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All About Claims is a newsletter published by the Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation designed to provide information to claims handlers. 

Please send comments or suggestions for future topics to JoAnne Ibarra at 303.318.8790 or by e-mail to JoAnne.Ibarra@state.co.us. 

From the Director's Desk… 
Adjustments to the Average Weekly Wage Rate 
By Mary Ann Whiteside, Director 

The Court of Appeals in Humane Society v. ICAO, No. 00CA0968, April 26, 2001, concluded that when adjusting the aver-
age weekly wage (AWW) "after the claimant is terminated from employment and the employer discontinues its partial 
funding of group health insurance, . . . the AWW should include the amounts contributed by both the employer and the 
claimant. . . . The General Assembly enacted § 8-40-201(19)(b) to ensure the claimant has sufficient funds available to 
purchase health insurance, regardless of whether the cost is more or less than the employer's cost of providing similar insur-
ance. The legislature apparently determined that this goal could not be achieved unless the claimant's AWW and resulting 
temporary disability rate are increased to reflect the claimant's cost of obtaining similar or lesser insurance ." (Cite omit-
ted.) 

Keeping up with the Division… 
A Notation on Recent Rule Changes 
Hearings were conducted before the Director of the 
Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation for two days 
in June regarding amendments to the workers' compensa-
tion rules, including the medical fee schedule. The Director 
adopted amendments to Rules XIV - XVIII on October 4, 
2001. 

Below are several issues from those rules that we believe 
will be of interest to practitioners in this arena: 

1) Division Independent Medical Examination Program 
(DIME) fees will be $675 effective December 1, 2001. The 
effective date for increased IME fees will be determined by 
the date of the Division's receipt of the Application, not the 
date the IME is performed. 

2) Also, effective December 1, 2001 are changes to Rule 
XVI on Prior Authorization and Medical Bill Payment 
Procedures, including creating separate procedures for med-
ical and non-medical contests for prior authorization and 

medical bills. 

3) Rule XVIII on the Medical Fee Schedule is amended for 
dates of service on or after 1/1/2002. Among the topics of 
interest in Rule XVIII are: 

Copying Fees - Copying fees will be $14.00 for the first ten 
or fewer pages, $.50 per page for pages 11-40, and $.33 per 
page thereafter. Actual postage or shipping can be charged. 
The cost to copy microfilm will be $1.50 per page. Although 
these copying fees mirror the changes made by the Colorado 
Department of Public Health, these rules apply to both hos-
pitals and physicians. 

Deposition and Testimony Fees - Parties should consult the 
Interprofessional Code for guidance on agreeing upon fees 
for medical deposition and testimony. If no agreement can 
be reached then: 

1.	 Deposition fees are not to exceed $250.60/hour 
(35 units x $7.16 = $250.60) 
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And, did you know… 
a single physician's report will replace three reports previ-
ously mandated under Rule XVI, Utilization Standards. 
Amendments to the rule which go into effect on December 
1, 2001, eliminate use of the Physician's Initial Report, 
WCM1; the Physician's Supplemental Report, WCM2; and 
the Physician's Report of Maximum Medical Improvement 
and Impairment, WCM3, in favor of a single, incorporated 
Physician's Report of Workers' Compensation Injury, 
WC164. The rule requires that the provider submit the 
WC164 form to the payer fourteen days from the date of ini-
tial service or the date the physician determines maximum 
medical improvement (MMI) has been achieved. The 
Division will monitor use of the required form by claims 
administrators through review of admissions and attach-
ments. Claims administrators should accept only the new 
form for MMI dates after 12/1/01. A copy of the new 
Physician's Report WC164 form is shown. Both form and 
amendments to the rule are available on the Division's web-
site at http://www.coworkforce.com/DWC. Further ques-
tions may be directed to a Division Claims Manager. 

State of Colorado website 
www.state.co.us 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
www.coworkforce.com/DWC 

We’ve Got Your Number 
How Block Numbers and TPA Codes can affect your performance reviews 
Does either of the following seem familiar? 

Adjuster A always submits timely Admissions and Notices 
of Contest. He seldom gets complaint calls, and rarely hears 
from the Division of Workers' Compensation (DOWC). His 
responses to Applications for Hearings provide for affirma-
tive defenses and include thoughtful lists of witnesses. 
Adjuster A sleeps well at night. 
Adjuster B files Admissions and Notices of Contest three 
months after the Division sends the Workers' Claim for 
Compensation to the Carrier of Record. Rejected transmit-
tal sheets and duplicate file consolidations are frustrating 
and time consuming experiences. Many times the case goes 
into litigation before the adjuster even knows a claim has 
been filed. All too often, legal fees are necessary just so that 
the carrier's attorney can belatedly add an issue or a defense 
for hearing. This adjuster frequently wakes up at night wor-
rying about penalties. 

Why such a difference? The answer may be as simple as 
timely mail delivery. 

What are TPA Codes and Block Numbers and how do 
they work? 

These are two-letter or three-number codes that the Division 
uses to identify and track mail. 
Block Numbers are 3-digit codes assigned to all licensed 
insurance carriers providing workers' compensation cover-
age in Colorado and to self-insured employers. 
Third Party Administrators (TPAs) are assigned two-letter 
codes. The same TPA may have several different codes cor-
responding to different addresses of operations. 
A holding company might have a separate code for each of 
its own insurance companies, as well as TPA Codes for each 
of its risk management entities and their individual office 
locations. The adjusters need to know the codes for each 
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We’ve Got Your Number continued 

insurance or self-insured company for which they are pro-
viding adjusting services. When the coded documents get 
here, our system sorts and cross-references them. For each 
claim, the goal is to identify and record all parties (past and 
present) involved in the claim along with addresses, phone 
numbers, carrier claim numbers, and dates of involvement. 
This database is used by both the Division of Workers' 
Compensation and the Division of Administrative Hearings. 
The system tracks the thousands of documents received 
every week and allows them to be matched to the proper 
file. It provides notice to you when an injured worker 
makes a claim or applies for a hearing. Like most elec-
tronic systems, it is only as good as the information it is 
given. For instance, if we are only given a Block Number 
for a claim and not a TPA Code, mail will only go to the 
address on file for the Insurer. 

Unfortunately, there are many instances, where months 
later, the TPA adjuster is still unaware that a claim exists. 

What do you need to do to make sure you are timely 
updated on claim activities? 

The best place to start is with your transmittal of the claim 
to DOWC. You can find detailed Instructions on the back 
of the form itself and in the DOWC Adjuster Guide (avail-
able at www.coworkforce.com/dwc.) If you still have ques-
tions after reading these resources, our Customer Service 
Unit is always available for you (303. 318.8700). The main 
purpose of the transmittal form is to provide the necessary 
information for identifying the claim and tracking the par-

ties. Make sure you follow these mandatory steps: 

Make sure that each office for which there is a separate 
address is assigned its own unique TPA Code. 
Use a separate transmittal form for each different Block 
Number. 
Indicate on the transmittal sheet whether a carrier, a self 
insured, or a TPA is submitting the claim. 
A TPA must submit both the Block Number of the 
appropriate insurer as well as its own code. 
If a carrier initially submits a claim that will be referred 
to a TPA for adjusting, make sure that the TPA Code 
is included on the transmittal. 
Make sure all documents are placed in the following 
order: The First Report should be on top, the position 
statement (if filed with the First Report) directly under 
neath, followed by any supporting documents. 
Complete the critical adjusting ID elements on the 
forms. These include: Block Number; TPA Code; poli 
cy number; carrier or TPA claim number; as well as the 
name, mailing address, phone number and fax number 
of the insurer, self-insured, or adjusting firm submitting 
the form. Check to make sure the employer included its 
FEIN on the First Report of Injury. 

We cannot guarantee a good night's sleep to anyone, but we 
can provide timely notice - IF we are given the tools to do 
so. Transmittals, Block Numbers, and TPA Codes are all 
tools that YOU can provide so that WE might do a quality 
job for you. Help us to use them. 

A Notation on Recent Rule Changes continued 3.	 Cancellation fees are payable if either the: 
Deposition is not cancelled at least three (3) busi 

2.	 Testimony fees are not to exceed $400.00/hour ness days prior to the deposition, or Testimony is 
(A physician is to refund any advanced payments in not cancelled at least five (5) business days prior to 
excess of time actually spent.) the hearing. 

Current Workers’ Compensation Forms 
are available on our website at: 

www.coworkforce.com/DWC 
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Western Association of Workers' Compensation Boards 30th Annual Convention


The Colorado Division of Workers' Compensation, in asso-
ciation with the Western Association of Workers’ 
Compensation Boards is hosting the 30th Annual WAWCB 
Convention at the Adam's Mark Hotel in Denver, Colorado 
May 12th - 15, 2002. The WAWCB is a non-profit corpo-
ration consisting of eighteen Western Workers' 
Compensation agencies. It was organized for the purpose of 
promoting education and information exchange on Workers' 
Compensation in the West. Nationally and regionally noted 
specialists and experts will be speaking about issues affect-
ing workers' compensation. Social activities will include a 
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tour of the Coors Brewing Company, a visit to Buffalo Bill's 
Grave and Museum and dinner, music, and dancing at the 
historical Chief Hosa Lodge. The Division is looking for 
organizations or individuals who would like to sponsor a 
break, breakfast, dinner, reception, or portion thereof, dur-
ing the convention. Exhibitor booths will be available 
throughout the convention. If you are interested in being an 
exhibitor or sponsor please contact Kathy Banning at 
kathy.banning@state.co.us or by telephone at 303.318.8637 
at the Division of Workers' Compensation. 



� ��Notice�

The Division of Workers' Compensation recently adopted emergency rules 
effective October 15, 2001. These guidelines were enacted in response to the 
consolidation of the Administrative Law Judges to one location within the 
Division of Administrative Hearings. This memorandum pertains specifi-
cally to the filing of documents at the Division of Workers' Compensation 
and the Division of Administrative Hearings. 

Emergency Rule VIII (L) spells out where documents are to be filed. All 
matters for the Director's determination shall be filed with the Division of 
Workers' Compensation at 1515 Arapahoe Street, Tower 2, 5th floor, 
Customer Service Unit, Denver, Colorado. This includes all settlement 
documents in which the parties are represented by counsel, unless the 
settlement was finalized before an Administrative Law Judge, in which 
case an Administrative Law Judge may approve the settlement docu-
ments. For a complete listing of documents that are to be filed with the 
Division of Workers' Compensation please review Emergency Rule VIII on 
our website: http://www.coworkforce.com/DWC under Notices of Rule 
Hearings and Proposed Rules. It is to your benefit to review where specific 
documents are to be filed. 

Effective Monday, December 31, 2001 the Division of Workers' 
Compensation will no longer forward documents that are to be filed 
with the Division of Administrative Hearings. Thereafter, documents 
received by the Division of Workers' Compensation will not be for-
warded to the Division of Administrative Hearings, nor placed in the 
DOWC file. 

The State of Colorado mail facility has recently implemented new proce-
dures for processing incoming mail. These procedures will result in a one-
day delay of receiving documents that are mailed to us. Please consider this 
delay when filing time sensitive documents, in addition to inquiring about 
the receipt of items mailed to us. 


