DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

Division of Workers’ Compensation
7 CCR 1101-3
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION RULES OF PROCEDURE

Rule 18 MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULE
18-1 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Pursuant to § 8-42-101(3)(a)(l), C.R.S., and § 8-47-107, C.R.S., the Director promulgates this Medical
Fee Schedule to review and establish maximum allowable fees for health care services falling within the
purview of the Act. The Director adopts and hereby incorporates by reference, as modified and published
by Medicare in January 2015, National Physician Fee Schedule Relative Value file (RBRVS-Resource
Based Relative Value Scale); the Current Procedural Terminology CPT® 2015, Professional Edition,
published by the American Medical Association (AMA); and Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups
(MS-DRGs) Definitions Manual, Version 33.0 using MS-DRGs effective after October 1, 2015. The
incorporation is limited to the specific editions named and does not include later revisions or additions.
For information about inspecting or obtaining copies of the incorporated materials, contact the Medical
Policy Unit Supervisor, 633 17th Street, Suite 400, Denver, Colorado 80202-3626. These materials may
be examined at any state publications depository library. All guidelines and instructions are adopted as
set forth in the RBRVS, CPT® and MS-DRGs, and all CPT® modifiers, unless otherwise specified in this
Rule.

This Rule applies to all services rendered on or after January 1, 2016. All other bills shall be reimbursed
in accordance with the fee schedule in effect at the time service was rendered.

18-2 STANDARD TERMINOLOGY FOR THIS RULE

(A) CPT® - Current Procedural Terminology CPT® 2015, copyrighted and distributed by the
AMA and incorporated by reference in 18-1.

(B) DoWC Zxxxx — Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation created codes.
(®)) MS-DRGs — version 33.0 incorporated by reference in 18-1.
(D) Medicare’s January 2015 National Physician Fee Schedule Relative Value file (RBRVS)
(E) For other terms, see Rule 16, Utilization Standards.
18-3 HOW TO OBTAIN COPIES

All users are responsible for the timely purchase and use of Rule 18 and its supporting documentation as
referenced herein. The Division shall make available for public review and inspection the copies of all
materials incorporated by reference in Rule 18. Copies of the RBRVS may be obtained from Medicare’s
website, www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-For-Service-Payment/PhysicianFeeSched/Index.html.
The Current Procedural Terminology, 2015 Edition, may be purchased from the AMA. The MS-DRGs
Definitions Manual may be purchased from 3M Health Information Systems. The Colorado Workers'
Compensation Rules of Procedures with Treatment Guidelines, 7 CCR 1101-3, may be purchased from
LexisNexis Matthew Bender & Co., Inc., Albany, NY. Interpretive Bulletins and unofficial copies of all
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rules, including Rule 18, are available on the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment web site.
An official copy of the rules is available on the Secretary of State’s webpage.

18-4  CONVERSION FACTORS (CF)
The following CFs shall be used to determine the maximum allowed fees. The maximum fee is

determined by multiplying the following section CFs by the established facility or non-facility total relative
value unit(s) (RVUs) found in the corresponding RBRVS sections:

RBRVS SECTION CF

Anesthesia $55.61/RVU
Surgery $68.01/RVU
Radiology $93.00/RVU
Pathology $77.62/RVU
Medicine $67.00/RVU
Physical Medicine $40.24/RVU

(Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation,
Medical Nutrition Therapy and Acupuncture)

Evaluation & Management (E&M) $48.50/RVU

Table #1 lists the place of service codes used with the RBRVS facility RVUs. All other
maximum fee calculations shall use the non-facility RVUs listed in the RBRVS.

Table #1
Place of
Service Place of Service
Code Code Description
21 Inpatient Hospital
22 Outpatient Hospital
Emergency Room-
23 Hospital
Ambulatory Surgery
24 Center (ASC)
31 Skilled Nursing Facility
34 Hospice
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18-5

41 Ambulance - Land

Ambulance - Air or

42 Water
Inpatient Psychiatric
51 Hospital
Psychiatric Facility-
52 Partial Hospitalization
Community Mental
53 Health Center
Psychiatric Residential
56 Treatment Center
Comprehensive
Inpatient Rehabilitation
61 Facility

INSTRUCTIONS AND/OR MODIFICATIONS TO THE DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY
REFERENCE IN RULE 18-1

(A)

(B)

Maximum allowance for all providers under Rule 16-5 is 100% of the RBRVS value or as
specified in this Rule.  The maximum fee schedule value for Physician Assistants (PAs)
and Nurse Practitioners (NPs) shall be 85% of the Medical Fee Schedule. However, PAs
and NPs may be allowed 100% of the Medical Fee Schedule value if the requirements of
Rule 16-5(A)(6) have been met and one of the following conditions applies:

(1 The service is provided in a rural area. Rural area means:
° a county outside a Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) or
° a Health Professional Shortage Area, either located outside of an

MSA or in a rural census tract, as determined by the Office of
Rural Health Policy, Health Resources and Services
Administration, United States Department of Health and Human
Services.

(2) The “incident to” criteria found in 42 CFR §§ 410.26(a) and (b), 410.27,
and 410.32(b)(3) have been met.

Unless modified herein, the RBRVS is adopted for RVUs. Division-created codes (Zxxxx)
and values supersede the CPT® or RBRVS codes. Those codes listed with RVUs of “BR”
(by report), not listed, or listed with a zero value and not included by Medicare in another
procedure(s), require prior authorization pursuant to Rule 16. The CPT® 2015 is adopted
for codes, descriptions, parenthetical notes and coding guidelines, unless modified in this
Rule.
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Any billed CPT® code identified as a “separate procedure” in CPT® shall have an
appropriate modifier appended to the code for the payer to allow separate payment (i.e.,
modifier -59).

No code listed in CPT® identified as an “add-on” code is payable unless an appropriate
primary code is billed with the “add-on” code in the same episode of care.

The National Physician Fee Schedule Relative Value file, as modified, are the only fields
recognized in the Colorado Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule:

(1 HCPCS (Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System) —including any non-
listed CPT® codes;

(2) Level | (CPT®) and Level Il (HCPCS) Modifiers (listed and unlisted);

(3) Description — short description as listed in the file and long description as
specified in CPT®;

(4) Total Non-Facility RVU;
(5) Total Facility RVU;
(6) PC/TC (Professional Component/Technical Component) Indicators:

(a) “0” — Physician Services Only — PC/TC distinction does not apply to
these service codes;

(b) “1” — Diagnostic Tests for Radiology Services - diagnostic test codes for
radiology service with or without modifiers 26 or TC;

(c) “2” — Professional Component Only Codes — stand-alone professional
service codes only;

(d) “3” - Technical Component Only Codes - stand-alone technical service
codes only;

(e) “4” — Global Test Only Codes - modifiers 26 and TC cannot be used with
these codes because the values equal to the sum of the total RVUs;

(f) “5” - Incident To Codes - do not apply to workers’ compensation;
(9) “6” - Laboratory Physician Interpretation Codes — clinical laboratory

codes for which separate payments for interpretations by laboratory
physicians may be made;

(h) “7” - Physical Therapy Services — these codes are not recognized by
DoWGC,;
(i) “8” - Physician Interpretation Codes —clinical laboratory codes for which

separate payments may be made only when a physician interprets an
abnormal smear for a hospital in-patient. This indicator applies to CPT®
codes 88411, 85060, and HCPCS code P3001-26. No TC component is
recognized;
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) “9” - Not Applicable — PC/TC component does not apply to this indicator;

(7) Global Days;

(8) Conversion factors as specified in Rule 18-4.

CPT® Category lll codes listed in the RBRVS may be used for billing with agreement of
the payer as to reimbursement. Payment shall be in compliance with Rule 16-6(C).

Anesthesia

(1 All anesthesia base values shall be established by the use of the codes as set
forth in Medicare’s 2015 Anesthesia Base Values. Anesthesia services are only
reimbursable if the anesthesia is administered by a physician, a Certified
Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), or an anesthesiologist assistant (AA) who
remains in constant attendance during the procedure for the sole purpose of
rendering anesthesia.

When anesthesia is administered by a CRNA or AA:

(a) CRNAs not under the medical direction of an anesthesiologist,
reimbursement shall be 90% of the maximum anesthesia value;

(b) If billed separately, CRNAs and AAs, under the medical direction of an
anesthesiologist, shall be reimbursed 50% of the maximum anesthesia
value. The other 50% is payable to the anesthesiologist providing the
medical direction to the CRNA or AA;

(c) Medical direction for administering the anesthesia includes performing
the following activities:

(i)

(vi)

(vii)

Performs a pre-anesthesia examination and evaluation,
Prescribes the anesthesia plan,

Personally participates in the most demanding procedures in the
anesthesia plan including induction and emergence,

Ensures that any procedure in the anesthesia plan that s/he
does not perform is performed by a qualified anesthetist,

Monitors the course of anesthesia administration at frequent
intervals,

Remains physically present and available for immediate
diagnosis and treatment of emergencies, and

Provides indicated post-anesthesia care.

(2) The following modifiers are to be used when billing for anesthesia services:

AA — anesthesia services performed personally and billed by the
anesthesiologist. Maximum allowance is 100% of maximum anesthesia

calculated fees.
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(3)

(4)

AD - greater than four (4) concurrent (occurring at the same time) anesthesia
service cases being supervised by an anesthesiologist. Maximum allowance for
supervising multiple cases is calculated using three (3) base anesthesia units to
each case, regardless of the number of base anesthesia units assigned to each
specific anesthesia episode of care.

QK — anesthesiologist providing direction to qualified individuals of two (2) to four
(4) concurrent anesthesia cases. Maximum allowance is 50% of maximum
anesthesia calculated fees for the billing anesthesiologist providing direction.

QX — CRNA or AA service; with medical direction by a physician. Maximum
allowance is 50% of the maximum anesthesia calculated fees for the CRNA or
AA administering the anesthesia.

QZ — CRNA service; without medical direction by a physician. Maximum
allowance is 90% of maximum anesthesia calculated fees for the CRNA.

QY — Medical direction of one CRNA or AA by an anesthesiologist. Maximum
allowance is 50% of maximum anesthesia calculated fees for the
anesthesiologist providing direction.

QS — Monitored anesthesia care service (MAC).

G8 — Monitored anesthesia care (MAC) for deep complex complicated, or
markedly invasive surgical procedure.

G9 — Monitored anesthesia care (MAC) of a patient who has a history of severe
cardiopulmonary disease.

The supervision of AAs shall be limited in accordance with the Medical Practice
Act.

Physical status modifiers are reimbursed as follows, using the anesthesia
conversion factor:

P-1 Healthy patient 0 RVUs
P-2 Patient with mild systemic disease 0 RVUs
P-3 Patient with severe systemic disease 1RVU

P-4 Patient with severe systemic disease that is a

constant threat to life 2 RVUs
P-5 A moribund patient who is not expected to

survive without the operation 3 RVUs
P-6 A declared brain-dead patient 0 RVUs

Qualifying circumstance codes are reimbursed using the anesthesia conversion
factor:

Anesthesia complicated by extreme age;
under 1 year old or > 70 years old 1RVU
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(E)

(7)

Anesthesia complicated by utilization of
total body hypothermia 5 RVUs

Anesthesia complicated by utilization of
controlled hypotension 5 RVUs

Anesthesia complicated by emergency
conditions (specify) 2 RVUs

When more than one surgical procedure is performed during a single episode,
only the highest valued base anesthesia procedure value is billed with the total
anesthesia time for all procedures.

Anesthesia time begins when the anesthesiologist prepares the patient for the
induction of anesthesia and ends when the anesthesiologist is no longer in
personal attendance and the patient is placed under postoperative supervision.
Total minutes are reported for reimbursement. Each 15-minutes of anesthesia
time equals 1 additional RVU. Five minutes or more is considered significant
time and adds 1 RVU to the payment calculation.

Calculation of Maximum Fees for Anesthesia
Base Anesthesia value from the Medicare’s 2015 Anesthesia Base Values

+1 Unit/15 minutes of anesthesia time

+Any physical status modifier units

Total Relative Value Anesthesia Units
Multiplied by the Anesthesia CF in section 18-4
Total Maximum Anesthesia Fees

“Qualifying circumstance” codes are reimbursed under section 18-5(D)(1)(f) of
this Rule.

Non-time based Anesthesia Procedures

Modifier -47 shall be used by surgeons performing non-time based anesthesia.

Surgery:

(1)

The use of assistant surgeons shall be limited according to the American College
Of Surgeons' Physicians as Assistants at Surgery: 2013 Study (January 2013),
available from the American College of Surgeons, Chicago, IL, or from their web
page. The incorporation is limited to the edition named and does not include
later revisions or additions. Copies of the material incorporated by reference
may be inspected at any State publications depository library. For information
about inspecting or obtaining copies of the incorporated material, contact the
Medical Policy Unit Supervisor, 633 17th Street, Suite 400, Denver, Colorado,
80202-3626.

Where the publication restricts use of such assistants to "almost never" or a
procedure is not referenced in the publication, prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9) is required.
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(2)

(3)

(4)

(6)

Incidental procedures are commonly performed as an integral part of a total
service and do not warrant a separate benefit.

No payment shall be made for more than one (1) assistant surgeon or minimum
assistant surgeon without prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9).

The payer may use available billing information such as provider credential(s)
and clinical record(s) to determine if an appropriate modifier should be used on
the bill. To modify a billed code refer to Rule 16-11(B)(4).

When an operation requires two primary surgeons performing two distinct
portions of the operation, modifier -62 is used with the procedure in question and
reimbursement is increased to 125% of the value, apportioned in relation to the
responsibilities and work of each surgeon or 50% of the total increased maximum
fee to each surgeon.

Surgical team reimbursement requires prior authorization and the use of modifier
- 66 on the surgical codes.

Assistant Surgeon, indicated by modifier -80 has a maximum allowance of 20 %
of the surgeon’s fees.

Assistant Surgeon (when qualified resident surgeon is not available), indicated by
modifier -82, is also reimbursed at 20% of the surgeon’s fees.

Minimum Assistant Surgeon Modifiers and Maximum Fees:
° Modifier —AS should be appended to services performed by NPs or PAs;

° Modifier —81 should be appended to services performed by clinical nurse
specialists, surgical technicians, or any other non-physician providers;

° Minimum Assistant Surgeon’s maximum fees are 10% of the surgeon’s
fees.
Global Period
(a) All surgical procedures include the following:
(i) Local infiltration, metacarpal/metatarsal/digital block or typical
anesthesia;
(i) One related E&M encounter on the date immediately prior to or

on the date of the procedure (including history and physical);

(iii) Intraoperative services that are normally a usual and necessary
part of a surgical procedure;

(iv) Immediate postoperative care, including dictating operative
notes, talking with the family and other physicians;

(v) Evaluating the patient in the post-anesthesia recovery room;

(vi) Post-surgical pain management by the surgeon;
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(vii)

(viii)
(ix)

Typical postoperative follow-up care during the global period of
the surgery that is related to recovery from the surgery as
identified in RBRVS as global:

o 000 —are endoscopies or some minor surgical
procedures, typically a 0 day postoperative period. Visits
on the same day of procedures are generally included in
the allowance for the procedure, unless a separately
identifiable service is performed and billed with the
appropriate modifier.

. 010 - are other minor procedures, 10 day postoperative
period.

. 090 - are major surgeries, 90 day postoperative period.

. XXX — does not apply

o ZZ7Z — are covered under another procedure’s global
days

. MMM - global service day’s concept does not apply.

(See Medicare’s Global Maternity Care reporting rule.)

. Global period, defined RBRVS, begins the day after
surgery and continues for the defined period.

Supplies — Except for those identified as exclusions;

Miscellaneous Services — ltems such as dressing changes; local
incisional care; removal of operative pack; removal of cutaneous
sutures and staples, lines, wires, tubes, drains, casts and splints;
insertion, irrigation and removal of urinary catheters, routine
peripheral 1V lines, nasograstric and rectal tubes; changes and
removal of tracheostomy tubes;

Applicable Surgical Modifiers:

. 24 - Unrelated E&M service by the same physician
during a postoperative period.

. 25 - Significant and separately identifiable E&M service
on the same day of the procedure within the global
period of minor surgical procedures (0 or 10 days).

o 54 - Surgical Care only. Fee is 60% of the billed surgery
code Maximum Fee Schedule value.

. 55 - Postoperative management only. Fee is 30% of the
billed surgery code Maximum Fee Schedule value.

o 56 - Preoperative management only. Fee is 10% of the
billed surgery code Maximum Fee Schedule value.
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(b)

) 57 - Decision for surgery.

o 58 - Staged or related procedure or service by the same
physician during the postoperative period.

. 76 - Repeat procedure or service by the same physician.
. 78 - Unplanned Return to the Operating/Procedure
Room by the same physician following initial procedure

for a related procedure during the postoperative period.

. 79 - Un-related procedure or service by the same
physician during the postoperative period.

The following services performed during a global period would warrant
separate billing if documentation demonstrates significant identifiable
services were involved, such as:

(i)
(ii)

(iif)

(iv)

(vi)
(vii)

E&M services unrelated to the primary surgical procedure.

Services necessary to stabilize the patient for the primary
surgical procedure.

Services not considered part of the surgical procedure, including
an E&M visit by an authorized treating physician for disability
management. The E&M service shall have an appropriate
modifier appended to the E&M level of the service code when
the surgeon is performing services during the global period. If at
all possible, an appropriate identifying diagnosis code shall
identify the E&M service as unrelated to the surgical global
period. In addition, the reasonableness and necessity for an
E&M service that is separate and identifiable from the surgical
global period shall be clearly documented in the medical record.

Disability management of an injured worker for the same
diagnosis requires the managing physician to clearly identify in
the medical record the specific disability management detail that
was performed during that visit. The definitions of what is
considered disability counseling can be located under 18-5(1)(1)
and in Exhibit #7 of this Rule.

Unusual circumstances, complications, exacerbations, or
recurrences.

Unrelated diseases or injuries.

If a patient is seen for the first time or an established patient is
seen for a new problem and the “decision for surgery” is made
the day of the procedure or the day before the procedure is
performed, then the surgeon can bill both the procedure code
and an E&M code, using a --57 modifier or -25 modifier on the
E&M code.
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(F)

(7)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(c) Separate identifiable services shall use an appropriate CPT®/ modifier in
conjunction with the billed service.

Multiple Procedures (modifier -51) and Bilateral Procedures (modifier -50)

Multiple procedure guidelines (modifier -51) do not apply to codes specifically
identified in CPT® as add-on procedures “+” or to those specifically identified as
exempt from modifier -51 @.

Bilateral procedures not identified by CPT® as bilateral shall be billed on one line
with one (1) unit and modifier -50 shall be appended to the CPT® code. The
maximum fee is calculated at 150% of the Maximum Fee Schedule value.

When multiple procedures are performed by the same surgeon during the same
surgical setting, modifier -51 shall be appended to the lower valued procedure(s).
When multiple surgical procedures are performed in a single surgical setting, the
highest valued or primary procedure is allowed 100% of the maximum fee and all
other valued procedures, appended with a modifier -51, are allowed at 50% of
the maximum fee.

If a surgical arthroscopic procedure is converted to the same surgical open
procedure on the same joint, only the open procedure is payable. If an
arthroscopic procedure and open procedure are performed on different joints, the
two (2) procedures may be separately payable with anatomic modifiers or
modifier -50.

Use code G0289 to report any combination of surgical knee arthroscopies for
removal of loose body, foreign body, and/or debridement/shaving of articular
cartilage.

G0289 shall not be paid when reported in conjunction with other knee
arthroscopy codes in the same compartment of the same knee.

G0289 shall be paid when reported in conjunction with other knee arthroscopy
codes in a different compartment of the knee.

Venipuncture maximum fee allowance is covered under Exhibit #8 of this Rule.
Platelet Rich Plasma (PRP) Injections

The Medical Treatment Guidelines promulgated by the Director of the Division of
Workers’ Compensation (Rule 17) govern when PRP injections are appropriate.
Any PRP injections outside of the Medical Treatment Guidelines require prior
authorization.

The provider shall bill DoWC Z0814, maximum total all-inclusive allowance of
$735.00, for PRP injections to any body part. This includes imaging guidance,
harvesting and preparation (if performed), the injection itself, as well as kits and
supplies.

Radiology:

(1)

General
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(2)

(a) The cost of dyes and contrast shall be reimbursed in accordance with
18-6(H)).

(b) Copying charges for x-rays and MRIs shall be $15.00/film regardless of
the size of the film.

(c) The payer may use available billing information such as provider
credential(s) and clinical record(s) to determine if an appropriate
CPT®/RBRVS modifier should have been used on the bill. To modify a
billed code, refer to Rule 16-11(B)(4).

(d) In billing radiology services, the applicable radiology procedure code
shall be billed using the appropriate modifier to bill either the professional
component (26) or the technical component (TC). If a physician bills the
total or professional component, a separate written interpretive report is
required.

If a physician interprets the same radiological image more than once, or if
multiple physicians interpret the same radiological image, only one (1)
interpretation shall be reimbursed. If an X-ray consultation is requested, the
consultant’s report shall include the name of the requesting provider, the reason
for the request, and documentation that the report was sent to the requesting
provider. The maximum fee for an X-ray consultation shall be no greater than
the maximum fee for the professional component of the original X-ray.

The time a physician spends reviewing and/or interpreting an existing radiological
image is considered a part of the physician’s evaluation and management
service code.
Thermography
(a) The provider supervising and interpreting the thermographic evaluation
shall be board certified by the examining board of one (1) of the following
national organizations and follow their recognized protocols:
American Academy of Thermology;

American Chiropractic College of Infrared Imaging.

(b) Indications for diagnostic thermographic evaluation must be one (1) of
the following:

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome/Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy
(CRPS/RSD);

Sympathetically Maintained Pain (SMP);
Autonomic neuropathy;
(c) General Protocols for Stress Testing
Cold Water Autonomic Functional Stress Testing — Baseline infrared

images are obtained in a 68° F +/- 1 degree steady state environment
following equilibration for 15 minutes. After the quantitative and
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(G)

(3)

qualitative baseline images are captured, cold water autonomic
functional stress testing is performed by submersing the asymptomatic
extremity in 68° F +/- 1 degree cold water bath for 5 minutes while
imaging and evaluating the autonomic response.

Whole Body Autonomic Stress Testing — Refer to the thermogram
discussion section found in the Complex Regional Pain Syndrome
Medical Treatment Guidelines.

(d) Thermography Billing Codes:
DoWC Z0200 Upper body w/ Autonomic Stress Testing  $865.37
DoWC Z0201 Lower body w/Autonomic Stress Testing  $865.37

(e) Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) is required for
thermography services only if the requested study does not meet the
indicators for thermography as outlined in this radiology section. The
billing shall include a report supplying the thermographic evaluation and

reflecting compliance with 18-5(E)(2).

Urea breath test C-14 (Isotopic); acquisition for analysis and the analysis
maximum fees are listed under Exhibit #8 of this Rule.

Pathology:

Laboratories with a CLIA certificate of waiver may perform only those tests cleared by the
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) as waived tests. Laboratories with a CLIA certificate
of waiver shall bill using the QW modifier.

Laboratories with a CLIA certificate of compliance or accreditation may perform non-
waived tests. Laboratories with a CLIA certificate of compliance or accreditation do not
append the QW modifier to claim lines.

(1)

All clinical pathology laboratory tests, except as allowed by this rule, are
reimbursed at the total component dollar value listed under Exhibit #8 of this Rule
or billed charges, whichever is less. No separate technical or professional
component maximum dollar split is separately payable by the payer. However
the technical and professional component billing parties may agree upon a dollar
value split of the total maximum fees listed in Exhibit #8 of this Rule.

When a physician clinical pathologist is required for consultation and
interpretation, and a separate written report is created, the maximum fee is
determined by using the RBRVS values and the pathology conversion factors.
Maximum Fee Schedule value is determined by the Pathology Conversion Factor
when the Pathology CPT® code description includes “interpretation” and “report”
or the following Pathology CPT® code description is from:

) physician blood bank services,
. cytopathology and cell marker study interpretations,
. cytogenics or molecular cytogenics interpretation and report,
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surgical pathology gross and microscopic and special stain groups 1 and
2 and histochemical stain, blood or bone marrow interpretations, and

Skin tests for “unlisted antigen each, coccidoidomycosis, histoplasmosis,
TB intradermal.

When ordering automated laboratory tests, the ordering physician may seek
verbal consultation with the pathologist in charge of the laboratory’s policy,
procedures and staff qualifications. The consultation with the ordering physician
is not payable unless the ordering physician requested additional medical
interpretation and judgment and requested a separate written report. Upon such
a request, the pathologist may bill using the proper CPT® code and values from
the RBRVS, not DoWC Z0755.

Clinical Drug Screening/Testing Codes and Values

(@)

(c)

Clinical drug screening/testing evaluates whether:

(i) Prescribed medications are at or below therapeutic or toxic
levels (Therapeutic Drug Monitoring); or

(i) The patient is taking prescribed controlled substance
medication(s); or

(iii) The patient is taking any illicit or non-prescribed drugs.
Billing requirements for Clinical Drug Testing:

0] The ordering physician shall document the medical necessity of
the clinical drug test.

(i) The ordering physician shall specify which drugs require
quantitative tests to meet the patient’s medical needs.

(iii) Quantification of illicit or non-prescribed drugs or drug classes
requires a physician order.

(iv) Medicare codes and CPT® codes used in the 2015 Medicare
Fee Schedule shall be billed for qualitative or quantitative
presumptive and definitive urine drug tests.

(v) All recognized codes and maximum fee values are listed in
Exhibit #8 to this rule.

Presumptive Tests

Presumptive drug class assays identify possible use or non-use of
drug(s) or drug class(es), but may not identify the specific drug or
metabolite. Definitive tests are required to identify certain drugs or
metabolites. Providers may ONLY bill for one (1) of the three types of
presumptive tests per patient encounter:

(i) Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA)-waived
drug screening tests such as cards, dipsticks, cassettes and
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cups, based on qualitative immunoassay (IA) methodology with
one or more analytes (G0434)

(ii) Federal Drug Administration (FDA)-approved/cleared platforms
and reagents, considered to be moderate complexity tests
(G0434)

(iii) Laboratory developed tests (LDTs) (G0431)

. Performed on non-FDA approved/cleared IA platforms
and/or reagents

. Performed through IA testing with laboratory-validated
alternative testing cutoffs

Presumptive drug class screening shall be billed using either G0431 or
G0434, for either CPT® drug class list A or B, replacing CPT® codes
80300-80304.

Definitive Tests — Gas Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry (GC/MS) or
Liquid Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry (LC/MS) — no
Immunoassays

(i) Definitive qualitative or quantitative tests identify specific drug(s)
and any associated metabolites, providing sensitive and specific
results expressed as a concentration in ng/mL or as the identity
of a specific drug. Definitive quantitative tests must be ordered
by a physician. The reasons for ordering a definitive
quantification drug test may include:

a) Unexpected positive presumptive or qualitative test
results inadequately explained by the injured worker;

b) Unexpected negative presumptive or qualitative test
results and suspected medication diversion;

c) Differentiate drug compliance:
. Buprenorphine vs. norbuprenorphine
. Oxycodone vs. oxymorphone, noroxycodone

and oxycodone

d) Need for quantitative levels to compare with established
benchmarks for clinical decision-making, such as
tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) quantitation to document
discontinuation of a drug.

e) Chronic Opioid Management
i) Drug testing shall be done prior to the
implementation of the initial long-term drug

prescription and randomly repeated at least
annually.
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i) While the injured worker is receiving chronic
opioid management, additional drug screens
with documented justification may be conducted.
Examples of documented justification include
the following:

° Concern regarding the functional status
of the patient

° Abnormal results on previous testing
° Change in management of dosage or
pain
° Chronic daily opioid dosage above 150
mg of morphine or equivalent
f) Billing codes for definitive quantitative testing are listed
in Exhibit #8.

Opiate and Opioid Testing

There are three subsets of opiates/opioids: natural opiates,
semisynthetic opioids, and synthetic opioids. The three subsets
include multiple drugs and metabolites. different concentration
cutoffs are necessary to identify the specific drug.

a) Natural opiates bill: G6056 Morphine

) Codeine
. Heroin
Thebaine
b) SemiSynthetic opioids bill: G6045 dihydrocodeinone,
G6046 dihydromorphinone
. Oxymorphone
. Hydrocodone
. Oxycodone
. Hydromorphone
. Buphenorphen

c) Synthetic opiods bill: G6044Cocaine, G6053Methadone

Pethidine

Tramadol
Methadone

Fentanyl

Lortab

Atarax

Demerol
Dextropropoxyphene
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The provider must identify the specific opioid/opiate being tested
in the description field.

Medicine:

(1)

(2)

Medicine home therapy services in the RBRVS are not adopted. For appropriate
codes see section 18-6(M), Home Care Services.

Anesthesia qualifying circumstance values are reimbursed in accordance with
the section 18-5(D)(1).

Biofeedback

Licensed medical and mental health professionals who provide biofeedback must
practice within the scope of their training. Non-licensed biofeedback providers
must hold Clinical Certification from the BCIA, practice within the scope of their
training, and receive a prior approval of their biofeedback treatment plan from the
patient's authorized treating physician, psychologist, or psychiatrist.
Professionals integrating biofeedback with any form of psychotherapy must be
licensed as a psychologist, a social worker, a marriage or a family therapist, or a
licensed professional counselor. For purposes of this rule, “licensed” means
holding a license issued by the Colorado Medical Board, the Colorado Board of
Chiropractic Examiners, the Colorado Podiatry Board, the Colorado Dental
Board, or a board of the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA).

Biofeedback treatment must be provided in conjunction with other psychosocial
or medical interventions.

All biofeedback providers shall document biofeedback instruments used during
each visit (including, but not limited to, surface EMG, HRV, EEG, or temperature
training), placement of instruments, and patient response, if sufficient time has
passed.

Maximum Fee Schedule values for biofeedback services shall be as follows:
CPT® Code 90901, Biofeedback training by any modality:

Non-facility RVU is 2.14, Facility RVU is 1.14

CPT® Code 90911, Biofeedback peri/uro/rectal:

Non-facility RVU is 4.76, Facility RVU is 2.48

Appendix J of the 2015 CPT® identifies mixed, motor and sensory nerve
conduction studies and their appropriate billing.

Manipulation -- Chiropractic (DC), Medical (MD) and Osteopathic (DO):

(a) Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) shall be obtained before
billing for more than four body regions in one (1) visit. Manipulative
therapy is limited to the maximum allowed in Rule 17, Medical Treatment
Guidelines. The provider's medical records shall reflect medical
necessity and prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) if
treatment exceeds these limitations.
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(b)

(c)

An office visit may be billed on the same day as manipulation codes
when the documentation meets the E&M requirement and an appropriate
modifier is used.

Facility RVU is 0.79 and non-facility RVU is 1.00 for CPT® code 98940.

Psychiatric/Psychological Services:

(@)

A licensed psychologist (PsyD, PhD, EdD) is reimbursed a maximum of
100% of the medical fee listed in the RBRVS. Other non-physician
providers performing psychological/psychiatric services shall be paid at
85% of the fee allowed for physicians.

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) is required any time the
limitations discussed in this rule are exceeded on a single day.

The relative value weights for psychiatric diagnostic evaluations, with or
without medical services, including time for internal records review, are
as follows (per episode):

(i) Without Evaluation & Management Service:
Non-facility is 9.91 RVUs
Facility is 9.6 RVUs

(i) With Evaluation and Management Service
Non-facility is 11.12 RVUs
Facility is 10.8 RVUs

Central Nervous System (CNS) Assessments/Tests, (neuro-cognitive,
mental status, speech) requiring more than six (6) hours require prior
authorization.

Brief psychological screens (including, but not limited to, the Distress
Risk and Assessment Method (DRAM), Primary Care Evaluation of
Mental Disorders (PRIME-MD), Zung Self-Rating Depression Scale,
Beck Depression Inventory, and CES-D (Center for Epidemiologic
Studies Depression Scale) are not equivalent to psychological testing,
CPT® codes 96101-96127.

The RVUs for the following psychological and neuropsychological tests,
and for health and behavior assessments/interventions shall be modified
to:

CPT® code Non-facility Relative | Facility Relative
Value Units Value Units
96101 3.00 2.91
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(e)

96102 1.79 0.65
96103 1.36 1.33
96116 3.40 3.16
96118 4.11 3.31
96119 2.51 0.74
96120 2.30 1.24
96150 0.80 0.79
96151 0.78 0.77
96152 0.74 0.73
96153 0.18 0.17
96154 0.74 0.73
96155 0.73 0.73

Most initial evaluations for delayed recovery, exclusive of testing, can be
completed in two (2) hours.

The limit for psychotherapy services is 60 min. per visit.

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) is required any time the
60 minutes per visit limitation is exceeded. The time for internal record
review/documentation is included in this limit. A party to a claim may bill
for any separate documentation under CPT® code 90889. The relative
value for this code is 1.4 RVUs for both facility and non-facility billings.

Psychotherapy for work-related conditions requiring more than 20 visits
or continuing for more than three (3) months after the initiation of
therapy, whichever comes first, requires prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9) except where specifically addressed in Rule 17, Medical
Treatment Guidelines.

When billing an evaluation and management (E&M) code in addition to
psychotherapy:

(1) Both services must be separately identifiable;

(2) The level of E&M is based on history, exam and medical
decision making;
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(3) Time may not be used as the basis for the E&M code selection;
and

(4) Add-on psychotherapy codes are to be used by psychiatrists to
indicate both services were provided.

Non-medical disciplines cannot bill most E&M codes.

() Upon request of a party to a workers’ compensation claim and pursuant
to HIPAA Privacy regulations, a physiatrist, psychologist or other
qualified health care professional may generate a separate report and bill
for that service using CPT® code 90889.

(7) Qualified Non-Physician Provider Telephone or On-Line Services

Reimbursement to qualified non-physician providers for coordination of care with
professionals shall be based upon the telephone codes for qualified non-
physician providers found in the RBRVS Medicine Section. Coordination of care
reimbursement is limited to telephone calls made to professionals outside of the
non-physician provider’s employment facility(ies) and/or to the injured worker or
their family.

(8) Quantitative Autonomic Testing Battery (ATB) and Autonomic Nervous System
Testing.

(a) Quantitative Sudomotor Axon Reflex Test (QSART) is a diagnostic test
used to diagnose Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. This test is
performed on a minimum of two (2) extremities, and encompasses the
following components:

0] Resting Sweat Test

(i) Stimulated Sweat Test

(iii) Resting Skin Temperature Test

(iv) Interpretation of clinical laboratory scores. Physician must
evaluate the patient specific clinical information generated from
the test and quantify it into a numerical scale. The data from the
test and a separate report interpreting the results of the test must
be documented.

(b) Maximum fee when all of the services outlined in 18-5(G)(9)(a) are
completed and documented.

QSART Billing Code
DoWC Z0401 QSART $1,007.00

Z0401 may only be billed once per workers’ compensation claim,
regardless of the number limbs tested.

(9) Intra-Operative Monitoring (IOM)
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IOM is used to identify compromise to the nervous system during certain surgical
procedures. Evoked responses are constantly monitored for changes that could
imply damage to the nervous system.

(@)

(b)

Clinical Services for IOM: Technical and Professional

U]

(ii)

(iif)

Technical staff: A qualified specifically trained technician shall
setup the monitoring equipment in the operating room and is
expected to be in constant attendance in the operating room with
the physical or electronic capacity for real-time communication
with the supervising neurologist or other physician trained in
neurophysiology. The technician shall be specifically
trained/registered with:

The American Society of Neurophysiologic Monitoring; or
The American Society of Electrodiagnostic Technologists
Professional/Supervisory /Interpretive

A specifically neurophysiology trained Colorado licensed
physician shall monitor the patient’s nervous system throughout
the surgical procedure. The monitoring physician’s time is billed
based upon the actual time the physician devotes to the
individual patient, even if the monitoring physician is monitoring
more than one (1) patient. The monitoring physician’s time does
not have to be continuous for each patient and may be
cumulative. The monitoring physician shall not monitor more
than three (3) surgical patients at one time. The monitoring
physician shall provide constant neuromonitoring at critical points
during the surgical procedure as indicated by the surgeon or any
unanticipated testing responses. There must be a
neurophysiology trained Colorado licensed physician backup
available to continue monitoring the other two patients if one of
the patients being monitored has complications and/or requires
the monitoring physician’s undivided attention for any reason.
There is no additional payment for the back-up neuromonitoring
physician, unless he/she is utilized in a specific case.

Technical Electronic Capacity for Real-time Communication
requirements

The electronic communication equipment shall use a 16-channel
monitoring and minimum real-time auditory system, with the
possible addition of video connectivity between monitoring staff,
operating surgeon and anesthesia. The equipment must also
provide for all of the monitoring modalities that may be applied
with the IOM procedure code.

Procedures and Time Reporting

Physicians shall include an interpretive written report for all primary billed
procedures.
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(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(c) Billing Restrictions:

The technical component (equipment, technical certified staff) is only
payable to the person who owns the equipment.

The monitoring physician is the only billing party allowed to report the
intraoperative neuro-monitoring codes (95940 or 95941).

Speech Therapy/Evaluation and Treatment

Speech-language therapist/pathology or any care rendered under a speech-
language therapist/pathology plan of care shall be billed with a “GN” modifier
appended to all billing codes.

Reimbursement shall be according to the unit values as listed in the RBRVS,
multiplied by their section’s respective CF.

Vaccine and Toxoids

Shall be billed using the appropriate J code or CPT® code listed in the Medicare
Part B Drug Average Sale Price (ASP), or at cost to the billing provider if no
dollar value is listed in ASP.

IV Infusions Performed in Physicians’ Offices or Sent Home with Patient

IV infusion therapy performed in a physician’s office shall be billed under the
“Therapeutic, Prophylactic, and Diagnostic Injections and Infusions” and the
“Chemotherapy and Other Highly Complex Drug or Highly Complex Biologic
Agent Administration” in the Medicine Section of CPT®. The appropriate
CPT®/RBRVS code units multiplied by the Medicine conversion factor is the
Maximum Fee Schedule value for the infusion service. The infused therapeutic
drugs are payable at cost to the provider’s office.

Maximum fees for supplies and medications provided by a physician's office for
self-administered home care infusion therapy is covered under section 18-
6(M)(1).

Special Services, Procedures and Reports in the Medicine Section of CPT®

(a) Handling and conveyance of specimens in connection with a transfer
from an office to a laboratory is a flat rate of $25.00 (CPT® codes 99000
and/or 99001). Any other handling and conveyance in connection with
implementation of an order involving devices (such as orthotics) is a flat
rate of $13.00 (CPT® code 99002).

(b) Postoperative follow-up visit, CPT® code 99024, is included in the global
package and is not separately payable.

(c) Educational supplies are considered “at cost” to the provider and may be
billed based upon an agreement between the payer and provider (CPT®
codes 99070, 99071 or 99078).

(d) Any stored clinical or physiological data analysis is not recognized unless
the provider shows the reasonableness and necessity of these services
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and obtains prior authorization from the payer (CPT® codes 99090 and
99091).

(e) The charges for services performed after regular business hours, during
holidays, or during scheduled disruptions of regular office services are
not separately payable unless the provider shows the reasonableness
and necessity of these services and obtains prior authorization (CPT®
codes 99026, 99027, 99050, 99051, 99053, 99056, 99058, and 99060).

() Unusual travel expenses require prior authorization by the payer. The
payer and billing provider shall agree upon maximum fees (CPT® code
99082).

Medical testimony is covered under Rule 18-6(D) and special reports are

(9)
covered under Rule 18-6(G)(3)&(4) (CPT® codes 99075 and 99080). (l) Physical Medicine and
Rehabilitation (PM&R):

Restorative services are an integral part of the healing process for a variety of injured
workers.

(1)

Billing and documentation requirements:

Physical therapy or any care provided under a physical therapist’s plan of care
shall be billed with a “GP” modifier appended to all billed codes.

Occupational therapy or any care provided under an occupational therapist’s plan
of care shall be billed with a “GO” modifier appended to all billed codes.

Each PM&R billed service must be clearly identifiable. The provider must clearly
document the time spent performing each billed service and the beginning and
ending time for each session.

Functional objectives shall be included in the PM&R plan of care for all injured workers, in

compliance with Rule 16-8. Any request for additional treatment must be
supported by evidence of positive objective functional gains or PM&R treatment
plan changes. The ordering PM&R ATP must also agree with the PM&R
continuation or changes to the treatment plan.(2)Prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9) is required for medical nutrition therapy.

For recommendations on the use of the physical medicine and rehabilitation
procedures, modalities, and testing, see Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines.

Special Note to All Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Providers:

The authorized treating provider shall obtain prior authorization for payment (see
Rule 16-9) from the payer for any physical medicine or rehabilitation treatment
not listed in or exceeding the frequency or duration recommendations in Rule 17,
Medical Treatment Guidelines.

The injured worker shall be re-evaluated by the prescribing physician within 30
calendar days from the initiation of the prescribed treatment and at least once
every month while that treatment continues to establish achievement of
functional goals. Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) shall be
required for treatment of a condition not covered under Rule 17, Medical
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Treatment Guidelines and exceeding 60 calendar days from the initiation of
treatment.

Interdisciplinary Rehabilitation Programs — Requires Prior Authorization for
Payment (see Rule 16-9).

An interdisciplinary rehabilitation program is one that provides focused,
coordinated, and goal-oriented services using a team of professionals from
varying disciplines to deliver care. These programs can benefit persons who
have limitations that interfere with their physical, psychological, social, and/or
vocational functioning. As defined in Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines,
interdisciplinary rehabilitation programs may include, but are not limited to:
chronic pain, spinal cord, or brain injury programs.

Billing Restrictions: All billing providers shall detail to the payer the services,
frequency of services, duration of the program and their proposed fees for the
entire program and all professionals. The billing provider and payer shall attempt
to mutually agree upon billing code(s) and fee(s) for each interdisciplinary
rehabilitation program.

If there is a single billing provider for the entire interdisciplinary rehabilitation
program and a daily per diem rate is mutually agreed upon, use billing code
Z0500.

If the individual interdisciplinary rehabilitation professionals bill separately for
their participation in an interdisciplinary rehabilitation program, the applicable
CPT® codes shall be used to bill for their services. Demonstrated participation in
an interdisciplinary rehabilitation program allows the use of the frequencies and
durations listed in the relevant Medical Treatment Guideline’s recommendations.

Procedures (therapeutic exercises, neuromuscular re-education, aquatic therapy,
gait training, massage, acupuncture, dry needling of trigger points, manual
therapy techniques, therapeutic activities, cognitive development, sensory
integrative techniques and any unlisted physical medicine procedures.)

The provider’s medical records shall reflect the medical necessity and the
provider shall obtain prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) if the
procedures are not recommended or the frequency and duration exceeds the
recommendations of the Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines. The maximum
amount of time allowed is one (1) hour of procedures per day, per discipline;
unless medical necessity is documented and prior authorization is obtained from
the payer.

Unlisted procedure CPT® code 97139 value is equal to the value for therapeutic
exercises.

Dry Needling of Trigger Points, Single or multiple needles,
DoWC Z0501 - initial 15 minutes of dry needling 1.3 non-facility RVUs
.77 facility RVUs

DoWC Z0502 - each add’l 15 minutes of dry needling .77 non-facility RVUs

Page 24 of 69



.72 facility RVUs
Modalities
RBRVS Timed and Non-timed Modalities

Billing Restrictions: There is a total limit of two (2) modalities (whether timed or
non-timed) per visit, per discipline, per day.

NOTE: Instruction and application of a transcutaneous electric nerve stimulation
(TENS) unit for the patient's independent use at home shall be billed only once
using CPT® code 64550. Rental or purchase of a TENS unit requires prior
authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9). For Maximum Fee Schedule value,
see 18-6(H).

The maximum value for any unlisted modality, CPT® code 97039, is equal to the
value of ultrasound CPT® code 97035.

Evaluation Services for Therapists: Physical Therapy (PT), Occupational
Therapy (OT) and Athletic Trainers (ATC).

(a) All evaluation services must be supported by the appropriate history,
physical examination documentation, treatment goals and treatment plan
or re-evaluation of the treatment plan. The provider shall clearly state
the reason for the evaluation, the nature and results of the physical
examination of the patient, and the reasoning for recommending the
continuation or adjustment of the treatment protocol. Without
appropriate supporting documentation, the payer may deny payment.
The re-evaluation codes shall not be billed for routine pre-treatment
patient assessment.

If a new problem or abnormality is encountered that requires a new
evaluation and treatment plan, the professional may perform and bill for
another initial evaluation. A new problem or abnormality may be caused
by a surgical procedure being performed after the initial evaluation has
been completed.

A reexamination, reevaluation, or reassessment (CPT® codes 97002,
97004, or 97006) are different from a progress note. Therapists should
not bill these codes for a progress note. Therapists may bill CPT® codes
97002, 97004, or 97006 for a reevaluation only in the following cases:

° Professional assessment indicates a significant improvement or
decline or change in the patient’s condition or a functional status
that was not anticipated in the Plan of Care (POC) for that time

interval.

° New clinical findings come to light.

° The patient fails to respond to the treatment outlined in the
current POC.

PT and OT and Athletic Trainer Evaluation and Re-Evaluation RVU
changes are as follows:
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9)

(d)

(e)

° CPT® code 97001 PT and 97003 OT Initial Evaluation = 2.48
RVUs, facility and non-facility;

° CPT® code 97005 Athletic Trainer Initial Evaluation is 85% of the
PT/OT initial evaluation service value;

° CPT®code 97002 PT and 97004 OT Re-Evaluation = 1.68
RVUs, facility and non-facility;

° CPT® code 97006 Athletic Trainer re-evaluation is 85% of the
PT/OT reevaluation value.

Payers are only required to pay for evaluation services directly
performed by a PT, OT, or ATC. All evaluation notes or reports must be
written and signed by the PT, OT or ATC. Physicians shall bill the
appropriate E&M code from the E&M section of the RBRVS.

A patient may be seen by more than one (1) health care professional on
the same day. An evaluation service with appropriate documentation
may be charged by each professional per patient, per day.

Reimbursement to PTs and OTs for coordination of care with
professionals shall be based upon the telephone codes for qualified non-
physician providers found in the RBRVS Medicine Section. Coordination
of care reimbursement is limited to telephone calls made to outside
professionals and/or to the injured worker or their family.

All interdisciplinary team conferences shall be billed in compliance with
section18-5(1)(5).

Special Tests

(a)

(b)

The following respective tests are considered special tests:

o Job Site Evaluation

. Functional Capacity Evaluation

. Assistive Technology Assessment

. Speech

. Computer Enhanced Evaluation (DoWC Z0503)
) Work Tolerance Screening (DoWC Z0504)

The facility and non-facility RVUs for DoWwC Z0503 and DoWC Z0504
shall be 0.93.

Billing Restrictions:
(i) Job Site Evaluations require prior authorization for payment (see

Rule 16-9) if exceeding two (2) hours. Computer-Enhanced
Evaluations and Work Tolerance Screenings require prior
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(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

authorization for payment for more than four (4) hours per test or
more than three (3) tests per claim. Functional Capacity
Evaluations require prior authorization for payment for more than
four (4) hours per test or two (2) tests per claim.

(i) The provider shall specify the time required to perform the test in
15-minute increments.

(iii) The value for the analysis and the written report is included in
the code’s value.

(iv) No E&M services or PT, OT, or acupuncture evaluations shall be
charged separately for these tests.

(v) Data from computerized equipment shall always include the
supporting analysis developed by the physical medicine
professional before it is payable as a special test.

(c) Provider Restrictions: all special tests must be fully supervised by a
physician, PT, OT, speech language pathologist/therapist or audiologist.

Final reports must be written and signed by the physician, PT, OT,

speech language pathologist/therapist or audiologist.

Supplies
Physical medicine supplies are reimbursed in accordance with section18-6(H).

Unattended Treatment

When a patient uses a facility or its equipment for unattended procedures, in an
individual or a group setting, bill:

DoWC Z0505 fixed fee per day 0.232 RvVU

Non-Medical Facility

Fees, such as gyms, pools, etc., and training or supervision by non-medical

providers require prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) and a written

negotiated fee.

Unlisted Service Physical Medicine

All unlisted services or procedures require a report.

Work Conditioning, Work Hardening, Work Simulation

(a) Work conditioning is a non-interdisciplinary program that is focused on
the individual needs of the patient to return to work. Usually one (1)
discipline oversees the patient in meeting goals to return to work. Refer

to Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines.

Restriction: Maximum daily time is two (2) hours per day without
additional prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9).
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(b) Work Hardening is an interdisciplinary program that uses a team of
disciplines to meet the goal of employability and return to work. This
type of program entails a progressive increase in the number of hours a
day that an individual completes work tasks until they can tolerate a full
workday. In order to do this, the program must address the medical,
psychological, behavioral, physical, functional and vocational
components of employability and return to work. Refer to Rule 17,
Medical Treatment Guidelines.

Restriction: Maximum daily time is six (6) hours per day without
additional prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9).

(c) Work Simulation is a program where an individual completes specific
work-related tasks for a particular job and return to work. Use of this
program is appropriate when modified duty can only be partially
accommodated in the work place, when modified duty in the work place
is unavailable, or when the patient requires more structured supervision.
The need for work simulation should be based upon the results of a
functional capacity evaluation and/or job analysis. Refer to Rule 17,
Medical Treatment Guidelines.

(d) For Work Conditioning, Work Hardening, or Work Simulation, the
following apply:

(i) The provider shall submit a treatment plan including expected
frequency and duration of treatment. If requested by the
provider, the payer will prior authorize payment for the treatment
plan services or shall identify any concerns including those
based on the reasonableness or necessity of care.

(i) If the frequency and duration is expected to exceed the Medical
Treatment Guidelines’ recommendation, prior authorization for
payment is required (see Rule 16-9).

(iii) Provider Restrictions: All procedures must be performed by or
under the onsite supervision of a physician, psychologist, PT,
OT, speech language pathologist or audiologist.

(e) Work Hardening/Conditioning/Simulation Billing codes and RVUs:
° CPT® code 97545 Initial 2 hours, 3.4 RVUs
° CPT® code 97546 Each additional hour, 1.7 RVUs
(15)  Wound Care
Wound care is separately payable only when devitalized tissue is debrided using
a recognized method (chemical, water, vacuums). CPT® code 97602 is not
recognized for payment.
(J) Evaluation and Management Section (E&M)
(1 Evaluation and management codes may be billed by medical providers as

defined in Rule 16-5(A)(1)(a) as well as nurse practitioners (NP) and physician
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(2)

(4)

assistants (PA). Medical record documentation shall encompass the “E&M
Documentation Guidelines” criteria as adopted in Exhibit #7 of this Rule or
Medicare’s 1997 Evaluation and Management Documentation Guidelines, to
justify the billed level of E&M service. If 50% of the time spent for an E&M visit is
shared decision making, disability counseling or coordination of care, then time
can determine the level of E&M service. Documented telephonic or on-line
communication time with the patient or other healthcare providers one (1) day
prior or seven (7) days following the scheduled E&M visit, may be included in the
calculation of total time.

Disability counseling should be an integral part of managing workers’
compensation injuries. The counseling shall be completely documented in the
medical records, including, but not limited to, the amount of time spent with the
injured worker and the specifics of the discussion as it relates to the individual
patient. Disability counseling shall include, but not be limited to, return to work,
temporary and permanent work restrictions, self-management of symptoms while
working, correct posture/mechanics to perform work functions, job task exercises
for muscle strengthening and stretching, and appropriate tool and equipment use
to prevent re-injury and/or worsening of the existing injury.

New or Established Patients

An E&M visit shall be billed as a “new” patient service for each “new injury” even
though the provider has seen the patient within the last three (3) years. Any
subsequent E&M visits are to be billed as an “established patient” and reflect the
level of service indicated by the documentation when addressing all of the
current injuries.

Transfer of care from one physician to another with the same tax ID and the
same specialty shall be billed as an “established patient” regardless of the
location.

Number of Office Visits

All providers are limited to one (1) office visit per patient, per day, per workers’
compensation claim, unless prior authorization for payment is obtained (see Rule
16-9). The E&M Guideline criteria as specified in the RBRVS E&M Section shall
be used in all office visits to determine the appropriate level.

Treating Physician Telephone or On-line Services

Telephone or on-line services may be billed if:

(a) The service is performed more than one (1) day prior to a related E&M
office visit, or

(b) The service is performed more than seven (7) days following a related
E&M office visit, and

(c) The medical records/documentation specifies all the following:
(i) The amount of time and date;
(i) The patient, family member, or healthcare provider talked to; and
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()

(7)

(iii) The specifics of the discussion and/or decision made during the
communication.

Face-to-Face or Telephonic Treating Physician or Qualified Non-physician
Medical Team Conferences

A medical team conference can only be billed if all of the criteria are met under
CPT®. A medical team conference shall consist of medical professionals caring
for the injured worker.

The billing statement shall be prepared in accordance with Rule 16, Utilization
Standards.

Face -to-face or telephonic meeting by a non-treating physician with the
employer, claim representatives or any attorney in order to provide a medical
opinion on a specific workers’ compensation case, which is not accompanied by
a specific report or written record.

Billing Code DoWC Z0601: $65.00 per 15 minutes billed to the requesting
party.

Face-to-face or telephonic meeting by a non-treating physician with the
employer, claim representatives or any attorney in order to provide a medical
opinion on a specific workers’ compensation case, which is accompanied by a
report or written record, shall be billed as a special report (see section 18-
6(G)(4)).

A consultation occurs when a treating physician seeks an opinion from another
physician regarding a patient’s diagnosis or treatment and meets the CPT®
requirements for a consultation. An independent medical exam (IME) occurs
when a physician is requested to evaluate a patient by any party or party’s
representative and is billed in accordance with section 18-6(G).

Outpatient Consultation RVUs:

CPT® 99241 non-facility = 2.57; facility = 2.15

CPT® 99242 non-facility = 3.77; facility = 3.18

CPT® 99243 non-facility = 4.71; facility = 3.96

CPT® 99244 non-facility = 6.39; facility = 5.57

CPT® 99245 non-facility = 8.15; facility = 7.23

Inpatient Consultation Codes non-facility and facility RVUs:

CPT® 99251 = 2.79

CPT® 99252 = 3.83

CPT® 99253 =4.95

CPT® 99254 = 6.39
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(9)

CPT® 99255 = 8.47

When billing for prolonged services, either face-to-face or non-face-to-face, the
provider shall provide a report that documents time distinguishable from the E&M
visit.

(K)  Telehealth

(1)

Closely associated with telemedicine is the term “telehealth”, which is often used
to encompass a broader definition of remote health care that does not always
involve clinical services. Videoconferencing, transmission of still images, e-
health including patient portals, remote monitoring of vital signs and continuing
medical education are all considered part of telemedicine and telehealth.

Telemental Health is a broad term that refers to providing mental healthcare from
a distance. Video conferencing, transmission of still images, e-health including
patient portals, remote monitoring of vital signs and continuing medical education
are all considered part of telemental health.

Services provided via telecommunications technologies are not covered if the
client has access to a comparable service within 30 miles of his/her place of
residence.

Telehealth facilities can bill for the originating fee only if the patient’s originating
site is located in a:

(a) County outside of a Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), or

(b) A Health Professional Shortage Area, either located outside of an MSA
or in a rural census tract, as determined by the office of Rural Health
Policy within the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).

Telehealth originating site facility fee:

Q3014 $35.00 /per 15 minutes

HIPAA privacy and electronic security standards are required for both the
originating site and the rendering providers.

(a) Protecting patient health information, and patient / client decision making
and consent are vital.

(b) Policies and procedures need to be in place to protect the electronic
security of data, and the physical security of telehealth equipment so that
patient health information is protected.

(c) Compliance with accreditation requirements, regulations, and relevant
legislation is necessary.

(d) Health professionals providing telehealth services shall be fully licensed,
registered, and credentialed by the appropriate governing agency.
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(®)

(6)

All telehealth procedures are required to be at an originating site that is deemed
appropriate with the appropriate HIPAA privacy and electronic security standards
in place. Authorized originating sites are:

(@)

(h)

The office of a physician or practitioner

A hospital (inpatient or outpatient)

A critical access hospital (CAH)

A rural health clinic (RHC)

A federally qualified health center (FQHC)

A hospital based or critical access hospital based renal dialysis center
(including satellites)

A skilled nursing facility (SNF)

A community mental health center (CMHC)

The physician-patient / psychologist-patient relationship needs to be established.

(@)

(b)
(c)

This relationship is established through assessment, diagnosis and
treatment of the patient. Two way live audio / video services is
acceptable to ‘establish’ a patient relationship.

Physicians / psychologists need to meet standard of care.

The patient is required to provide the appropriate consent for treatment.

Communication Protocol

(@)

(b)

Video conferencing is an advanced communication technology that may
be used for telehealth.

It is the originating site’s required responsibility to establish provider and
patient identity verification.

Payment for telehealth services from distant site practitioners

(@)

(d)

The medical providers shall bill codes G0425-G0427 for telehealth
consultations, emergency department or initial inpatient. The maximum
fee values are determined by multiplying the RBRVS RVUs and the E&M
conversion factor listed in Rule 18-4.

The medical providers shall bill codes G0406-G0408 for follow up
inpatient telehealth consultations. The maximum fee values are
determined by multiplying the RBRVS RVUs and the E&M conversion
factor listed in Rule 18-4.

Subsequent inpatient hospital care services are limited to one telehealth
visit every 3 days.
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(e)

Subsequent nursing facility care services are limited to one telehealth
visit every 30 days.

For all other physician / psychologist telehealth services, the physician /
psychologist shall bill the appropriate RBRVS CPT® code with the GT
modifier. Reimbursement is the RVU value for the CPT® code times the
appropriate CF + $5.00 when modifier GT is appended to the appropriate
CPT® code(s).

GT — Attached to the distance (rendering) physician / psychologist
billed CPT® or HCPCS indicates the service was performed via
interactive audio and video telecommunication systems. Using
the modifier certifies that the patient was present at an eligible
originating site when the telehealth service was furnished.

18-6  DIVISION ESTABLISHED CODES AND VALUES

(A) Face-to-face or telephonic meeting by a treating physician with the employer, claim
representatives, or any attorney, and with or without the injured worker. Claim
representatives may include physicians or qualified medical personnel performing payer-
initiated medical treatment reviews, but this code does not apply to requests initiated by a
provider for prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9).

Before the meeting is separately payable, the following requirements must be met:

(1) Each meeting shall be at a minimum 15 minutes.
(2) A report or written record signed by the physician is required and shall include
the following:

(a)
(b)
(c)

(d)
(e)

Who was present at the meeting and their role at the meeting;
Purpose of the meeting;

A brief statement of recommendations and actions at the conclusion of
the meeting;

Documented time (both start and end times); and
Billing code DoWC Z0701.
$75.00 per 15 minutes for time attending the meeting and preparing the

report (no travel time or mileage is separately payable). The fee includes
the cost of the report for all parties, including the injured worker.

(B) Cancellation Fees for Payer Made Appointments

(1) A cancellation fee is payable only when a payer schedules an appointment the
injured worker fails to keep, and the payer has not canceled three (3) business
days prior to the appointment. The payer shall pay:

One-half of the usual fee for the scheduled services, or $150.00, whichever is

less.
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Cancellation Fee Billing Code: DoWC Z0720
(2) Missed Appointments:

When claimants fail to keep scheduled appointments, the provider should contact
the payer within two (2) business days. Upon reporting the missed appointment,
the provider may request whether the payer wishes to reschedule the
appointment for the claimant. If the claimant fails to keep the payer’s
rescheduled appointment, the provider may bill for a cancellation fee according to
section 18-6(B).

Copying Fees

The payer, payer's representative, injured worker and injured worker's representative
shall pay a reasonable fee for the reproduction of the injured worker's medical record. If
the requester and provider agree, the copy may be provided on a disc. If the requester
and provider agree and appropriate security is in place, including, but not limited to,
compatible encryption, the copies may be submitted electronically. Requester and

provider should attempt to agree on a reasonable fee. Absent an agreement to the
contrary, the fee shall be $0.10 per page.

Copying charges do not apply for the initial submission of records that are part of the
required documentation for billing.

Copying Fee Billing Codes and Maximum Fees:

DoWC Z0721 - $18.53 for first 10 or fewer paper page(s)

DoWC Z0725 - $0.85 per paper page for the next 11-40 paper page(s)

DoWC Z0726 - $0.57 per paper page for remaining paper page(s)

DoWC Z0727 - $1.50 per microfilm page

DoWC Z0728 - $14.00 per computer disc or as agreed

DoWC Z0729 - $0.10 per electronic page or as agreed

DoWC Z0802 — actual postage paid

Deposition and Testimony Fees

(1) When requesting deposition or testimony from physicians or any other type of
provider, guidance should be obtained from the Interprofessional Code, as
prepared by the Colorado Bar Association, the Denver Bar Association, the
Colorado Medical Society and the Denver Medical Society. If the parties cannot
agree upon lesser fees for the deposition or testimony services, or cancellation
time frames and/or fees, the following deposition and testimony rules and fees
shall be used.
If, in an individual case, a party can show good cause to an Administrative Law

Judge (ALJ) for exceeding the Maximum Fee Schedule value, that ALJ may
allow a greater fee than listed in section 18-6(D) for that case.
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(2)

By prior agreement, the provider may charge for preparation time for a
deposition, for reviewing and signing the deposition or for preparation time for
testimony.

Preparation Time:
Treating or Non-treating Provider: DoWC Z0730 $325.00 per hour
Deposition:

Payment for a treating or non-treating provider’s testimony at a deposition shall
not exceed $325.00 per hour, billed in half-hour increments. Calculation of the
provider’s time shall be "portal to portal."

If requested, the provider is entitled to a full hour deposit in advance in order to
schedule the deposition.

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the deposition at least seven (7)
business days prior to the scheduled deposition, the provider shall be paid the
number of hours s/he has reasonably spent in preparation and shall refund to the
deposing party any portion of an advance payment in excess of time actually
spent preparing and/or testifying. Bill using code DoWC Z0731.

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the deposition at least five (5)
business days but less than seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled
deposition, the provider shall be paid the number of hours s/he has reasonably
spent in preparation and one-half the time scheduled for the deposition. Bill using
code DoWC Z0732.

If the provider is notified less than five (5) business days in advance of a
cancellation, or the deposition is shorter than the time scheduled, the provider
shall be paid the number of hours s/he has reasonably spent in preparation and
has scheduled for the deposition. Bill using code DoWC Z0733.

Deposition:

Treating or Non-treating provider: DoWC Z0734 $325.00 per hr.

Billed in half-hour increments

Testimony:

Calculation of the provider’s time shall be "portal to portal” (includes travel time
and mileage in both directions).

For testifying at a hearing, if requested, the provider is entitled to a four (4) hour
deposit in advance in order to schedule the testimony.

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the testimony at least seven (7)
business days prior to the scheduled testimony, the provider shall be paid the
number of hours s/he has reasonably spent in preparation and shall refund any
portion of an advance payment in excess of time actually spent preparing and/or
testifying. Bill using code DoWC Z0735.

Page 35 of 69



(E)

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the testimony at least five (5)
business days but less than seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled
testimony, the provider shall be paid the number of hours s/he has reasonably
spent in preparation and one-half the time scheduled for the testimony. Bill using
code DoWC Z0736.

If the provider is notified of a cancellation less than five (5) business days prior to
the date of the testimony or the testimony is shorter than the time scheduled, the
provider shall be paid the number of hours s/he has reasonably spent in
preparation and has scheduled for the testimony. Bill using code DoWC Z0737.

Testimony:
Treating or Non-treating provider: DoWC Z0738 $450.00 per hour
Injured Worker Travel Expenses

The payer shall pay an injured worker for reasonable and necessary expenses for travel
to and from medical appointments and reasonable mileage to obtain prescribed
medications. The rate for mileage shall be 53 cents per mile. The injured worker shall
submit a request to the payer showing the date(s) of travel and mileage, with an
explanation for any other reasonable and necessary travel expenses incurred or
anticipated.

Mileage Expense Billing Code: DoWC Z0723
Other Travel Expenses Billing Code: DoWC Z0724
Permanent Impairment Rating

(1) The payer is only required to pay for one (1) combined whole-person permanent
impairment rating per claim, except as otherwise provided in the Workers'
Compensation Rules of Procedures. Exceptions that may require payment for an
additional impairment rating include, but are not limited to, reopened cases, as
ordered by the Director or an Administrative Law Judge, or a subsequent request
to review apportionment. The authorized treating provider is required to submit
in writing all permanent restrictions and future maintenance care related to the
injury or occupational disease.

(2) Provider Restrictions

The permanent impairment rating shall be determined by the Level Il Accredited
Authorized Treating Physician (see Rule 5-5(D)).

(3) Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) Determined Without any Permanent
Impairment

When physicians determine the injured worker is at MMI and has no permanent
impairment, the physicians should be reimbursed an appropriate level of E&M
service. The authorized treating physician (generally the designated or selected
physician) managing the total workers’ compensation claim of the patient should
complete the Physician’s Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (Closing
Report), WC164 (see section 18-6(G)(2)). Reimbursement for the appropriate
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(4)

level of E&M service is only applicable if the physician examines the injured
worker and meets the criteria as defined in the RBRVS

MMI Determined with a Calculated Permanent Impairment Rating

(@)

(b)

Calculated Impairment: The total fee includes the office visit, a complete
physical examination, complete history, review of all medical records
except when the amount of medical records is extensive (see below),
determining MMI, completing all required measurements, referencing all
tables used to determine the rating, using all report forms from the AMA's
Guide to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, Third Edition
(Revised), (AMA Guides), and completing the Division form, titled
Physician's Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (Closing Report)
WC164.

Extensive medical records take longer than one (1) hour to review and a
separate report is created. The separate report must document each
record reviewed, specific details of the record reviewed and the dates
represented by the record(s) reviewed. The separate record review can
be billed under special reports for written reports only and requires prior
authorization and agreement from the payer for the separate record
review fees.

Use the appropriate DoWC code:

1) Fee for the Level Il Accredited Authorized Treating Physician
Providing Primary Care:

Bill DowWC Z0759 $355.00.
2) Fee for the Referral, Level Il Accredited Authorized Physician:
Bill DowC Z0760 $575.00.

(3) A return visit for a range of motion (ROM) validation shall be
reimbursed using the appropriate separate procedure CPT®
code in the medicine section of the RBRVS.

4) Fee for a Multiple Impairment Evaluation Requiring More Than
One (1) Level Il Accredited Physician:

All physicians providing consulting services for the completion of a whole
person impairment rating shall bill using the appropriate E&M
consultation code and shall forward their portion of the rating to the
authorized physician determining the combined whole person rating.

(G) Report Preparation

(1)

Routine Reports

Providers shall submit routine reports free of charge as directed in Rule 16-7(E)
and by statute. Requests for additional copies of routine reports and for reports
not in Rule 16-7(E) or in statute are reimbursable under the copying fee section
of this Rule. Routine reports include:
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Diagnostic testing

Procedure reports

Progress notes

Office notes

Operative reports

Supply invoices, if requested by the payer

(2) Completion of the Physician’s Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (WC164)

(@)

(b)

Initial Report

The authorized treating physician (generally the designated or selected
physician) managing the total workers’ compensation claim of the
patient completes the initial WC164 and submits it to the payer and to
the injured worker after the first visit with the injured worker. When
applicable, the emergency room or urgent care authorized treating
physician for this workers’ compensation injury may also create a
WC164 initial report. Unless requested or prior authorized by the payer
in a specific workers’ compensation claim, no other authorized physician
should complete and bill for the initial WC164 form. This form shall
include completion of items 1-7 and 10. Note that certain information in
Item 2 (such as Insurer Claim #) may be omitted if not known by the
provider.

Closing Report

The WC164 closing report is required from the authorized treating
physician (generally the designated or selected physician) managing the
total workers’ compensation claim of the patient when the injured worker
is at maximum medical improvement for all injuries or diseases covered
under this workers’ compensation claim, with or without a permanent
impairment. The form requires the completion of items 1-5, 6 b-c, 7, 8
and 10. If the injured worker has sustained a permanent impairment,
then item 9 must be completed and the following additional information
shall be attached to the bill at the time MMI is determined:

(i) All necessary permanent impairment rating reports when the
authorized treating physician (generally the designated or
selected physician) managing the total workers’ compensation
claim of the patient is Level Il Accredited, or

(i) The name of the Level Il Accredited Physician requested to
perform the permanent impairment rating when a rating is
necessary and the authorized treating physician (generally the
designated or selected physician) managing the total workers’
compensation claim of the patient is not determining the
permanent impairment rating.

Payer Requested WC164 Report
If the payer requests a provider complete the WC164 report, the payer

shall pay the provider for the completion and submission of the
completed WC164 report.
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(d) Provider Initiated WC164 Report

If a provider wants to use the WC164 report as a progress report or for
any purpose other than those designated in section18-6(G)(2)(a), (b) or
(c), and seeks reimbursement for completion of the form, the provider
shall get prior approval from the payer.

(e) Billing Codes and Maximum Allowance for completion and submission of
WC164 report

Maximum allowance for the completion and submission of the WC164
report is:

DoWC Z0750 $47.00 Initial Report

DoWC Z0751 $47.00 Progress Report (Payer Requested or Provider
Initiated)

DoWC 20752 $47.00 Closing Report

DoWC Z0753 $47.00 Initial and Closing Reports are completed on the
same form for the same date of service

Request for physicians to complete additional forms sent to them by a payer or
employer shall be paid by the requesting party. A form requiring 15 minutes or
less of a physician’s time shall be billed pursuant to (a) and (b) below. Forms
requiring more than 15 minutes shall be paid as a special report.

(a) Billing Code 20754
(b) Maximum fee is $47.00 per form completion
Special Reports

Description: The term special reports includes reports not otherwise addressed
under Rule 16, Utilization Standards, Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines and
Rule 18, including any form, questionnaire or letter with variable content. This
includes, but is not limited to, independent medical evaluations (Z0756) or
reviews when the physician is requested to review files and examine the patient
to provide an opinion for the requesting party, performed outside C.R.S. §8-42-
107.2 (the Division IME process) and treating or non-treating medical reviewers
or evaluators producing written reports pertaining to injured workers not
otherwise addressed. Special reports also include payment for meeting,
reviewing another’s written record, and amending or signing that record (see
section 18-5(1)(7)). Reimbursement for preparation of special reports or records
shall require prior agreement with the requesting party.

Billable Hours: Because narrative reports may have variable content, the content
and total payment shall be agreed upon by the provider and the report's
requester before the provider begins the report.

Advance Payment: If requested, the provider is entitled to a two (2) hour deposit

in advance in order to schedule any patient exam associated with a special
report.
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Cancellation:

Written Reports Only: In cases of cancellation for those special reports
not requiring a scheduled patient exam, the provider shall be paid for the
time s/he has reasonably spent in preparation up to the date of
cancellation. Bill the cancellation using DoWC code Z0761.

IME/report with patient exam: In cases of special reports requiring a
scheduled patient exam, if the provider is notified of a cancellation at
least seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled patient exam, the
provider shall be paid for the time s/he has reasonably spent in
preparation and shall refund to the party requesting the special report
any portion of an advance payment in excess of time actually spent
preparing. Bill the cancellation using DoWC code Z0762.

In cases of special reports requiring a scheduled patient exam, if the
provider is notified of a cancellation at least five (5) business days but
less than seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled patient exam,
the provider shall be paid for the time s/he has reasonably spent in
preparation and one-half the time scheduled for the patient exam. Any
portion of a deposit in excess of this amount shall be refunded. Bill the
cancellation using DoWC code Z0763.

In cases of special reports requiring a scheduled patient exam, if the
provider is notified of a cancellation less than five (5) business days prior
to the scheduled patient exam, the provider shall be paid for the time
s/he has reasonably spent in preparation and has scheduled for the
patient exam. Bill the cancellation using DoWC code Z0764.

Billing Codes:

Written Report Only DoWC Code: Z0755

IME/Report with patient exam DoWC Code: Z0756

Lengthy Form Completion DoWC Code: Z0757

18-5(1)(7) meeting and report
with Non-treating Physician DoWC Code: Z0758

Special Report Maximum Fees: $325.00 per hour billed in 15- minute
increments.

CRS 8-43-404 IME Audio Recording DoWC Code: Z0766
$30.00 per exam

CRS 8-43-404 IME Audio copying fee DoWC Code: Z0767
$20.00 per copy

(5) Chronic Opioid Management Report
(a) When the authorized treating physician prescribes long-term opioid

treatment, s/he shall use the Division of Workers’ Compensation Chronic
Pain Disorder Medical Treatment Guidelines and also review the
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(b)

Colorado State Board of Medical Examiners’ Policy #10-14, “Guidelines
for the Use of Controlled Substances for the Treatment of Pain.” Urine
drug tests for chronic opioid management shall employ testing
methodologies that meet or exceed industry standards for sensitivity,
specificity and accuracy. The test methodology must be capable of
identifying and quantifying the parent compound and relevant
metabolites of the opioid prescribed. In-office screening tests designed
to screen for drugs of abuse are not appropriate for chronic opioid
compliance monitoring.

(i) Drug testing shall be done prior to the initial long-term drug
prescription being implemented and randomly repeated at least
annually.

(ii) When drug screen tests are ordered, the authorized treating

physician shall utilize the Colorado Prescription Drug Monitoring
Program (PDMP).

(iii) While the injured worker is receiving chronic opioid
management, additional drug screens with documented
justification may be conducted. Examples of documented
justification include the following:

a) Concern regarding the functional status of the patient
b) Abnormal results on previous testing
c) Change in management of dosage or pain

d) Chronic daily opioid dosage above 100 mg of morphine or
equivalent

(iv) The opioids classified as Schedule Il or Schedule Il controlled
substances that are prescribed for treatment longer than 30 days
shall be provided through a pharmacy.

(v) The authorized treating physician may consider whether the
injured worker experienced an opiate-related drug overdose
event that resulted in an opiate antagonist being prescribed or
dispensed pursuant to §§ 12-36-117.7, 12-38-125.5, 12-42.5-
120, or 13-21-108.7, C.R.S. (2015). For reimbursement for an
opiate antagonist, please see Rule 18-6(N)(3)(c).

(vi) The prescribing authorized treating physician shall review and
integrate the screening results, PDMP, and the injured worker’s
past and current functional status on the prescribed levels of
medications. A written report will document the treating
physician’s assessment of the patient’s past and current
functional status of work, leisure activities and activities of daily
living competencies.

Codes and maximum fees for the authorized treating physician for a

written report with all the following review services completed and
documented:
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(vi)

Ordering and reviewing drug tests

Ordering and reviewing PDMP results

Reviewing the medical records

Reviewing the injured workers’ current functional status
Determining what actions, if any, need to be taken

Appropriate chronic pain diagnostic code (International
Classification of Diseases (ICD))

Bill using code DoWC Z0765  $75.00 per 15 minutes — maximum of 30
minutes per report

NOTE: This code is not to be used for acute or sub-acute pain

management.
(6) Functional Assessments:
(a) Pre-and post-injection assessments by a trained physician, nurse,

physician’s assistant, occupational therapist, physical therapist, or a
medical assistant may be billed with spinal or sacroiliac (SI) joint injection
codes. The following 3 elements are required:

(i)

(iif)

A brief commentary on the procedures, including the anesthesia
used in the injection and verification of the needle placement by
fluoroscopy, CT or MRI.

Pre-and post-injection procedure shall have at least 3 objective,
diagnostically appropriate, functional measures identified,
measured and documented. These may include spinal range of
motion; tolerance and time limits for sitting, walking and lifting;
straight leg raises for herniated discs; a variety of provocative SI
joint maneuvers such as Patrick’s sign, Gaeslen, distraction or
gapping and compression tests. Objective descriptions,
preferably with measurements, shall be provided initially and
post procedure at the appropriate time for medication effect,
usually 30 minutes post procedure.

There shall be a trained physician or trained non-physician
health care professional detailed report with a pre- and post-
procedure pain diagram, normally using a 0-10 point scale. The
patient(s) should be instructed to keep a post injection pain diary
that details the patient’s pain level for all pertinent body parts,
including any affected limbs. The patient pain diary should be
kept for at least 8 hours post injection and preferably up to seven
(7) days. The patient should be encouraged to also report any
changes in activity level post injection.

(b) If all three elements are documented, the billing codes and maximum
fees are as follows:
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DOWC 20811 $60.00 per episode for the initial functional
assessment of pre-injection care, billed along with the appropriate E&M
code, related to spinal or Sl joint injections.

DOWC 720812 $31.44 for a subsequent visit of therapeutic
post-injection care (preferably done by a non-injectionist and at least
seven (7) days after the injection), billed along with the appropriate E&M
code, related to follow-up care of spinal or Sl joint injections. The injured
worker should provide post injection pain data, including a pain diary.

DOWC Z0813 $31.44 for post-diagnostic injection care (repeat
functional assessment within the time period for the effective agent
given).

Medical providers who are Level | or Il accredited, or who have
completed the Division-sponsored Level | or Il accreditation program and
have successfully completed the Quality Performance and Outcomes
Payment training may bill separately for documenting functional progress
made by the injured worker. The medical providers must utilize both a
validated psychological screen and the validated functional data provided
by the injured worker or another health care provider. The medical
provider also must document whether the injured worker’s perception of
function correlates with clinical findings. The documentation of functional
progress should assist the provider in preparing a successful plan of
care, including specific goals and expected time frames for completion,
or for modifying a prior plan of care. The documentation must include:

(i) Specific testing that occurred, interpretation of testing results,
and the weight given to these results in forming a reasonable
and necessary plan of care;

(i) Explanation of how the testing goes beyond the evaluation and
management (E&M) services typically provided by the provider;

(iii) Meaningful discussion of actual or expected functional
improvement between the provider and the injured worker.

If these elements have been met, the billing code and maximum fee are
as follows:

DoWC Z0815 $ 80.00 for the initial assessment during which the
injured worker provides functional data and completes the validated
psychological screen, which the provider considers in preparing a plan of
care. This code also may be used for the final assessment that includes
review of the functional gains achieved during the course of treatment
and documentation of MMI.

DoWC Z0816 $ 40.00 for subsequent visits during which the injured
worker provides follow-up functional data which could alter the treatment
plan. The provider may use this code if the analysis of the data causes
him or her to modify the treatment plan. The provider should not bill this
code more than once every 2 to 4 weeks.
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DoWC Z0817 $15.00 for rehabilitation visits (OT/PT/biofeedback/etc.)
that allow for weekly collection of data points for no more than 6 weeks,
to determine whether the injured worker has maximized in functionalities.
Any further sessions require justification based upon functional
improvement.

(H) Supplies, Durable Medical Equipment (DME), Orthotics and Prostheses

(1

)

@)

4)

®)

(6)

Supplies necessary to perform a service or procedure are considered inclusive
and not separately reimbursable. Only supplies that are not an integral part of a
service or procedure are considered to be over and above those usually included
in the service or procedure.

Unless other limitations exist in this Rule, medical professionals shall bill
supplies, including “Supply et al.,” orthotics, prostheses, DME or drugs, including
injectables, using Medicare’s HCPCS Level Il codes, when one exists, as
established in the January 2015 Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics,
Orthotics and Supplies (DMEPQOS) schedule or the January 2015 Medicare’s
Part B Drug Average Sale Price (ASP). Otherwise, the billing provider shall
identify their cost by submitting a copy of their invoice with their bill.

The DMEPQOS schedule can be found at http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-
Fee-for-Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/ DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html (last
checked 08/14/14). The Medicare Part B Drug Average Sale Price (ASP) fees
can be found at http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Part-B-
Drugs/McrPartBDrugAvgSalesPrice/index.html.

Maximum fees for any orthotic created using casting materials shall be billed
using Medicare’s Q codes and values listed under Medicare’s DMEPOS fee
schedule for Colorado. The therapist time necessary to create the orthotic shall
be billed using CPT® code 97760.

Payers shall pay medical professionals using Medicare’s January 2015 DMEPOS
Colorado HCPCS Level Il maximum fee values or Medicare’s Part B Drug ASP
values listed for the codes billed. If no code exists, the payer shall pay 120% of
the cost for the item as indicated on the provider’s invoice.

Unless other limitations exist in this Rule, DMEPOS suppliers shall be
reimbursed using Medicare’s HCPCS Level Il codes, when one exists, as
established in the January 2015 DMEPOS schedule. Otherwise, the supplier
shall be reimbursed at 100% of Colorado Medicaid’s January 2015 fee schedule.
The Colorado Medicaid Fee Schedule can be found at:
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-rates-fee-schedule. If no Medicare or
Medicaid fee schedule value exists, payers shall reimburse Suppliers the
published Manufactures Suggested Retail Price (MSRP), the item will be
reimbursed at MSRP less 20%. If there is no established fee schedule value
or MSRP, reimbursement shall be based on 120% of the cost of the item as
indicated on the supplier’s invoice. Shipping and handling charges are not
separately payable.

Reimbursement of supplies to facilities shall be in compliance with sections 18-6

()= (O).

Payment for professional services associated with the fabrication and/or
modification of orthotics, custom splints, adaptive equipment, and/or adaptation
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()

(8)

and programming of communication systems and devices shall be paid in
accordance with the Colorado Medicare HCPCS Level Il values.

Take home exercise supplies with a total cost of $50 or less may be billed
without an invoice at a maximum fee of actual billed charges; however, payers
reserve the right to request an invoice, at any time, to validate the provider’s cost.
Home exercise supplies can include, but are not limited to the following items:
therabands, theratubes, band/tube straps, theraputty, bow-tie tubing, fitness
cables/trainers, overhead pulleys, exercise balls, cuff weights, dumbbells, ankle
weight bands, wrist weight bands, hand squeeze balls, flexbars, digiflex hand
exercisers, power webs, plyoballs, spring hand grippers, hand helper rubber
band units, ankle stretchers, rocker boards, balance paws, and aqua weights.

Complex Rehabilitation Technology dispensed and billed by Non-Physician
DMEPOS Suppliers

(a) Complex rehabilitation technology (CRT) items, including products such
as complex rehabilitation power wheelchairs, highly configurable manual
wheelchairs, adaptive seating and positioning systems, and other
specialized equipment, such as standing frames and gait trainers, enable
individuals to maximize their function and minimize the extent and costs
of their medical care.

(b) Complex Rehabilitation Technology products must be provided by
suppliers who are specifically accredited by a Center for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) deemed accreditation organization as a
supplier of CRT and licensed as a DMEPOS Supplier with the Colorado
Secretary of State.

(c) CRT shall be reimbursed as set out in section 18-6(H)(4).

0] Inpatient Hospital Facility Fees

(1

()

Provider Restrictions

All non-emergency, inpatient admissions require prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9).

Bills for Services

(a) Inpatient hospital facility fees shall be billed on the UB-04 and require
summary level billing by revenue code. The provider must submit
itemized bills along with the UB-04.

(b) The maximum inpatient facility fee is determined by applying the Center
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) “Medicare Severity Diagnosis
Related Groups” (MS-DRGs) classification system in effect at the time of
discharge. Exhibit #1 of this Rule shows the relative weights per MS-
DRGs that are used in calculating the maximum allowance.

The hospital shall indicate the MS-DRG code number FL 71 of the UB-04
billing form and maintain documentation on file showing how the MS-
DRG was determined. The hospital shall determine the MS-DRG using
the MS-DRGs Definitions Manual in effect at the time of discharge. The
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attending physician shall not be required to certify this documentation

unless a dispute arises between the hospital and the payer regarding

MS-DRG assignment. The payer may deny payment for services until
the appropriate MS-DRG code is supplied.

Exhibit #1 of this Rule establishes the maximum length of stay (LOS)
using the “arithmetic mean LOS”. However, no additional allowance for
exceeding this LOS, other than through the cost outlier criteria under
section18-6(1)(3)(d) is allowed.

Any inpatient admission requiring the use of both an acute care hospital
(admission/discharge) and its Medicare certified rehabilitation facility
(admission/discharge) is considered as one (1) admission and MS-DRG.
This does not apply to long term care and licensed rehabilitation
facilities.

Inpatient Facility Reimbursement:

(@)

The following types of inpatient facilities are reimbursed at 100% of billed
inpatient charges:

(i) Children’s hospitals
(i) Veterans’ Administration hospitals
(iii) State psychiatric hospitals

The following types of inpatient facilities are reimbursed at 80% of billed
inpatient charges:

(i) Medicare certified Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) (listed in
Exhibit #3 of this Rule)

(i) Medicare certified long-term care hospitals

(iii) Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
(CDPHE) licensed rehabilitation facilities,

(iv) CDPHE licensed psychiatric facilities that are privately owned.
(v) CDPHE licensed skilled nursing facilities (SNF).

All other inpatient facilities are reimbursed as follows:

Retrieve the relative weights for the assigned MS-DRG from the MS-
DRG table in effect at the time of discharge in Exhibit #1 of this Rule and
locate the hospital’s base rate in Exhibit #2 of this Rule.

The “Maximum Fee Allowance” is determined by calculating:

0] (MS-DRG Relative Wt x Specific hospital base rate x 185%) +

(trauma center activation allowance) + (organ acquisition, when
appropriate).
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(e)

(i) For trauma center activation allowance, (revenue codes 680-
685) see section18-6(J)(6)(b)5).

(iii) For organ acquisition allowance, (revenue codes 810-819) see
section 18-6(1)(3)(h).

Outliers are admissions with extraordinary cost warranting additional
reimbursement beyond the maximum allowance under section 18-
6(1)(3)(c). To calculate the additional reimbursement, if any:

(i) Determine the “Hospital’'s Cost™:
Total billed charges (excluding any trauma center activation or

organ acquisition billed charges) multiplied by the hospital’s cost-
to-charge ratio.

(i) Each hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio is given in Exhibit #2 of this
Rule.
(iii) The “Difference” = “Hospital’s Cost” — “Maximum Fee Allowance”

excluding any trauma center activation or organ acquisition
allowance (see (c) above).

(iv) If the “Difference” is greater than $22,544.00, additional
reimbursement is warranted. The additional reimbursement is
determined by the following equation:

“Difference” x .80 = additional fee allowance

Inpatient combined with Emergency Room Department (ERD), Trauma
Center or organ acquisition reimbursement

(i) If an injured worker is admitted to the hospital, the ERD
reimbursement is included in the inpatient reimbursement under
section 18-6 (1)(3),

(i) Trauma Center activation fees (see section 18-6(J)(6)(b)5)) and
organ acquisition allowance (see section 18-6(1)(3)(h)) are paid
in addition to inpatient fees (see sections 18-6(1)(3)(c-d)).

If an injured worker is admitted to one hospital and is subsequently
transferred to another hospital, the payment to the transferring hospital
will be based upon a per diem value of the MS-DRG maximum value.
The per diem value is calculated based upon the transferring hospital’s
MS-DRG relative weight multiplied by the hospital’s specific base rate
(Exhibit #2 of this Rule) divided by the MS-DRG geometric mean length
of stay (Exhibit #1 of this Rule). This per diem amount is multiplied by
the actual LOS. If the patient is admitted and transferred on the same
day, the actual LOS equals one (1). The receiving hospital shall receive
the appropriate MS-DRG maximum value.

To comply with Rule 16-6(B), the payer shall compare each billed charge
type:

Page 47 of 69



(h)

. The MS-DRG adjusted billed charges to the MS-DRG allowance
(including any outlier allowance);

. The trauma center activation billed charge to the trauma center
activation allowance; and

. The organ acquisition charges to the organ acquisition maximum
fees under section 18-6(1)(3)(h).

The MS-DRG adjusted billed charges are determined by subtracting the
trauma center activation billed charges and the organ acquisition billed
charges from the total billed charges. The final payment is the sum of
the lesser of each of these comparisons.

The organ acquisition allowance will be calculated using the most recent
filed computation of organ acquisition costs and charges for hospitals
which are certified transplant centers (CMS Worksheet D-4 or
subsequent form) plus 20%.

(J) Outpatient Hospital Facility Fees

(1)

Provider Restrictions

(@)

(b)

All non-emergency outpatient surgeries require prior authorization for
payment (see Rule 16-9).

A separate facility fee is only payable if the facility is licensed as a
hospital by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
(CDPHE) or applicable out of state governing agency and statute.

Types of Bills for Service

(@)

(c)

Outpatient facility fees shall be billed on the UB-04 and require summary
level billing by revenue code. The provider must submit itemized bills
along with the UB-04.

All professional charges (professional services include, but are not
limited to, PT/OT, anesthesia, speech therapy, etc.) are subject to the
RBRVS and Dental Fee Schedules as incorporated by this Rule and
applicable to all facilities regardless of whether the facility fees are based
upon Exhibit #4 of this Rule or a percentage of billed charges.

Outpatient hospital facility bills include all outpatient surgery, ERD,
Clinics, Urgent Care (UC) and diagnostic testing in the Radiology,
Pathology or Medicine section of CPT®RBRVS.

Outpatient Facility Reimbursement:

(@)

The following types of outpatient facilities are reimbursed at 100% of
billed outpatient charges, except for any associated professional fees
(see (J)(2)(b) above):

(i) Children’s hospitals

Page 48 of 69



(i) Veterans’ Administration hospitals
(iii) State psychiatric hospitals

(b) The CAHs listed in Exhibit #3 to this Rule are reimbursed at 80% of billed
outpatient clinic facility charges, except for any associated professional
fees.

(c) Exhibit #4 to this Rule:

Hospital reimbursement is based upon Medicare’s 2015 Outpatient
Prospective Payment System (OPPS) as modified in Exhibit #4 of this
Rule. Exhibit #4 lists Medicare’s Outpatient Hospital Ambulatory
Prospective Payment (APC) Codes and the Division’s established rates
for hospitals and other types of providers as follows:

. Column 1 lists the APC code number.

. Column 2 lists APC code description.

. Column 3 is used to determine maximum fees for all
Outpatient Hospital Emergency Room Departments
(ERDs).

. Column 4 is used to determine maximum fees for all
hospital facilities not listed under sections18-6(J)(3)(a)
and (b).

. Column 5 is used to determine maximum fees for all

Ambulatory Surgery Centers (ASC) when outpatient
surgery is performed in an ASC.

To identify which APC grouper is aligned with an Exhibit #4 APC code #
and dollar value, use Medicare’s 2015 Addendum B. Grouper code 210
in Exhibit #4 was created by the Division to reimburse RVP®© spinal
fusion codes not listed in Medicare’s Hospital Outpatient Prospective
Payment System, Addendum B.

The APC Exhibit #4 values include the following packaged revenue codes
inclusive of the following services and may not be billed separately (all surgically
implanted items that remain in the body post-surgery are separately payable at
cost to the facility):

(a) nursing, technician, and related services;

(b) use of the facility where the surgical procedure(s) was performed;

(c) drugs and biologicals for which separate payment is not allowed;

(d) medical and surgical supplies, durable medical equipment and orthotics

not listed as a “pass through”;

(e) surgical dressings;
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(f) equipment;

(9) splints, casts and related devices;

(h) radiology services when not allowed under Exhibit #4;

(i) administrative, record keeping and housekeeping items and services;
)] materials, including supplies and equipment for the administration and

monitoring of anesthesia;

(k) supervision of the services of an anesthetist by the operating surgeon;
and
)] post-operative pain blocks.

Packaged Services

Revenue Code | Description

0250 Pharmacy; General Classification

0251 Pharmacy; Generic Drugs

0252 Pharmacy; Non-Generic Drugs

0254 Pharmacy; Drugs Incident to Other Diagnostic Services
0255 Pharmacy; Drugs Incident to Radiology

0257 Pharmacy; Non-Prescription

0258 Pharmacy; IV Solutions

0259 Pharmacy; Other Pharmacy

0260 IV Therapy; General Classification

0261 IV Therapy; Infusion Pump

0262 IV Therapy; IV Therapy/Pharmacy Services

0263 IV Therapy; IV Therapy/Drug/Supply Delivery

0264 IV Therapy; IV Therapy/Supplies

0269 IV Therapy; Other IV Therapy

0270 Medical/Surgical Supplies and Devices; General Classification
0271 Medical/Surgical Supplies and Devices; Non-sterile Supply
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Packaged Services

Revenue Code

Description

0272 Medical/Surgical Supplies and Devices; Sterile Supply

0275 Medical/Surgical Supplies and Devices; Pacemaker

0276 Medical/Surgical Supplies and Devices; Intraocular Lens

0278 Medical/Surgical Supplies and Devices; except surgically implanted items

0279 Medical/Surgical Supplies and Devices; except surgically implanted items

0280 Oncology; General Classification

0289 Oncology; Other Oncology

0343 Nuclear Medicine; Diagnostic Radiopharmaceuticals

0344 Nuclear Medicine; Therapeutic Radiopharmaceuticals

0370 Anesthesia; General Classification

0371 Anesthesia; Anesthesia Incident to Radiology

0372 Anesthesia; Anesthesia Incident to Other DX Services

0379 Anesthesia; Other Anesthesia

0390 Administration, Processing and Storage for Blood and Blood Components; General
Classification

0392 Administration, Processing and Storage for Blood and Blood Components; Processing
and Storage

0399 Administration, Processing and Storage for Blood and Blood Components; Other Blood
Handling

0621 Medical Surgical Supplies - Extension of 027X; Supplies Incident to Radiology

0622 Medical Surgical Supplies - Extension of 027X; Supplies Incident to Other DX Services

0623 Medical Supplies - Extension of 027X, Surgical Dressings

0624 Medical Surgical Supplies - Extension of 027X; FDA Investigational Devices

0630 Pharmacy - Extension of 025X; Reserved

0631 Pharmacy - Extension of 025X; Single Source Drug

0632 Pharmacy - Extension of 025X; Multiple Source Drug
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Packaged Services

Revenue Code

Description

0633 Pharmacy - Extension of 025X; Restrictive Prescription

0700 Cast Room; General Classification

0710 Recovery Room; General Classification

0720 Labor Room/Delivery; General Classification

0721 Labor Room/Delivery; Labor

0732 EKG/ECG (Electrocardiogram); Telemetry

0821 Hemodialysis-Outpatient or Home; Hemodialysis Composite or Other Rate

0824 Hemodialysis-Outpatient or Home; Maintenance - 100%

0825 Hemodialysis-Outpatient or Home; Support Services

0829 Hemodialysis-Outpatient or Home; Other OP Hemodialysis

0942 Other Therapeutic Services (also see 095X, an extension of 094x); Education/Training

0943 Other Therapeutic Services (also see 095X, an extension of 094X), Cardiac
Rehabilitation

0948 Other Therapeutic Services (also see 095X, an extension of 094X), Pulmonary

Rehabilitation

(5) Recognized Status Indicators from Medicare’s Addendum B are applied as
follows:
(a) “A” means use another fee schedule instead of Exhibit #4, i.e., 18-4

Conversion Factors or 18-6(R) Ambulance Fee Schedule.

(b) “B” means it is not recognized by Medicare for Outpatient Hospital
services Part B bill type (12x and 130x) and therefore is not separately
payable unless separate fees are applicable under another section of
this Rule, such as home health.

(c) “C” means recognized by Medicare as inpatient only procedures;
however, the Division does recognize these procedures can be done
outpatient if prior authorization is obtained per Rule 16-9.

(d) “D” means discontinued code and not paid under OPPS by Medicare.
Therefore, this code is not separately payable in OPPS by DoWC.

(e) “E” means not paid by Medicare when submitted on any outpatient bill
type. However, services could still be reasonable and necessary, thus
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(i)

()

requiring hospital or ASC level of care. The billing party shall submit
documentation to substantiate the billed service codes and any similar
established codes with fees in Exhibit #4.

“F” means corneal tissue acquisition, certain CRNA services and
Hepatitis A vaccines are allowed at a reasonable cost to the facility. The
facility must provide a separate invoice identifying their cost.

“G” means “Pass-Through Drugs and Biologicals” that are separately
payable under Exhibit #4 as an APC.

“H” means a “Pass-Through Device” that is separately payable under
Exhibit #4 based upon cost to the facility. Any surgically implanted items
are allowed at “cost” to the facility.

“J” means the services are paid through a “comprehensive APC” for
Medicare. However, the DoWC has not adopted the “comprehensive
APC.” Therefore, an agreement between the payer and the provider is
necessary to implement “comprehensive APCs.”

“K” means a separately payable “Pass-Through Drug or Biological or
Device,” for therapeutic radiopharmaceuticals, brachytherapy sources,
blood and blood products as listed under Exhibit #4.

“L” represents Influenza Vaccine and therefore, is generally not
considered workers’ compensation related.

Any “Packaged Codes” with Q1, Q2, Q3, or STVX combinations are not
recognized unless the payer and provider make a prior agreement.

“M” means not separately payable unless separate fees are applicable
under another section of this Rule, such as home health.

“N” means the service is bundled and is not separately payable.

“P” means partial hospitalization and is paid based upon observation
fees as outlined in section 18-6(J).

“‘R” means separate payment for blood and blood products.
“S” and “T” mean there are multiple procedures, the highest valued code
allowed at 100% of the Exhibit #4 value and up to three (3) additional

codes allowed at 50% of the Exhibit #4 value, per episode of care.

“U” means brachytherapy source and is separately payable under the
APC system.

“V” represents a clinic or ERD visit and is separately payable for
hospitals as specified in section18-6(J).

“X” represents Ancillary Services and is separately payable.
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(u)

“Y” represents non-implantable Durable Medical Equipment and is paid
according to Medicare’s Durable Medical Equipment Regional Carrier
(DMERC) fee schedule for Colorado.

(6) Total maximum facility value for an outpatient hospital episode of care includes:

(@)

(b)

The highest valued CPT® code aligned to APC code per Exhibit #4 plus
50% of any lesser-valued CPT® code aligned APC code values.

Facility fee reimbursement is limited to a maximum of four (4) CPT®
procedure codes per episode, with a maximum of only one (1) procedure
reimbursed at 100% of the allowed Exhibit #4 value for the type of
facility:

. Hospital Outpatient ERD bills are reimbursed based upon
Column 3;

. Hospitals are reimbursed based upon Column 4.

. ASCs are reimbursed based upon Column 5.

Fees in addition to section 18-6(J)(6) and requirements necessary to be
reimbursed under Column 3 from Exhibit #4 for an Outpatient Hospital
ERD Column:

(i) Outpatient ERDs within Colorado must be physically located
within a hospital licensed by the CDPHE as a general hospital; or

(i) Free-standing ERD, must have equivalent operations as a
licensed ERD,; or

(iii) Meets the out-of-state facility’s state’s licensure requirements.

(iv) The ERD “Level of Care” is identified based upon one (1) of five
(5) levels of care. The level of care is defined by CPT® E&M
definitions and internal level of care guidelines developed by the
hospital in compliance with Medicare regulations. The hospital’s
guidelines should establish an appropriate graduation of hospital
resources (ERD staff and other resources) as the level of service
increases. Upon request the provider shall supply a copy of their
level of care guidelines to the payer. (Only the higher one (1) of
any ERD levels or critical care codes shall be paid).

(v) Trauma Center fees are not paid for alerts. Trauma activation
fees are as follows:

. Revenue Code 681 $3,000.00
. Revenue Code 682 $2,500.00
. Revenue Code 683 $1,000.00
. Revenue Code 684 $0
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(c)

(vii)

(viii)

. These fees are in addition to ERD and inpatient fees.

. Activation fees mean a trauma team has been activated,
not just alerted.

. The level of trauma activation shall be determined by
CDPHE'’s assigned hospital trauma level designation.

The hospital shall be paid an outlier threshold payment if the
hospital’s cost is greater than its maximum fee per billed line by
$500.00. The outlier calculation is as follows:

. “Cost” is calculated by taking the individual hospital’s
“CCR’ rate listed in Exhibit #2 of this Rule and
multiplying it by the hospital’s line charge.

. “Difference” is equal to the Hospital’s line cost
subtracted from the line maximum fee.

. If the line “difference” is greater than $500.00, then the
maximum outlier dollar is 80% of the difference. If the
difference is equal to or less than $500.00 then no
additional outlier dollars are warranted.

For the purposes of Rule 16-6 (B), the sum of all outpatient ERD
fees charged, less any amounts charged for professional fees
found on the same bill, is to be compared to the maximum
reimbursement allowed by the calculated value of seciton18-
6(J)(6)(b). The lesser of the two (2) amounts shall be the
maximum facility allowance for the ERD episode of care. A line
by line comparison is not appropriate.

If an injured worker is admitted to the hospital through that
hospital’'s ERD, the ERD reimbursement is included in the
inpatient reimbursement under section 18-6(1)(3).

Multiple APCs identified by multiple CPT® codes are to be indicated by
the use of modifiers —51 and -50, respectively. The 50% reduction
applies to all lower valued procedures, even if they are identified in the
CPT® as modifier -51 exempt. The reduction also applies to the second
"primary" procedure of bilateral procedures.

(i)

(ii)

All surgical procedures performed in one (1) operating room,

regardless of the number of surgeons, are considered one (1)
outpatient surgical episode of care for purposes of facility fee
reimbursement.

If an arthroscopic procedure is converted to an open procedure
on the same joint, only the open procedure is payable. If an
arthroscopic procedure and open procedure are performed on
different joints, the two (2) procedures may be separately
payable with anatomic modifiers.
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(e)

(iii) When reported in conjunction with other knee arthroscopy codes,
any combination of surgical knee arthroscopies for removal of
loose body, foreign body, and/or debridement/shaving of articular
cartilage shall be paid only if performed in a different
compartment of the knee using G0289.

(iv) Discontinued surgeries require the use of modifier -73
(discontinued prior to administration of anesthesia) or modifier -
74 (discontinued after administration of anesthesia). Modifier -73
results in a reimbursement of 50% of the APC value for the
primary procedure only. Modifier -74 allows reimbursement of
100% of the primary procedure value only.

(v) In compliance with Rule 16-6(B), the sum of section 18-6(J)(3)(c)
Columns 1-5 is compared to the total facility fee billed charges.
The lesser of the two amounts shall be the maximum facility
allowance for the surgical episode of care. A line by line
comparison of billed charges to the calculated maximum fee
schedule allowance of section 18-6(J)(3)(c) is not appropriate.

Any diagnostic testing clinical labs or therapies with a status indicator
(SI) of “A” may be reimbursed using Exhibit #8 of this Rule or the
appropriate CF to the unit values for the specific CPT® code as listed in
the RBRVS. Hospital bill types 13x or 14x are allowed payment for any
clinical laboratory services (even if the Sl is “N” for the specific clinical
laboratory CPT® code) when these laboratory services are unrelated to
any other outpatient services performed that day. Modifier L1 should be
appended to the billed laboratory services. The maximum fees are
based upon Exhibit #8.

Observation room Maximum Fee Schedule value is limited to six (6)
hours without prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9).
Documentation should support the medical necessity for observation or
convalescent care. Observation time begins when the patient is placed
in a bed for the purpose of initiating observation care in accordance with
the physician’s order. Observation or daily outpatient convalescence
time ends when the patient is actually discharged from the hospital or
ASC or admitted into a licensed facility for an inpatient stay. Observation
time would not include the time patients remain in the observation area
after treatment is finished for reasons such as waiting for transportation
home. Hospital or convalescence licensure is required for billing
observation or convalescence time beyond 23 hours.

Billing Codes:

G0378 Observation/Convalescence rate: $45.00 per hour,
round to the nearest hour.

Professional fees are reimbursed according to the fee schedule times the
appropriate conversion factor regardless of the facility type. Additional
reimbursement is payable for the following services not included in the
values found in Exhibit #4 of this Rule:

. ambulance services (Revenue Code 540), see section18-6(R)

Page 56 of 69



(h)

blood, blood plasma, platelets (Revenue Codes 380X)
Physician or physician assistant services

Nurse practitioner services

Licensed clinical psychologist

Licensed social workers

Rehabilitation services (PT, OT, Respiratory or
Speech/Language, Revenue Codes 420, 430,440) are paid
based upon the RBRVS unit value multiplied by the applicable
conversion factor. Modifiers are required to indicate the type of

care plan or therapist being billed. See Rule 18-5(1) Physical
Medicine & Rehabilitation for appropriate modifiers.

Any prescription for a drug supply to be used longer than a 24 hour
period, filled at any clinic, shall fall under the requirements of and be
reimbursed as a pharmacy fee, see section 18-6(N).

Clinics (part of a hospital or a freestanding clinic) (Form Locator (FL) 4
are 07xx and revenue codes 51x-53x):

(i)

Provider Restrictions - types of facilities that are recognized for
separate clinic facility fees:

¢ Rural Health Clinics as identified under Rule 18, Exhibit #5
and/or as certified by the Colorado Department of Public
Health and Environment;

o Critical Access Hospitals as identified under Rule 18, Exhibit
#3 and/or as certified by the Colorado Department of Public
Health and Environment;

e Any specialty care clinic (wound/infections) that requires
expensive drugs/supplies that are not typically provided in a
physician’s office.

Billing and Maximum Fees

o Clinics designated as rural health facilities and listed in
Exhibit #5 to this Rule may be reimbursed a single separate
clinic fee at 80% of billed charges per date of service,
regardless of whether the clinic has been designated by the
employer, the urgency of the episode of care, or the time of
day.

e CAHs listed in Exhibit #5 of this Rule may be reimbursed a
single separate clinic fee at 80% of billed charges per date of
service.

e Any specialty care clinic (wound/infections) that requires
drugs/supplies that are typically not provided in a physician’s
office may be allowed a separate clinic fee with prior
approval from the payer, as outlined in Exhibit #4
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(K)

(L)

(i)

e No other clinic facility fees are payable except those listed in
sections 18-6(1), (J), (K) or (L).

(iii) Clinic fees are paid based upon Exhibit #4 and as outlined in this
Rule.

IV Infusions Performed in Outpatient Hospital Facilities

IV infusion therapy performed in an outpatient hospital facility is
reimbursed per section18-6(J).

Ambulatory Surgery Centers:

(1)

Provider Restrictions

(@)

(b)

A separate facility fee is only payable if the facility is licensed as an
Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) by the Colorado Department of Public
Health and Environment (CDPHE) or applicable out of state governing
agency and statute.

All outpatient surgical procedures performed in an ASC shall be
reasonable and necessary and warrant the performance of the
procedure at an ASC level.

Billing Codes and Maximum Fees

ASCs are reimbursed in accordance with section18-6(J) for any surgical
episodes of care. Column 5 from Exhibit #4 of this Rule lists the dollar value used
to determine the maximum fees.

Urgent Care Facilities (hospital - revenue codes 456, 516, 526) or non-hospital):

(1)

Provider Restrictions

Facility fees are only payable if the facility qualifies as an Urgent Care facility. All
Urgent Care facilities shall be certified by the Urgent Care Association of America
(UCAOA) to be recognized for a separate facility payment for the initial visit.

Billing and Maximum Fees:

(@)

(b)

Prior authorization is recommended for all facilities billing a separate
Urgent Care fee. Facilities must provide documentation of the required
Urgent Care facility certification if requested by the payer.

Urgent Care Facility fee is HCPCS code S9088, $75.00.
(i) No separate facility fees are allowed for follow-up care. To
receive a separate facility fee, a subsequent diagnosis shall be

based on a new acute care situation and not the initial diagnosis.

(ii) No facility fee is appropriate when the injured worker is sent to
the employer's designated provider for a non-urgent episode of
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(M)

(e)

care during regular business hours of 8 am to 5 pm, Monday
through Friday.

(iii) Hospitals and affiliated free-standing clinics may bill on the UB04
using revenue codes 456, 516, or 526 and the facility HCPCS
code S9088 with 1 unit. All maximum fees for other services
billed on the UB04 shall be based on Rule 18-6(J) and Exhibit
#4.

(iv) Non-hospital based urgent care facilities may bill for the facility
fee, HCPCS code S9088, on the CMS 1500 with professional
services. All other services and procedures provided in an
urgent care facility, including a freestanding facility, are
reimbursed according to the appropriate CPT® code relative
weight from RBRVS multiplied by the appropriate Rule 18-4
conversion factor.

All professional physician or non-physician fees shall be billed on a CMS
1500 with a Place of Service Code #20. The maximum fees shall be in
accordance with the appropriate CPT® code relative weight from RBRVS
multiplied by the appropriate Rule 18-4 conversion factor.

The Observation Room allowance shall not exceed $45.00 per hour and
is limited to a maximum of three (3) hours without prior authorization for
payment (see Rule 16-9).

G0378 Observation rate: $45.00 per hour

All supplies are included in the facility fee for urgent care facilities.

Any prescription for a drug supply to be used for longer than 24 hours,

filled at any clinic, shall fall under the requirements of and be reimbursed
as a pharmacy fee. See Rule 18-6(N).

Home Care Services

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) is required for all home care-services. All
skilled home care service providers shall be licensed by the Colorado Department of
Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) as Type A or B providers. The payer and the
home health entity should agree in writing on the type of care, the type and skill level of
provider, frequency of care and duration of care at each visit, and any financial
arrangements to prevent disputes.

(1) Home Infusion Therapy

The per day or refill rates for home infusion therapy shall include all reasonable
and necessary products, equipment, IV administration sets, supplies, supply
management, and delivery services necessary to perform the infusion therapy.
Per diem rates are only payable when licensed professionals (RNs) are providing
“reasonable and necessary” skilled assessment and evaluation services in the
patient’'s home.

Skilled Nursing fees are separately payable when the nurse travels to the injured
workers home to perform initial and subsequent patient evaluation(s), education,
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and coordination of care. Skilled nursing fees are billed and payable as indicated

under section 18-6(L)(2).

(@)

(b)

Parenteral Nutrition:

59364 <1 Liter $160.00/ day

S9365 1 liter $174.00/ day
59366 1.1 - 2.0 liter $200.00/ day
S9367 2.1 - 3.0 liter $227.00/ day
59368 > 3.0 liter $254.00/ day

The per day rates include the standard total parenteral nutrition (TPN)

formula. Lipids, specialty amino acid formulas, and drugs other than in
standard formula are separately payable under section 18-6(N).

Antibiotic Therapy per day rate by professional + drug cost at Medicare’s
Average Sale Price (ASP). If ASP is not available, bill using the drug cost
at Average Wholesale Price (AWP).

S9494 hourly

$158.00/ day

S9497 once every 3 hours $152.00/ day

S9500 every 24 hours $97.00/ day

S$9501 once every 12 hours $110.00/ day

S9502 once every 8 hours $122.00/ day

S9503 once every 6 hours $134.00/ day

S9504 once every 4 hours $146.00/ day

Chemotherapy per day rate + drug cost at Medicare’s Average Sale
Price (ASP). If ASP is not available, bill using the drug cost at Average
Wholesale Price (AWP).

$9329 Administrative Services $ 0.00/ day
S9330 Continuous (24 hrs. or more) chemotherapy $91.00/ day
S9331 Intermittent (less than 24 hrs.) $103.00/ day

Enteral nutrition (enteral formula and nursing services separately
billable):
S9341 Via Gravity $44.09/ day

S9342 Via Pump $24.23/ day
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S9343 Via Bolus $24.23/ day

Pain Management per day or refill + drug cost at Medicare’s Average
Sale Price (ASP). If ASP is not available, bill using the drug cost at
Average Wholesale Price (AWP).

S9326 Continuous (24 hrs. or more) $ 79.00/ day
S9327 Intermittent (less than 24 hrs.) $103.00/ day
S$9328 Implanted pump $116.00/ refill

(No separate daily rate is applicable when the patient has an implanted
pain pump.)

Fluid Replacement per day rate + drug cost at Medicare’s Average Sale
Price (ASP). If ASP is not available, bill using the drug cost at Average
Wholesale Price (AWP).

S9373 <1 liter per day $61.00/ day
S9374 1 liter per day $85.00/ day
S9375 >1 but <2 liters per day $85.00/ day
S9376 >2 liters but <3 liters $85.00/ day
S9377 >3 liters per day $85.00/ day
Multiple Therapies:

Highest cost per day or refill only + drug cost at Medicare’s Average Sale
Price (ASP). If ASP is not available, bill using the drug cost at Average
Wholesale Price (AWP).

Medication/Drug Restrictions - the payment for drugs may be based
upon Medicare’s Average Sale Price (ASP). If ASP is not available, bill
using the drug cost at Average Wholesale Price (AWP).

AWP (see section 18-6(N)) of the drug is determined through the use of
industry publications such as the monthly Price Alert, First Databank, Inc.

(2) Nursing Services

(@)

Skilled Nursing (LPN & RN)
S9123 RN $111.00/hr.
S9124 LPN $ 89.00/hr.

There is a limit of two (2) hours without prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9).

Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA):
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(N)

(4)

S9122 CNA $ 45.00/hr.

The amount of time spent with the injured worker must be specified in
the medical records and on the bill.

Physical Medicine

Physical medicine procedures are payable at the same rate as provided in
section 185(H), Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

Mileage

Travel allowances should be agreed upon with the payer and the mileage rate
should not exceed $0.53 per mile, portal to portal.

DoWC code: Z0772
Travel Time

Travel is typically included in the fees listed. Travel time greater than one (1)
hour one-way shall be reimbursed. The fee shall be agreed upon at the time of
prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) and shall not exceed $30.00 per
hour.

DoWC code: Z0773

Drugs/Supplies/DME/Orthotics/Prosthetics Used For At-Home Care

As defined in Rule 18-6(H), any drugs/supplies/DME/Orthotics/Prosthetics
considered integral to any at-home professional’s service are not separately
payable.

The maximum fees for non-integral drugs/supplies/DME/Orthotics/Prosthetics

used during a professional’s home care visits are listed in Rule 18-6(H). All IV
infusion supplies are included in the per diem or refill rates listed in this rule.

Drugs and Medications

(1

)

@)

Drugs (brand name or generic) shall be reported on bills using the applicable
identifier from the National Drug Code (NDC) Directory as published by the Food
and Drug Administration (FDA)

Average Wholesale Price (AWP)

(a) AWP for brand name and generic pharmaceuticals may be determined
through the use of such monthly publications as Price Alert, Red Book,
or Medispan. In case of a dispute on AWP values, the parties should
take the average of their referenced published values.

(b) If published AWP data becomes unavailable, substitute Wholesale
Acquisition Cost (WAC) + 20% for AWP everywhere it is found in this
Rule.

Reimbursement for Drugs & Medications
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(a) For prescriptions, except compounded topical prescriptions, written
within 30 days from the date of injury, reimbursement shall be AWP +
$4.00.

(b) For prescriptions, except compounded topical prescriptions, written after
30 days from the date of injury, reimbursement shall be AWP + $4.00. If
drugs have been repackaged, use the original AWP and NDC that was
assigned by the source of the repackaged drugs to determine
reimbursement.

(c) Reimbursement for an opiate antagonist prescribed or dispensed under

4)

8§§ 12-36-117.7, 12-38-125.5, 12-42.5-120, 13-21-108.7, C.R.S. (2015),

to injured worker at risk of experiencing an opiate-related drug overdose
event, or to a family member, friend, an employee or volunteer of a harm
reduction organization, or other person in a position to assist the injured

worker shall be AWP plus $4.00.

(d) Drugs administered in the course of the provider’s direct care
(injectables) shall be reimbursed at the provider’s actual cost incurred or
Medicare’s Part B Drug Average Sale Price (ASP).

(e) Over-the-counter medications, drugs that are safe and effective for use

by the general public without a prescription, are reimbursed at NDC/AWP
and are not eligible for dispensing fees.

Compounded Drugs

All prescriptions shall be billed using the DoWC Z code corresponding with the
applicable category for compounded topical products, including prepackaged
compounded medications, as follows:

Category | Z0790 Fee $75.00 per 30 day supply

Any anti-inflammatory medication or any local anesthetic single agent.

Category |l Z0791 Fee $150.00 per 30 day supply

Any anti-inflammatory agent or agents in combination with any local anesthetic
agent or agents.

Category Il Z0792 Fee $250.00 per 30 day supply

Any single agent other than anti-inflammatory agent or local anesthetic, either
alone, or in combination with anti-inflammatory or local anesthetic agents.

Category IV Z0793 Fee $350.00 per 30 day supply

Two (2) or more agents that are not anti-inflammatory or local anesthetic agents,
either alone or in combination with other anti-inflammatory or local anesthetic
agents.

All ingredient materials must be listed by quantity used per prescription.

Category fees include materials, shipping and handling, and time. Regardless of
how many ingredients or what type, compounded drugs cannot be reimbursed
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®)

(6)

(")

(8)

higher than the Category IV fee. The 30 day Maximum Fee Schedule value shall
be fractioned down to the prescribed and dispensed amount given to the injured
worker.

Injured Worker Reimbursement

In the event the injured worker has directly paid for authorized prescriptions, the
payer shall reimburse the injured worker for the amounts actually paid for
authorized prescriptions or authorized over-the-counter drugs within 30 days
after submission of the injured worker’s receipt. See Rule 16-11(G).

Dietary Supplements, Vitamins and Herbal Medicines

Reimbursement for outpatient dietary supplements, vitamins and herbal
medicines dispensed in conjunction with acupuncture and complementary
alternative medicine are authorized only by prior agreement of the payer, except
if specifically provided for in Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines.

Prescription Writing

(a) Physicians shall indicate on the prescription form that the medication is
related to a workers’ compensation claim.

(b) All prescriptions shall be filled with bio-equivalent generic drugs unless
the physician indicates "Dispense As Written" (DAW) on the prescription.
In addition to the requirements outlined in Rule 16-5(B)(2), providers
using pharmacies and prescribing a brand name compounded topical
drug with a DAW indication shall provide a written medical justification
explaining the reasonableness and necessity of the brand name over the
generic equivalent. This rule applies to all pharmacies, whether located
in-state or out-of-state.

(c) The provider shall prescribe no more than a 60-day supply per
prescription.

Required Billing Forms
(a) All parties shall use one (1) of the following forms:

(i) CMS-1500 — the dispensing provider shall bill by using the metric
quantity and NDC number of the drug being dispensed; or, if one
does not exist, the RBRVS supply code; or

(i) WC-M4 form or equivalent — each item on the form shall be
completed; or

(iii) With the agreement of the payer, the National Council for
Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) or ANSI ASC 837
(American National Standards Institute Accredited Standards
Committee) electronic billing transaction containing the same
information as in (1) or (2) in this sub-section may be used for
billing.
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NCPDP Workers’ Compensation/Property and Casualty (P&C)
Universal Claim Form, version 1.1, for prescription drugs billed
on paper shall be used by dispensing pharmacies and pharmacy
benefit managers (PBMs). Physicians may use the CMS- 1500
billing form as described in Rule 16-7(B)(1).

Physicians shall list the “repackaged” and the “original” NDC
numbers in field 24 of the CMS-1500. List the “repackaged”
NDC number first and the “original” NDC number second, with
the prefix ‘ORIG’ appended.

(b) Items prescribed for the work-related injury that do not have an NDC
code shall be billed as a supply, using the RBRVS supply code (see
section18-6(H)).

(c) The payer may return any prescription billing form if the information is
incomplete.
(d) A signature shall be kept on file indicating that the injured worker or

his/her authorized representative has received the prescription.

(9) A line-by-line itemization of each drug billed and the payment for that drug shall
be made on the payment voucher by the payer.

Complementary Alternative Medicine (CAM)

CAM is a term used to describe a broad range of treatment modalities, some of which are
generally accepted in the medical community and others that remain outside the
accepted practice of conventional western medicine. Non-physician providers of CAM
may be both licensed and non-licensed health practitioners with training in one (1) or
more forms of therapy and certified by the National Certification Commission for
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) in acupuncture and/or Chinese
herbology. CAM requires prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9). Refer to Rule
17, Medical Treatment Guidelines for the specific types of CAM modalities.

Acupuncture

Acupuncture is an accepted procedure for the relief of pain and tissue inflammation.
While commonly used for treatment of pain, it may also be used as an adjunct to physical
rehabilitation and/or surgery to hasten return of functional recovery. Acupuncture may be
performed with or without the use of electrical current on the needles at the acupuncture
site.

(1) Provider Restrictions
All non-physician providers must be a Licensed Acupuncturist (LAc) by the
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies as provided in Rule 16, Utilization
Standards. All physician and non-physician providers must provide evidence of
training, and licensure upon request of the payer.

(2) Billing Restrictions
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(a) For treatment frequencies exceeding the maximum allowed in Rule 17,
Medical Treatment Guidelines, the provider must obtain prior
authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9).

(b) Unless the provider’'s medical records reflect medical necessity and the
provider obtains prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9), the
maximum amount of time allowed for acupuncture and procedures is one
(1) hour of procedures, per day, per discipline.

(3) Billing Codes:

(a) Reimburse acupuncture, including or not including electrical stimulation,
as listed in the RBRVS.

(b) Non-Physician evaluation services

(i) New or established patient services are reimbursable only if the
medical record specifies the appropriate history, physical
examination, treatment plan or evaluation of the treatment plan.
Payers are only required to pay for evaluation services directly
performed by an LAc. All evaluation notes or reports must be
written and signed by the LAc. Without appropriate supporting
documentation, the payer may deny payment. (See Rule 16-11)

(i) LAc new patient visit: DOWC 20800
Maximum value $99.80

(iii) LAc established patient visit: DOWC Z0801
Maximum value $67.60

(c) Herbs require prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) and fee
agreements as per section18-6(M)(6).

(d) See the appropriate Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation section of the
RBRVS for other billing codes and limitations (see also section18-5(H)).

(e) Acupuncture supplies are reimbursed in accordance with section 18-
6(H).

Use of an Interpreter

Rates and terms shall be negotiated. Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9) is
required except for emergency treatment. Use DoWC Z0722 to bill.

Ambulance Fee Schedule

(1) Billing Requirements:
Payment under the fee schedule for ambulance services is comprised of a base
rate payment plus a payment for mileage. Both the transport of the injured worker
to the nearest facility and all items and services associated with such transport

are considered inclusive with the base rate and mileage rate.

(2) General Claims Submission:
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(a) All hospitals billing for ground or air ambulance services shall bill on the
UB-04 and all other ambulance providers shall bill on the CMS-1500.

(b) Use the appropriate HCPCS code plus the HCPCS origin/destination

modifier.

(c) The transporting supplier's name, complete address and provider
number should be listed in Item 33 (CMS-1500).

(d) The zip code for the origin (point of pickup) must be in Item 23 (CMS-
1500). If billing on the UB-04 use FL 39-41 with an “AO” and the point of
pick up zip code. If billing for multiple trips and the zip code for each
origin is the same, services can be submitted on the same claim. If the
Zip codes are different, a separate claim must be submitted for each trip.

(3) Ground and Air Ambulance Vehicle and Crew Requirements

As required by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

(4) HCPCS Procedure Codes and Maximum Allowances for Ambulance Services:

(a) Ground (both water and land) Ambulance Base Rates and Mileage

The selection of the base code is based upon the condition of the injured
worker at the time of transport, not the vehicle used and includes
services and supplies used during the transport.

Urban Rural (R =Zip | Super
Code) First 17 | Rural (B
miles or > if =Zip code)
not a Super
Rural
Ground HCPCS Code Description Medicare Medicare Rate | Medicare
Ambulance Rate *250% Rate
*250% *250%
A0425 Ground mileage, per statute mile $ 18.18 $ 18.36 $ 18.36
A0426 Ambulance service, advanced life support, | $ 683.41 $690.11 $ 846.07
non-emergency transport, level 1 (ALS1-
Non-Emergency)
A0427 Ambulance service, advanced life support, | $1,082.07 | $1,092.67 $1,339.62
emergency transport, level 1 (ALS1-
Emergency)
A0428 Ambulance service, basic life support, $ 561.51 $575.09 $ 705.06
non-emergency transport (BLS)
A0429 Ambulance service, basic life support, $ 911.21 $ 920.15 $1,128.10
emergency fransport (BLS-Emergency)
A0433 Advanced life support, level 2 (ALS2) $1,566.15 $1,581.50 $1,938.92
A0434 Specialty care transport (SCT) $1,850.90 | $1,869.05 $2,291.45
A0432 Paramedic intercept (PI), rural area, $ 996.64 $ 1,006.41 $
transport furnished by a volunteer 1,006.41
ambulance company which is prohibited
by state law from billing third party payers.
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The “urban” base rate(s) and mileage rate(s) as indicated in section 18-6(R) shall be applied to all
relevant/applicable ambulance services unless the zip code range area is “Rural” or “Super Rural.”
Medicare MSA zip code grouping is listed on Medicare’s webpage with an “R” indicator for “Rural” and “B”
indicator for “Super Rural.” See Medicare’s Zip Code to Carrier Locality File- Updated 08/27/2014.

(5) Modifiers

Modifiers identify place of origin and destination of the ambulance trip. The
modifier is to be placed next to the HCPCS code billed. The following is a list of
current ambulance modifiers. Each of the modifiers may be utilized to make up
the first and/or second half of a two-letter modifier. The first letter must describe
the origin of the transport, and the second letter must describe the destination
(Example: if a patient is picked up at his/her home and transported to the
hospital, the modifier to describe the origin and destination would be — RH).

Code

D

E

X »w =D

(6) Mileage

Description
Diagnostic or therapeutic site other than “P” or “H”

Residential, domiciliary, custodial facility, nursing home other than SNF
(other than 1819 facility)

Hospital-based dialysis facility (hospital or hospital-related) which
includes:

- Hospital administered/Hospital located
- Non-Hospital administered/Hospital located
Hospital

Site of transfer (e.g., airport, ferry, or helicopter pad) between modes of
ambulance transport

Non-hospital-based dialysis facility
- Non-Hospital administered/Non-Hospital located
- Hospital administered/Non-Hospital located
Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF) (1819 Facility)
Physician’s Office (includes HMO non-hospital facility, clinic, etc.)
Residence
Scene of Accident or Acute Event

Destination Code Only (Intermediate stop at physician’s office en route to
the hospital, includes HMO non-hospital facility, clinic, etc.)
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18-7

Charges for mileage must be based on loaded mileage only, i.e., from the pickup
of a patient to his/her arrival at the destination. Payment is allowed for all
medically necessary mileage. If mileage is billed, the miles must be in whole
numbers. If a trip has a fraction of a mile, round up to the nearest whole number.
Use code “1” as the mileage for trips of less than a mile.

DENTAL FEE SCHEDULE

The dental fee schedule is adopted using the American Dental Association’s Current Dental
Terminology, 2015 (CDT-2015). However, surgical treatment for dental trauma and subsequent,
related procedures may be billed using medical codes from the RBRVS. If billed using medical
codes as listed in the RBRVS, reimbursement shall be in accordance with the Surgery/
Anesthesia section of the RBRVS and its corresponding conversion factor. All dental billing and
reimbursement shall be in accordance with the Division's Rule 16, Utilization Standards, and Rule
17, Medical Treatment Guidelines. See Exhibit #6 of this Rule for the listing and Maximum Fee
Schedule value for CDT-2015 dental codes.

Regarding prosthetic appliances, the provider may bill and be reimbursed for 50% of the allowed
fee at the time the master casts are prepared for removable prosthodontics or the final
impressions are taken for fixed prosthodontics. The remaining 50% may be billed on insertion of
the final prosthesis.
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