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This newsletter 1s furnished by the Claims Services Section of
the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation. The
purpose is to provide information on claims handling practices
relative to the adjustment of workers' compensation claims.
Questions or comments regarding this newsletter may be
«+ferred to JoAnne Ibarra, Manager of Claims Services, at
. /03) 575-8816.

Permanent Impairment Rating Guidelines
By Barbara Kozelka, Director

You or your company may have received a recent mailing
from the Division containing discussion drafts of various
proposed mule amendments. Included in the packet was a
courtesy draft of Rule XTX, the Permanent Impairment Rating
Guidelines. The rule has been readopted without part B and
relettered accordingly. Rule XIX becomes effective on

INovember 30, 15%3.

Lamp Sum Task Force Results
by JoAnne Ibarra, Manager, Claims Services Section

A lump sum task force was convened by the Director last
spring to address ongoing questions and issues related to the
processing of lump sum applications for injuries arising on or
after July 1, 1991. In the last newsletter, we promised to
provide you with the results of that meeting. Representatives
included Connie Keliner from TIG, Mark Zoltay from the
Colorado Compepsation Insurance Authority (CCIA), and Tom
Permenter from Liberty Mutual. Marshall Fogel, Bill
~ MacDonald and Michelle Holland presented perspectives from
.he claimants’ bar. JoAnne Ibarra, Harry Fernis and Mary
#iller attended on behalf of the Director.

Questions addressed by the task force:

1. Are lump sums for scheduled mmpairment processed any
differently than awards for medical impairment?

Staff of the Division of Workers’ Compensation advised that
Rule XTI (C}, is specific to §8-42-107 (8) only, and does not
include awards for scheduled impairment. Therefore, an
individual seeking payment of a scheduled impairment award
need not seek payment of the initial $10,000.00 from the
carrier, but would apply directly to the Division. Further, an
agreement to the rating is not a prerequisite for approval of a
lump sum for scheduled impairment. In cases of medical
impairment, Rule XI addresses concerns of carriers that a
Division IME may result in a reduced impairment rating and
possible overpayment if an award iIs paid out in a Jurmp sum.
A conscusus was reachod on this rcoponsc and topresents

current Division policy.

2. Must the claimant request the initial $10,000.00 in
writing? Can the carrier automatically pay it sc the file
can be closed?

Mark Zoltay asked whether a carrier would be in violation of
the statute by fajling to pay out an award in periodic payments
absent a written reguest for a lump sum by the claimant.
Connie Kellner advised that carders often pay out a
permapnency award without a request and without discount.
Tom Permenter agreed, =s did Lzl Zoltwr.

The statute was revimwed aod = veas Jetermived tbat a request
for lump sum by the claimant must be in writing if a discount



is to be applied. In the event monies are paid in a lump sum
without discount the carrier may do so without a request from
the claimant.

Mark Zoltay asked whether an award can be paid m a lump
sum without Division approval if the parties agree to the
discount?

The group discussed concerns over safeguards for non-
represented claimants, and the necessity that individuals be
fully apprised of the discount provisions of the statute. It was
the consensus of the group that the parties are free to enter
into agreements provided that the claimants are represented
by counsel. That is, claimants and their attorneys may enter
into  agreements with carriers/self-insured/non-insured
employers, without making application to the Division for
calculation ot the {ump sum, requiring the Irirector’s
signature.

Tom Permenter expressed concern over entering into
agreements for lump sums solely with claimants who are
represented by counsel and excluding those who are
unrepresented. For this reason, Liberty requested that the
Division engage in rule making for implementation of the
above.

While Liberty’s concern is not without ment, Division
representatives perceived no harm in providing greater latitude
for the parties to enter into agreements when both are fully
informed. We recognize that our role is to facilitate resolution
rather than encumber it. However, a carrier places itself at
greater risk by entering into an agreement for payment of a
discounted lump sum with an unrepresented claimant when a
fail-safe mechanism exists for obtaining a lump sum and
discount through the Division, A Lump Sum Award Order
from the Director is essentially an unappealable order
establishing and endorsing the carrter’s right to a discount,
We will watch to see if rule-making becomes necessary.

3. Should a full lump sum be granted if a carrier files a
Final Admission of Liability and the claimant objects fo the
admission based on an issue other than the impairment
award (i.e., Grover meds., disfigurement, etc.)?

None of the carrier representatives, Tom Permenter, Connie
Kellner or Mark Zoltay disagreed with the policy in effect. A
consensus of "yes" was reached on this issue.

4. Should a full lump sum be granted if a carrier files a
Final Admission based on a Division IME result, and the
claimant disputes (he Lrpa‘rment award?

Bill MacDonald wurgued that » canie: bas already admitted
liability consistent with the IME findings, and must pay in
accordance with that admission. The claimant may challenge
it, but must overcome the opinion with clear and convincing
evidence. If the carrier disagreed with the IME, the carrier

had the option of setting the matter for hearing in the first
instance, rather than admitting to the IME rating.

Mark Zoltay pointed out that benefits would continue to be
paid out periodically pursuant to the admission and, from a
practical standpoint, would likely be paid out by the time a
final decision was reached in a case. It was further noted that
if a claimant disputes the IME rating, it is based on a belief
that there is greater impairment than the admission provided
for. Connie Kellner agreed that at a minimum, the carriers
would be paying out the admitted award, and didn’t see a
problem with paying it out in a lump sum. Neither Tom
Permenter nor Mark Zoltay had an objection to payment of the
award in a lump sum.

The group agreed lump sums should be granted in these
instances.

5. If the claimant gets the initial $10,000.00 lump sum and
applies for a lump sum for the remainder, how is it
calculated?

Harry Ferris responded to this question, and advised that the
lump sum discount is calculated as if no previous lamp sum
bad been paid. The beginning date for calculating the lump
sum is established by statute as the date of maximum medical
improvement. See §8-42-107 (8)(d), C.R.S.

6. Is there any basis for awarding a lump sum for medical
impairment benefits over and above the $10,000.00
referenced under §8-42-107 (8)?

Following review of the statute, the group agreed that the
above section must be read in concert with §8-43-406, which
provides for payment of "all or any part of the compensation
awarded in a lump sum” at the discretion of the Director. The
task force did not disagree with the interpretation of statute
that allows the Director to review applications for lump sums
gver an d zhove the mitial $10000.00.  No change cor
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additional implementation indicated.

7. If the claimant does not object to the medical
impairment rating, but contends that he/she is permanently
and totally disabled, should a lump sum be granted?

Marshall Fogel argued that the claimant should be allowed a
lump sum on the amount of the permanent partial disability
rating wp to a maximum of $37,560.00. To require an
agreement to the impairment rating would have a "chilling
effect” on the claimant’s ability to prosecute a claim for
permanent total disability when there may be entitlement to
such an award.

Connie Kellner indicated she did not foresee a problem with
the payment of a lump sum in the face of such an objection.
Mark Zoltay agreed with the payment of a lump sum but
voiced concern over how the lump sum would be offset



against weekly benefits if a claimant is determined to be
permanently and totally disabled.

Tom Permenter recommended this be implemented by policy
with rule promulgation on the appropriate method for
calculating the payout rate of benefits if a claimant is later
determined to be permanently and totally disabled.

Mark Zoltay also agreed with the policy of granting lump
sums when the claimant objects to an admission based on
his/her desire to prosecute a claim for permanent total
disability benefits. He had specific comments, however,
related to the method for calculating the payout rate in the
eveni the clannant ieceives an awand for PT. These conunenis
can be found under question # 8 .

As of the date of this newsletter, an amendment to Rule XI
(C)(3)(c) bas been proposed by including the following
language: “Where the claimant asserts permanent total
disability, the Director may consider an application for lump
sum on benefits awarded by final admission.”

8. If a lump sum is granted on an award for permanent

- oartial disability, and the claimant is later determined to
4e permanently and totally disabled, how are benefits
applied?

Marshall Fogel stated that if the claimant doesn’t object, the
prior lump sum could be treated as an overpayment, and the
offset could be negotiated and resolved either by agreement or
at heanng.

The group achieved consensus on how an award for permanent
partial disability is recovered when a lump sum has been paid
out and the claimant is later determined to be a Permanent
Total Specifically, the parties will consider the PPD award
to be an overpayment and credit against PT. The parties may
enter into an agreement for the offset of these benefits against
the weekly PT award, or have the issue resolved at hearing.

A question arose as to how a PT lump sum would be

calculated in the event a lump sum had previously been
awarded for PPD.

Bill MacDonald recoramended that a lump sum for PT benefits
be calculated crediting the pertodic PPD payments against the

PT award using the date the PT order or admission becomes
final.

© -Mark Zoltay noted the high probability of PPD payments
-occurring before and after the initial payment of the
$10,000.00 lump sum award (pursuant to §8-42-107 (8)(d)).

In this instance, he felt it was only fair to have the PT lump
sum calculated as of the date of MMI rather than the later date
when an order or admission for PT becomes final. He also
pointed out the importance of having a policy in effect so that
litigation is minimized.

Understanding that the cost of a PT lump sum will be charged
against the claimant's benefits over his/her lifetime and this
accounts for the reduction in the weekly rate, the starting date
for figuring life expectancy on a PT lump sum is the date the
lump sum is calculated by the Division. This is based on the
premise that the claimant will not receive the proceeds of such
an award until calculated and ordered by the Director.

The most straightforward method for calculating a PT lump
sum when a prior PPD lump sum has been awarded, is to
layout the time frame of the PPD award as if it would have
been paid out periodically and proceed as follows:

1. If the effective date of PTD is after the ending date of the
PPD, then the regular ratz is not affected when calculating the
cost of the lump sum. (The regular rate is the rate prior to
offsets or discounts).

2. If the ending date of the PPD award extends beyond the
effective date of PT, then the remainder of the PPD award
offsets the regular rate until the credit is used.

3. If the claimant is adjudicated to be permanently and totally
disabled as of the date the lump sum was granted or before,
then the benefit rate for PT is reduced by the weekly costs for
the lump sum using the life expectancy of the claimant on the
date of the PPD lump sum. EXCEPTION: For those cases
in which the automatic $10,000.00 lump sum has been
awarded, the lump sum award would be reduced by
$10.000.00 but there would be no credit for time pursuant to
the calculation set forth under §8-42-107 (8) (d), C.R.S.

The value of a rule-making session would be questionable,
because, once again, the subject is difficult to grasp without a
specific case requiring these applications and few fall under
this category. Further, it is the opinion of the Claims Services
Section that the above methods for calculating the cost of a PT
lump sum are fair considering that the cost of a lump sum is
recovered over the period in which an award would have been
paid out and begins only upon receipt of the lump sum.

The parties are free to enter into agreements to =stablish the
weekly benefit rate for 2 PT follewing a hunp swn. However,
the Division is avai.zble o provide 'rformation to the parties
relative to the present value of an individual case based upon
the life expectancy of the claimant.



$10.000 Lump Sum Discount
by Ron Gale, Claims Manager

The following table is designed to provide the 4% per annum
discount when you grant payment of the first $10,000.00 of a
working unit PPD award., The maximum PPD payout rates in
effect as of July 1 of the year shown has been calculated and
the payment and discount have been provided in the last two
columns. If you have a PPD award which is less than
$10,000.00, please feel free to call the Claims Management
Unit at 575-2915 for help.

10,000 Lump Sum/4% Discount

7-1-Year Rate Discount Lump
1991 217 .42 174 .71 9,825.29
1882 227 .48 167.23 9,825.29
1983 237.50 160.41 3,839.59
1994 243 .18 156.78 9,843.22
138% 247 .91 153.89 9,846.11

Average Weekly Wace Worksheet
by Darla Olds, Supervisor, Claims Management Unit

In an effort to improve the error letter process, the Claims
Services Section formed a process action team to address
issues related to customer satisfaction, administrative
efficiencies and cost effectiveness. In researching the process
we found that by far, the greatest number of errors on
admissions of liability were attributable to average weekly
wage discrepancies. Please take a look at the attached
Average Weekly Wage Worksheet which was developed by
the team as a guideline for computing the wages. It is intended
as a desk aid and is not a required document. If the worksheet
is attached to the Employer’s First Report of Injury, it is only
necessary to provide the total AWW information in the
appropriate box. We hepe you find this helpful in your work.

Clarification Regarding the Issue of Penalties
By Dee Hvslop. Carrier Practices Unit

Consideration of penalties against carriers in “extreme cases
of noncooperation” as it relates to failure or refusal to comply
with recommendations in the compliance review process was
referenced i the last newsletter. The article was intended to
address consicteration of punaliies applicabse to the compliance
review procuss caiy, and-is not rifloctive -of our approach to
instances of specific claims adjusting issues brought to our
attention on a case-by-case basis.

The Colorade Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee
Schedule (maximum reimbursement to health care
practitioners providing care to injured workers under the
Colorado Workers” Compensation Act) has been reviewed
and revised. Rule XVII (Medical Fee Schedule) in the
Colorado Workers” Compensation Rules of Procedure was
adopted and is effective for dates of service occurring on
or after October 1, 1995,

The most significant changes to Rule XVIII include: the
incorporation by reference (except Physical Medicine and
Rehabilitation Codes and Valuss 97000 series of codes) of
the December of 1994 edition of the Relative Values for
Phvsigians {94.2) as published by MeGraw-Hill. the
incorporation by reference of the 1995 edition of Relative
Values for Dentists as published by Relative Value Study
Inc., and the mcorporation by reference the 1994 Study:
Phvsicians as Assistants at Surgerv. Many service and
procedure codes and fees not found in the RVP or RVD
are in the new Rule XVII.

Copies of these items may be purchased as follows:

Rule XVIII
_ {containing general instruction, limitations
and the Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation codes
' and fees) -
Public Records Corp., 303-832-8262

Relative Values for Physicians
(94.2 Edition)

McGraw-Hill, 1-800-544-8168 (please ask for edition 94.2
and meation Colorado Workers® Compensation for a 10%
discount); and

Relative Values for Dentists
1995 Edition
Relative Value Studies, Inc., Denver, 303-534-0506

1994 Study: Physicians as Assistants at Surgery
Prepared by Janet L. Martin, MS, Rph
Health Dats Mapagement

Ammerican Coﬂege of Surgeons, Washington DC,
Attention Marcia Banks (202) 337-2701,
Fax (202) 337-4271

If you have questions or comments, please contar: Debra
J. Northrup, RN, Medical Cost Containment Supervisor,
at 575-8761. i




< AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE WORKSHEET

The definitior: of wages can be found in §8-40-201(19), CR.S. Calculation of average weekly wage can be found in §8-42.1 2),
C.RS. Use eamings immediately prior to the date of injury. 022)

Time Period used for calculations: From fF 10 ¢ 3

?‘:’mployee Name SS#

WAGES (Choose one from lines 1 though 7, then add other wages from fines 8 - 10, if applicable) TOTALS
1. Hourly (exclude overtime) Hourly wage § X average hoursiweek e
2. Daily (per diem) ...._ . .. Daily rate $ X # of days (and fractions of days) in a week that
emp){oyee worked {or would have worked, but for the injury) =L
3 Weelkly ....... ... ... Weelkdly wage § e
4 Biweekly .. ... ... . ..

Bweekly wage (every other week) $ 2=

Semi-Monthly wage $ X24+52= ... ...

Monthly wage § x12%62= . .

Yearlywage $ +82=

8. Piecework of Commission Average WEeldy value = Total amount eamed with this empiayer in the 12

months immediately preceding injury $ + # of weeks (and
fractions of weeks) worked e

9. Mileage (only if mileageis Rate per mile $ x average # of miles per day driven in service
a form of( salary}.. ... ... of the employer 60 da geoedguggme injury = daily rate
3 x days (& fractions of days& per wéek worked = ...
10. Cther (wages not Aftach explanation)
addressed above) ..., .. S\verage weekly value § D
1. TotalWages .. ....... .. Enter amounts from 1- 7, plus any amountsin8-10 ... ...

ADDITIONS TOWAGES (Use the same time petiod as stated above)

12 Overime ........ ... .. Overtime rate $ X # of overtime hours per week =...

13 Tps............. ... .. Weekly amount reported to IRS § e
14. Total Additions .. ... . ... Enter total of lines 12 + 13

BENEFITS (If Discontinued During Disabitity)

15, Heafthnsurance ... .. Effective date benefit discontinued:
Employer's monthly contribution § x12+82= ..
16. Meals/Board ... .. .. .. Effective date benefit discontinued:
Weekly vaiue § e
17 Rent/Housing ......... Effective date benefit discontinued:
Monthly value § X12%82
18.  TotalBenefds ..... . .. Entertotaloffines15-18.................. .. ... ...
i
! 19. TOTAL AVERAGE Entertotaloflines 11+14+18 ...._.... .. ... .. ... ..
WEEKLY WAGE _ I
Enter the number in line 19 on the Employer's First Report of Injury in the “Average Weekly Wage at Time of Injury” Box |
Completed by:_ Date

See important instructions on the back of this worksheet

WC1-A
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Division of Workers’ Compensation
1515 Arapahoe Street
Denver, Colorado 80202-2117
(303) 5758700

- This worksheet may be reproduced as needed -

This worksheet is provided by the Division of Workers' Compensation as a guideliine
in computing the Average Weekly Wage on the Employer’s First Report of Injury
form. It is intended as a desk aid worksheet and is not a required document.

The final Average Weekly Wage amount on Line 19 of this worksheet should be

inserted in the box, “Average Weekly Wage at Time of Injury,” on the Employer's
First Report of Injury form.

Notice to Employers:

This worksheet may be attached to the Employer’s First Report of Injury form. The
worksheet is not required. However, if the worksheet is attached to the Employer's
First Report of Injury form submitted to the Division, you do not need to complete
other wage and hourly information in that section of the form except the “Average
Weekly Wage at Time of Injury” box.

If you have questions on completing this worksheet, contact your workers’
compensation insurance adjustor.

Notice to Insurance Carriers or Self-lnsured Employers:

If you receive this worksheet from the employer and only the “Average Weekly
Wage at Time of Injury” box is completed in the wage information section of the
Employer’s First Report of Injury , attach the worksheet to the Employer's First
Report of Injury form that is submitted to the Division of Workers’ Compensation.



