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Commissioner Approves Emergency Rule Change for Industrial Hemp 

  

LAKEWOOD, Colo. – The Commissioner of Agriculture, John Salazar, has signed an 

emergency rule pertaining to Colorado’s industrial hemp industry. The rules were adopted by the 

Ag Commission and became effective June 11, 2014. Those interested in farming industrial 

hemp, who have not already registered, can begin the registration process. 

  

The emergency rule changes are the result of amendments to the Colorado Industrial Hemp 

Program Act (SB14-184) passed during the recent legislative session. The Act eliminates the 

May 1st registration deadline and implements a new registration deadline of 30 days prior to 

planting. The rule changes also require registrants to file a report with the Commissioner 30 days 

prior to harvest rather than the seven days previously specified. A proposed harvest date must 

also be provided. 

  

“Colorado’s industrial hemp program is in its infancy; this first year will help shape the future of 

the program,” said Deputy Commissioner Ron Carleton. “The rules must be changed to adapt to 

an evolving industry.”  
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To date, approximately 1543 total acres have been approved for planting industrial hemp. Of 

that, 1309 acres can be grown for commercial purposes and 234 acres for research and 

development. A letter has been sent to all registrants informing them of the rule changes. 

  

For the most current rule, registration applications, and additional information, visit 

www.colorado.gov/ag/dpi and click on “industrial hemp.” 
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