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Step Five: 
Mailing the 
Enrollment 
Forms
Mail the original application 
and evidence to:

Colorado ACP
1001 East 62nd Avenue
Denver, Colorado 80216

For the applicant’s safety, please do not keep 
copies of the completed forms.  

The applicant should receive a welcome packet 
within 5 to 10 days.

Questions?
If you have any questions about program eligibility, 
the application process or your role as an 
Application Assistant, please contact the program.

Role of the 
Application Assistant:
1. To apply for the ACP, survivors must meet with an 

Application Assistant. 

2. Application Assistants are the only people who can 
enroll survivors into the program.   

3. Application Assistants are designated by the 
ACP after completing a training and registration 
process. 

4. Application Assistants provide the following 
important services:

  Identify potential participants and determine 
program eligibility.

  Provide applicants with program information.
  Explain the rights and responsibilities of 
program participants. 

  Assess whether the program will enhance an  
individual’s existing plan.  

  Help the applicant complete the enrollment 
forms. 

  Mail the completed forms to the program.

mailto:acp@state.co.us
www.colorado.gov/acp
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dcs/acp
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dcs/acp
http://www.colorado.gov/


START... Step One:
Determine Eligibility

  Is the applicant a survivor of domestic 
violence, a sexual offense or stalking?

  Does the applicant live in Colorado?
  Does the applicant fear for his or her safety?
  Has the applicant moved to a location 

unknown to their abuser within the past 
90 days or are they planning to relocate 
in the near future? 

The answer to each of these 
questions should be “yes.”

Step Two: 
Provide Program Education

Have you explained…
  How to use the ACP authorization card? 
  What to do if a government agency refuses 

to accept the ACP card?
  How participants commonly lose their 

confi dentiality?
  That fi rst class mail may be delayed by 

1 to 3 days? 
  That the ACP can not accept packages?
  That the ACP could release information to 

courts or law enforcement if the participant 
is the subject of a criminal investigation?

Step Three: 
Explain the Legal Responsibilities 
I informed the applicant that the ACP will be 
their legal agent for receipt of mail and service 
of process.

  I explained the concept of legal agent: The 
applicant and adult co-applicants are aware 
that the ACP can accept mail and legal 
documents on their behalf.

  If the ACP accepts a subpoena for a 
participant, it is the same as a participant 
accepting the subpoena.

  Participants must inform the ACP of any 
changes in address or telephone number 
within seven days of the change.

  I explained the importance of providing the 
ACP with only true and correct information.

 

 

Final Assessment

Before you reach for the paperwork,
make one fi nal assessment.

  Is the applicant eligible to enroll?
  Will the ACP help minimize a specifi c danger 

or risk?
  Will the ACP be an addition to an existing 

safety plan and not used alone?
  Does the applicant seem capable of navigating 

this program?
  Does the applicant understand the concept of 

legal agent?
  Does the applicant want to enroll?

If the answer to each of these 
questions is “yes,” then continue 

to Step Four.

Step Four:
Assist with 
Enrollment Forms

Each household will require:

  One application. 
1. Have the 

applicant and 
co-applicants 
complete the 
forms, but 
remain available 
to answer any 
questions.  

2. Discuss each 
item on the 
checklist with 
the applicant 
and adult 
co-applicants. 

3. Have the 
applicant and any co-applicants 
age 18 and over sign the application. 

Before the applicant leaves, 
make sure: 

  The application is signed by every 
person aged 18 and over. 

  The applicant has the yellow copies of 
the application. 

  You have a copy of the survivor’s 
evidence.

 




