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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State: Colorado

A. The following charges are imposed on the categoricallyneedy for services other than those provided under section 1905(a)(I) through (5)
and(7) of theAct: .

When the average or typical State payments for the above services are taken into consideration, all copayments were computed at a level to maximize the
effectiveness without causing undue hardship on the recipients, assuring that they do not exceed the maximum permitted under 42 CFR 447.54.
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Type of Charge
Service Deduct. Coins. Copay Amount and Basis for Determination

a. Hospital outpatient visit x $3.00 per visit
b. Physician home or office visit (M.D. or D.O.) x $2.00 per visit

c. Clinic visit (Rural Health, FQHC, and Public Health) x $2.00 per visit .

d. Brief, individual, group, and partial care community mental health x $2.00 per visit
center visits (except services which fall under Home and Community
Based Service programs)

e. Pharmacy x $1.00 per.prescription or refill for generic
or multi-source drugs

x $3.00 per prescription or refill for single-
source or brand name drugs

f. Optometrist visit x $2.00 per visit

g. Podiatrist visit x $2.00 per visit

h. Inpatient hospital visit. x $10.00 per day

1. Psychiatric services x $.50 per unit of service (defined as 15
minute segments)

J. Durable medical equipment / supplies x $1.00 per date of service

k. Laboratory services x $1.00 per date of service
1. Radiology services x $1.00 per date of service
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: Colorado

A (h.) Inpatient hospital visit (cont.)

An inpatient hospital copayment charge cannot exceed 50 percent of the payment the
agencymakesforthe firstdayof care in ,theinstitution.The systemhas beencodedto '

calculate the copayment at the lesser of$lO per covered day or 50% of the average
allowable daily rate.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: Colorado

B. The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy
individuals:

~ Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges
from individuals. .

o The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for a
services and collects the cost sharing charges from individuals.

C. The basis for determining whether an indi.vidual is unable to pay the
charge, and the means by which such an individual is identified to
providers, is described below:

The copayment is collected at the time of service, according to state
statute. The recipient may indicate his/her inability to pay at that
time. Inability to make a copayment'at the time of service characterizes
the recipient's immediate financial situation. The provide~ may not deny
services to a recipient who may be unable to pay although this does not
extinguish the liability of the recipient. .
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: Colorado

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing
contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below:

Providers are notified of copayment requirements for services covered and exempt
groups ~d services through Medicaid bulletins issued by the fiscal agent. Providers are
required to assess copayment at the time of service delivery. Amendments to section
1916(~) of the Social Security Act include a provision that no provider participating in
Medicaid may deny care or services to an individual because of his/her inability to pay
the required cost sharing charges. An individual who is unable to pay the copayment will
self-declarethe inabilityto pay,andthe providerwillbe requiredto providethe services..

The recipient is still responsible for the copayment and the provider may collect at a later
date.

E. Cumulativemaximumson charges:

[8J State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.

D Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:
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