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Hearing for Repeal and Readoption of Workers' Compensation Rules - August 17 & 18, 2005

On August 17 and 18 of this year, the Director of the Division of Workers' Compensation will conduct hearings on the complete reorgani-
zation and renumbering of the rules of procedure along with the annual update of the medical fee schedule including the establishment of
facility fees.  The principal goals are to renumber and regroup the rules in a more logical sequence, incorporate simpler language and update
policy.  This rulemaking session also addresses the need to implement recent legislation and perform the statutorily required update of the
medical fee schedule.

To give you an idea on the massive amount of work involved in a project such as this, it began with more than 6 months internal work by
division staff to produce a draft for review by the community.  In May 2004, the Director released the draft both in electronic and hard copy
to contact lists consisting of individual self-insured employers, risk managers, physicians, insurance carriers, health care professionals,
employers, attorneys, adjusters and professional associations representing these groups (e.g., the Colorado Self Insured Association, the
Workers' Compensation Coalition, the Colorado Medical Society, the Colorado Municipal League, the US Chamber of Commerce, the
Colorado Association of Commerce and Industry), as well as those individuals and groups requesting to be placed on the  Director's mail-
ing list pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act (APA).  In all, the letter was sent to about 600 contacts by e-mail and another 180
by regular mail advising of the project and referring people to the division website for further information and exact proposal language.  

This phase of the project was designed specifically to solicit written comments from parties interested in the workers' compensation sys-
tem.   Forms were created on-line to allow for ease of response with the option to submit written comments by standard mail.   The Division
then held a series of public meetings (4 during the months of October and November, 2004) to discuss the written comments. For those
individuals residing outside the Denver-metro area, arrangements were made to allow participation via conference call.  At the conclusion
of these meetings, further changes were made based on comments received, and the draft was again made available for review and response. 

When the first formal notice of rulemaking was published on July 10, 2005, setting hearings  for August 17 & 18, 2005, the division had
already exceeded the APA requirement for making rules available 5 days prior to hearing, by over 15 months. 

Written comments will continue to be accepted prior to hearing. For ease of review, the proposed language is available on the division web-
site at www.coworkforce.com/dwc/ under Proposed Rules/Adopted Rules with cross walks detailing the current rule, the proposed rule lan-
guage and the proposed change.  Though not required in the absence of a formal request, it is the division's practice to prepare regulatory
analyses on all proposed rules.  A regulatory analysis for these rules is available on the Division website.  

Date and Time of Hearing: August 17 & 18, 2005,  9 a.m. 
Place of Hearing: 2nd Floor Conference Room, 633 17th Street, Denver, CO
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Colorado Workers' Compensation Health Care
Facility Fee Schedules will be Changing ---

Get Ready by 1/1/06!
Have you noticed over the past several years that healthcare facility
bill charges, such as inpatient, outpatient surgery, and emergency
room, seem to be growing faster than the professional fee bills?  It's
not your imagination!  Healthcare cost in general has returned to dou-
ble-digit inflation and in particular, facility and hospital-related facil-
ity fees are growing at a faster rate than professional healthcare fees,
according to the "All City Average CPI" for the past several years.  In
an effort to contain these rapidly growing fees, but at the same time
not harm access to care, the Division spent an entire year creating
new facility fee schedules.  We then spent another six to seven
months refining the new facility fee proposal as we worked with a
Focus Group.  The Focus Group was made up of representatives from
hospitals, Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASC), the Colorado Health
and Hospital Association, the Colorado Medical Society, and various
insurers and bill review companies.  All of these processes were
taken to move our primarily '80% of billed charges' facility fee
schedules to more specific facility fees, in order to create greater
equity and predictability in facility fees.

The primary focus of the proposed facility fee schedule is to clarify
specific facility fees, contain facility fee cost using as clear, simple,
and fair a method as possible, and at the same time, ensure injured
workers have access to care in rural areas of Colorado.  The table on
page 3 of this newsletter provides a general comparison of the pro-
posed changes to the current maximum facility fee schedules. To
thoroughly understand the changes, the Division encourages you to
review and evaluate all of Rule 18 for completeness, clarity of the
proposed rule, reasonableness of the methodology and fees, and to
determine how these changes affect your individual organizations.

The actual proposed Rule 18, that includes the new facility fee sched-
ule changes in sections 18-6 (I-M), and exhibits 1-6, is available on
the Division's website at www.coworkforce.com/dwc/ under
Proposed Rules/Adopted Rules.    Once you've evaluated these
changes the Division encourages you to provide us with your written
comments prior to the hearing.  You may also provide written com-
ments on the day of or at the rule hearing itself.  The hearing is sched-
uled for August 17th and 18th at the Division of Workers'
Compensation located at 633 17th Street, 2nd Floor Conference
Room.  More information regarding the specific days and times that
the various Division rules will be open for testimony may be found
on the Division's website.

The Division is particularly requesting your review and commentary
on some specific areas of the proposed Rule 18 facility fee changes.
These include:  

Acute care hospitals assign the correct DRG code by using 3M's
"DRGs Definition Manual version 22" and identify this code in 
their billing invoice to the payer; however, payers are encouraged
to implement a review system to verify the correct DRG code 
assignment.  In order to do this the payer would need to invest in
available software packages that assign the DRG based upon sev-
eral data elements provided on the UB92.  The Division is 
requesting your commentary on the assignment of the DRG code. 

Currently outpatient surgery facility fees are allowed at 80% of .
billed charges.  The proposed outpatient surgery fee schedule 
creates specific fees for each procedure done during a scheduled

outpatient surgical episode.  The primary (highest valued) sur-
gery code is allowed at 100% of the assigned fee and all other 
subsequent procedures are allowed at 50% of the assigned fee.
The Division is requesting all payers to review outpatient codes
and values in exhibit #4, to ensure all procedures performed in an
outpatient surgical setting are present and the values are reason-
able.

Currently ER Department facility fees are allowed at 80% of 
billed charges.  The proposed ER Department facility fee creates
five possible levels of specific fees.  The ER Department level
is not determined by the ER Room physician's level; it is deter-
mined by the number of points assigned for the interventions 
completed by the ER staff.  The point assignment is listed in Rule
18 itself.  The fees assigned to each level include "ordinary sup-
plies, drugs, etc.", unless the "supply et al." criterion is met. If an
injured worker is subsequently admitted to the hospital after
being evaluated in the ER, the ER visit charges are considered as
a part of the inpatient fee schedule.  The Division is requesting 
your review and commentary on the point system and the fee lev-
els. 

Currently the fee schedule rule is silent on Urgent Care and ......
Trauma Care fees. The proposed rule creates fees for the first ...
time for Urgent Care facilities and Trauma Centers.  Urgent ......
Care facilities are not state licensed facilities; however, in some 
cases they can provide a reasonable alternative to ER room vis-.
its.  The proposed rule states that a facility must meet all of the 
criteria listed in the proposed rule to qualify for a separate  .......
Urgent care facility fee.  Urgent care facilities should enable the
injured worker to be seen more quickly and for less cost than if 
the injured worker went through an ER department.  Trauma ....
centers are valuable assets to our health care infrastructure in ....
Colorado; therefore, fees need to be set to support and control ..
that system.  The Division is requesting your review and com-...
mentary on the Urgent Care and Trauma Center criteria and ......
fees.  

The proposed inpatient facility fees use each individual hospital's
"base rate" and "cost-to-charge" ratios in the fee calculations.  We
intend to use values for these ratios as currently assigned to each
hospital by Medicare. The proposed Rule 18 shows values for ..
these in Exhibit 2.  We are requesting that all hospitals tell us if
the Exhibit 2 ratios are not the same as their Medicare values. .
Once the Rule is adopted, the values in Exhibit 2 cannot be ......
changed until the Rule itself is amended.

Your commentary on any rule change is very valuable to the
Division.  If you have any questions regarding these changes before
you send your comments, please feel free to contact Debra J.
Northrup, RN at (303) 318-8761.  Your commentary enables the
Director to evaluate the complete impact these proposed changes
could have on the workers' compensation system.  Therefore, we
encourage you to review all of the proposed rule changes; then send
the Director your comments on or before the public hearing sched-
uled on August 17, 2005.

Once the Director has finalized and adopted Rule 18 it will become
effective for all dates of service on and after January 1, 2006.  Given
this short time frame the Division encourages your office to begin
looking at the implementation of these adopted facility fee schedule
changes as soon as they are adopted by the Director.  To know when
the Director adopts these rules, please monitor the Division's
Website. 

2



Type of Facility Bill

Inpatient Current Fee Method Proposed Fee Method

Acute Care Hospitals Medical or Surgical Per Diem or 
80% of billed Charges

(Medicare DRG Relative Wt. X Individual Hospital Medicare Base Rate) X 200% = Max 
fees   (Individual Hospital Cost to Charge ratio X total billed charges = hospital cost) 
See rule for full explaination of cost outlier calculation specifics.  (Exhibits 1 and 2) 

Acute Care Hospitals with length 
of stay of 1-2 days 

80% of Billed Charges
(Medicare DRG Relative Wt. X Individual Hospital Medicare Base Rate) X 200% = Max 
fees   (Individual Hospital Cost to Charge ratio X total billed charges = hospital cost) 
See rule for full explaination of cost outlier calculation specifics.  (Exhibits 1 and 2) 

Acute Care Hospitals with 
average daily charges  three 

times the current applicable per 
diem rate  

80% of Billed Charges
(Medicare DRG Relative Wt. X Individual Hospital Medicare Base Rate) X 200% = Max 
fees   (Individual Hospital Cost to Charge ratio X total billed charges = hospital cost) 
See rule for full explaination of cost outlier calculation specifics.  (Exhibits 1 and 2) 

Acute Care Hospitals - Medicare 
Rehab Cert

Medical or Surgical Per Diem or 
80% of billed Charges

(Medicare DRG Relative Wt. X Individual Hospital Medicare Base Rate) X 200% = Max 
fees   (Individual Hospital Cost to Charge ratio X total billed charges = hospital cost) 
See rule for full explaination of cost outlier calculation specifics.  (Exhibits 1 and 2) 

Acute Care Hospitals - Medicare 
Long Term Care Cert

Medical or Surgical Per Diem or 
80% of billed Charges

80% of Billed Charges

Acute Care Hospitals - Medicare 
Psychiatric Cert

Medical or Surgical Per Diem or 
80% of billed Charges

(Medicare DRG Relative Wt. X Individual Hospital Medicare Base Rate) X 200% = Max 
fees   (Individual Hospital Cost to Charge ratio X total billed charges = hospital cost) 
See rule for full explaination of cost outlier calculation specifics.  (Exhibits 1 and 2) 

Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) Medical or Surgical Per Diem or 
80% of billed Charges

80% of Billed Charges

Psychiatric Licensed Hospital - 
Private

80% of Billed Charges 80% of Billed Charges

Psychiatric Licensed Hospital - 
State

80% of Billed Charges 100% of Billed

Rehabilitation Licensed Hospital -
Private

80% of Billed Charges 80% of Billed Charges

Children's Hospitals Rule was silent 100% of Billed
Veteran's Administration 

Hospitals
Rule was silent 100% of Billed

Outpatient 
Surgery

Ambulatory Surgery Centers 
(ASC)

80% of Billed charges
Medicare APC  X 200% or 230% for selected surgery codes (includes all supplies, 
except if any "supply et al" items and any "reasonable and necessary" observation room 
charges at $50.00/hr.)

Outpatient Surgery In a Hospital 80% of Billed charges
Medicare APC  X 200% or 230% for selected surgery codes (includes all supplies, 
except if any "supply et al" items and any "reasonable and necessary" observation room 
charges at $50.00/hr.)

ER Department Charges 80% of Billed charges

Established maximum fees for 5 different levels based upon the assigned points for ER 
Room staff interventions during the ER episode, including all supplies, except if any 
"supply et al" items and any "reasonable and necessary" observation room charges at 
$50.00/hr up to (3) three hours. 

Urgent Care Facility Fees Rule was silent

Established a definition and  qualifiers since no licensure is required for Urgent Care 
Facilit ies.  Established maximum proposed fee of $75.00, including supplies, except any 
"supply et al" and any reasonable and necessary observation room charges at $50.00/hr 
up to (3) three hours.

Clinic Visits (revenue code 510) No clinic visits allowed at all. 80% of billed charges only if the facility is designated by Medicare as "Primary Rural 
Facility" are allowed a separate clinic visit

Diagnostic Testing (RVP RVUs X Applicable 
Conversion Factor)

RVP RVUs * Applicable Conversion Factor

Trauma Center Fees Rule was silent
Established maximum fees based upon the activation of a Trauma Center call and their 
certification level as determined by the Colorado Department of Public Health and 
Environment 

Expensive "supplies et al" in 
and outpatient

Any single DME, supply, 
orthotic, prosthesis, implant 

with charges > $500.00 
Cost plus 20% The definition changed from with charges > $500.00 to the provider's cost > $300.00

Comparison of Current to Proposed Colorado Workers' Compensation Facility Fee Schedules



New Executive Director for Colorado
Department of Labor & Employment
In May of this year, Governor Bill Owens appointed Rick Grice as
Executive Director of the Department of Labor and Employment
filling the position vacated by Leroy Williams who joined the Ball
Corporation.  Mr. Grice comes to the department having directed
the Governor's Office of Energy Management and Conservation,
which is the lead state agency promoting energy conservation for
state and other governmental operations.  Also responsible for
administration of the state's weatherization program, the agency
provides no-cost weatherization service to nearly 4,000 Colorado
citizens every year.  Prior to that appointment, the new executive
director was a principal with Douglas, Richmond and Grice, a firm
that provided personnel recruitment and merger and acquisition
services to the environmental engineering and air pollution control
industry.  On a personal note, Mr. Grice was raised in Midland,
Texas, and is a 28 year resident of Colorado.  He is a Vietnam-era
veteran who served in the Far East as an Air Traffic Controller in
the United States Navy and is a graduate of the University of Texas
(Austin) School of Business Administration.

HB 1139 - Increased
Enforcement Against 

Non-insured Employers

Recent changes in Colorado's Workers' Compensation laws begin-
ning July 1, 2005, require that Colorado employers who are required
to have Workers' Compensation insurance coverage for their
employees be fined if they fail to obtain or maintain that insurance.
Non-insured employers may be prohibited from continuing business
operations.  The purpose of the new legislation is to increase
enforcement of Workers' Compensation laws.  

Some of the provisions of HB 1139 [§ 8-43-409 (1), (2), and (7)
C.R.S.] are:

When it is determined that an employer has failed to obtain the
required insurance or has allowed the insurance to lapse, the new law
requires the Director of the Division of Workers' Compensation to:

1.  Impose fines on the defaulting employer and/or

2.  Compel the employer to cease and desist its business 
operations

Fines up to $250/day for each day of default will be assessed for
the initial violation and will escalate thereafter from a minimum
of $250/day up to $500/day for subsequent violations.

The law also provides that defaulting employers who are fined 
will be unable to avoid the increasingly severe penalties resulting
from additional violations by reorganizing their businesses.

Fines may also be imposed for any period where it is determined
that the employer should have had Workers' Compensation insur-
ance coverage for its employees but did not irrespective of when
the default occurred.

Additional information regarding the provisions of the new law will
be available on-line at: http://www.coworkforce.com/dwc/ and by
calling the Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation's 
Coverage Enforcement Unit  at  303.318.8744.

Tom McBride joins the Division
The Division of Workers' Compensation is happy to announce that
attorney Thomas McBride, known for his extensive work in the
workers' compensation arena, has joined the division's ranks.

Tom is a graduate of the University of Dayton (B.A.) and the
Cleveland Marshall College of Law (J.D.).  Prior to moving to
Colorado in 1981, he served as a hearing officer (Administrative
Law Judge) for the Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation and was
Risk Manager of State Fund Operations at Industrial Advisors
Bureau, Inc., a third party claims administrator. He was lead work-
ers' compensation defense counsel with the Cleveland, Ohio law
firm of Kelley, McCann and Livingstone immediately prior to relo-
cating to Colorado.

Tom co-authored Colorado Workers' Compensation Law Practice,
(Colorado Legal Publishing Company, 1986 et seq.).  He is the past
co-chair of the Colorado Defense Lawyers Association, Workers' 

Compensation Section and is currently a member of the Colorado
Bar Association, the Arapahoe County Bar Association and the
Colorado Self-Insurers' Association.  

Tom has extensive trial and appellate advocacy experience. He has
argued cases before the Colorado Court of Appeals and the Colorado
Supreme Court. He successfully argued the landmark case of
Christie v. Coors Brewing Company, 933 P2d. 1330 (Colo. 1997)
before the Colorado Supreme Court that upheld the constitutionality
of the "any wages" standard in Permanent Total Disability (PTD)
determinations. Tom holds Martindale-Hubbell's highest attorney
rating of "AV".

Tom is currently engaged in implementation of HB 1139.  He is
assisting in all regulatory compliance efforts - drafting proposed
emergency and permanent rules for carrier practice audits and unin-
sured employers, as well as compliance procedures for uninsured
employers.

New Website!
The Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation will be debut-
ing a new website designed to provide greater access to informa-
tion for the workers’ compensation community.  Injured workers
and practitioners will be able to locate information on pages spe-
cific to their areas of concern.  For example, an adjuster may go to
the adjuster page and link to definitions, instructions, important
time limits, forms and publications related to their work.
Information on pages specific to Employers, Self- Insureds,
Medical Providers and Attorneys will also be available.  Look for
the new website soon!
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Colorado State Website 
http://www.colorado.gov/ 

Workers’ Compensation Home Page 
www.coworkforce.com/dwc/ 

 



ANNOUNCEMENT 
FOR 

NON-PHYSICIAN MEDICAL PRACTITIONERS, INSURANCE ADJUSTORS, CASE 
MANAGERS, ATTORNEYS, RISK MANAGERS, AND OTHER WORKERS’ 

COMPENSATION PROFESSIONALS 
 
 

Division of Workers’ Compensation Seminar: 
Impairment Ratings for Non-Physicians 

 
 
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, Division of Workers’ Compensation, will present a 
special full-day seminar providing information for the non-physician on impairment rating methodologies 
under the AMA Guides, 3rd Edition (rev.) and related topics.   
 

   
Date:  Wednesday, August 24, 2005  
Time:  8:00 am – 4:45 pm (registration begins at 7:15; a continental                           

   breakfast will be served) 
Location: This seminar is being hosted by: 

                            Pinnacol Assurance 
                  7501 E. Lowry Blvd. 
                   Denver, CO   80230 

         Cost:  $35.00 (seminar materials, continental breakfast, and snacks                          
   included) 

 
 

Agenda Topics 
 

Experts from the Division of Workers’ Compensation, and other medical professionals will 
provide information on : 

 
Administrative/Legal and other General Principles 

Assessment of Medical Causality 
Impairment ratings of the spine, upper and lower extremity 

Use of the Inclinometer for measuring range of motion 
Apportionment principles, with special review of Spinal Range of Motion 

Impairment ratings for brain injuries and mental disorders 
 

 CLE and CCMC credits are being applied-for.  
 
To obtain a registration form or for more information, please contact the Physicians’ Accreditation Program 
at (303) 318-8763.   Seating is limited, so early registration is recommended.   Pre-registration is required 
as walk-ins cannot be accommodated.  



 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

Division of Workers' Compensation 
633 – 17th Street, Fourth Floor 
Denver, Colorado 80202-3660 

 
REGISTRATION FORM 

 IMPAIRMENT RATINGS FOR NON-PHYSICIANS   
AUGUST 24, 2005 

 
Please type or print clearly 
 
NAME:___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
BUSINESS  ADDRESS:_____________________________________________________________ 
 
CITY & ZIP:_________________________________ BUSINESS PHONE NO.:_________________ 
 
PROFESSIONAL TITLE OR DESIGNATION:  (Please be specific in stating your professional title or 
credentials, such as:  insurance adjustor, case manager, attorney, paralegal, physical therapist, 
occupational therapist, nurse-practitioner, etc.)  _____________________________________________ 

       
 
Course Objectives:   Information provided at this one-day seminar should enable participants to: 

• Describe the general principles of impairment rating using the AMA Guides, 3rd edition (revised).  
There will be special emphasis on interpreting impairment reports for the spine, and upper and 
lower extremities.  

• List the elements included in an assessment of medical causality 
• Explain the calculations and assumptions used to determine psychological impairment 
• Describe the principles of apportioning impairment including spinal range of motion 
 

Location 
The seminar is being hosted by:   Pinnacol Assurance 
      7501 E. Lowry Blvd.  
      Denver, CO   80230 
                   
 

    THE FEE FOR THIS FULL-DAY COURSE IS $35.00.     AMOUNT ENCLOSED: $_______________ 
 

Please return this registration form with the course fee (payable to the Division of Workers’ 
Compensation) to:  

DOWC/Physicians’ Accreditation 
P.O. Box 628 

Denver, Colorado  80201-0628 
 
If you have any questions, please call the Accreditation Program Office at (303) 318-8763. 
A confirmation letter will be sent to you prior to the date of the seminar.  

 
**************************************************************************************************************** 
 Office Information Only 
 
Amt. Received:__________Date Received: _________________Log #_______________________ 
 




