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 PROGRAM OVERVIEW 

The Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP) distributes federal and state funds to 
partially compensate qualified health care providers for uncompensated costs associated 
with services rendered to the indigent population. Qualified health care providers who 
receive this funding render discounted health care services to Colorado residents, migrant 
workers and legal immigrants with limited financial resources who are uninsured or 
underinsured and not eligible for benefits under Health First Colorado or the Child Health 
Plan Plus (CHP+). 

The Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (Department) administers 
the CICP by distributing funding to qualified health care providers who serve eligible 
persons who are indigent. The Department issues procedures to ensure the funding is 
used to serve the indigent population in a uniform method. Any significant departure 
from these procedures will result in termination of the contract with, and the funding to, 
a health care provider. The legislative authority for this program was originally enacted in 
1983 and can currently be found under 25.5-3-101, et seq., C.R.S., the “Reform Act for 
the Provision of Health Care for the Medically Indigent.” State rules implementing this 
legislation, 10 CCR 2505-10 8.900 – 8.908, are found at the Colorado Secretary of State’s 
website. 

Section 1.01 Provisions Applicable to Providers 

Providers eligible for participation in the CICP must meet the following minimum criteria: 

 Licensed as a community health clinic or certified as a general hospital, maternity 
hospital (birth center) by the Department of Public Health and Environment (DPHE). 

 A federally qualified health center, as defined in section 1861 (aa) (4) of the federal 
“Social Security Act”, 42 U.S.C sec. 1395x (aa) (4). 

 A rural health clinic, as defined in section 1861 (aa) (2) of the federal “Social 
Security Act”, 42 U.S.C sec. 1395x (aa) (2). 

 Assure that emergency care is available to all CICP clients throughout the contract 
year. 

 If the provider is a hospital, the hospital must have at least two obstetricians with 
staff privileges at the hospital who agree to provide obstetric services to individuals 
entitled to such services as Health First Colorado clients. In the case where a 
hospital is located in a rural area, the term "obstetrician" includes any physician with 
staff privileges at the hospital to perform non-emergency obstetric procedures. This 
obstetrics requirement does not apply to a hospital in which the patients are 
predominantly under 18 years of age; or which does not offer non-emergency 
obstetric services as of December 21, 1987. 

http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900.pdf?ruleVersionId=6171&fileName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900.pdf?ruleVersionId=6171&fileName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900
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 PROVIDER AND APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES 

Section 2.01 Provider’s Statement of Responsibilities 

Providers participating in the CICP shall: 

1. Treat all clients with respect and with consideration for the client’s dignity and 
privacy; 

2. Inform clients of how to express opinions, compliments or concerns, and how to 
make a complaint without fear of reprisal; 

3. Strive to provide timely resolutions to the client’s complaints or concerns;  

4. Protect the privacy and confidentiality of the client’s health and financial records; 

5. Offer clients information on all treatment options, and allow clients to participate in 
decisions regarding his or her health care; 

6. Notify the client of the availability of sign language and interpreter services in 
accordance with applicable laws and regulations, when such services are necessary; 

7. Ensure the availability of program information – applications, informational 
materials, forms and brochures; 

8. Prohibit discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability;  

9. Upon request, provide applicants with copies of all signed worksheets and 
documents; and 

10. Explain to the client or guardian that discounted services may vary and that a rating 
based on financial resources will determine their portion of the bill. 

CICP providers are encouraged to establish policies and procedures specific to their 
facility which do not directly contradict this manual. 

 The Department is available for informational queries of a general nature. 

 Providers are responsible for determining eligibility.  

 Not all circumstances in determining client eligibility are covered in this manual and 
the manual is not meant to be all-inclusive.  
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Section 2.02 Client’s Statement of Responsibilities 

Clients applying for or receiving discounted CICP services shall: 

1. Acknowledge that the CICP is not health insurance, does not offer a specific benefit 
package, is not an entitlement to medical benefits and that there are limitations to 
services discounted; 

2. Acknowledge that discounted CICP health care services vary by provider location; 

3. Give the CICP provider all the necessary financial information and documentation 
needed to complete the application; 

4. Shall not give false information with the intent to commit fraud; 

5. Tell the CICP provider if a CICP financial rating was issued by another provider and 
notify the CICP provider within 15 days if the CICP rating is disputed; 

6. Be responsible for paying any money owed on time, and as required, or work with 
the CICP provider to make payment arrangements; 

7. Notify the CICP provider promptly of changes in resources, income and all other 
household changes that may affect the CICP rating; 

8. Communicate any information, concerns and/or questions related to the financial 
screening to the appropriate representative; 

9. Respect the property of the CICP provider, fellow clients and others; and 

10. Follow all other rules and regulations of the CICP provider’s location relating to 
respectful treatment and rights of other clients and provider staff. 
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 SERVICES OFFERED & SUBROGATION POLICY 

Section 3.01 Services Provided Under the CICP 

Health care services provided to CICP clients must be medically necessary, as 
determined by the CICP provider. Medical necessity is defined in 10 CCR 2505-10, 
Section 8.076.1.8., and means a good or service that will, or is reasonably expected to 
prevent, diagnose, cure, correct, reduce, or ameliorate the pain and suffering, or the 
physical, mental, cognitive, or developmental effects, of an illness, injury, or disability. It 
may also include a course of treatment that includes mere observation or no treatment at 
all. The good or service must be: 

i. Provided in accordance with generally accepted standards of medical practice in the 
United States; 

ii. Clinically appropriate in terms of type, frequency, extent, site, and duration; 

iii. Not primarily for the economic benefit of the provider or for the convenience of the 
client, caretaker, or provider; and 

iv. Performed in a cost effective and most appropriate setting required by the client’s 
condition. 

The Department does not determine Medical necessity. All health care services 
normally provided at the hospital and/or clinic shall be regularly available at a discount to 
CICP clients unless the provider sets a standardized policy that limits available services. 
Providers shall offer emergency services at a discount. Emergency services must be 
provided at a discount to any CICP client, even if that client resides outside the provider's 
service area. 

If a CICP provider agrees to accept a client transfer from another CICP provider, the 
client must be provided discounted services from both providers. It is the receiving 
provider's decision to charge an additional copayment for the service provided. It would 
be appropriate to charge an inpatient copayment if the client was being admitted to a 
hospital and the client had only paid an outpatient copayment at the primary provider. 

Section 3.02 CICP Subrogation Policy 

The CICP does not have any subrogation rights concerning any settlements or 
judgments, but those rights are retained by the facility where the medical service was 
provided (the provider). The provider is obligated to make all reasonable efforts to collect 
amounts due from third party coverage and applicable co-payment amounts, and shall 
maintain auditable evidence of such efforts. The client’s medical claims and service 
information, and any related charges, must be obtained directly from the provider and 
the client’s attorney is obligated to request the relevant information directly from the 
provider. Through any settlement or judgment award, the provider has the right to 
recover all applicable charges related to the medical service provided, even if the initial 
charge was discounted under the CICP. 

This document is available on line at colorado.gov/hcpf. Follow the link labeled For Our 
Providers, Get Info, FAQ’s & More, Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP),and then 
Attorney Subrogation Policy. 

https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/cicp


5 | FY 2016-17 CICP Manual - Eligibility 

 EXCLUDED SERVICES 

Section 4.01 Excluded Services 

The following services are not reimbursable through the CICP: 

1. Services not Medically Necessary as determined by medical professionals; 

2. Elective surgeries that are not medically necessary; 

3. Nursing home care; 

4. Chiropractic services; 

5. Sex change surgical procedures; 

6. Cosmetic surgery; 

7. Experimental and non-FDA approved treatments; 

8. Non-urgent dental services; 

9. Court-ordered procedures, such as drug testing; 

10. Abortions, except as specified in Sec. 25.5-3-106, C.R.S.; 

11. Mental health services as a primary diagnosis in an outpatient or clinic setting; the 
CICP can reimburse for the services if they are a secondary diagnosis; and 

12. Prescription drugs included in the definition of Medicare Part-D are excluded from 
CICP eligible clients who are also eligible for Medicare;  

13. Prescriptions for Medical Marijuana 
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 HEALTH COVERAGE PLANS 

Section 5.01 Health Coverage Plans 

The CICP is not a health coverage plan as defined in Section 10-16-102 (22.5) C.R.S. The 
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), Division of Insurance, defines a 
health coverage plan as a policy, contract, certificate or agreement of coverage offered to 
individuals. An insurance contract shall include a list of procedures and benefits covered 
under the policy. An insured individual shall be entitled to receive a contract and/or 
evidence of coverage as approved by the Insurance Commissioner as defined in 10-16-
102, C.R.S. The CICP cannot be used as proof of medical insurance 

The CICP does not offer a specified discounted medical benefit package or an entitlement 
to medical benefits or funding to individuals or medical providers. Medically indigent 
persons receiving discounted health care services from qualified health care providers are 
subject to certain limitations and requirements. The CICP makes “it possible to use state 
funds to partially reimburse providers for services given to the state’s non-Health First 
Colorado medically indigent residents. Therefore, medically indigent persons accepting 
medical services from this program shall be subject to the limitations and requirements 
imposed in this article,” Section 25.5-3-102 C.R.S. The CICP is not a health coverage plan 
as defined in Section 10-16-102 (22.5) C.R.S. 

Section 5.02 HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) 

The Department has determined that the CICP is NOT a “covered entity” under the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) privacy regulations 
(45 C.F.R. Parts 160 and 164). Because the CICP is not a part of Health First Colorado, 
and its principal activity is the making of grants to providers who serve eligible persons 
who are medically indigent, CICP is not considered a covered entity under HIPAA. The 
CICP provider is the covered entity and shall comply with all requirements under HIPAA 
regarding the rights of the clients they serve. Decisions made to protect the privacy rights 
of clients are solely those of the covered entity. The state personnel administering the 
CICP will provide oversight in the form of procedures and conditions, to ensure funds 
provided are being used to serve the target population, but they will not be significantly 
involved in any health care decisions or disputes involving a health care provider or client. 
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 CLIENT ELIGIBILITY FOR CICP 

Section 6.01 Overview of Requirements 

The “CICP Eligibility Section” contains the program guidelines for determining eligibility. 
The Department refers to eligibility determination as “the rating process.” The 
Department intends that the rating process be uniform across the state. 

 The rating process takes a “snapshot” of an applicant’s financial resources as of the 
date the rating takes place and a signed application is obtained. Ratings usually 
occur on the initial date of service. (Full month of current income). 

 Ratings are retroactive for services received up to 90 days prior to application, or if 
there are applicants with other health insurance coverage, when the third-party 
payer has an adjudicated claim. Therefore, when an applicant who has received 
services applies for the CICP, the applicant is applying for a discount on already 
incurred medical charges. Providers may extend the deadline for special 
circumstances under a policy determined and set by the provider.  

 All CICP clients must have an initial rating which is usually valid for one year. 
However, initial ratings may change for various reasons. The most common method 
of changing a client’s rating is “client re-rating.” Clients are re-rated due to specific 
situations, household change, or when Management Exception rating expires. Re-
rates do not apply to bills prior to the re-rate. 

In general, all applicants aged 18 and older must: 

1. Sign an affidavit indicating their citizenship status; 

2. Provide one approved document to demonstrate that they are lawfully present in 
the country; 

3. Be a resident of the State of Colorado or communicate “Intent to Remain in Colorado”; 

4. Furnish a Social Security number-NOT CARD (or documentation that they have 
applied for one); and 

5. Meet all other CICP eligibility requirements (related to income, etc.). 

Section 6.02 Instructions for Completing the Application 

When completing the CICP client application (application), the provider must obtain as 
much documentation as possible to support the applicant’s financial status. 
Documentation assures that State funds are used appropriately. Except in the event of an 
emergency, an application can be denied for non-compliance if the client refuses to 
provide required information or documentation. 

The provider should schedule an appointment with the applicant to complete the 
application within 45 days after the date of service and must make a reasonable attempt 
to complete the application within 90 days after the date of service. It is in the provider’s 
best interests to ask first-time clients whether or not they have received a CICP rating 
with a different provider. 
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Clients are responsible for notifying the provider’s billing office if they have received a 
CICP rating from another CICP facility. Clients must report their CICP eligibility rating to 
the provider within 90 days of service. If a client fails to report his or her CICP eligibility 
rating within 90 days, the provider is not obligated to provide a discount. 

Section 6.03 Emergency Application 

Sometimes it may not be practical to rate an applicant using the regular CICP application 
process. For example, an individual seen in an emergency room because of an injury may 
be unable to provide all of the information or documentation required by the usual 
application process. The CICP Emergency application should only be used for 
patients that appear not to be categorically eligible for Health First Colorado. 
For emergency situations, complete the following steps. 

1. Use the regular CICP application, but check “EMERGENCY” at the top (right 
corner) of the application; 

2. Ask the applicant to respond verbally to all questions and to sign the application; 
and 

3. Assign a CICP rating based on the verbal information provided. 

By following the above steps, you have created an “Emergency application.” An 
Emergency application is good for one episode of service in an emergency room and any 
subsequent or concurrent service (such as in inpatient hospital stay) related to the 
emergency room episode. The subsequent or concurrent service must immediately follow 
the emergency room service to qualify as part of an emergency episode. Treatment must 
be continuous to be considered part of the same emergency episode. If the client 
receives any care other than the emergency room visit that is not related to the 
emergency room episode, you must request the client to submit documentation to 
support all figures on the Emergency application OR complete a new CICP application. If 
the documentation submitted by the client does not support the verbal information, you 
must complete a new CICP application. If the client does not submit any supporting 
documentation or complete a new application upon the request of the provider, the 
provider shall use the information contained in the Emergency application, however, 
other unrelated services shall not be discounted. 

An individual can only complete an Emergency application once a year. Any requests for 
medical care in the emergency room after the initial date of service or episode must 
include a completed application accompanied by the requested documentation. Any 
applicant who meets the definition of homeless (see CICP Regulations Section 8.907. 
B.a., for the definition of homeless) is not restricted to completing an Emergency 
application only once a rating year. 

Providers must allow a client to complete an Emergency application once a year when the 
client seeks emergency services, even if the client does not reside in the geographical 
area where the provider typically offers CICP discounted health care services. 

http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900.pdf?ruleVersionId=6171&fileName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900.pdf?ruleVersionId=6171&fileName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900
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Section 6.04 Other Provider’s Rating 

Providers are not required to accept each other’s rates if a provider believes the rate was 
determined inaccurately or that the person was rated incorrectly. If a discrepancy exists, 
providers are asked to contact each other and arrive upon the correct rating.  

It is the burden of the provider of the original application to make available the 
applicant’s application and supporting for auditing for 6 State fiscal years. The original 
application is the property of the original provider, and a copy of the card should suffice 
for any subsequent provider rendering medical services to client screened by another 
CICP provider. 
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 CICP CLIENT APPLICATION 

Section 7.01 Applicant Name 

The name entered should be that of the person responsible for paying incurred charges 
(The Guarantor). Any non-minor household member can be the responsible party. If an 
applicant is deceased, the executor of the estate or a family member can complete the 
application on behalf of the applicant. CICP Providers can complete the application on 
behalf of deceased patient, only as the last remedy. The executor or family member 
completing the application will not be responsible for any copayments incurred on behalf 
of the deceased member. 

Section 7.02 Applicant Address 

Applicant’s address refers to the residence of all family members included in the rating. 
All members included under this rating must live at this address. This address cannot be 
a business address or an empty lot. The family address must be the primary place where 
the family resides. See “Colorado Resident” under Section 9.01 for more information on 
the family’s primary home. 

Clients with a Z-Rating are exempt from client copayments. Homeless clients are exempt 
from the income verification requirement, and providing proof of residency when 
completing the CICP application. Homeless applicants are not exempt from applying for 
Health First Colorado. 

A person is considered homeless who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate night-time 
residence or has a primary night time residency that is: 

A. A supervised publicly or privately operated shelter designed to provide temporary 
living accommodations;  

B. An institution that provides a temporary residence for individuals intended to be 
institutionalized; or 

C. A public or private place not designed for or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping 
accommodation for human beings. This does not include an individual imprisoned or 
otherwise detained pursuant to federal or state law. 

Section 7.03 Household Member’s Name  

Record the name of each family member who has or will receive care through the CICP, 
or will be included in the family size calculation for Line 7, Section II of the application. 

Determining family members to include on the application: The following 
information will assist in determining if a family member can receive care through the 
CICP and/or be counted in family size. The first table shows family members for whom 
financial support and dependency does not need to be demonstrated. The second table 
shows family members for whom at least 50% of their financial support must be 
demonstrated before they can be counted in the family for purposes of inclusion on the 
CICP application. 



11 | FY 2016-17 CICP Manual - Eligibility 

FAMILY MEMBERS FOR WHOM FINANCIAL SUPPORT DOES NOT NEED TO BE 
DEMONSTRATED

 Spouses (including Common-Law Marriage) 

 Unborn children 

 Grandparents 

 Minor children  
(See Section. 7.04 Relationship Codes) 

 Minor grandchildren 

 Civil Union Partners 

 Adopted minor children 

 Parents

All other family members must receive at least 50% of their support from the 
responsible party in order to be included on the CICP application for the family. Proof 
of support includes the family member being listed on the prior year’s tax return as a 
dependent and/or proof of support expenses through cancelled checks or copies of 
money orders. 

FAMILY MEMBERS FOR WHOM FINANCIAL SUPPORT MUST BE DEMONSTRATED

 Step-children 

 Step-parents 

 Adult grandchildren 

 Cousins 

 Step-grandchildren 

 Adult brothers and 
sisters 

 Brothers-in-law and 
sisters-in-law 

 Nephews and nieces 

 Parents-in-law 

 Adult children 

 Sons-in-law and 
daughters-in-law 

 All others not specifically 
listed in the first table, 
above

Section 7.04 Relationship Codes 

Enter the appropriate Relationship Code number: 

1 Self 2 Spouse/ Civil Union Partner  3 Child  4 Stepchild  5 Other 

1. Married Couples: BOTH spouses must be included on the application. Married 
couples will receive the same CICP rating unless one of the spouses is Health First 
Colorado eligible or an undocumented immigrant; in which case, both are still 
included in family size. 

A married couple means that the couple is legally married. Proof of marriage is a 
marriage license or marriage certificate. Married couples may keep their finances 
separate, including payments for medical care. However, according to the Joint 
Liability for Family Expenses, 14-6-110, C.R.S., the expenses of the family and the 
education of the children are chargeable upon the property of both spouses, or 
either of them and in relation thereto they may be sued jointly or separately. If one 
spouse does not want to give the necessary financial information, rate the family 
based on the best information available. However, inform the non-compliant spouse 
that according to Colorado law spouses are responsible for each other’s medical 
charges. 
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Married couples wishing to separate, divorce or have the marriage annulled must 
provide legal documentation of the separation, the dissolution of marriage, 
annulment or declaration of invalidity to be considered separate for CICP eligibility. 
For those who have not yet officially filed for a legal separation or dissolution of 
marriage, but intend to do so, or for those who have filed but an official court 
decree has not yet been issued, a letter from their attorney verifying their status will 
suffice. If an applicant cannot afford court associated costs, and can demonstrate to 
the court they are indigent, court costs owed to the state may be waived. 

2. Common Law Marriage: If a person meets the requirements for common law 
marriage, the same rules apply as with married couples as stated in Section 7.04.1. 
All five of the following requirements must be met for a common-law marriage in 
Colorado: 

a. It must be the INTENT of both parties to be spouses; 

b. Both parties must be 18 years of age or older; 

c. Both parties must be free to marry (single, widowed or legally divorced); 

d. Both parties must live together; and 

e. Both parties, by reputation, must claim to be married 

 If one or more of these conditions are not met, a couple living together is not a 
“family” for CICP ratings. This means both partners must complete separate 
applications. 

 As with married couples, the spouse does not have to take the other spouse’s 
last name for a common-law marriage.  

 Providers may request an affidavit of Common Law Marriage signed by both 
parties. 

 As with Married Couples, couples wishing to separate or divorce must provide 
legal documentation of the separation or the dissolution of marriage to be 
considered separate for CICP eligibility. 

3. Civil Union: Both partners must be included on the CICP application. Partners in a 
Civil Union will receive the same CICP rating unless one of the partners is Health 
First Colorado eligible or an undocumented immigrant; in which case, both are still 
included in family size. 

A Civil Union includes any two unmarried adults, regardless of gender. Proof of the 
civil union is a certified civil union certificate. Partners may keep their finances 
separate, including payments for medical care. Parties to a civil union are 
responsible for the financial support, the expenses of the family, education of the 
children and medical charges of one another in the manner prescribed under law for 
spouses. 
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Parties wishing to dissolve a civil union must file an action for dissolution of a civil 
union, legal separation of a civil union, or declaration of invalidity of a civil union 
with the clerk of a court of record for the state of Colorado. 

4. Minors (under the age of 18): Minors should not be rated separately from their 
parents or guardians unless they are emancipated. Exception to this requirement is 
made for the following reasons: 

a. A minor who has a child and obtains medical care for the child (the minor parent is 
legally responsible for the cost of care); 

b. Examination and treatment for sexually transmitted diseases; 

c. Examination and treatment for alcohol and/or drug addiction; 

d. Obstetrical and gynecological procedures, birth control procedures, supplies or 
information. If the parents of a minor child who is pregnant have insurance to 
cover that child, but the insurance excludes pregnancy of the minor and the 
parents are claiming financial responsibility for her, that child is not considered 
emancipated and should be rated based on the parent’s income. If the parents do 
not qualify for the program, then she cannot be covered under CICP. 

e. Voluntary mental health services, but only if the minor is fifteen years old or older; 

f. Treatment or testing for HIV; and 

g. Confidential Teen Services Program - Minors in this program are rated without 
consideration of their parent's income under the conditions described. Therefore, 
when minors seek services and claim no income other than the parents' income, 
they will be rated category A. If the minor declares personal income, e.g., part-
time job, that income will be used in determining the rating. If the rating is higher 
than category A, the higher rating will prevail.  

5. Emancipated Minors: “Emancipated juvenile”, pursuant to [19-2-511, C.R.S.], 
means "a juvenile over fifteen years of age and under eighteen years of age who 
has, with the real or apparent assent of the juvenile’s parents, demonstrated 
independence from the juvenile’s parents in matters of care, custody and earnings. 
The term may include, but shall not be limited to, any such juvenile who has the 
sole responsibility for the juvenile’s own support, who is married, or who is in the 
military.” 

6. Communal Groups: Do not include unrelated members of religious orders and 
communal living groups on the same application. Each unrelated member must 
complete a separate application. 

7. Family Members Outside of Colorado: If a family member lives outside of 
Colorado, including in a foreign country, that individual is not a Colorado resident. 
However, count the member in family size if the responsible party provides more 
than 50% of the member’s support and claims the member as a dependent for 
income tax purposes. 
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8. Family Members Eligible for SSI, Child Support and Foster Care: Include 
family members receiving cash assistance. Family members receiving only cash 
assistance can receive care under the CICP if they are not Health First Colorado 
eligible. 

9. Family Members Eligible for Health First Colorado: Family members eligible 
for Health First Colorado cannot receive care under the CICP, but can be included in 
the family size calculation. 

10. Additional situations involving children: 

a. Unborn Children: Include the unborn child/children of a pregnant woman in family 
size on the family’s application. Verification of pregnancy can be completed 
through visual observation or a letter from a physician. 

b. Children of Divorced Couples –In accordance with Health First Colorado policy, 
under CICP, children of parents who have joint custody should be counted in both 
parents’ households. 

c. Children in School - Include children age 18 years or older who are attending high 
school or college and whose parents support them, on the parents’ application. DO 
NOT count any income the child may earn, financial support does not need to be 
demonstrated for the child that is 18 years of age and in high school or in college. 

d. Disabled Children - Include a child with disabilities, regardless of age, on the 
parent’s application if the parents support the child. If the disabled child is Health 
First Colorado eligible, the child cannot receive medical care through the CICP, but 
should be included in family size. Exception: An adult child with a disability and 
gainfully employed must complete a separate application. 

e. Adult Children - Adult children (defined as 18 years or older) living at home can be 
counted in the family unit only if the entire family is listed on the application, and 
the adult child receives 50% of their support from the responsible party. If the 
adult child has an income, and not in school, the amount must be included in 
determining the family financial status. Adult children may submit their own 
application if they desire, but in this case would not be included on the family 
application for income or household size. 

f. Newborns use the mother’s Social Security number up to the age of 1 year. 

g. Family Members Eligible for CHP+ - Any family member eligible for CHP+ is 
included in the family size calculation for the CICP. 

Section 7.05 Date of Birth 

You must enter the date of birth for all family members included in family size or 
receiving discounted services through the CICP, except for unborn children. 

Section 7.06 Health First Colorado State ID Number 

If any family member listed receives Health First Colorado, record the state Health First 
Colorado ID number on the application. 
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Section 7.07 Social Security Number 

All applicants must have a Social Security number. You must enter the Social Security 
number for all family members receiving discounted medical care through the CICP on 
the CICP application. The only exception to this is for unborn children. If an applicant 
does not have a social security number, effective July 1, 1997, a receipt of application for 
a Social Security number must be received at the time of CICP application. This receipt is 
only valid if the applicant already has a valid Social Security number. A CICP provider 
may choose to write only the last four digits of the applicant’s Social Security number on 
the CICP card. 
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 FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY  

The guidelines below should be followed when utilizing the written CICP Application. If 
the electronic copy of the application is used, refer to instructions contained inside the 
Excel spreadsheet regarding usability and functionality. 

Include with the applicant’s application the full names, phone numbers and addresses of 
all employers and retirement payments. Income sources include payments from 
employment, Social Security, pension funds, unemployment compensation and self-
employment. List the income sources for all family members age 18 and over. Earned 
income from a working minor (under the age of 18) is exempt. 

Section 8.01 Determining the Applicant’s Income  

The Department has three methods for determining an applicant’s income and 
establishing financial status. The methods are (in order of priority): 

Line 1 – Employment Income:  

Line 2 - Unearned Income; and 

Line 3 - Self-Employment 

Calculate all income beginning with Line 1, “Gross Employment Income.” 

When calculating income, you must obtain as much documentation as possible (this 
documentation must comply with CICP policies) to substantiate amounts. 

Section 8.02 Employment Income  

Employment income is income earned (including overtime and bonuses) for providing 
services to another individual or company. Earned income from a working minor (under 
the age of 18) is exempt. Employment income for CICP does not include self-employment 
income which is addressed separately. Documentation of employment income is a pay 
stub, a letter on official letterhead from the applicant’s employer, or on the CICP 
Provider’s letterhead. 

There are 3 steps to calculating current employment income. 

Step 1. Obtain documentation for current month or previous months’ employment 
income. The rating process looks at the financial circumstances of a 
household as of the date a signed application is completed. If an applicant 
has just started a new job, for example, and has less than one month’s worth 
of pay stubs, or has not received a paycheck yet, utilize the information 
available to calculate the applicant’s monthly income and convert to an 
annual income. The Department recommends calculating the monthly income 
using the Year to Date Method as described below. Complete Worksheet – 1 
“Earned and Unearned Income” using gross amounts. “Gross” means the 
dollar amount before any deductions or losses are subtracted. 
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Step 2. Use one of the following methods to determine the monthly gross 
employment income. Write the total amount of gross employment income in 
the monthly total column on Line 1, Section II of the application. 

Year to Date Method: 

The Year-to-Date Method of calculating annualized gross income utilizes the applicant’s 
cumulative year-to-date gross earnings on the pay stub. When utilizing this method, the 
applicant will need to provide their most current year-to-date paystub. It is not 
required to request a full month of paystubs when utilizing this method. To determine the 
annualized income, count the number of paychecks that have occurred since January 1, 
and then divide that number into the gross year-to-date earnings indicated on the pay 
stub. The result of this computation is then multiplied by the number of pay periods in a 
year to determine the annualized gross earnings. 

Example: 

The applicant provides you with a recent pay stub whose year-to-date earnings are 
$13,756. The pay frequency is bi-weekly. The pay period ended September 30th and since 
January 1st the applicant has been paid 19 times. The calculation would be as follows: 

Divide $13,756 by 19 bi-weekly pay periods = $724.00 

Multiply $724 by 26 bi-weekly pay periods in a year = $18,824 

Average Pay Method: 

The Average Pay method of calculating income utilizes the average gross earnings based 
upon the number of pay stubs provided. Paystubs should match the applicant’s pay date 
as opposed to pay period. When utilizing this method the applicant will need to provide at 
least a full month of paystubs. To determine the average gross earnings, total all the 
gross earnings of all the pay stubs provided and divide the result by the number of pay 
stubs. The result will be the average gross earnings per pay period. Next, determine if 
the applicant is paid weekly, bi-weekly or semi-monthly (usually the 1st & 15th). Convert 
the average gross earnings to monthly income. 

1. To convert weekly income to monthly income, multiply by 4.333 

2. To convert bi-weekly income to monthly income, multiply by 2.1666 

3. To convert semi-monthly income to monthly income, multiply by 2 

Lastly, annualize the average monthly gross earnings. 

Example: 

An applicant provides you with six pay stubs with gross earnings of $534.00, $475.00, 
$398.00, $534.00, $498.00 and $534.00. The pay frequency is weekly. The calculation 
would be as follows: 
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Add: $534.00, $475.00, $398.00, $534.00, $498.00 and $534.00 = $2,973.00 

Divide: $2,973.00 by 6 pay stubs = $495.50 average weekly gross earnings 

Multiply: $495.50 by 4.333 = $2,147.00 

Multiply: $2147.00 by 12 months = $25,764.00 

Example: 

The applicant is paid for two weeks and has received only one paycheck. The calculation 
would be as follows: 

Monthly gross earnings = $200 x 2.1666 = $433.32 per month 

Annual income = $433.32 x 12 months = $5,199.84 per year 

Example: 

If the applicant has just started a job but has not received a paycheck yet, a letter on 
official letterhead from the applicant’s employer is allowable. Use the information in the 
letter to calculate the monthly income using the Average Pay Method. The calculation 
would be as follows: 

Letter on employer’s letterhead with hourly wage and hours to be worked per week: 

Weekly earnings = $8.50 per hour x 20 hours per week = $170 per week 

Monthly gross earnings = $170 x 4.333 = $736.61 per month 

Annual income = $736.61 x 12 months = $8,839.32 per year 

Monthly Pay Method: 

Note that this method is only accurate for applicants with fixed salaries. Employees paid 
monthly on an hourly basis will likely have paychecks that vary in amount month to 
month. The monthly pay method of calculating income utilizes the most recent monthly 
pay stub. Utilize the monthly income and annualize. 

Step 3. Write the annualized total income from Step 2 on Line 1 in the “Annualized 
Total” column of the application 

Section 8.03 Unearned Income 

Unearned income is countable gross cash received from sources other than employment. 
Complete Worksheet 1 – Employment Income and Unearned Income. Write the total 
amount of the unearned income on Line 2 of the application. This income can be self-
declared; however, Provider will use the most recent monthly amount and calculate 
income as annual income. 

Examples of Unearned Income include: 
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1. Unemployment Compensation or Workers Compensation; 

2. Old Age Pension (OAP) benefits (financial assistance to low income individuals age 
60 and over); 

3. Social Security payments such as Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Social 
Security Disability Income (SSDI), Social Security Retirement, Social Security 
Survivors benefit, Social Security Dependent benefit are countable sources of 
income. Any Social Security income paid to a minor (under age 18) is exempt. The 
provider must receive verification that the Social Security benefit is payable to the 
child. If the checks do not include the child’s name, then include these payments in 
other income sources on the application. Applicants who are Health First Colorado 
eligible cannot receive care under the CICP without providing a written Health First 
Colorado denial;  

4. Payments from Retirement Plans and Pensions. Retirement plans and pensions 
come in many forms. Some examples are: PERA, Tax Sheltered Annuities, Deferred 
Compensation, Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs), 401k plans and Social 
Security Benefits. Do not include Social Security Benefit payments to children when 
calculating other income sources on the application;  

5. Commissions, Bonuses, Gifts and Tips. Include amounts from commissions, 
bonuses, gifts and tips when calculating unearned income on the application; 

6. Court-Ordered Alimony Received; 

7. Trust Accounts are income from other sources; 

8. Income from rental properties and net of expenses incurred from rental operations, 
including boarding and lodging, when calculating other income sources on the 
application; 

9. Interest Income includes interest earnings from savings accounts, stocks, bonds 
and similar securities when calculating other income sources on the application;  

10. Monetary gains from selling an asset are counted as other income sources on the 
application; 

11. Insurance policies that are revocable (with cash surrender value); and 

12. Monetary settlements received not related to a medical injury accident. 

13. Veterans Affairs (VA) Benefits. 

Section 8.04 Exempt Unearned Income  

The following types of unearned income are not included in determining total income: 

1. Aid to the Needy and Disabled (AND) payments to Health First Colorado clients; 

2. Payments to recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy and Disabled (AND) financial 
assistance program; 
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3. College grants, scholarships and work-study income. Work-study income is 
generally awarded based on financial need and is determined by completing a 
Federal Student Aid application; 

4. Grants to CICP clients from non-profit, tax-exempt, charitable foundations 
specifically for CICP client copayments. The provider must honor these grants as 
CICP client copayments; 

5. Child Support and Foster Care Payments. These payments are for the support of 
children. Many children receiving these payments are Health First Colorado eligible. 
Therefore, require a Health First Colorado denial before allowing these children to 
receive care under the CICP; 

6. Food Stamps and Women, Infants and Children (WIC), TANF; 

7. Assistance provided by non-profit organizations, if the assistance is need-based 
(i.e., the cost of meals at a soup kitchen); 

8. Medical care provided for free or if a third-party made the payments; 

9. Settlements received as a result of a prior medical injury; not related to the current 
CICP application; 

10. Reimbursement for work- related personal expenses; 

11. College loans; 

12. Payments by credit life or credit disability insurance; 

13. Proceeds of a loan; 

14. Income from a reverse mortgage; 

15. Disaster relief assistance; 

16. Tax refunds; 

17. IRAs, pensions and insurance policies (irrevocable policies) that are not available 
without penalty; 

18. Moving expenses paid by employer for relocation; 

19. Social Security income for a minor (under the age of 18); 

20. Up to $2,000 per calendar year of income received by applicants of American 
Indian birth origin, which is derived from leases or other uses of individually-owned 
trusts or restricted lands pursuant to P. L 103-66 and P. L. 97-458 is exempt as 
income in the month received; For purposes of this provision, the exclusion of 
income shall be applied only to months for which an eligibility determination is 
being made; 

21. Adoption Subsidy 

Section 8.05 Self-Employment  

If a self-employed applicant pays themselves just as they would their employees, and can 
document by pay stubs, use the figure from the pay stub. 
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To determine the net profit of a self-employed applicant, deduct the cost of doing business 
from the gross income. To obtain the gross income, request one month of gross bank 
business deposits. If bank business deposits are not available, a profit and loss worksheet 
OR a ledger is acceptable documentation for gross income and business expenses, 
however if a provider wishes to require documentation of business expenses, they should 
summit a waiver request to the Department. Gross income amount and business expenses 
listed on profit and loss or ledger documents should be transferred to Worksheet 2. 
Worksheet 2 must be signed, dated and attached to application. An expense is something 
that is necessary to keep a business in operation. 

1. Expenses can include, but are not limited to: 

 Rent of business premises 

 Wholesale cost of merchandise 

 Utilities 

 Taxes 

 Labor 

 Upkeep of necessary equipment 

2. Self-employment expenses do not include: 

 Depreciation of equipment. 

 Cost of payment on principal of loans for capital assets, or durable goods. 

 Personal income tax payments, lunches, transportation to and from work, and 
other personal expenses. 

3. Self-employed licensed, certified or approved day care providers may receive the 
following deductions each month to compensate for wear and tear on the residence: 

 $55 for the first child for whom day care is provided; and 

 $22 for each additional child. 

However, if the applicant can document a cost of doing business, which is greater than 
the amounts described above, use the expenses identified in Section 8.05 (1). 

4. For businesses that are operating out of the home, ⅓ (one-third) of the expenses 
should be attributed to the business. For home expenses that can be used for 
personal and business purposes, designate a percent for the amount of time that a 
particular expense is used for the business.  
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Example: 

A subcontractor works out of his primary residence. The subcontractor’s gross monthly 
income is $2,000. The business expenses are as follows: 

Internet $45 

Phone $50 

Mortgage $900 

Utility $100 

Supplies $60 

Internet $45 Subcontractor uses the internet for 75% of the business 

$45 multiplied by .75 = $33.75 

$33.75 is the amount used for business expense 

Mortgage $900 Subcontractor works from primary residence, deduct ⅓ as expense 

$900 divided by 3 = $300 

$300 is the amount used for business expense 

Utility $100 Subcontractor works from primary residence, deduct ⅓ as expense 

$100 divided by 3 = $33.33 

$33.33 is the amount used for business expense 

Phone $50 Subcontractor has a separate business telephone. Count entire expense for 
business purposes - $50 

Supplies $60 Subcontractor only uses supplies for business purposes. Count entire 
expense for business purposes - $60 

Total Monthly Business Expenses: $477.08 

Total Monthly Gross Income: $2,000.00 

Subtract $2,000.00 - $477.08 = $1,522.92 (monthly) 

Annualize $1,522.92 x 12 months =$18,275.04 (yearly) 

Write the annualized self-employment income on Line 3 of the application. 
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Section 8.06 Total Income 

To calculate total income for Section II of the application, add “Gross Employment Income 
(line 1)” PLUS “Unearned Income (Line 2)” PLUS “Self-Employment Income (Line 3)”. 
Take the total from lines 1, 2, and 3, and record the amount in “Total Income (line 4)”. 

Calculating Equity in Resources 

The “Equity in Resources” portion of the application shows the amount of equity in 
resources available to an applicant. 

1. Calculating Vehicle Equity 

For calculating the amount of vehicle equity to record on the application, complete the 
following steps: 

Step 1. Determine the total value of all vehicles owned by the applicant using the 
instructions included below. Write this amount on the “Value” line. To 
determine the value of vehicles, request a copy of the client’s vehicle 
registration. 

Step 2. Determine the total amount owed on all vehicles owned by the applicant. 
Write this amount on the “Amount Owed” line. You should receive 
confirmation (verbal or written) from the applicant’s bank to confirm 
outstanding vehicle loans. 

Step 3. The CICP protects a total of $7,500 (“Minus Protected Portion” column) for all 
vehicles owned. 

Step 4. Subtract the “Amount Owed” and $7,500 FROM the “Value” of all vehicles. 
Write this amount on Line 5, under the “Vehicle Equity” portion of the 
application. If this amount is less than zero (a negative amount), you must 
record $0. 

Vehicle Equity Pricing Instructions: 

1. Navigate to the National Automotive Dealers Association (NADA) guide website.  

2. Click on “New & Used Car Prices” 

3. Under “Research by make”, use the drop down menu to choose the make of the 
vehicle.  

4. Select the year of the vehicle from the drop down menu. 

5. You can now select the body style of the vehicle from the second drop down menu, 
or you can scroll through all vehicles shown and select the vehicle the applicant owns. 

6. On the next screen, select the trim level of the applicant’s vehicle (i.e. Coupe, Sedan, 
LS, LT, etc.). 

7. Enter the current mileage of the applicant’s vehicle. 

a. A rounded mileage will work, if the applicant is not sure of the exact mileage. 

http://www.nadaguides.com/
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8. From the Optional Equipment list, check the options that are on the applicant’s vehicle 
(i.e. Cruise Control, Leather Seats, Sunroof, etc.). 

9. Click Continue at the bottom of the Optional Equipment list. 

10. Now you should see various trade-in prices for the applicant’s vehicle. 

a. The trade-in price that should be used as the Vehicle Equity is the one under the 
“Average Trade-In” column and “Price with Options” line. 

Vehicle Equity - Example 

An applicant has 2 vehicles. One vehicle is valued at $9,000 but the applicant owes 
$8,000 on this vehicle; the second vehicle is valued at $2,000 with no money owed. The 
“Value” is $11,000 ($9,000+$2,000). The “Amount Owed” is $8,000. Therefore, the 
equity is $3,000 ($11,000-$8,000) before subtracting the Protected Portion. The “Minus 
Protected Portion” is always $7,500. The “Amount to Use for the CICP” is $0 since 
$3,000-$7,500 is -$4,500. For the CICP, you cannot record negative numbers. 

2. Liquid Resources  

Liquid resources are resources that can be converted to cash immediately. Examples of 
liquid resources are: checking accounts, saving accounts, trust accounts (if funds are 
available immediately), the cash value of life insurance, short-term Certificate of Deposits 
(CD’s) and partnership earnings kept in reserve. Retirement accounts and Tax Sheltered 
Annuities are liquid resources, if the applicant can draw funds out of the account without 
a penalty. Most retirement plans are subject to a penalty if the person withdrawing 
money is under the age of 59 ½. 

For applicants with a partnership (i.e. partnership in a farm), request their Federal 
Income Tax Schedule K-1 and Schedule E. Schedule K-1 summarizes the total amount of 
cash available to all partners. Schedule E shows all partnership agreements and the 
amount earned by the partnership. Include that amount of cash available to the applicant 
in the liquid resource calculation on the application. 

For applicants with a Certificate of Deposit (CD), count the principal (amount of original 
investment) of a CD as a resource regardless of the maturity date of the CD. All CD’s 
should be considered liquid. The amount included should be the amount left after the 
penalty for withdrawal has been subtracted. If an applicant has recently cashed a CD that 
has reached its maturity date, count the principal in addition to the interest earned. 

The following example explains how to calculate liquid resources for the CICP. An 
applicant has $3,000 in savings plus they can withdraw $2,000 from a Tax Sheltered 
Annuity without penalty. Their total liquid resources are therefore $5,000. 

It should be made clear to applicants that liquid resources that can be made available 
without penalty must be used even if the applicants believe their savings are their 
“reserves”. 
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3. Total Equity in Resources 

“Total Resources” is Line 6 of the CICP Client application. This cannot be a negative 
number. If you get a negative number on either form, enter $0 (zero). 

Section 8.07 Less Family Size Deductions 

The CICP protects $2,500 in resource equity per family member on the application. 

There are two steps to calculating the “Family Size Deduction:” 

Step 1. Write the number of family members (including applicant) listed by the 
applicant in the “Household Members” section of the application in Line 7 - 
“Family Size”.  

Step 2. Multiply the family size obtained in Step 1 by $2,500. Write this amount on 
Line 7. 

Section 8.08 Equity in Resources for the CICP 

On the CICP application, Line 8 - “Equity In Resources” equals Line 6 - “Total Resources,” 
MINUS Line 7 - “Less Family Size Deduction”, If this amount is less than $0 (a negative 
amount), you must record $0 and not the negative amount. 

Section 8.09 Total Family Financial Status  

On the CICP application, Line 9 - “Total Family Financial Status” equals Line 4 - “Total 
Income” PLUS Line 8 - “Equity in Resources”. This amount cannot be zero. 

Section 8.10 Allowable Deductions (Expenses, self-declared)  

The following are allowable deductions (expenses) and may be self-declared, however 
waivers may be granted from the Department to those providers who wish to require 
documentation. 

1. Child support payments  

2. Alimony paid by the applicant 

3. Health (including dental and vision) insurance premiums 

4. Daycare 

5. Elderly care 

The provider should request amounts paid in the past 90 days and annualize, if incurred 
from the application date back 365 days. These figures do not include vacation or 
entertainment expenses. 

Section 8.11 Allowable Deductions (Must be documented) 

The following allowable deductions must be documented: 

1. Medical expenses for services received at a hospital, clinic, private physician’s office 
and pharmacist are allowable deductions and must be documented. In addition, 
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allowable deductions include medical services prescribed by a physician rendered for 
vision, dental, durable medical equipment (DME) and pharmaceuticals. 

a. Effective July 1, 2015, verifiable current monthly payments should be annualized as 
a deduction. Patients will be responsible for demonstrating their monthly payment 
amount toward outstanding bills. Bills may only be annualized up to the equivalent 
of 12 months of demonstrated payments. If on the current payment schedule the 
client will pay off the remaining balance in less than a year, then only deduct the 
remaining balance of the bill. Example: If a client is paying $100 a month on a bill 
that only has $900 remaining, then deduct $900 instead of the annualized amount 
of $1,200. Verifiable single payment medical expenses (copayments to non-CICP 
providers, prescriptions) incurred within 12 months prior to application, will be 
applied as a single, flat deduction. 

b. The amount of medical bills if paid or outstanding from a CICP provider may not 
be deducted from the income if incurred within the 90 days prior to the application 
date. These medical bills will be received at the CICP discount to the client and 
cannot be included as a deduction on the application. Copayments to a CICP 
provider are not an allowable deduction. 

2. Applicants who use their own personal vehicle in the course of performing their job 
may be allowed a deduction in the amount of $200 per month. The $200 per month 
personal vehicle use deduction should only be allowed if the applicant submits 
documentation from their employer which verifies the following: 

a. The applicant uses the personal vehicle in the performance of his or her job 
functions; and 

b. The applicant receives no reimbursement for mileage or the use of the vehicle. 

Acceptable documentation is a signed and dated letter from the applicant’s employer or 
the use of the Department’s “Personal Vehicle Use Verification Form” found in Section V: 
Miscellaneous. 

3. To calculate the deductions for Line 10 of the CICP Client application, perform the 
following steps: 

Step 1. Request amount paid in the previous month or previous year for allowable 
deductions (expenses). 

Step 2. Complete Worksheet 4 for the allowable deductions.  

Step 3. Record the Grand Total on Line 10 of the CICP Client application. Do not 
annualize one-time or annual payments. 

Section 8.12 Net CICP Income and Equity in Resources  

Line 11 determines the amount of income to use in the determination of the CICP rating. 
Line 11 equals Line 9 – “Total Family Financial Status” MINUS Line 10 – “Allowable 
Deductions.” 
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Section 8.13 Liquid Asset Spend Down 

The Liquid Asset Spend Down Provision enables applicants whose combined income and 
liquid resources precludes them from the CICP discount at 250% of the Federal Poverty 
Level. An applicant may be determined eligible if they have sufficient liquid resources to 
“spend down,” or reduce their income enough to determine them eligible for the CICP. 
The amount an applicant must “spend down” is calculated as the difference between the 
CICP eligibility standard at 250% of the Federal Poverty Level and the applicant’s income. 
The “spend down” reduces the amount of liquid resources available to the applicant and 
should be applied to the current medical bill (paid to the provider). The remainder of the 
medical bill is then discounted under the CICP. The client is still responsible for the CICP 
copayment. 

Example: 

Employment income of $16,000 per year  

Bank account of $16,500.  

Family size of 1, the Family Size Deduction is $2,500 

Equity in Resources is $16,500 – $2,500 = $14,000  

Total family financial status is $16,000 + $14,000 = $30,000, with no allowable 
deductions.  

This person is currently ineligible for a CICP discount, but is unable to pay a current 
medical bill of $25,000.  

Using the Liquid Asset Spend Down provision the client is eligible for a CICP discount at 
$29,425 (family size of 1, at 250% of Federal Poverty Level) 

The liquid assets need to be reduced by $575 ($30,000 – $29,425 = $575).  

The $575 is applied to the current medical bill of $25,000 and paid directly to the 
provider.  

The remaining medical bill is $25,000 - $575 = $24,425  

The client is now eligible for the CICP discount, with a total family financial status of 
$29,425 ($16,000 employment income and $13,425 in equity and resources).  

When reporting information on the CICP Summary Spreadsheet, the provider may record 
the total bill of $25,000 and the client spend down of $575 as a third-party payment 
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 COLORADO RESIDENCY AND LAWFUL PRESENCE 

Section 9.01 Colorado Resident 

1. A Colorado resident is a person who currently lives in Colorado and intends to 
remain in the state. If the applicant is unable to provide actual proof of Colorado 
residency, they are allowed to self-declare their intent to remain in 
Colorado. The following questions can be used to assist in determining if the 
applicant is a Colorado resident: 

a. Where is the applicant’s primary home? A primary home is the place of residence 
where a person lives and the place where that person, whenever absent, intends 
to return, regardless of the length of absence. A primary home cannot be a 
business address or a vacant lot or a post office box. 

b. Is the applicant’s primary home address the same as the address on the 
applicant’s motor vehicle registration and state income tax return? If yes, the 
applicant meets the CICP’s residency requirements. Individuals who have recently 
moved to Colorado must apply for a Colorado title and registration for their vehicle 
within 30 days from establishing Colorado residency.  

c. Is applicant employed in the state of Colorado? 

d. Is there a current lease, mortgage bill, or utility bill for the applicant’s primary home? 

e. Does the applicant have a current Colorado Driver’s License or Identification Card? 

Section 9.02 Residency Code 

To qualify for the CICP, the applicant must be lawfully present in the United States either 
a U.S Citizen, a documented legal immigrant or a migrant worker, and a Colorado 
resident. Colorado residency is a separate determination from Lawful Presence. 

The CICP has established residency codes to use with the application. The client must 
record one of the following residency codes for each family member. 

1. Colorado Resident & U.S. citizen; 

2. Colorado Resident & documented legal immigrant; 

3. Migrant farm worker & U.S. citizen; 

4. Migrant farm worker & documented legal immigrant; 

5. Non-resident counted in family size only; 

6. Health First Colorado or CHP+ eligible, counted in family size only; or 

7. Counted in family size only. 

If family members are non-residents (residency code - 5) or eligible for Health First 
Colorado (residency code 6), they cannot receive care under the CICP but can be 
included in family size. Family members who are eligible for CICP, but do not want to be 
covered under CICP may be counted in family size if they receive 50% of their support 
from the responsible party (residency code - 7). 
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Determining the CICP Residency Code 

To determine which residency code to record on the application, use the three steps 
outlined below for each family member applying for the CICP. All applicants must meet 
steps 1 and 2 to comply with the CICP’s residency requirements. 

Step 1: Determine if the applicant is lawfully present using the guidelines listed in 
Section 9.03 below. If the applicant is lawfully present and is a U.S. Citizen or 
documented legal immigrant, go to step 2. If the applicant is not a U.S. Citizen 
or a documented legal immigrant, they cannot receive discounted care through 
the CICP, but can be used to determine family size. 

Step 2: Determine if the applicant meets one of the following: 

i. The applicant is a Colorado resident (see “Colorado Resident” under Section 9.01) 
OR 

ii. The applicant is a migrant worker according to the criteria outlined under 
“Migrant Workers” 

Step 3: Record the residency code for each family member. 

Section 9.03 Lawful Presence 

During the 2006 and 2007 legislative sessions House Bill 06S-1023 and HB 07-1314 were 
passed and directed the Department of Revenue to establish rules to ensure that 
recipients of public benefits demonstrate that they are legally residing in the United 
States. The Department of Revenue promulgated “Rules for Evidence of Lawful Presence” 
at 1 CCR 201-17, effective August 1, 2007. In order to comply with these requirements, 
the CICP amended its rules pertaining to the application process, effective January 1, 
2008.  

All applicants 18 years and older, must sign the “Affidavit for Lawful Presence, Colorado 
Indigent Care Program” (Affidavit) and provide an approved document that demonstrates 
they are lawfully present in the United States.  

A copy of the Affidavit and the various types of documents that can be accepted to prove 
lawful presence can be found in the application section of the CICP provider manual. In 
order to complete the Affidavit the applicant must do the following: 

1. Indicate Citizenship Status. The applicant must indicate on the Affidavit whether 
he/she is a U.S. citizen OR whether he/she is a legal permanent resident, or 
otherwise lawfully present in the United States. 

2. Sign the Affidavit. Each applicant must sign the top portion of the Affidavit and 
indicate that they are either a U.S. citizen, or otherwise lawfully residing in the 
United States. A family member or authorized representative may do this for a 
deceased client. 

The Affidavit must be signed by each applicant within a household who is 18 years of age 
or older. Household members who do not apply in person must also sign the affidavit. 
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Providers are not required to directly witness an applicant’s signature. Therefore, a blank 
Affidavit may be sent to a non-present applicant. The signed Affidavit may be returned to 
the provider by mail, fax or hand-delivered to the provider’s facility. 

In order to prove lawful presence the applicant must do the following: 

1. Applicants Submit One Document. To meet the lawful presence requirement, 
each applicant must provide one and only one acceptable document from the list of 
all acceptable documents available in the application section of the CICP provider 
Manual. Within the list of acceptable lawful presence documents none are 
“preferred” over others. All are equally acceptable. Citizens of the United States may 
present any one of the documents numbered 1 through 29 listed below and also in 
the application section of the CICP provider Manual. Applicants demonstrating lawful 
presence in the country who are not U.S. citizens may furnish any document 
numbered 30 through 51 listed below and also found in the application section of 
the CICP provider Manual. 

2. Providers Establish Lawful Presence—Not Identity. The rules pertaining to 
public benefits require only the establishment of lawful presence—not identity. Thus, 
it is not necessary for an applicant to provide a document with a photograph. 
Notwithstanding, many of the acceptable documents listed on the reverse side of 
the Affidavit do display a photograph of the holder. 

3. Original Documents. Lawful presence documentation may be accepted from the 
applicant, the applicant’s spouse, parent, guardian or authorized representative in 
person, by mail or facsimile. In general, applicants must present original 
documentation. Notarized copies are not acceptable. However, providers shall 
accept copies of an applicant’s lawful presence documentation that have been 
verified by other CICP providers, Medical Assistance sites, county departments of 
social services, or any other entity designated by the Department of Health Care 
Policy and Financing through an agency letter, provided that the verification 
identifies that the copy is from an original and that the individual who reviewed the 
document(s) signifies such by including their name, organization, address, telephone 
number and signature on the copy. 

Providers shall develop procedures for handling original documents to ensure that the 
documents are not lost, damaged or destroyed. Providers shall develop and follow 
procedures for returning or mailing original documents to applicants within five business 
days of receipt. 

Applicants who are U.S. citizens must provide one of the following documents to meet 
the lawful presence requirement.  

1. Colorado Driver’s License; 

2. Colorado Identification Card; 

3. Driver’s License or State Identification Card issued in an approved state. All states 
are approved with the exception of the following: 

 Hawaii 
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 Illinois 
 Maryland  

 Nebraska 
 New Mexico 
 Utah 
 Washington 

4. United States Military Identification Card or Military Dependents’ Identification Card; 

5. United States Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Card; 

6. Native American Tribal Document; 

7. Birth Certificate from any state, the District of Columbia or any United States territory; 

8. United States Passport; 

9. Report of Birth Abroad of a United States Citizen (FS-20); 

10. Certificate of Birth issued by a foreign service post (FS-545); 

11. Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350); 

12. Certification of Naturalization (N-55- or N-570); 

13. Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561); 

14. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-97); 

15. Northern Mariana Identification Card (for births prior to November 3, 1986); 

16. Statement by a U.S. Consular Officer certifying that the individual is a U.S. citizen; 

17. American Indian Card with classification code “KIC” identifying members of the 
Texas Band of Kickapoos; 

18. Religious records recorded in one of the fifty states, the District of Columbia or U.S. 
territories issued within three months after birth showing that the birth occurred in 
such jurisdiction and the date of the birth or the individual’s age at the time the 
record was made;  

19. Evidence of civil service employment by the U.S. government before June 1, 1976; 

20. Early school records showing the date of admission to the school, the child’s date 
and place of birth and the names’ and places of birth of the parents; 

21. Census record showing name, U.S. citizenship or a U.S. place of birth or age of 
applicant; 

22. Adoption Finalization Papers showing the child’s name and place of birth in one of 
the 50 states, D.C. or U.S. territories. Where the adoption is not finalized and the 
State or other jurisdiction listed above in which the child was born will not release a 
birth certificate prior to final adoption, a statement from a state-approved adoption 
agency showing the child’s name and place of birth in one of such jurisdictions. The 
source of the information must be an original birth certificate and must be indicated 
in the statement; 
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23. Any other document that establishes a U.S. place of birth or in some way indicates 
U.S. citizenship; 

24. Documents for Collectively Naturalized Citizens from Puerto Rico (PR), the U.S. 
Virgin Islands (VI), or Northern Mariana Islands (NMI), formerly part of the Trust 
Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI): 

a. Puerto Rico 

i. Evidence of birth in PR on or after April 11, 1899 and the applicant’s 
statement that he or she was residing in the U.S., a U.S. possession, or PR on 
January 13, 1941; or 

ii. Evidence that the applicant was a PR citizen and the applicant’s statement 
that he or she was residing in PR on March 1, 1917 and that he or she did not 
take an oath of allegiance to Spain. 

b. U.S. Virgin Islands 

i. Evidence of birth in the U.S. Virgin Islands (VI) and the applicant’s statement 
of residence in the U.S., a U.S. possession, or the U.S. VI on February 25, 
1927; or 

ii. The applicant’s statement indicating residence in the U.S. VI as a Danish 
citizen on January 17, 1917 and that he or she did not make a declaration to 
maintain Danish citizenship; or  

iii. Evidence of birth in the U.S. VI and the applicant’s statement indicating 
residence in the U.S., U.S. Possession or Territory or the Canal Zone on June 
28, 1932. 

c. Northern Mariana Islands (formerly part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands) 

i. Evidence of birth in NMI, TTPI citizenship and residence in the NMI, the U.S., 
or a U.S. territory or possession on November 3, 1986 (NMI local time) and 
the applicant’s statement that he or she did not owe allegiance to a foreign 
state on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time); or 

ii. Evidence of TTPI citizenship in the NMI since before November 3, 1981(NMI 
local time), voter registration prior to January 1, 1975 and the applicant’s 
statement that he or she did owe allegiance to a foreign state on November 
4, 1986 (NMI local time); or  

iii. Evidence of continuous domicile in the NMI since before January 1, 1974 and 
the applicant’s statement that he or she did not owe allegiance to a foreign 
state on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time); 

25. Applicants with Derivative U.S. Citizenship 

a. Applicant born abroad to two U.S. citizens: 

i. The applicant shall present evidence of U.S. citizenship of the parents and the 
relationship of the applicant to the parents, and the evidence that at least 
one parent resided in the U.S. or an outlying possession prior to the 
applicant’s birth. 
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b. Applicant born abroad to a U.S. citizen parent and a U.S. non-citizen national parent: 

i. The applicant shall present evidence that one parent is a U.S. citizen and the 
other is a U.S. non-citizen national, evidence of the relationship of the 
applicant to the U.S. citizen parent and the evidence the U.S. citizen parent 
resided in the U.S., a U.S. possession, American Samoa or Swain’s Island for 
a period of at least one year prior to the applicant’s birth. 

c. Applicant born out of wedlock abroad to a U.S. citizen mother: 

i. The applicant shall present evidence of U.S. citizenship of the mother, 
evidence of the relationship to the applicant and, for births on or before 
December 24, 1952, evidence that the mother resided in the U.S. prior to the 
applicant’s birth or, for births after December 24, 1952, evidence that the 
mother had resided, prior to the child’s birth, in the U.S. or a U.S. possession 
for a period of one year. 

d. Applicant born in the Canal Zone or the Republic of Panama: 

i. The applicant shall present a birth certificate showing birth in the Canal Zone 
on or after February 26, 1904 and before October 1, 1979 and evidence that 
one parent was a U.S. citizen at the time of the applicant’s birth; or 

ii. A birth certificate showing birth in the Republic of Panama on or after 
February 26, 1904 and before October 1, 1979 and evidence that at least one 
parent was a U.S. citizen and employed by the U.S. government or the 
Panama Railroad Company or its successor in title. 

e. All other situations where an applicant claims to have a U.S. citizen parent and an 
alien parent, or claims to fall within one of the above categories but is unable to 
present the listed documentation: 

i. If the applicant is in the U.S., refer him or her to the local Department of 
Homeland Security (formerly known as the Immigration and Naturalization 
Service, or INS) office for determination of U.S. citizenship; or 

ii. If the applicant is outside the U.S., refer him or her to the State Department 
consular office for a U.S. citizenship determination; 

26. Adoption of a foreign-born child by a U.S. citizen 

a. If the birth certificate shows a foreign place of birth and the applicant cannot be 
determined to be a naturalized citizen under any of the above criteria, refer the 
applicant to the local Department of Homeland Security office for a determination 
of U.S. citizenship; 

27. U.S. citizenship obtained by marriage 

a. The applicant shall present evidence that she was married to a U.S. citizen before 
September 22, 1922, or 

b. If the husband was an alien at the time of their marriage, that the husband 
became a U.S. citizen before September 22, 1922. 



34 | FY 2016-17 CICP Manual - Eligibility 

c. If the marriage was later terminated, the woman shall demonstrate that she 
resided in the U.S. at the time it was terminated and that she has continued to 
reside in the U.S.; 

28. Waiver requested from the Department of Revenue (See Section 9.05); 

29. Written self-declaration or third-party declaration 

(See the optional section on the bottom portion of the Affidavit for a self-declaration form 
that may be used by applicants.); 

Additional clarification is provided below which pertains to acceptable lawful presence 
documentation for U.S. Citizens: 

 Drivers’ Licenses: Drivers’ licenses and state identification cards issued in Colorado 
and other acceptable states (see the list of acceptable documentation) must be 
valid. This means they must be current and not expired. If a hole is punched in an 
otherwise acceptable driver’s license, for evidence of lawful presence purposes, the 
license is deemed acceptable. 

 Passports: Current and expired United States passports are permissible for 
demonstrating lawful presence. Limited passports issued for less than five years are 
not acceptable, even if they are not expired. 

 Presumed Genuine: In general, any document presented from the acceptable list of 
documents for U.S. citizens, (see Section 9.03), shall be presumed genuine unless 
there is a reasonable basis for questioning the authenticity of the document. 

 Do Not Use SAVE: Documents pertaining to U.S. citizens cannot be verified through 
the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) web-based verification 
information system application. This system only applies to non-U.S. citizens. 

Applicants who are not U.S. citizens must provide one of the following documents to 
meet the lawful presence requirement.  

30.  “Green Card” (a.k.a. Alien Registration Receipt Card), Department of Homeland 
Security Form I-551 for aliens lawfully admitted for permanent residence 

31. “Green Card” (a.k.a. Alien Registration Receipt Card), Department of Homeland 
Security Form I-551 with the code CU6, CU7 or CH6 for Cuban or Haitian entrants 

32. Unexpired Temporary I-551 Stamp in a foreign passport or on a Department of 
Homeland Security Form I-94 for aliens lawfully admitted for permanent residence 

33. Unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in a foreign passport or on Department of 
Homeland Security Form I-94 with the code CU6, CU7 or CH6 for Cuban or Haitian 
entrants 

34. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 with a stamp showing admission under 
Section 203(a)(7) of the Immigration and Nationality Act for aliens granted 
conditional entry 

35. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 annotated with a stamp showing 
admission under Section 207 of the Immigration and Nationality Act for refugees 
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36. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 with a stamp showing admission for at 
least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act for 
aliens paroled into the U.S. for at least one year. (Applicant cannot aggregate 
periods of admission for less than one year to meet the one-year requirement.) 

37. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 annotated with stamp showing grant of 
asylum under section 208 of the Immigration and Nationality Act 

38. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 with a stamp showing parole as a 
“Cuban/Haitian Entrant” under Section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality 
Act 

39. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 
annotated 274a.12(a)(3) for refugees 

40. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 
annotated 274a.12(a)(5) for asylees 

41. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 
annotated 274a.12(a)(10) for aliens whose deportation or removal was withheld 

42. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 
annotated ”A3” for aliens granted conditional entry 

43. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form I-765 
for refugees 

44. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form I-766 
annotated “A3” for refugees or aliens granted conditional entry 

45. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form I-766 
annotated “A5” for asylees 

46. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form I-766 
annotated “A10” for aliens paroled into the U.S. for at least one year 

47. Grant letter from the Asylum Office or U.S.C.I.S. for asylees or a Grant letter from 
the Department of Health and Human Services granting refugee status to human 
trafficking victims 

48. Refugee Travel Document, Department of Homeland Security Form I-571 

49. Order from an immigration judge showing deportation withheld under Section 
243(h) of the Immigration and Naturalization Act as in effect prior to April 1, 1997, 
or removal withheld under Section 241(b) (3) of the Act. 

50. For aliens who have been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, see Attachment 
5, Exhibit B, at U.S. Attorney General Order No. 2129-97. The documentation for 
Violence Against Women Act self-petitioners is the Department of Homeland 
Security-issued “Notice of Prima Facie Determination” or “Notice of Approval”. 

51. Waiver requested from the Department of Revenue (See Section 9.05) 
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Section 9.04 Expired or Missing Documents from Non-U.S. Citizens 

1. Expired Documents or No Documents: If an applicant who is not a U.S. citizen 
presents expired documents or is unable to present any documentation evidencing 
his or her immigration status, the provider should refer the applicant to the local 
Department of Homeland Security office to obtain documentation of lawful presence 
status.  

2. G-845 Document Verification Request: In unusual circumstances involving applicants 
who are hospitalized or medically disabled or who can otherwise show good cause 
for their inability to present documentation and for whom securing such 
documentation would constitute undue hardship, if the applicant can provide an 
alien registration number, the provider may file U.S.C.I.S. Document Verification 
Request Form G-845, along with the alien registration and a copy of any expired 
Department of Homeland Security document, with the local Department of 
Homeland Security office to verify status. To obtain the current G-845 Document 
Verification Request form, go to the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
website and enter G-845 in the search box. 

3. Receipt for Replacement Document: If an applicant has lost a document and 
presents a receipt indicating that he or she has applied to the Department of 
Homeland Security for a replacement document, the provider should file U.S.C.I.S. 
Form G-845 and Supplement with a copy of the receipt with the local Department of 
Homeland Security office to verify lawful presence status. 

Section 9.05 Options for Applicants without Acceptable Documentation 

1. Request Waiver from Department of Revenue (DOR): Applying for a “Request 
for Waiver-Restrictions on Public Benefits” from the Colorado DOR authorizes the 
DOR to verify evidence of lawful presence for the applicant. 

a. Who May Apply: Any applicant, regardless of citizenship status, who does not 
provide a document permissible for establishing lawful presence may apply for a 
“Request for Waiver-Restrictions on Public Benefits” from the Colorado DOR.  

b. Where to Find the Waiver Form: For convenience, this Waiver may be found 
on the Department website under For Our Providers, Get Info, Colorado Indigent 
Care Program, Forms, “Lawful Presence Waiver”. 

c. How to Apply: The Waiver may be completed by the applicant or the applicant’s 
representative. Applicants are not required to apply for this waiver in person. The 
waiver and supporting documents must be hand delivered to one of the approved 
driver’s license offices listed on the waiver. Supporting documents may be any 
documents able to assist in the verification of lawful presence.  

d. Affidavit of Lawful Presence: Applicants using the waiver process must still 
complete the “Affidavit of Lawful Presence, Colorado Indigent Care Program” form. 

e. Approved Waivers: Unless the DOR provides the provider or applicant written 
notification of denial, providers are to assume the Request for Waiver is approved. 

http://www.uscis.gov/
http://www.uscis.gov/
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f. Special Information for Non-U.S. Citizens: Applicants requesting a waiver 
who are not U.S. citizens should be made aware of the following, which is 
excerpted directly from The DOR’s “Rules for Evidence of Lawful Presence” at 1 
CCR 201-17, effective August 1, 2007. 

3.1.6 Waivers are assumed to be permanent, but may be rescinded and 
cancelled if, at any time, the Department becomes aware of the Applicant’s 
violation of immigration laws. Upon making a decision to rescind and cancel 
a waiver, the Department will notify the Applicant and the appropriate 
County Department of Human Services.  

3.1.6.1 Individuals whose waivers are rescinded and cancelled shall have the 
right to appeal such decision by the Department. Individuals may appeal 
by requesting a hearing within thirty days of the waiver being rescinded 
or cancelled by making a written request for hearing to the Hearings 
Section of the Department at 1881 Pierce St. #106, Lakewood, CO 
80214.  

3.1.6.2 The Hearings Section shall hold the hearing in accordance the provisions 
of the State Administrative Procedure Act and the provisions of Title 42 of 
the Colorado Revised Statutes. 

3.1.6.3 The only issue at hearing shall be whether the applicant has violated 
immigration laws.  

3.1.6.4 The hearing officer shall issue a written decision within fifteen (15) 
business days of the completion of the hearing, and shall constitute final 
agency action, and is subject to judicial review as provided by § 24-4-
106, C.R.S. 

3.1.7 Waivers issued by the Department since August 1, 2006, but prior to 
approval of this rule, will continue in effect unless otherwise rescinded or 
cancelled by the Department, as authorized in Section 3.1.6. 

2. Self-Declaration of Lawful Presence: Signing a self-declaration is a valid, 
acceptable way of establishing lawful presence for purposes of receiving discounted 
health care services under the CICP; however, the CICP Provider must first request 
acceptable Lawful Presence documents and it will not be necessary for the Provider 
to complete the shaded box on the Affidavit for Lawful Presence application. 

a. Who May Self Declare: U.S. citizens and non-citizen nationals may self-declare 
that they are lawfully residing in the United States. Non-citizen nationals are 
defined in federal regulations as individuals from American Samoa, Swains Island, 
or Northern Mariana Islands. 

b. Who May Not Self Declare: Non-U.S. citizens may not self-declare that they are 
lawfully residing in the country. 

c. Where to Find the Self-Declaration Form: The Self-Declaration form is found 
under the optional section located at the bottom of the “Affidavit for Lawful 
Presence, Colorado Indigent Care Program” form. 
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Section 9.06 Non-Discrimination and Special Assistance 

1. Non-Discrimination: CICP providers shall not discriminate against applicants on 
the basis of race, national origin, gender, religion, age or disability. 

2. Special Assistance: If an applicant has a disability that limits the applicant’s ability 
to provide the required evidence of lawful presence, the provider shall assist the 
individual to obtain the required evidence. Examples of reasonable assistance that 
may be expected include, but are not limited to, providing contact information for 
the appropriate agencies that issue required documents; explaining the 
documentation requirements and how the applicant may provide the required 
documentation; or referring the applicant to other agencies or organizations which 
may be able to provide assistance. 

Additional assistance shall also be provided to applicants who are unable to comply with 
the documentation requirements due to physical or mental impairments or homelessness 
and who do not have a guardian or representative who can provide assistance. Examples 
of additional assistance include, but are not limited to, contacting any known family 
members who may have the required documentation; contacting any known health care 
providers who may have the required documentation; or contacting other social services 
agencies or organizations that are known to have provided assistance to the applicant. 

The provider is not required to pay for the cost of obtaining required documentation. The 
provider shall document its efforts of providing additional assistance to the applicant and 
retain such documentation in the applicant’s file. 

Section 9.07 Administrative Procedures for Documents from U.S. Citizens 

1. Indication of Documents Verified: Providers are to check the box on the “For 
Eligibility Use Only” section of the Affidavit indicating which document the applicant 
has provided for demonstrating evidence of lawful presence. 

2. Retain Copy of Document: A photocopy of the lawful presence document 
presented should be retained in the applicant’s file.  

3. Exception Process for Clients Reapplying: If a U.S. citizen reapplies for CICP 
with the same provider, it is not necessary to make a new copy of their lawful 
presence document again if the following conditions are met: 

a. The provider verifies that the document presented at the time of renewal is 
identical to the copy of the lawful presence already on file; 

b. The provider makes a notation in the file that the original document was viewed 
again and found to be acceptable; and 

c. The provider signs and dates the notation. 

This same process applies to providers who have electronically scanned client files. 

This process may never be used for non-U.S. citizens. Lawful presence must be 
established for non-U.S. citizen clients each time they apply for the CICP. 
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Section 9.08 Administrative Procedures for Documents from Non-U.S. 
Citizens 

1. Verification of Documentation in SAVE: Documentation submitted from 
applicants who have checked the second box on the “Affidavit for Lawful Presence, 
Colorado Indigent Care Program”, indicating that they are not a U.S. citizen, must 
be verified through the federal Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) 
web-based verification information system application. Providers must verify through 
SAVE within 30 days of receiving applications from non-U.S. citizens. 

a. SAVE is Not for U.S. Citizens: Only documents for non-U.S. citizens may be 
verified for authenticity in SAVE. It is not possible to verify documents applicable 
to U.S. citizens through SAVE. 

b. Use Affidavit until SAVE Verification is Complete: Until lawful presence is 
confirmed in SAVE, clients are eligible to receive discounted health care services 
through the CICP if they have signed the Affidavit stating that they are lawfully 
present in the United States. 

c. No Match Found in SAVE: In cases where a match in SAVE is not initially 
verified, yet the client asserts that they are legally residing in the country, the 
provider should begin the manual SAVE process and conditionally accept the client 
until status is confirmed or denied in SAVE. This provisional period of eligibility 
should be granted for not less than one month, but not more than three months. 
The length of the provisional acceptance is at the discretion of the provider. The 
provider shall take into consideration any known special circumstances of the client 
when setting the length of the conditional eligibility period. The provider should 
make the client aware of any information obtained through the SAVE process. 

d. The SAVE program also requires participating agencies, institutions and other 
entities to use manual verification when directed by an VIS/CPS system message 
or when the automated check or initial inspection of an applicant’s/recipient’s 
documentation, or information provided from such documentation, reveals material 
discrepancies. To conduct a manual verification, user agencies complete the 
Document Verification Request (Form G-845), attach copies of the non-citizen’s 
immigration documentation, and mail it to their local immigration status 
verification office. Providers in Colorado would mail documents and form to: U.S. 
Citizenship and Immigration Services, 300 N. Los Angeles Street, B120, Los 
Angeles, CA 90012, Attention: Immigration Status Verification Unit. Once the 
immigration status verification office receives and processes the Form G-845, it is 
returned to the User Agency via the U.S. Postal Service.  

2. Indication of Documents Verified: Providers are to check the box on the “For 
Eligibility Use Only” section of the Affidavit indicating which document the applicant 
has provided for demonstrating evidence of lawful presence. 

3. Retain Copy of Document: A photocopy of the lawful presence document 
presented and used in the SAVE search should be retained in the applicant’s file.  



40 | FY 2016-17 CICP Manual - Eligibility 

4. Retain Copy of SAVE Documentation: Providers should print the Verification 
Result Screen from the SAVE search and retain this printout in the applicant’s case 
file. The provider should make the client aware of any information obtained through 
the SAVE process and note such in the application file. 

Section 9.09 U.S. Citizen 

A U.S. citizen is a person who has signed the Affidavit of Lawful Presence, checking the 
line indicating that he/she is a U.S. citizen and provides one acceptable document for 
proving evidence of lawful presence from the list of numbered 1 through 29 in this 
manual, Section I Eligibility, Article IX Colorado Residency and Lawful Presence, Section 
9.03 Lawful Presence. 

Section 9.10 Documented Immigrants 

Documented immigrants are people who reside in the United States and possess a Social 
Security Number and one of the) lawful presence documents listed in Article IX Colorado 
Residency and Lawful Presence, Section 9.03 Lawful Presence of this manual. 

Section 9.11 Migrant Workers 

Migrant workers and all dependent family members must meet all of the following criteria 
to comply with CICP residency requirements: 

1. Do not live permanently in Colorado; temporary living in Colorado for employment 
reasons; 

2. Meet lawful presence requirements; and 

3. Employed in Colorado. Must have letter of employment. 

Eligibility is extended to dependent family members of migrant workers when the 
residency requirements are met for the CICP including: if the family members establish a 
temporary home in Colorado and meet U.S. citizenship OR meet established immigration 
documentation requirements. Requirement number three may not be applicable to all 
family members. 
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 APPLICANTS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE CICP  

Section 10.01 Applicants Not Eligible for the CICP  

1. Applicants for whom lawful presence cannot be verified. 

2. An applicant in custody of a law enforcement agency. An applicant is not 
eligible when they are serving time for a criminal offense or confined involuntarily in 
a City, County, State or Federal prison, jail, detention facility, or other penal facility. 
This includes individuals who are being involuntarily held in detention centers 
awaiting trial, involuntarily residing at a wilderness camp under any type of 
governmental control, and involuntarily residing in a half-way house under any type 
of governmental control. Even if the medical condition is considered “pre-existing” 
prior to incarceration, once the applicant is held involuntarily under any type of 
governmental control they are not eligible for CICP. 

a. Prior to Incarceration: The applicant is eligible for CICP. If an applicant has been 
convicted of a crime but has not reported to the penal facility to start their 
sentence, the applicant remains eligible for CICP. 

b. Parole or Probation after Incarceration: An applicant on parole or probation is 
eligible for CICP. An applicant who is living in a halfway house is eligible for CICP 
only if they are on parole. Most residents of a halfway house are still considered 
inmates and are involuntarily residing under a type of governmental control. If the 
applicant has not been officially released through a parole board, he/she is still 
considered an inmate and is therefore NOT eligible for CICP. 

c. Applicants on parole must present documentation of their parole status. 

d. CICP funds cannot be used to provide for medical care that the state, city, or 
county should otherwise be responsible for. 

3. College students from outside Colorado or the United States who are in Colorado for 
the purpose of higher education. These students are not Colorado residents and 
cannot receive services under the CICP. 

4. Visitors from other states or countries temporarily visiting Colorado who have 
primary residences outside of Colorado. 

5. Persons who qualify for Health First Colorado or CHP+ 
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 HEALTH INSURANCE 

Applicants with other medical insurance may still qualify for CICP. Therefore, applications 
should be completed for applicants with other medical insurance. In some cases, other 
medical insurance may not cover certain medically necessary benefits or applicants may 
have used all of their benefits. Applicants may not know if their other medical insurance 
will cover certain charges until after the CICP application time limit of 90 days has 
expired. Charges for services received up to 90 days prior to application, or in the case of 
applicants with other health insurance coverage, when the third-party payer has 
adjudicated claim, can be reported to the CICP. Applicants cannot be denied CICP if they 
have other insurance, and it is the responsibility of the provider’s 
collection/claims office to bill all other medical insurance companies first 
before reporting the charges to CICP. 

Section 11.01 Health Insurance 

Obtain all information related to the insurance policy and attach a copy of the policy or 
insurance card to the application. Required information includes the name of the 
insurance company, the address where the medical claim forms must be submitted, 
policy number and any other information determined necessary. The clinic or hospital will 
bill the commercial health insurance policy first for all medical expenses incurred. Unpaid 
medical expenses will be billed to the CICP minus the health insurance copayment or the 
CICP copayment, whichever is lower. 

Providers can report contractual write-offs required under some commercial health 
insurance contracts in total charges and are only required to report payments due from the 
commercial health plan in third-party liability. Client liability is the payment due from third-
party insurance, including Medicare. This is not payments actually received, but the amount 
owed by the client’s primary insurance. CICP will reimburse for contractual adjustments; 
therefore, do not include these adjustments as liabilities or as payments due. 

If an applicant receives Veterans Benefits they may also receive CICP benefits provided 
that the following is met: 

 Recipient is unable to receive a specific medical service or treatment from the 
Veterans Administration (VA); 

 Veterans Benefits have been verified. Call 1-877-222-8387 to verify health benefits; 
and 

 If the veteran has primary insurance they must utilize this first. The VA requests that 
a veteran not utilize their Veterans Benefits if they have primary insurance. 

Veterans receiving authorized services from a CICP provider cannot be charged an 
additional CICP copayment after VA reimbursement.  
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Examples of Primary Insurance: 

 Group Health Insurance 

 Military Health Insurance 

 Medicare 

 Workers’ Compensation 

 Veterans Benefits 

 HMO 

 Health First Colorado 

 COBRA 

 Other commercial health plans 
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 CICP RATING  

The CICP rating determines a family’s copayments and the client’s annual copayment 
cap. CICP ratings are effective for one year from the date of the rating; unless the client’s 
financial situation changes or the rating changes is issued due to a provider management 
exception. 

The “CICP Rating Box” is where you record the CICP letter rating or “Denied” for the 
applicant. You must assign a rating or denial and notify the applicant of his/her status 
within five working days of the applicant completing the application. 

The denial letter should include a statement informing the applicant that he/she has 15 
days to appeal the rating. The denial letter should clearly identify to whom the letter is 
addressing, with an address and phone number of the person the applicant should 
contact regarding the appeal. Family members receiving CICP discounted services under 
the same application all have the same CICP rating. 

CICP ratings are usually effective for 12 months from the date of the application. 
Extenuating circumstances sometimes requires that the rating be effective for a shorter 
period of time. When a client is rated for a period less than 12 months, it is the 
responsibility of the primary rating provider to perform the re-rating within the specified 
time. 

Section 12.01 Determining the CICP Rating 

To determine the CICP rating, complete the following steps: 

On the CICP “Ability to Pay Scale” locate the appropriate family size corresponding to the 
family size recorded on Line 11 of the application. 

Slide across the CICP “Ability to Pay Scale” until you find the range where the amount on 
Line 13 - “Grand Total Net CICP Income” of the application falls. The letter rating at the 
top of this column is the family’s CICP rating. 

The letter codes mean the following: 

N = 40% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) before qualified deductions. Families 
rated at this level should be referred to Health First Colorado before CICP is 
considered. 

A, B, C, D, and E = Families 133% of FPL before qualified deductions should be 
referred to Health First Colorado.  

Women rated at the D and E level and who are pregnant are possibly eligible 
for Health First Colorado or other entitlement programs. Refer those women 
to Health First Colorado and require them to have a denial letter prior to participating 
in the CICP. 
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F, G, H, and I = Families not eligible for Health First Colorado. However, children 
and pregnant women age 19 and over should be referred to CHP+. 

Z = Applicants at or below 40% of FPL with the following conditions: Homeless 
individuals, or individuals living in transitional housing designed to promote self-
sufficiency, or individuals who have no permanent residence of their own and are 
temporarily residing with others who have no legal obligation to financially support 
them, or recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy Disabled financial assistance 
program. There is no copayment required for this rating. Applicant should be 
referred to Health First Colorado prior to approval for CICP. 

Record the family’s CICP rating in the “CICP Rating” box of the application. If the family 
does not qualify for the CICP, write “Denied” in the “CICP Rating” box of the application. 

Give the family a copy of the completed application. 

Section 12.02 Client Re-rate 

Clients are re-rated due to specific situations or household changes. Client re-ratings 
affect only future charges. Therefore, bills incurred after the initial rating but prior to the 
re-rating are discounted based on the client’s initial rating. 

When clients request a re-rating and can document that their circumstances have 
changed since the initial rating, you must re-rate them. Reasons for a re-rating to occur 
may include one or more of the following: 

1. Family income has changed significantly; 

2. Number of dependents has changed; 

3. An error in the calculation; OR 

4. The year rate has expired. 
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 CLIENT COPAYMENT  

Section 13.01 Client Annual Copayment and Cap 

For all client ratings except the N-rating, annual copayments for CICP clients cannot 
exceed 10% of the family’s “Grand Total Net CICP Income,” recorded on Line 13 of the 
application. Annual copayments for clients with N-ratings can be up to, but cannot 
exceed, $120. The CICP Client Annual Copayment Cap (annual cap) is based on the 
client’s application date. Only copayments that have been paid can be applied to the 
copayment cap. Clients are responsible for any charges incurred prior to receiving their 
CICP rating. Clients are responsible for tracking their copayments and informing the 
provider in writing (including documentation) when they meet their annual cap. However, 
if clients overpay their annual cap and inform the provider in writing, the provider’s 
facility must reimburse the client for the amount overpaid. The client’s annual cap is reset 
when the client completes a new application.  

Annual caps apply to charges incurred only after a client is eligible for the CICP, and 
apply only to services incurred at a CICP provider. For example: A client received services 
from a provider’s facility in March and did not qualify for the CICP. In November, the 
client receives services from a provider’s facility and does qualify for the CICP. Payments 
made by the client for the services received in March do not apply to the annual cap. 

Sometimes clients want to prepay their annual cap prior to receiving services. The 
Department does not support this practice because if the client does not incur charges 
equal to the prepaid copayment cap, the provider’s facility will need to refund the 
overpayment to the client. 

Section 13.02 Calculating the CICP Client Copayment Annual Cap 

To calculate the “CICP Client Copayment Annual Cap,” multiply Line 13 of the application 
by 0.10 (10%). (Do not round Line 13 up to the next highest dollar amount.) Enter this 
amount on the “Client Copayment Annual Cap” Line in the Client Copayment box 

Example: In February, a family of four applies for the CICP. Their “Net CICP Income,” 
Line 13, is $32,000. Their CICP rating is “F.” Their CICP annual cap is $3,200 ($32,000 x 
0.10). By July, the family has paid $2,700 in copayments. The mother loses her job in 
June, so the family can request to be re-rated. Although the client is eligible for a new 
rating, the copayments already paid will not count towards the new CICP copayment cap. 

Section 13.03 Client Copayments General Policies 

CICP clients are responsible for paying a portion of their medical bills. The client’s portion 
is called the “client copayment.” CICP providers must charge each CICP client a 
copayment (unless the client is a “Z” rating). The Department recommends that CICP 
providers require clients to pay their copayment prior to receiving care (except emergent 
care). For the CICP, there are different copayments for different service charges. The 
following information explains the different types of medical care charges and the related 
client copayments: 
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1. The Inpatient Facility copayment is required for charges related to non-physician 
(facility) services incurred while receiving care in a hospital for a continuous stay of 
24 hours or longer. For a patient seen in the hospital setting, only the hospital 
inpatient or emergency room copayment, plus the physician copayment can be 
charged. The emergency room copayment covers all services received while in the 
emergency department. 

2. Ambulatory Surgery copayment is for operative procedures received by a client 
who is admitted to and discharged from the hospital setting on the same day.  

3. The Inpatient and Emergency Room Physician copayment is required for 
charges related to services provided directly by the physician in the hospital setting, 
including emergency room care.  

4. The Clinic copayment is required for charges related to non-physician (facility) and 
physician services received in the clinic setting. This includes charges for primary 
and preventive medical care. It does not include charges for outpatient services 
provided in a hospital (i.e., emergency room care, outpatient surgery, radiology). If 
labs or x-rays are performed in the clinic, the additional lab or radiology copayment 
can be added. 

 For example, if a CICP client with an A rating was seen in the emergency 
department and had lab work done, the client would owe the $25.00 emergency 
room copayment plus the physician copayment of $35.00. If the same CICP 
client with an A rating was seen in the Provider’s primary care clinic and not the 
emergency room and had lab work done, the client would owe the $15.00 
outpatient clinic copayment plus the $10.00 laboratory services copayment. 

5. The Emergency Room copayment is required for charges related to non-physician 
(facility) services incurred while receiving care in the hospital setting for a 
continuous stay of less than 24 hours. 

6. Specialty Outpatient Clinic copayment is required for charges related to non-
physician (facility) and physician services received in the specialty outpatient clinic 
setting, but does not include charges for outpatient services provided in the hospital 
setting (i.e., emergency room physician, ambulatory surgery). Specialty outpatient 
charges include distinctive medical care (i.e., oncology, orthopedics, hematology, 
pulmonary) that is not normally available as primary and preventative medical care. 

7. Prescription copayment is required for prescription drugs received at a qualified 
CICP health care provider’s pharmacy.  

8. Laboratory Services copayment is required for charges related to laboratory tests 
received by the client that are not associated with an inpatient facility or hospital 
outpatient charge during the same period. (clinic providers) 

9. Radiology and Imaging Services copayment is required for charges related to 
radiology and imaging received by client in the clinic or specialty outpatient setting, 
but does not include charges from outpatient or inpatient services provided in the 
hospital setting. 
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10. Inpatient Facility copayment is required for charges related to a Magnetic 
Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computed Tomography (CT), Positron Emission 
Tomography (PET), Sleep Studies, Catheterization Laboratory (cath lab or other 
Nuclear Medicine services in an Outpatient setting.  

11. The Emergency Transportation copayment is required for charges related to 
emergency transportation/ambulance services from CICP providers approved to 
discount such services. 

12. Z-Rating is no longer limited to only homeless clients. The Z-Rating encompasses 
clients who are at or below 40% of the Federal Poverty Level (qualify for an N-
Rating) and are homeless, living in transitional housing, temporarily residing with 
others, or recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy Disabled financial assistance 
program. 

 Clients with a Z-Rating are exempt from client copayments.  

 Homeless patients are exempt from the income verification requirement, and 
providing proof of residency when completing the CICP application.  

 Transitional housing clients are clients who are participating in programs 
designed to assist individuals in becoming self-supporting. Clients living in 
transitional housing must provide a written statement from their counselor or 
program director asserting that they are participating in a transitional housing 
program. Transitional housing clients are exempt from client copayments. In 
addition, transitional housing clients are exempt from the income verification 
requirement when completing the CICP application. 

 Clients who have no permanent housing of their own and who are temporarily 
living with a person who has no legal obligation to financially support the client 
are exempt from client copayments. The individual allowing the client to reside 
with him or her may be asked to provide a written statement confirming that the 
client is not providing financial assistance to the household and that the living 
arrangement is not intended to be permanent. Clients residing with others are 
exempt from the verification of denied Health First Colorado benefits requirement 
when completing the CICP application. Clients residing with others are NOT 
exempt from the income verification requirement. 

 Recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy Disabled (AND) financial assistance 
program who are eligible and enrolled to receive the monthly grant award are 
exempt from client copayments. In addition, recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the 
Needy Disabled (AND) financial assistance program are exempt from the income 
verification when completing the CICP application. The majority of applicants in 
this category should qualify for the Expansion Health First Colorado program. 

Section 13.04 Determining a Client's Copayment  

Using the client rating recorded in the ”CICP Rating Box,” look up the corresponding 
rating on the “CICP Client Copayment Table”. The copayment amount is listed by service. 
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Section 13.05 Responsible Party Signature 

The responsible party listed on the first line of the application must sign the application 
within 90 days of the date of service. If an applicant is unable to sign the application or 
has died, a spouse, relative or guardian can sign the application. CICP Providers can sign 
the application on behalf of deceased patient, only as the last remedy. An unsigned 
application means the application has not been completed, the applicant cannot receive a 
discount for services under the Program, and the applicant has no appeal rights. The 
application must be completed before the responsible party can sign. 

The prospective client has 15 days to provide requested information. The application 
completion process must be completed within 45 days. If requested documentation is not 
provided by the applicant, the provider has the right to deny CICP eligibility. The 
applicant has a right to obtain a copy of the completed application. 

Section 13.06 CICP Policy on Fraudulent Applications 

Clients should be notified of the following State Statutes prior to signing the CICP 
application: 

Any person who represents that any medical service is reimbursable or subject to 
payment under this article when he or she knows that it is not and any person who 
represents that he or she is eligible for assistance under this article when he or she 
knows that he or she is not commits a class 2 misdemeanor and shall be punished as 
provided in section 18-1.3-501, C.R.S. 

C.R.S. 18-5-102 – Forgery 

1. A person commits forgery, if, with intent to defraud, such person falsely makes, 
completes, alters, or utters a written instrument which is or purports to be, or which 
is calculated to become or to represent if completed: 

a. A written instrument officially issued or created by a public office, public servant or 
government agency. 

2. Forgery is a class 5 felony. 

C.R.S. 18-1.3-401 Felonies classified - presumptive penalties 

Class 5 Felonies carry a minimum sentence of one-year imprisonment up to a maximum 
sentence of three years imprisonment with a mandatory period of parole of two years. In 
addition, a minimum fine of one thousand dollars up to a maximum fine of one hundred 
thousand dollars may be imposed.  

C.R.S 18-5-114 - Offering a false instrument for recording 

1. A person commits offering a false instrument for recording in the first degree if, 
knowing that a written instrument relating to or affecting real or personal property 
or directly affecting contractual relationships contains a material false statement or 
material false information, and with intent to defraud, he presents or offers it to a 
public office or a public employee, with the knowledge or belief that it will be 
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registered, filed, or recorded or become a part of the records of that public office or 
public employee. 

2. Offering a false instrument for recording in the first degree is a class 5 felony. 

3. A person commits offering a false instrument for recording in the second degree if, 
knowing that a written instrument relating to or affecting real or personal property 
or directly affecting contractual relationships contains a material false statement or 
material false information, he presents or offers it to a public office or a public 
employee, with the knowledge or belief that it will be registered, filed, or recorded 
or become a part of the records of that public office or public employee. 

4. Offering a false instrument for recording in the second degree is a class 1 misdemeanor. 

Reporting fraud is the responsibility of the provider who completed the CICP application 
for the implicated client. 

If a provider is notified that a client has possibly committed fraud on a CICP application, 
that provider is responsible for notifying the District Attorney of the client’s county of 
residence, in writing. The provider should not turn over the CICP application, medical 
records or billing records without a direct request from the District Attorney. The CICP 
application is property of the State, stored and maintained by the provider. If the District 
Attorney requests the CICP application, that application and all supporting documentation 
must be provided.  

If the provider is notified that a client has possibly committed fraud on a CICP 
application, but that provider did not complete the CICP application, that provider is 
responsible for notifying the CICP provider who did complete the application of the 
report. That notification should be in writing. 

The Department should be copied on all correspondence. The Department has been 
directed to assist all inquiries from the District Attorney, but will not submit any formal 
request for an investigation to the District Attorney. There is no State Agency with the 
authority to investigate fraud on the CICP application. 

Once the provider has notified the District Attorney, the provider is not responsible for 
any further action unless requested by the District Attorney or the Department. 

If the provider receives any reimbursement on a claim previously reimbursed by the CICP 
due to fraud, or any other reason, the provider must notify the Department in accordance 
with the CICP Manual. (See Section II: Data Collection, Article VI. - Previously Charged 
Claim Adjustments).  
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 APPEAL PROCESS  

Section 14.01 Re-rating 

To re-rate a client, you must complete a new CICP application. 

Sometimes even though clients’ financial situations may not have changed, they feel their 
initial ratings do not accurately reflect their current financial situations. The CICP has several 
methods for changing a CICP client’s initial rating. The methods are listed in order below: 

1. Provider Management Appeal 

2. Provider Management Exception 

Section 14.02 Instructions for Filing an Appeal 

You must inform the client that they have the right to appeal if they are not 
satisfied with the rating. All appeals must be handled at the provider level. For 
example, the client must receive a written denial for a Provider Management Appeal and 
Provider Management Exception. A client can request a Provider Management Appeal 
and/or exception in the same letter. Each of these methods requires the client to submit 
a written request and provide documentation supporting the reasons for the request. 

Section 14.03 Provider Management Appeals  

A Provider Management Appeal means that an eligibility technician at your facility has 
found that the client’s initial rating was inaccurate. Provider Management Appeals can 
result in higher or lower ratings depending on the documentation. A client has 15 days 
from the date of completing the application to request a Provider Management Appeal. If 
this time frame is not met and there was not a death in the client’s immediate family, you 
do not have to review a Provider Management Appeal. However, please notify the client 
that the Provider Management Appeal was denied because the client did not submit the 
request by the deadline. 

A client can request a Provider Management Appeal for the following reasons: 

1. The initial rating contains inaccurate information or miscalculations because the 
family member or representative was uninformed, OR 

2. Miscommunication between the client and the rating technician caused incomplete 
or inaccurate data to be recorded on the application. 

Each provider must designate a manager to review client appeals and grant management 
exceptions. A Provider Management Appeal involves receiving a written request from the 
client and reviewing the application completed by the rating technician, including all back-
up documentation, to determine if the CICP application is accurate. Your facility must 
notify clients in writing of the results of Provider Management Appeals within 15 working 
days of receipt of the appeal request from the client. 

If the designated manager finds that the initial application is not accurate, the designated 
manager must correct the application and assign the correct rating to the client. The 
correct rating is effective retroactive to the initial date of application. This means that 
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charges incurred 90 days prior to the initial date of application must be discounted. If the 
initial application is accurate, the designated manager may grant a management 
exception to the client. 

Section 14.04 Provider Management Exception 

A Provider Management Exception means that the client has an unusual circumstance, 
which may justify the lowering of the CICP rating. Provider Management Exceptions 
should not be used for applicants who do not qualify for the CICP because 
their resources exceed the limit (as an example, applicants earning $100 over 
income limit). Clients can either request Provider Management Exceptions when 
requesting a Provider Management Appeal or within 15 days from receipt of a Provider 
Management Appeal notice. If this time frame is not met, the provider does not have to 
review the Provider Management Exception request. However, please notify the client in 
writing that the Provider Management Exception was denied because the client did not 
submit the request by the deadline. 

Your facility must notify clients in writing of the results of Provider Management 
Exceptions within 15 working days of receipt of the exception request from the client. 

Designated managers can authorize a three-month exception to a client’s rating based on 
unusual circumstances. After the 90-day period ends, the client must be re-rated. You 
must note Provider Management Exceptions on the application and the designated 
manager must initial the application. The number of Provider Management Exceptions 
granted by a provider cannot exceed 5% of all ratings performed. Providers must treat 
clients equitably in the Provider Management Exception process. 

Ratings from a Provider Management Exception are effective retroactive to the initial date 
of application. This means that charges incurred 90 days prior to the initial date of 
application must be discounted. CICP providers do not need to honor exceptions made by 
other CICP providers. 

Section 14.05 Department Appeals  

The Department has determined that the CICP is NOT a “covered entity” under the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 privacy regulations (45 C.F.R. 
Parts 160 and 164). Because the CICP is not a part of Health First Colorado, and its 
principal activity is the making of grants to providers who serve eligible persons who are 
medically indigent, CICP is not considered a covered entity under HIPAA. The state 
personnel administering the CICP will provide oversight in the form of procedures and 
conditions, to ensure funds provided are being used to serve the target population, but 
will not be significantly involved in any health care decisions involving a 
qualified health care provider or client. 

HIPAA prevents the Department from being involved in client issues due to the Personal 
Health Information (PHI) clause. Each provider should establish procedures at their 
facility that sets forth the manner for handling appeals. The applicant should also be 
notified of these procedures.   
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 APPENDIX 

Section 15.01 Health First Colorado Programs and Child Health Plan (CHP+) 

Health First Colorado is a state and federally funded program that pays for medical 
services for low-income families and individuals. Health First Colorado is a program for 
the categorically needy, meaning that an individual or family must fall below a certain 
income/resource limit. 

CHP+ is a public health insurance for low-income children ages 18 and under and 
pregnant women. CHP+ is a program for applicants who are not eligible for Health First 
Colorado due to income limits, and must not have other health insurance. 

Providers must screen CICP applicants for Health First Colorado eligibility and CHP+ prior 
to assigning a CICP rating. This is beneficial for both providers and applicants because 
under Health First Colorado and CHP+ providers receive higher reimbursement and 
applicants receive more benefits and may have lower copayments. The Provider 
Compliance Audit requires verification that the applicant was determined “not 
categorically eligible” for Health First Colorado or CHP+. 

Section 15.02 Denial of Health First Colorado or CHP+ Eligibility 

If the applicant appears to meet the eligibility criteria for CHP+ or any of the Health First 
Colorado eligibility categories, a denial letter from CHP+ or the local county Department 
of Human or Social Services must be received.  

A letter from CHP+ or the local county Department of Human, Medical Assistance Site or 
Social Services indicating voluntary withdrawal or denial due to refusal to submit 
complete documentation is not sufficient proof that the applicant has applied for CHP+ or 
Health First Colorado and been denied.  

Section 15.03 CICP Eligibility and Other Health Programs 

The table below illustrates what program categories can be used in conjunction with CICP. 

Children’s 
Programs 

Description of 
Programs 

Federal 
Poverty 
Level 

CICP 
Eligibility 

Effective Date: 

Child Health 
Plan Plus 
(CHP+)  

Low-cost health 
insurance for children 
under 19. Enrollment 
fees may apply 

250% 
FPL 

No First day of month of 
CHP+ application. 

CHP+ 
Presumptive 
Eligibility (PE) 

Access to immediate 
temporary medical 
coverage for children, 
for at least 45 days 
while eligibility for full 
health care benefits is 
determined. 

250% 
FPL 

No N.A. 
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Children’s 
Programs 

Description of 
Programs 

Federal 
Poverty 
Level 

CICP 
Eligibility 

Effective Date: 

Health First 
Colorado 
Presumptive 
Eligibility (PE) 

Access to immediate 
temporary medical 
coverage for children, 
for at least 45 days 
while eligibility for full 
health care benefits is 
determined. 

133% 
FPL 

No N.A. 

Children with 
low-income 

Health First Colorado 
coverage for children 
under 19. 

133% 
FPL 

No Backdates up to 90 
days from application 
date. First day of the 
month of application, 
if no backdates are 
requested. Five year 
ban lifted as of 7-1-
14. 

Children with 
Disabilities 

Under age of 19; meet 
Social Security 
Administration 
definition of disability. 
Premium amounts may 
apply. 

300% 
FPL 

No Backdates up to 90 
days from application 
date. First day of the 
month of application, 
if no backdates are 
requested. 

Foster Care Covers persons less 
than 21 years of age 
for whom a county is 
assuming full or partial 
financial responsibility; 
who are in foster care, 
in homes or private 
institutions, or in 
subsidized adoptive 
homes prior to the 
final decree of 
adoption.  

N.A. No N.A. 

Former Foster 
Care 

Health First Colorado 
coverage to age 26 for 
youth who have aged 
out of foster care who 
were not adopted and 
who did not 
emancipate prior to 
turning 18. 

N.A. No N.A. 
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Pregnant 
Women 
Programs 

Description of 
Programs 

Federal 
Poverty 
Level 

CICP 
Eligibility 

Effective Date 

CHP+ Low-cost health 
insurance for pregnant 
women. Enrollment fees 
may apply. 

250% 
FPL  

No First day of month of 
CHP+ application. 

CHP+ 
Presumptive 
Eligibility 

Access to immediate 
temporary medical 
coverage for pregnant 
women for at least 45 
days, while eligibility for 
full health care benefits 
is determined. 

250% 
FPL 

No N.A. 

Health First 
Colorado 
Presumptive 
Eligibility (PE) 

Immediate temporary 
Health First Colorado 
coverage for pregnant 
women. 

185% 
FPL  

No N.A. 

Health First 
Colorado 

Health First Colorado 
coverage for pregnant 
women. 

185% 
FPL 

No Backdates up to 90 
days of application. 

Health First 
Colorado 
Programs for 
Adults 

Description of 
Programs 

Federal  
Poverty 
Level 

CICP 
Eligibility 

Effective Date 

Transitional 
Medical 
Assistance 

Ineligible for Health 
First Colorado because 
new or increased 
income from 
employment, or hours 
of employment, 
provided an employed 
member of family 
continues to be 
employed. 

185% 
FPL 

No Begins first month of 
ineligibility for Health 
First Colorado due to 
change in income. 

Transitional 
Medical 
Assistance (4 
Month 
Extended) 

Ineligible for Health 
First Colorado because 
alimony income 

185% 
FPL 

No Begins first month of 
ineligibility for Health 
First Colorado due to 
change in income. 
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Health First 
Colorado 
Programs for 
Adults 

Description of 
Programs 

Federal  
Poverty 
Level 

CICP 
Eligibility 

Effective Date 

Caretaker of 
Dependent 
Children 

Adults age 19 through 
64. Must have 
dependent child in 
home. 
 

133% 
FPL 

No Backdates up to 90 
days of Health First 
Colorado application. 

Health First 
Colorado for 
Adults 

Adults age 19 through 
64 without a 
dependent child in the 
home. 

133% 
FPL 

No Backdates up to 90 
days from Health First 
Colorado application.  

Buy-In 
Program for 
Working 
Adults with 
Disabilities 

If you work and earn 
too much to qualify for 
Health First Colorado 
you may qualify. 
Monthly premium is 
based on income. 

450% 
FPL 

No Backdates up to 90 
days from Health First 
Colorado application 

Senior Adult 
Programs 

Description of 
Programs 

Federal  
Poverty 
Level 

CICP 
Eligibility 

Effective Date 

Old Age 
Pension 
(OAP)- A and 
B)-Medical 

Disabled or over 65. 
Financial payment 
entitles clients for a 
category of Medical 
Assistance, either 
Health First Colorado 
or Health Care 
Program. 

76.9% 
FPL 

No Backdates up to 90 
days from Health First 
Colorado application. 
Health First Colorado 
denial due to 
sponsor’s income is 
required. 

Old Age 
Pension (OAP-
State Only) 
and HCP-B 
State Only 

Not eligible for Health 
First Colorado. 

76.9% 
FPL 

Yes Eligibility begins date 
of application or date 
eligibility is 
established, 
whichever is later. 
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Medicare 
Savings 
Programs 
(MSP) 

Description of 
Programs 

Federal  
Poverty 
Level 

CICP 
Eligibility 

Effective Date 

Specified 
Low-Income 
Medicare 
Beneficiary 
Program 
(SLMB) 

Age 65 or older or 
disabled, limited 
financial resources 
and income, State 
pays percentage of 
premium of Part B. 

120% FPL Yes Backdates up to 90 
days from 
application. 

Qualified 
Individual 
Program 
(QI1) 

Individuals must 
apply every year; 
does not qualify for 
any Health First 
Colorado program; 
State pays Part B 
premium. 

120-135% 
FPL 

Yes Backdates up to 90 
days from 
application. 

Qualified 
Medicare 
Beneficiary 
Program 
(QMB) 

State pays 20% 
Medicare Part B co-
insurance. 

100% FPL Yes Effective 1st day of 
month following the 
month of eligibility 
determination. 

Medicare- 
Health First 
Colorado –
QMB (Dual 
Eligibles) 

65 years or older, or 
disabled, status 
under Social Security 
or Railroad 
Retirement 
assistance with 
Medicare premiums 
and out of pocket 
Health First Colorado 
expenses.  

100% FPL No Effective 1st day of 
month following the 
month of eligibility 
determination.  

Long-term 
Care 

65 years or older, 
blind, or disabled 
people on SSI.  

100% FPL No Backdates up to 90 
days from 
application. 

HCBS & 
Nursing Home 
Patients 

Disabled individuals 
needing long-term 
care. 

300% of 
Supplemental 
Security 
Income 
Level. 

No N.A. (Can be on 
wait-list for up to 5 
years). 
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