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DEPARTMENT UPDATES
•	 Karen Talley has transferred to another section within the Department and no longer 

works with the Colorado Indigent Care Program. All inquiries should be directed to 
the CICP email inbox, cicpcorrespondence@state.co.us; someone will respond within 
2 two business days

•	 As a reminder, the Department sends updates to the main contact we have on file and 
it is up to that person to make sure the information is appropriately distributed

•	 Provider applications for the Colorado Indigent Care Program will be sent out in 
March and will be due back to the Department by close of business April 15th

•	 The new FPL and updated Excel client application will be released April 1st

The Department of Revenue (DOR) is in the process of updating their rules regarding 
lawful presence and the waiver process. In response, the Department is updating the 
corresponding language in our Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP) rule to follow the 
new DOR rule. The Department’s rule will now point directly to the DOR rule instead of 
listing out documents that are acceptable for establishing lawful presence. 

The rule changes implemented by DOR will be effective later this spring. The 
Department will communicate the new language, as well as what it means for our CICP 
providers, clients, and applicants as soon as we know when the new DOR rule language 
will be effective. Until then, current CICP rules remain in effect.

LAWFUL PRESENCE

SAVE THE DATE
Our next Executive Forum will be on Tuesday March 29, 2016. We will once again have 
two separate sessions: Clinics 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. and Hospitals 2:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m.

mailto:cicpcorrespondence%40state.co.us?subject=
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LIQUID ASSET SPEND DOWN
The Department has created resources for providers 
and clients to more fully explain the Liquid Asset 
Spend Down – what it is, who can use it, and when it 
can be used. These resources can be foundare on the 
Department’s website. Materials were also emailed out to 
the eligibility contact for each provider.

NEW CICP AUDIT REQUIREMENTS
CICP audits covering the provider’s fiscal year January 
1, 2015 through December 31, 2015 are due to the 
Department by June 30, 2016. If a provider received 
over $1,000,000 in reimbursement from CICP in FY 
2014-15, an independent auditor must perform an annual 
audit and submit a formal audit statement of compliance 
to the Department. Hospital providers should refer to 
the Department’s letter detailing their hospital provider 
fees and payments under the Colorado Health Care 
Affordability Act to determine if an external audit is 
required. For audits due on or before June 30, 2016 an 
external audit is required for those hospitals that received 
CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Payments 
in excess of $1,000,000.

IRS FORM 1095-B
IRS Form 1095-B is a federal tax document that the 
Department is required to send to members as proof that 
they had qualifying health coverage during the month(s) 
they were enrolled in Medicaid or Child Health Plan 
Plus (CHP+) in 2015. Under the Affordable Care Act, 
most individuals are required to have health coverage, 
or pay an IRS federal tax penalty, the Individual Shared 
Responsibility Payment.

Since CICP is not recognized as health insurance, 
individuals who have CICP will not receive this form.

Please visit COHealthInfo.com/IRSForm1095B for 
answers to frequently asked questions about Form 1095-
B. This resource will be updated on an ongoing basis as 
needed. 

Stakeholder resources can also be found on the 
Department’s website.

MEDICAID PROVIDER REVALIDATION
Current Medicaid providers who have not already 
begun the revalidation process should do so in February.  
Providers may revalidate prior to their assigned wave 
period; however, all providers need to have begun the 
application process by the end of March 2016.

Provider resources, including trainings, an enrollment 
reference guide, FAQs, and the Online Provider 
Enrollment Tool are available online on the Department’s 
Provider Resources page. Questions regarding provider 
revalidation and enrollment should be addressed to 
Provider.Questions@state.co.us.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
Question: What is the co-pay cap for an N rating?
Answer: For applicants that who qualify with an N rating, 

their copayment is 10% of their income up to 
$120. 

Question: How long is a rating good for?
Answer: A rating is good for no more than one year at a 

time. Once the rating has expired or is about to 
expire, the client will need to be re-rated if they 
wish to continue in the program. 

Question: Can a client be on CICP if Medicaid does not 
cover all the services they need?

Answer: No, if a client is eligible for Medicaid they must 
be on Medicaid. A client can only be put in 
CICP if they do not qualify for Medicaid or have 
been denied Medicaid. 

Question: Are clients who have Medicaid from another 
state eligible for CICP?

Answer: They are most likely not a resident of Colorado 
and therefore would not qualify for CICP. 
However, if they have the intent to become 
a Colorado resident they should apply for 
Colorado Medicaid and if they are denied they 
can then apply for CICP.

Additional frequently asked questions can be located 
through the Department’s website Frequently Asked 

Questions for Providers.

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/cicp-liquid-asset-spend-down
https://www.irs.gov/Affordable-Care-Act/Individuals-and-Families/Individual-Shared-Responsibility-Provision
https://www.irs.gov/Affordable-Care-Act/Individuals-and-Families/Individual-Shared-Responsibility-Provision
http://www.cohealthinfo.com/irsform1095b/
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/training-topics-reference-documents-and-guides
https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/provider-resources
mailto:mailto:Provider.Questions%40state.co.us?subject=
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POLICY REMINDERS
Providers should have implemented the following new policy changes that were effective on July 1, 2015:

1.	 Increase Personal Vehicle Equity Limit to $7,500 from $4,500

2.	 Modification of the Medical Deduction policy to:
•	 Allow deduction for documented payment of outstanding medical bills, regardless of the age of the bill
•	 Continue to allow deduction for current verifiable medical expenses and/or pharmaceuticals prescribed by a 

physician and filled by either an internal or external pharmacy

3.	 CICP clinic providers can provide services to CICP clients who have primary insurance that is not accepted by the 
provider. Providers may seek a waiver to by-pass the necessity of providing proof of claim denial prior to adjusting 
the patient account to reflect CICP discounts and writing off charges to CICP. 
•	 Providers should send their waiver request to cicpcorrespondence@state.co.us

GENERAL REMINDERS
•	 Providers should send questions to CICP Correspondence for a timely response; however, providers can also send 

specific inquiries directly to the following staff:
•	Taryn.Jorgensen@state.co.us for provider billing reports and information
•	 Eugene.Advincula@state.co.us for provider audits and information

•	 If you would like assistance concerning CICP payment information, please contact our Special Financing Accountant, 
Gina.Decrescentis@state.co.us. She can answer questions about current and prior payments, EFT direct authorization, 
W-9 forms, or other payment related information. Gina can also be reached at 303-866-5718.

•	 Providers can access CICP information at:
www.colorado.gov/hcpf/programs-Adults - General Information
www.colorado.gov/hcpf/Colorado-Indigent-Care-Program-stakeholder-forum - Stakeholder & Executive Forum
www.colorado.gov/hcpf/CICP - Program Manual, newsletters, forms, etc. 

•	 Clients can reach the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1-800-221-3943. 

SPECIAL FINANCING DIVISION STAFF
Nancy Dolson 

Special Financing Division Director
Nancy.Dolson@state.co.us

303-866-3698

Cynthia Miley 
Program Assistant

Cynthia.Miley@state.co.us
303-866-4136

Cindy Arcuri  
Financing Unit Manager

Cynthia.Arcuri@state.co.us
303-866-3996

Eugene Advincula 
Cost Report Accountant

Eugene.Advincula@state.co.us
303-866-3184

Gina DeCrescentis 
Accountant

Gina.Decrescentis@state.co.us
303-866-5718

Taryn Joensen 
Financing Specialist

Taryn.Jorgensen@state.co.us
303-866-5634

Department of Health Care Policy and Financing
1570 Grant Street
Denver, CO 80203

Colorado.gov/hcpf
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