submit any changes to the Division along with 

the signed Final Approval Self-Certification Form [Form APCD-400], below. 

 

A.1.2 Does the permit require that the equipment be marked with the permit number?  

 

Compliance with this condition is satisfied if the permit is clearly marked on the equipment so 

that the equipment subject to the permit is easily identified during inspection.  Submission of the 

Final Approval Self-Certification Form will satisfy compliance.  

 

A.1.3 Have the equipment manufacturer, model number(s), and serial number(s) been provided 

to the Division for inclusion in the permit?  

 

This information must be provided prior to Final Approval for any equipment identified in the 

permit. If all equipment make, model, and serial numbers are required by the permit, have been 

provided to the Division, and are correctly identified, submission of the Final Approval Self-

Certification Form will satisfy compliance.  Please correct or provide the necessary make, model 

and serial number information to the Division along with the Final Approval Self-Certification 

Form.   

 

A.2. REQUIREMENTS TO SELF-CERTIFY 

 



 

Page 4 of 10 

 

A.2.1. Submit a Notice of Startup. 

  

Compliance with this condition is satisfied by submitting a Notice of Startup (NOS) form [Form 

APCD-103] within 15 days of startup.  This form can be found on the Division website at 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/AP_Form-APCD-103-Notice-Start-Up.pdf. 

 

A.2.2. Other requirements to complete self-certification. 

 

Compliance with the conditions in this section is satisfied by operating in compliance with all other 

conditions of the permit (see additional sections below).  All self-certification requirements must be 

complete when the Final Approval Self-Certification Form [Form APCD-400] is signed and submitted.   

 

Note: If all equipment covered by your permit will start at the same time, a single self-certification form may 

be filed.  However, if not all equipment will have the same start-up date, as in the case of a facility-wide 

permit with phased construction, a self-certification must be filed for each emissions point within 180 days of 

its commencing operation.  In this case, the operator must submit a Self-Certification Timeline Table [Form 

APCD-401] each time certification of an additional emissions point occurs.  Form APCD-401 is intended to 

help the APCD and operator track the progress of self-certifications for phased plant construction.  If multiple 

emissions points commence operation at the same time, they may be certified together on a single self-

certification form.  Please use the following procedure: 

1. Complete Form APCD-400, the Final Approval Self-Certification form.  List the source AIRS IDs for 

each emissions point for which the self-certification is applicable.  Then, complete the rest of the 

form, referring only to the AIRS ID points you have listed.   

 

2. Complete Form APCD-401, the Self-Certification Timeline Table.  List the AIRS ID for each 

emissions point certified to and fill in the data fields for each column in the corresponding row. If 

compliance testing is not required for the emissions point, write “NA” in the column.  Submit Form 

APCD-401 along with the self-certification form.  This form can be found on our website: 

www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/AP_Form-APCD-401-Self-Certification-Timeline-

Table.pdf 

 

A.3.  PROCESS AND EMISSION LIMITATIONS  

 

A.3.1 Process Limits  

 

These are usually identified in the permits as consumption, throughput, or operational limits (such as 

daily fuel use limits, loading rates, etc.).  One or more conditions in the permit should identify these 

limits and the method of demonstrating compliance with them (e.g. daily, monthly, or annual records). 

 

If the facility is operating within all consumption, production (throughput), and/or operational limits for 

all equipment listed and if an operating and maintenance plan (O & M Plan) is not required to be 

submitted, then compliance with this condition has been demonstrated and will be satisfied by 

submitting the Final Approval Self-Certification Form.  If an O & M Plan is required, a copy of the 

calculations and associated records used to make this determination must be submitted to the Division 

with the Final Approval Self-Certification Form.   

 

A.3.2. Emission Limits  

 

These are usually identified in a permit condition in a unit of measurement, such as tons per year (tpy) 

and/or pounds per year (lbs/yr).  One or more conditions in the permit should identify these limits, 

along with the method of demonstrating compliance with them.  

 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/AP_Form-APCD-103-Notice-Start-Up.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/AP_Form-APCD-401-Self-Certification-Timeline-Table.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/AP_Form-APCD-401-Self-Certification-Timeline-Table.pdf
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If the facility is operating within the emission limits for all the equipment specified and if stack testing 

(See Performance Testing Below) and an O & M Plan are not required, compliance with this condition 

is demonstrated by submitting the Final Approval Self-Certification Form.  If an O & M Plan is 

required, a copy of the calculations and associated records used to make this determination must be 

submitted to the Division with the Final Approval Self-Certification Form.   

 

Please note that records used to make these determinations for process and emissions limits, and not 

otherwise required to be submitted along with the signed self-certification forms, must be made available 

to the Division upon request.  The Division highly recommends that self-certification records, including 

compliance determinations and all supporting documentation, be maintained on file.  
 

A.4. SPECIFIC STATE OR FEDERAL STANDARD(S) APPLICABLE TO THE OPERATION 

 

Some sources may be subject to federal and/or state standards, such as federal New Source Performance 

Standards (NSPS), National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAPs), Colorado 

AQCC’s Regulation No. 6 Performance Standard for Incinerators, or activity-based requirements. These 

standards/requirements should be identified in the permit, and it is important to note that the engineer 

who drafted your permit may not have written out every applicable requirement under the standard into 

your permit.  Typically, the engineer will only put the most applicable requirements of the standard 

(such as the emission standard and recordkeeping requirements) in your permit.  It is your responsibility 

as the permit holder to review and be in compliance with the applicable standard in its entirety.  Most 

federal requirements may be found at: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/retrieve.html, and most state-only 

requirements may be found at: www.colorado.gov/cdphe/aqcc-regs.  Submission of the Final Approval 

Self-Certification Form certifies to the Division that your facility is in compliance with the standards 

identified in the permit. 

 

A.5. OPERATION & MAINTENANCE PLANS 
 

Operation & Maintenance Plans (O & M Plans) function primarily as compliance plans for synthetic 

minor sources.  A synthetic minor source is one that has taken federally enforceable limits to remain 

below major source thresholds subject to Title V of the Clean Air Act to demonstrate compliance with 

their construction permits.  The permit will generally include a condition requiring the owner or 

operator to create and submit an O & M Plan to the Division for approval.  An O & M Plan will 

typically include manufacturer’s specifications for: 

1. Process and control equipment operation;  

2. How and when scheduled maintenance and calibration of equipment will be conducted;  

3. Quality Assurance/Control procedures;  

4. Methodology for calculating emissions;  

5. A sample record-keeping format with actual data; and  

6. Any other requirements as identified in the permit condition. 

 

If the permit requires submission of an O & M Plan, it has been submitted with the appropriate 

accompanying calculations and record-keeping format with actual data, and has been approved by the 

Division, then compliance with this condition has been demonstrated. The completion of the Final 

Approval Self-Certification Form verifies that the facility has: 1) submitted a proposed O & M Plan to 

the Division; and 2) received Division approval for proposed O & M Plan.  The Final Approval Letter 

will not be issued until the O & M Plan has been approved.  The time spent by the Division related to 

this activity is chargeable to the source.  For questions regarding O & M Plans, contact the Division at 

(303) 692-3100, and specify if your facility is oil and gas or non-oil and gas.   

 

A.6. TESTING REQUIREMENTS 

 

http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/retrieve.html
http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/aqcc-regs
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The Division requires certain types of tests to be conducted at sources depending upon equipment 

characteristics, fuel types, and regulatory requirements.  Generally, these tests serve to demonstrate 

compliance with particulate, opacity, or visible emission limits identified in the permit.  The most 

common tests required by the Division are opacity and stack tests. The permit will generally include one 

or more conditions identifying what type of test, if any, is required to be conducted.  Test results must 

be submitted to the Division for finalization of the permit.   

 

A.6.1 Particulate, Opacity, and/or Visible emission limits: Opacity Testing 

 

Permits that establish particulate, opacity, and/or visible emission limits will generally require the 

source to conduct an opacity test, utilizing EPA Reference Method 9.  The following table summarizes 

some typical testing requirements: 

 

*A list of opacity testing firms is available upon request.  Please contact Doug Ryder, the Final Approval 

Coordinator, at (303) 692-3189, to receive this list or to obtain additional information regarding opacity-

testing requirements.  

 

A.6.2 Stack Tests.   

 

Stack tests are typically used by the Division to verify that the correct emission rates were used in the 

permit to calculate emission limits.  The permit should have a condition specifying that a compliance 

test be conducted.   

 

When a stack test is required to finalize the permit, the source must do the following: 

   
1. Submit a test protocol that meets the requirements of the Air Pollution Control Division Compliance 

Test Manual (www.colorado.gov/cdphe/airguidance) 30 days prior to the test for Division approval; 

2. Receive Division approval of the test protocol;  

3. Request that a Division witness attend the stack test; 

4. Complete all stack tests required by the permit prior to self-certification; and 

5. Submit the results of the stack test to the Division for review and approval within 30 days of 

completing the testing. 

 

Source Description Testing Required Certification Submission to 

Division 

VOC Only Sources 

(printers and paint booths) 

NO TESTING REQUIRED Final Approval Self-Certification 

Form 

 

Equipment burning Natural Gas 

ONLY 

NO TESTING REQUIRED Final Approval Self-Certification 

Form 

All Other Equipment 

(including, but not limited to: 

incinerators, diesel fuel 

boilers/generators, screens, crushers, 

and other transfer points.  Control 

equipment that may require an 

opacity test includes scrubbers, 

baghouses, and oxidizers, among 

other equipment.  This list is not 

intended to be exhaustive; other 

equipment may be subject to opacity 

testing requirements) 

EPA Reference Method 9 

observations 

 

 or  

 

State-certified Continuous Opacity 

Monitor (COMS) data.   

FOR METHOD 9: 

1) copies of EPA Reference Method 

9 reading(s) for all subject 

equipment performed by a currently 

EPA Reference Method 9 certified 

observer;  

2) a copy of the observer’s EPA 

Reference Method 9 certification; 

and 

3) Final Approval Self-Certification 

Form 

 

FOR COMS Data:  sufficient data to 

demonstrate compliance with the 

opacity standard and #3 above 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/AP_Compliance-Test-Manual.pdf
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Submission of the Final Approval Self-Certification Form [Form APCD-400] verifies that the facility 

has completed and passed any stack tests required. A Division staff member must witness every test 

unless the Division chooses not to observe it.  The time spent by the Division related to all of these 

activities is chargeable to the source.  General information regarding stack testing is available on the 

Division website (https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/inspections-and-enforcement). Contact the 

Stack Test Coordinator at (303) 692-3100 for any questions regarding stack testing and plan approvals. 

 

A.6.3 Additional Testing.   

 

A facility may be subject to additional testing required under the NESHAP, NSPS, or other source-

specific requirements.  The permit will generally identify any additional initial and/or periodic testing 

required.  Records sufficient to demonstrate compliance with these testing requirements should be 

submitted along with the Final Approval Self-Certification Form.  

 

 

A.7. ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 

 

Permit conditions related to this topic are the conditions generally related to specific requirements in the 

regulations, but not necessarily specific to a standard.  Examples of these conditions may be reasonably 

available control technology (RACT) requirements, fugitive dust control requirements,  APEN 

requirements, and dispersion modeling imposed requirements.  Submission of the Final Approval Self-

Certification Form certifies to the Division that your facility is in compliance with these conditions in 

the permit.   

 

If you have any questions regarding the applicability of any permit conditions, please contact either the 

engineer who wrote your permit or the Division at (303) 692-3100. 

 

A.8. GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS 

 

Permit conditions in this section generally relate to permit and records retention, transfer of ownership 

information, and validity to the equipment listed in the permit. 
 

B. NOTES TO PERMIT HOLDER 

 

Every permit has a section immediately after the signatures entitled Notes to Permit Holder (“Notes”).  This 

section is not to be confused with permit attachments or fugitive dust control plans.  This section is written 

into the permit by the engineer to provide specific permit information.  Typical information provided in this 

section are the emission factors used to generate the emission limits in the permit conditions, the 

classification of the source (see PS Memo 97-3: www.colorado.gov/cdphe/psmemos), the due date of the next 

APEN, and a list of any hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) and non-criteria reportable air pollutants (NCRAPS) 

that are emitted at this source.  This information is provided only to assist the permit holder in demonstrating 

compliance with some of the permit conditions.  Notes to the Permit Holder are not enforceable conditions of 

a permit.  For example, a facility emits 200 pounds per year of benzene (a HAP); the Notes would list 

emissions of benzene at 200 pounds per year.  In the permit conditions, there is a requirement to submit a 

revised APEN when actual emissions of a HAP increase by 50%.  If a change increasing benzene emissions 

to 350 pounds per year occurred without submission of an updated APEN to the Division for this change, this 

increase would be in violation of that permit condition requiring a revised APEN because actual emissions of 

a HAP increased by over 50%.  However, there is no violation of the Note that listed the benzene emissions at 

200 pounds per year because the Notes are not enforceable conditions.  Continuing with this example, if the 

increase in benzene was only to 250 pounds per year, the permit condition would not be violated because the 

increase in HAP emissions was less than 50%.   

 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/inspections-and-enforcement
http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/psmemos
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IMPORTANT!!!!  Once it has been determined that the facility is operating in compliance with ALL terms 

and conditions of its construction permit, sign and date one copy of the attached Final Approval Self-

Certification Form for each permit.  Mail the signed and dated form(s) along with any required additional 

supporting documentation to:    

  

 Attn:  Doug Ryder  

 Final Approval Coordinator 

 Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 

 APCD-SS-B1 

 4300 Cherry Creek Dr. S. 

 Denver, CO 80246-1530 
 

Please note that records used to make this determination and not otherwise required to be submitted along with 

the signed self-certification forms, must be made available to the Division upon request.  The Division highly 

recommends that self-certification records, including compliance determinations and all supporting 

documentation, be maintained on file.  

  
 

 

Q:  WHAT IF I NEED ASSISTANCE AND WOULD PREFER TO HAVE A DIVISION REPRESENTATIVE DETERMINE 

IF I AM IN COMPLIANCE WITH MY INITIAL APPROVAL PERMIT? 

 

Write or call the Division to schedule assistance.  All time spent by the Division or its agents may be 

billed to the source at the rate of $76.45 per hour.  Small businesses may obtain free and confidential 

assistance through the Division Small Business Assistance Program at (303) 692-3175 or (303) 692-

3148.   

 

Q:  WHAT IF I CANNOT DEMONSTRATE COMPLIANCE AND MY PERMIT NEEDS TO BE REVISED?  

 

Contact the Division to discuss those items that need revision to reflect current operation, including 

changes of company name, location, equipment information, and/or any permit condition that cannot be 

met.  Take appropriate steps as defined by the Division to revise permit. 

  
 

If you have any questions, please contact Doug Ryder, Final Approval Coordinator, at  

(303) 692-3189. 
  

 

DEFINITION OF RESPONSIBLE OFFICIAL 

 

Responsible official means one of the following: 

 

a. For a corporation:  a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge of a 

principal business function, or any other person who performs similar policy or decision-making 

functions for the corporation, or a duly authorized representative of such person if the representative is 

responsible for the overall operation of one or more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

applying for or subject to a permit and either: 

 

(I) the facilities employ more than 250 persons or have gross annual sales or expenditures exceeding 

$25 million (in second quarter 1980 dollars); or 
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(II)  the delegation of authority to such representative is approved in advance by the permitting 

authority; 

 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship:  a general partner or the proprietor, respectively; 

 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public agency:  either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official.  For the purposes of this section, a principal executive officer of a federal agency 

includes the chief executive officer having responsibility for the overall operations of a principal 

geographic unit of the agency; 

 
 (Excerpt taken from Regulation Number 3, Part A, Section I.B.38.)  
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Air Pollution Control Division 
Stationary Sources Program 

 

 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DIVISION CONSTRUCTION PERMIT 

FINAL APPROVAL SELF-CERTIFICATION FORM 
 

 

Company Name:       

 

Source Name
1
:       

 

Source AIRS ID
2
:       

 

Permit Number:       Permit Issuance Date:       
 

 

All information related to the Final Approval certification of the above referenced construction permit must be certified by 

a responsible official as defined in the attached memo.  This certification means that each condition of the construction 

permit has been reviewed and that the source is in compliance with all conditions of the permit.  A Final Approval Lettter 

will be issued only if all permit conditions are being met. The attached memo provides guidance on what steps must be 

taken to certify compliance with various types of permit conditions.  This signed certification for the request for Final 

Approval must be submitted with all supporting documentation of compliance (i.e. test results, etc) required by the permit.  

A separate Certification along with the associated documentation is required for each individual issued permit.   

 

I have reviewed the above paragraph, the attached document entitled “Guidance for Self-Certification”, terms and 

conditions of the construction permit referenced above, and the information being submitted for Final Approval of 

this permit in its entirety.  Based on information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, I certify that the source 

is in full compliance with the permit and each condition of this construction permit, and the statements and 

information contained in this submittal are true, accurate and complete. 

 

Please note that the Colorado Statutes state that any person who knowingly, as defined in § 18-1-501(6), C.R.S., 

makes any false material statement, representation, or certification in this application is guilty of a misdemeanor 

and may be punished in accordance with the provisions of § 25-7 122.1, C.R.S. 

 

 
            

Printed or Typed Name Title 

 

            

Signature Date Signed 

 
Footnotes: 
1
  Source name is how the company references the facility and is described in the permit (i.e. Little Creek Compressor 

Station). 
2
  Source AIRS ID is the ten-digit identification number issued by the APCD for the emissions source (i.e. 123/3456/001).  

This may be found on the front page and/or in the lower left hand corner of the permit. 

Form APCD-400 


