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ARTICLE  I. PROGRAM OVERVIEW 

The Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP) distributes federal and state funds to 

partially compensate qualified health care providers for uncompensated costs associated 

with services rendered to the indigent population. Qualified health care providers who 

receive this funding render discounted health care services to Colorado residents, migrant 

workers and legal immigrants with limited financial resources who are uninsured or 

underinsured and not eligible for benefits under Medicaid or the Child Health Plan Plus 

(CHP+). 

The Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (Department) administers 

the CICP by distributing funding to qualified health care providers who serve eligible 

persons who are indigent. The Department issues procedures to ensure the funding is 

used to serve the indigent population in a uniform method. Any significant departure 

from these procedures will result in termination of the contract with, and the funding to, a 

health care provider. The legislative authority for this program was originally enacted in 

1983 and can currently be found under 25.5-3-101, et seq., C.R.S., the “Reform Act for 

the Provision of Health Care for the Medically Indigent.” State rules implementing this 

legislation, 10 CCR 2505-10 8.900 – 8.908, are found at the Colorado Secretary of 

State’s website. 

Section 1.01 Provisions Applicable to Providers 

Providers eligible for participation in the CICP must meet the following minimum 

criteria: 

 Licensed as a community health clinic or certified as a general hospital, 

maternity hospital (birth center) by the Department of Public Health and 

Environment (DPHE). 

 A federally qualified health center, as defined in section 1861 (aa) (4) of the 

federal “Social Security Act”, 42 U.S.C sec. 1395x (aa) (4). 

 A rural health clinic, as defined in section 1861 (aa) (2) of the federal “Social 

Security Act”, 42 U.S.C sec. 1395x (aa) (2). 

 Assure that emergency care is available to all CICP clients throughout the 

contract year. 

 If the provider is a hospital, the hospital must have at least two obstetricians with 

staff privileges at the hospital who agree to provide obstetric services to 

individuals entitled to such services as Medicaid clients. In the case where a 

hospital is located in a rural area, the term "obstetrician" includes any physician 

with staff privileges at the hospital to perform non-emergency obstetric 

procedures. This obstetrics requirement does not apply to a hospital in which the 

patients are predominantly under 18 years of age; or which does not offer non-

emergency obstetric services as of December 21, 1987. 

http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900.pdf?ruleVersionId=6171&fileName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900.pdf?ruleVersionId=6171&fileName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.900
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ARTICLE  II. PROVIDER AND APPLICANT RESPONSIBILITIES 

Section 2.01 Provider’s Statement of Responsibilities 

Providers participating in the CICP shall: 

1. Treat all clients with respect and with consideration for the client’s dignity and 

privacy; 

2. Inform clients of how to express opinions, compliments or concerns, and how to 

make a complaint without fear of reprisal; 

3. Strive to provide timely resolutions to the client’s complaints or concerns;  

4. Protect the privacy and confidentiality of the client’s health and financial records; 

5. Offer clients information on all treatment options, and allow clients to participate 

in decisions regarding his or her health care; 

6. Notify the client of the availability of sign language and interpreter services in 

accordance with applicable laws and regulations, when such services are 

necessary; 

7. Ensure the availability of program information – applications, informational 

materials, forms and brochures; 

8. Prohibit discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability;  

9. Upon request, provide applicants with copies of all signed worksheets and 

documents; and 

10. Explain to the client or guardian that discounted services may vary and that a 

rating based on financial resources will determine their portion of the bill. 

CICP providers are encouraged to establish policies and procedures specific to their 

facility which do not directly contradict this manual. 

 The Department is available for informational queries of a general nature. 

  Providers are responsible for determining eligibility.  

 Not all circumstances in determining client eligibility are covered in this manual 

and the manual is not meant to be all-inclusive. 

Section 2.02 Client’s Statement of Responsibilities 

Clients applying for or receiving discounted CICP services shall: 

1. Acknowledge that the CICP is not health insurance, does not offer a specific 

benefit package, is not an entitlement to medical benefits and that there are 

limitations to services discounted; 

2. Acknowledge that discounted CICP health care services vary by provider 

location; 

3. Give the CICP provider all the necessary financial information and documentation 

needed to complete the application; 
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4. Shall not give false information with the intent to commit fraud; 

5. Tell the CICP provider if a CICP financial rating was issued by another provider 

and notify the CICP provider within 15 days if the CICP rating is disputed; 

6. Be responsible for paying any money owed on time, and as required, or work with 

the CICP provider to make payment arrangements; 

7. Notify the CICP provider promptly of changes in resources, income and all other 

household changes that may affect the CICP rating; 

8. Communicate any information, concerns and/or questions related to the financial 

screening to the appropriate representative; 

9. Respect the property of the CICP provider, fellow clients and others; and 

10. Follow all other rules and regulations of the CICP provider’s location relating to 

respectful treatment and rights of other clients and provider staff. 
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ARTICLE  III. SERVICES OFFERED UNDER CICP & CICP 

SUBROGATION POLICY 

Section 3.01 Services Provided Under the CICP 

Health care services provided to CICP clients must be medically necessary, as determined by 

the CICP provider. Medical necessity is defined in 10 CCR 2505-10, Section 8.076.1.8., and 

means a good or service that will, or is reasonably expected to prevent, diagnose, cure, correct, 

reduce, or ameliorate the pain and suffering, or the physical, mental, cognitive, or 

developmental effects, of an illness, injury, or disability. It may also include a course of 

treatment that includes mere observation or no treatment at all. The good or service must be: 

i. Provided in accordance with generally accepted standards of medical practice in the 

United States; 

ii. Clinically appropriate in terms of type, frequency, extent, site, and duration; 

iii. Not primarily for the economic benefit of the provider or for the convenience of the 

client, caretaker, or provider; and 

iv. Performed in a cost effective and most appropriate setting required by the client’s 

condition. 

The Department does not determine Medical necessity. All health care services 

normally provided at the hospital and/or clinic shall be regularly available at a discount to 

CICP clients unless the provider sets a standardized policy that limits available services. 

Providers shall offer emergency services at a discount. The Department has granted 

waivers to limit medical services to a specific area or county; however, the waivers do 

not exclude the provider from supplying required emergency care at a discount to any 

CICP client, even if that client resides outside the provider's service area. 

If a CICP provider agrees to accept a client transfer from another CICP provider, the 

client must be provided discounted services from both providers. It is the receiving 

provider's decision to charge an additional copayment for the service provided. It would 

be appropriate to charge an inpatient copayment if the client was being admitted to a 

hospital and the client had only paid an outpatient copayment at the primary provider. 

Section 3.02 CICP Subrogation Policy: 

The CICP does not have any subrogation rights concerning any settlements or judgments, 

but those rights are retained by the facility where the medical service was provided (the 

provider). The provider is obligated to make all reasonable efforts to collect amounts due 

from third party coverage and applicable co-payment amounts, and shall maintain 

auditable evidence of such efforts. The client’s medical claims and service information, and 

any related charges, must be obtained directly from the provider and the client’s attorney is 

obligated to request the relevant information directly from the provider. Through any settlement 

or judgment award, the provider has the right to recover all applicable charges related to the 

medical service provided, even if the initial charge was discounted under the CICP. 

This document is available on line at colorado.gov/hcpf. Follow the link labeled For Our 

Providers, Get Info, FAQ’s & More, Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP),and then 

Attorney Subrogation Policy.  

https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/cicp
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ARTICLE  IV. EXCLUDED SERVICES 

Section 4.01 Excluded Services 

The following services are not reimbursable through the CICP: 

1. Services not Medically Necessary as determined by medical professionals; 

2. Elective surgeries that are not medically necessary; 

3. Nursing home care; 

4. Chiropractic services; 

5. Sex change surgical procedures; 

6. Cosmetic surgery; 

7. Experimental and non-FDA approved treatments; 

8. Non-urgent dental services; 

9. Court-ordered procedures, such as drug testing; 

10. Abortions, except as specified in Sec. 25.5-3-106, C.R.S.; 

11. Mental health services as a primary diagnosis in an outpatient or clinic setting; the 

CICP can reimburse for the services if they are a secondary diagnosis; and 

12. Prescription drugs included in the definition of Medicare Part-D are excluded 

from CICP eligible clients who are also eligible for Medicare;  

13. Prescriptions for Medical Marijuana 
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ARTICLE  V. HEALTH COVERAGE PLANS 

Section 5.01 Health Coverage Plans 

The CICP is not a health coverage plan as defined in Section 10-16-102 (22.5) C.R.S. 

The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA), Division of Insurance, 

defines a health coverage plan as a policy, contract, certificate or agreement of coverage 

offered to individuals. An insurance contract shall include a list of procedures and 

benefits covered under the policy. An insured individual shall be entitled to receive a 

contract and/or evidence of coverage as approved by the Insurance Commissioner as 

defined in 10-16-102, C.R.S. The CICP cannot be used as proof of medical insurance 

The CICP does not offer a specified discounted medical benefit package or an entitlement 

to medical benefits or funding to individuals or medical providers. Medically indigent 

persons receiving discounted health care services from qualified health care providers are 

subject to certain limitations and requirements. The CICP makes “it possible to use state 

funds to partially reimburse providers for services given to the state’s non-Medicaid 

medically indigent residents. Therefore, medically indigent persons accepting medical 

services from this program shall be subject to the limitations and requirements imposed 

in this article,” Section 25.5-3-102 C.R.S. The CICP is not a health coverage plan as 

defined in Section 10-16-102 (22.5) C.R.S. 

Section 5.02 HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) 

The Department has determined that the CICP is NOT a “covered entity” under the 

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) privacy 

regulations (45 C.F.R. Parts 160 and 164). Because the CICP is not a part of Medicaid, 

and its principal activity is the making of grants to providers who serve eligible persons 

who are medically indigent, CICP is not considered a covered entity under HIPAA. The 

CICP provider is the covered entity and shall comply with all requirements under HIPAA 

regarding the rights of the clients they serve. Decisions made to protect the privacy rights 

of clients are solely those of the covered entity. The state personnel administering the 

CICP will provide oversight in the form of procedures and conditions, to ensure funds 

provided are being used to serve the target population, but they will not be significantly 

involved in any health care decisions or disputes involving a health care provider or 

client. 
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ARTICLE  VI. CLIENT ELIGIBILITY FOR CICP 

Section 6.01 Overview of Requirements 

The “CICP Eligibility Section” contains the program guidelines for determining 

eligibility. The Department refers to eligibility determination as “the rating process.” The 

Department intends that the rating process be uniform across the state. 

 The rating process takes a “snapshot” of an applicant’s financial resources as of 

the date the rating takes place and a signed application is obtained. Ratings 

usually occur on the initial date of service. (Full month of current income). 

  Ratings are retroactive for services received up to 90 days prior to application, or 

if there are applicants with other health insurance coverage, when the third-party 

payer has an adjudicated claim. Therefore, when an applicant who has received 

services applies for the CICP, the applicant is applying for a discount on already 

incurred medical charges. Providers may extend the deadline for special 

circumstances under a policy determined and set by the provider.  

 All CICP clients must have an initial rating which is usually valid for one year. 

However, initial ratings may change for various reasons. The most common 

method of changing a client’s rating is “client re-rating.” Clients are re-rated due 

to specific situations, household change, or when Management Exception rating 

expires. Re-rates do not apply to bills prior to the re-rate. 

In general, all applicants aged 18 and older must: 

1. Sign an affidavit indicating their citizenship status; 

2. Provide one approved document to demonstrate that they are lawfully present in 

the country; 

3. Be a resident of the State of Colorado or communicate “Intent to Remain in 

Colorado”; 

4. Furnish a Social Security number-NOT CARD (or documentation that they have 

applied for one); and 

5. Meet all other CICP eligibility requirements (related to income, etc.). 

Section 6.02 Instructions for Completing the Application 

The CICP Client application (application) appears in the Appendix section. When 

completing the application, the provider must obtain as much documentation as possible 

to support the applicant’s financial status. Documentation assures that State funds are 

used appropriately. Except in the event of an emergency, an application can be denied for 

non-compliance if the client refuses to provide required information or documentation. 

The provider should schedule an appointment with the applicant to complete the 

application within 45 days after the date of service and must make a reasonable attempt 

to complete the application within 90 days after the date of service. It is in the provider’s 
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best interests to ask first-time clients whether or not they have received a CICP rating 

with a different provider. 

Clients are responsible for notifying the provider’s billing office if they have received a 

CICP rating from another CICP facility. Clients must report their CICP eligibility rating 

to the provider within 90 days of service. If a client fails to report his or her CICP 

eligibility rating within 90 days, the provider is not obligated to provide a discount. 

Section 6.03 Emergency Application 

Sometimes it may not be practical to rate an applicant using the regular CICP application 

process. For example, an individual seen in an emergency room because of an injury may 

be unable to provide all of the information or documentation required by the usual 

application process. The CICP Emergency application should only be used for 

patients that appear not to be categorically eligible for Medicaid. For emergency 

situations, complete the following steps. 

1. Use the regular CICP application, but check “EMERGENCY” at the top (right 

corner) of the application; 

2. Ask the applicant to respond verbally to all questions and to sign the application; 

and 

3. Assign a CICP rating based on the verbal information provided. 

By following the above steps, you have created an “Emergency application.”, An 

Emergency application is good for one episode of service in an emergency room and any 

subsequent service (such as in inpatient hospital stay) related to the emergency room 

episode. The subsequent service must immediately follow the emergency room service to 

qualify as part of an emergency episode. Treatment must be continuous to be considered 

part of the same emergency episode. If the client receives any care other than the 

emergency room visit that is not related to the emergency room episode, you must 

request the client to submit documentation to support all figures on the Emergency 

application OR complete a new CICP application. If the documentation submitted by the 

client does not support the verbal information, you must complete a new CICP 

application. If the client does not submit any supporting documentation or complete a 

new application upon the request of the provider, the provider shall use the information 

contained in the Emergency application, however, other unrelated services shall not be 

discounted. 

An individual can only complete an Emergency application once a year. Any requests for 

medical care in the emergency room after the initial date of service or episode must 

include a completed application accompanied by the requested documentation. Any 

applicant who meets the definition of homeless (see Section IV of this manual, CICP 

Regulations Section 8.907. B.a., for the definition of homeless) is not restricted to 

completing an Emergency application only once a rating year. 
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Providers must allow a client to complete an Emergency application once a year when the 

client seeks emergency services, even if the client does not reside in the geographical 

area where the provider typically offers CICP discounted health care services. 

Section 6.04 Other Provider’s Rating 

Providers are not required to accept each other’s rates if a provider believes the rate was 

determined inaccurately or that the person was rated incorrectly. If a discrepancy exists, 

providers are asked to contact each other and arrive upon the correct rating.  

It is the burden of the provider of the original application to make available the 

applicant’s application and supporting for auditing for 6 State fiscal years. The original 

application is the property of the original provider, and a copy of the card should suffice 

for any subsequent provider rendering medical services to client screened by another 

CICP provider. 
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ARTICLE  VII. CICP CLIENT APPLICATION 

Section 7.01 Applicant Name 

The name entered should be that of the person responsible for paying incurred charges 

(The Guarantor). Any non-minor household member can be the responsible party. If an 

applicant is deceased, the executor of the estate or a family member can complete the 

application on behalf of the applicant. CICP Providers can complete the application on 

behalf of deceased patient, only as the last remedy. The executor or family member 

completing the application will not be responsible for any copayments incurred on behalf 

of the deceased member. 

Section 7.02 Applicant Address 

Applicant’s address refers to the residence of all family members included in the rating. 

All members included under this rating must live at this address. This address cannot be a 

business address or an empty lot. The family address must be the primary place where the 

family resides. See “Colorado Resident” under Section 1.33 for more information on the 

family’s primary home. 

Homeless Clients are exempt from client copayments, income verification requirement, 

and providing proof of residency when completing the CICP application. Homeless 

applicants are not exempt from applying for Medicaid. 

A person is considered homeless who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate night-time 

residence or has a primary night time residency that is: 

A. A supervised publicly or privately operated shelter designed to provide temporary 

living accommodations;  

B. An institution that provides a temporary residence for individuals intended to be 

institutionalized; or 

C. A public or private place not designed for or ordinarily used as, a regular sleeping 

accommodation for human beings. This does not include an individual imprisoned 

or otherwise detained pursuant to federal or state law. 

Section 7.03 Household Member’s Name  

Record the name of each family member who has or will receive care through the CICP, 

or will be included in the family size calculation for Line 7, Section II of the application. 

Determining family members to include on the application: The following 

information will assist in determining if a family member can receive care through the 

CICP and/or be counted in family size. The first table shows family members for whom 

financial support and dependency does not need to be demonstrated. The second table 

shows family members for whom at least 50% of their financial support must be 

demonstrated before they can be counted in the family for purposes of inclusion on the 

CICP application. 
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FAMILY MEMBERS FOR WHOM FINANCIAL SUPPORT DOES NOT NEED 

TO BE DEMONSTRATED

 Spouses (including  Grandparents  Minor grandchildren 

Common-Law 
 Minor children (see  Civil Union Partners 

Marriage 
Sec. 7.04 Relationship 

 Adopted minor children 
 Unborn children Codes) 

 Parents

All other family members must receive at least 50% of their support from the responsible 

party in order to be included on the CICP application for the family. Proof of support 

includes the family member being listed on the prior year’s tax return as a dependent 

and/or proof of support expenses through cancelled checks or copies of money orders. 

FAMILY MEMBERS FOR WHOM FINANCIAL SUPPORT MUST BE 

DEMONSTRATED

 Step-children  Adult brothers and  Adult children 

sisters 
 Step-parents  Sons-in-law and 

 Brothers-in-law and daughters-in-law 
 Adult grandchildren 

sisters-in-law 
 All others not 

 Cousins 
 Nephews and nieces specifically listed in the 

 Step-grandchildren first table, above
 Parents-in-law 

Section 7.04 Relationship Codes 

Enter the appropriate Relationship Code number: 

1 Self  2 Spouse/ Civil Union Partner  3 Child  4 Stepchild  5 Other 

1. Married Couples: BOTH spouses must be included on the application. Married 

couples will receive the same CICP rating unless one of the spouses is Medicaid 

eligible or an undocumented immigrant; in which case, both are still included in 

family size. 

A married couple means that the couple is legally married. Proof of marriage is a 

marriage license or marriage certificate. Married couples may keep their finances 

separate, including payments for medical care. However, according to the Joint 

Liability for Family Expenses, 14-6-110, C.R.S., “the expenses of the family and 

the education of the children are chargeable upon the property of both husband 

and wife, or either of them and in relation thereto they may be sued jointly or 

separately.” If one spouse does not want to give the necessary financial 

information, rate the family based on the best information available. However, 

inform the non-compliant spouse that according to Colorado law spouses are 

responsible for each other’s medical charges. 
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Married couples wishing to separate, divorce or have the marriage annulled must 

provide legal documentation of the separation, the dissolution of marriage, 

annulment or declaration of invalidity to be considered separate for CICP 

eligibility. For those who have not yet officially filed for a legal separation or 

dissolution of marriage, but intend to do so, or for those who have filed but an 

official court decree has not yet been issued, a letter from their attorney verifying 

their status will suffice. If an applicant cannot afford court associated costs, and 

can demonstrate to the court they are indigent, court costs owed to the state may 

be waived. 

2. Common Law Marriage: If a man and woman meet the requirements for 

common law marriage, the same rules apply as with married couples as stated in 

Section 7.04.1. All five of the following requirements must be met for a common-

law marriage in Colorado: 

a. It must be the INTENT of both parties to be husband and wife; 

b. Both parties must be 18 years of age or older; 

c. Both parties must be free to marry (single, widowed or legally divorced); 

d. Both parties must live together; and 

e. Both parties, by reputation, must claim to be married 

 If one or more of these conditions are not met, a couple living together is not a 

“family” for CICP ratings. This means both partners must complete separate 

applications. 

 As with married couples, the wife does not have to take the husband’s last name 

for a common-law marriage.  

 Providers may request an affidavit of Common Law Marriage signed by both 

parties. 

 As with Married Couples, couples wishing to separate or divorce must provide 

legal documentation of the separation or the dissolution of marriage to be 

considered separate for CICP eligibility. 

3. Civil Union: Both partners must be included on the CICP application. Partners in 

a Civil Union will receive the same CICP rating unless one of the partners is 

Medicaid eligible or an undocumented immigrant; in which case, both are still 

included in family size. 

A Civil Union includes any two unmarried adults, regardless of gender. Proof of 

the civil union is a certified civil union certificate. Partners may keep their 

finances separate, including payments for medical care. Parties to a civil union are 

responsible for the financial support, the expenses of the family, education of the 

children and medical charges of one another in the manner prescribed under law 

for spouses. 
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Parties wishing to dissolve a civil union must file an action for dissolution of a 

civil union, legal separation of a civil union, or declaration of invalidity of a civil 

union with the clerk of a court of record for the state of Colorado. 

4. Minors (under the age of 18): Minors should not be rated separately from their 

parents or guardians unless they are emancipated. Exception to this requirement is 

made for the following reasons: 

a. A minor who has a child and obtains medical care for the child (the 

minor parent is legally responsible for the cost of care); 

b. Examination and treatment for sexually transmitted diseases; 

c. Examination and treatment for alcohol and/or drug addiction; 

d. Obstetrical and gynecological procedures, birth control procedures, 

supplies or information. If the parents of a minor child who is pregnant 

have insurance to cover that child, but the insurance excludes pregnancy 

of the minor and the parents are claiming financial responsibility for her, 

that child is not considered emancipated and should be rated based on 

the parent’s income. If the parents do not qualify for the program, then 

she cannot be covered under CICP. 

e. Voluntary mental health services, but only if the minor is fifteen years 

old or older; 

f. Treatment or testing for HIV; and 

g. Confidential Teen Services Program - Minors in this program are rated 

without consideration of their parent's income under the conditions 

described. Therefore, when minors seek services and claim no income 

other than the parents' income, they will be rated category A. If the 

minor declares personal income, e.g., part-time job, that income will be 

used in determining the rating. If the rating is higher than category A, 

the higher rating will prevail. 

5. Emancipated Minors: “Emancipated juvenile”, pursuant to [19-2-511, C.R.S.], 

means "a juvenile over fifteen years of age and under eighteen years of age who 

has, with the real or apparent assent of the juvenile’s parents, demonstrated 

independence from the juvenile’s parents in matters of care, custody and earnings. 

The term may include, but shall not be limited to, any such juvenile who has the 

sole responsibility for the juvenile’s own support, who is married, or who is in the 

military.” 

6. Communal Groups: Do not include unrelated members of religious orders and 

communal living groups on the same application. Each unrelated member must 

complete a separate application. 

7. Family Members Outside of Colorado: If a family member lives outside of 

Colorado, including in a foreign country, that individual is not a Colorado 

resident. However, count the member in family size if the responsible party 
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provides more than 50% of the member’s support and claims the member as a 

dependent for income tax purposes. 

8. Family Members Eligible for SSI, Child Support and Foster Care: Include 

family members receiving cash assistance. Family members receiving only cash 

assistance can receive care under the CICP if they are not Medicaid eligible. 

9. Family Members Eligible for Medicaid: Family members eligible for Medicaid 

cannot receive care under the CICP, but can be included in the family size 

calculation. 

10. Additional situations involving children: 

a. Unborn Children: Include the unborn child/children of a pregnant 

woman in family size on the family’s application. Verification of 

pregnancy can be completed through visual observation or a letter from 

a physician. 

b. Children of Divorced Couples –In accordance with Medicaid policy, 

under CICP, children of parents who have joint custody should be 

counted in both parents’ households. 

c. Children in School - Include children age 18 years or older who are 

attending high school or college and whose parents support them, on the 

parents’ application. DO NOT count any income the child may earn, 

financial support does not need to be demonstrated for the child that is 

18 years of age and in high school. 

d. Disabled Children - Include a child with disabilities, regardless of age, 

on the parent’s application if the parents support the child. If the 

disabled child is Medicaid eligible, the child cannot receive medical care 

through the CICP, but should be included in family size. Exception: An 

adult child with a disability and gainfully employed must complete a 

separate application. 

e. Adult Children - Adult children (defined as 18 years or older) living at 

home can be counted in the family unit only if the entire family is listed 

on the application, and the adult child receives 50% of their support 

from the responsible party. If the adult child has an income, the amount 

must be included in determining the family financial status. Adult 

children may submit their own application if they desire, but in this case 

would not be included on the family application for income or household 

size. 

f. Newborns use the mother’s Social Security number up to the age of 1 

year. 

g. Family Members Eligible for CHP+ - Any family member eligible for 

CHP+ may only receive discounted services on a temporary basis under 

the CICP, but is included in the family size calculation for the CICP. 
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Section 7.05 Date of Birth 

You must enter the date of birth for all family members included in family size or 

receiving discounted services through the CICP, except for unborn children. 

Section 7.06 Medicaid State ID Number 

If any family member listed receives Medicaid, record the state Medicaid ID number on 

the application. 

Section 7.07 Social Security Number 

All applicants must have a Social Security number. You must enter the Social Security 

number for all family members receiving discounted medical care through the CICP on 

the CICP application. The only exception to this is for unborn children. If an applicant 

does not have a social security number, effective July 1, 1997, a receipt of application for 

a Social Security number must be received at the time of CICP application. This receipt is 

only valid if the applicant already has a valid Social Security number. A CICP provider 

may choose to write only the last four digits of the applicant’s Social Security number on 

the CICP card. 
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ARTICLE  VIII. FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY  

The guidelines below should be followed when utilizing the written CICP Application. If 

the electronic copy of the application is used, refer to instuctions contained inside the 

Excel spreadsheet regarding usability and functionality.  

Include with the applicant’s application the full names, phone numbers and addresses of 

all employers and retirement payments. Income sources include payments from 

employment, Social Security, pension funds, unemployment compensation and self-

employment. List the income sources for all family members age 18 and over. Earned 

income from a working minor (under the age of 18) is exempt. 

Section 8.01 Determining the Applicant’s Income  

The Department has three methods for determining an applicant’s income and 

establishing financial status. The methods are (in order of priority): 

Line 1 – Employment Income:  

Line 2 - Unearned Income; and 

Line 3 - Self-Employment 

Calculate all income beginning with Line 1, “Gross Employment Income.”  

When calculating income, you must obtain as much documentation as possible (this 

documentation must comply with CICP policies) to substantiate amounts. 

Section 8.02 Employment Income  

Employment income is income earned (including overtime and bonuses) for providing 

services to another individual or company. Earned income from a working minor (under 

the age of 18) is exempt. Employment income for CICP does not include self-

employment income which is addressed separately. Documentation of employment 

income is a pay stub or a letter on official letterhead from the applicant’s employer. 

There are 3 steps to calculating current employment income. 

Step 1. Obtain documentation for current month or previous months’ employment 

income. The rating process looks at the financial circumstances of a 

household as of the date a signed application is completed. If an applicant 

has just started a new job, for example, and has less than one month’s 

worth of pay stubs, or has not received a paycheck yet, utilize the 

information available to calculate the applicant’s monthly income and 

convert to an annual income. The Department recommends calculating the 

monthly income using the Average Pay Method as described below. 

Complete Worksheet – 1 “Earned and Unearned Income” using gross 

amounts. “Gross” means the dollar amount before any deductions or 

losses are subtracted. 
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Step 2. Use one of the following methods to determine the monthly gross 

employment income. Write the total amount of gross employment income 

in the monthly total column on Line 1, Section II of the application.  

Year to Date Method: 

The Year-to-Date Method of calculating annualized gross income utilizes 

the applicant’s cumulative year-to-date gross earnings on the pay stub. 

When utilizing this method, the applicant will need to provide their most 

current year-to-date paystub. It is not required to request a full month of 

paystubs when utilizing this method. To determine the annualized income, 

count the number of pay periods that have occurred since January 1, and 

then divide that number into the gross year-to-date earnings indicated on 

the pay stub. The result of this computation is then multiplied by the 

number of pay periods in a year to determine the annualized gross 

earnings. 

Utilizing the Year to Date method may create a slightly overstated income. 

Example: 

The applicant provides you with a recent pay stub whose year-to-date 

earnings are $13,756. The pay frequency is bi-weekly. The pay period 

ended September 30th and since January 1st the applicant has been paid 

19 times. The calculation would be as follows: 

Divide $13,756 by 19 bi-weekly pay periods = $724.00 

Multiply $724 by 26 bi-weekly pay periods in a year = $18,824 

OR 

Divide $13,756 by 38 weekly pay periods = $362.00 

Multiply $362 by 52 weekly pay periods in a year= $18,824 

Average Pay Method: 

The Average Pay method of calculating income utilizes the average gross 

earnings based upon the number of pay stubs provided. Paystubs should 

match the applicant’s pay date as opposed to pay period. When utilizing 

this method the applicant will need to provide at least a full month of 

paystubs. To determine the average gross earnings, total all the gross 

earnings of all the pay stubs provided and divide the result by the number 

of pay stubs. The result will be the average gross earnings per pay period. 

Next, determine if the applicant is paid weekly, bi-weekly or semi-

monthly (usually the 1st & 15th). Convert the average gross earnings to 

monthly income. 

1. To convert weekly income to monthly income, multiply by 4.333 

2. To convert bi-weekly income to monthly income, multiply by 2.1666 

3. To convert semi-monthly income to monthly income, multiply by 2 
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Lastly, annualize the average monthly gross earnings. 

Example: 

An applicant provides you with six pay stubs with gross earnings of 

$534.00, $475.00, $398.00, $534.00, $498.00 and $534.00. The pay 

frequency is weekly. The calculation would be as follows: 

Add: $534.00, $475.00, $398.00, $534.00, $498.00 and $534.00 = $2,973.00 

Divide: $2,973.00 by 6 pay stubs = $495.50 average weekly gross earnings 

Multiply: $495.50 by 4.333 = $2,147.00 

Multiply: $2147.00 by 12 months = $25,764.00 

Example: 

The applicant is paid for two weeks and has received only one paycheck. 

The calculation would be as follows: 

Monthly gross earnings = $200 x 2.1666 = $433.32 per month 

Annual income = $433.32 x 12 months = $5,199.84 per year 

Example: 

If the applicant has just started a job but has not received a paycheck yet, a 

letter on official letterhead from the applicant’s employer is allowable. 

Use the information in the letter to calculate the monthly income using the 

Average Pay Method. The calculation would be as follows: 

Letter on employer’s letterhead with hourly wage and hours to be worked 

per week: 

Weekly earnings = $8.50 per hour x 20 hours per week = $170 per week 

Monthly gross earnings = $170 x 4.333 = $736.61 per month 

Annual income = $736.61 x 12 months = $8,839.32 per year 

Monthly Pay Method: 

The monthly pay method of calculating income utilizes the most recent 

monthly pay stub. Utilize the monthly income and annualize.  

Step 3. Write the annualized total income from Step 2 on Line 1 in the 

“Annualized Total” column of the application 

Section 8.03 Unearned Income  

Unearned income is countable gross cash received from sources other than employment. 

Complete Worksheet 1 – Employment Income and Unearned Income. Write the total 

amount of the unearned income on Line 2 of the application. This income can be self-

declared; however, Provider will use the most recent monthly amount and calculate 

income as annual income. 

Examples of Unearned Income include: 
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1. Unemployment Compensation or Workers Compensation; 

2. Old Age Pension (OAP) benefits (financial assistance to low income individuals 

age 60 and over); 

3. Social Security payments such as, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Social 

Security Disability Income (SSDI), Social Security Retirement, Social Security 

Survivors benefit, Social Security Dependent benefit are countable sources of 

income. Any Social Security income paid to a minor (under age 18) is exempt. 

The provider must receive verification that the Social Security benefit is payable 

to the child. If the checks do not include the child’s name, then include these 

payments in other income sources on the application. Applicants who are 

Medicaid eligible cannot receive care under the CICP without providing a written 

Medicaid denial;  

4. Payments from Retirement Plans and Pensions. Retirement plans and pensions 

come in many forms. Some examples are: PERA, Tax Sheltered Annuities, 

Deferred Compensation, Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs), 401k plans and 

Social Security Benefits. Do not include Social Security Benefit payments to 

children when calculating other income sources on the application;  

5. Commissions, Bonuses, Gifts and Tips. Include amounts from commissions, 

bonuses, gifts and tips when calculating unearned income on the application; 

6. Court-Ordered Alimony Received; 

7. Trust Accounts are income from other sources; 

8. Income from rental properties and net of expenses incurred from rental 

operations, including boarding and lodging, when calculating other income 

sources on the application; 

9. Interest Income includes interest earnings from savings accounts, stocks, bonds 

and similar securities when calculating other income sources on the application;  

10. Monetary gains from selling an asset are counted as other income sources on the 

application; 

11. Insurance policies that are revocable (with cash surrender value); and 

12. Monetary settlements received not related to a medical injury accident. 

13. Veterans Affairs (VA) Benefits. 

Section 8.04 Exempt Unearned Income  

The following types of unearned income are not included in determining total income. 

1. Aid to the Needy and Disabled (AND) payments to Medicaid clients; 

2. Payments to recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy and Disabled (AND) 

financial assistance program; 

3. College grants, scholarships and work-study income. Work-study income is 

generally awarded based on financial need and is determined by completing a 

Federal Student Aid application; 
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4. Grants to CICP clients from non-profit, tax-exempt, charitable foundations 

specifically for CICP client copayments. The provider must honor these grants as 

CICP client copayments; 

5. Child Support and Foster Care Payments. These payments are for the support of 

children. Many children receiving these payments are Medicaid eligible. 

Therefore, require a Medicaid denial before allowing these children to receive 

care under the CICP; 

6. Food Stamps and Women, Infants and Children (WIC), TANF; 

7. Assistance provided by non-profit organizations, if the assistance is need-based 

(i.e., the cost of meals at a soup kitchen); 

8. Medical care provided for free or if a third-party made the payments; 

9. Settlements received as a result of a prior medical injury; not related to the current 

CICP application; 

10. Reimbursement for work- related personal expenses; 

11. College loans; 

12. Payments by credit life or credit disability insurance; 

13. Proceeds of a loan; 

14. Income from a reverse mortgage; 

15. Disaster relief assistance; 

16. Tax refunds; 

17. IRAs, pensions and insurance policies (irrevocable policies) that are not available 

without penalty; 

18. Moving expenses paid by employer for relocation; 

19. Social Security income for a minor (under the age of 18); 

20. Up to $2,000 per calendar year of income received by applicants of American 

Indian birth origin, which is derived from leases or other uses of individually-

owned trusts or restricted lands pursuant to P. L 103-66 and P. L. 97-458 is 

exempt as income in the month received; For purposes of this provision, the 

exclusion of income shall be applied only to months for which an eligibility 

determination is being made; 

21. Adoption Subsidy 

Section 8.05 Self-Employment  

If a self-employed applicant pays themselves just as they would their employees, and can 

document by pay stubs, use the figure from the pay stub. 

To determine the net profit of a self-employed applicant, deduct the cost of doing 

business from the gross income. To obtain the gross income, request one month of gross 

bank business deposits. If bank business deposits are not available, a profit and loss 
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worksheet OR a ledger is acceptable documentation for gross income and business 

expenses, however if a provider wishes to require documentation of business expenses, 

they should summit a waiver request to the Department. Gross income amount and 

business expenses listed on profit and loss or ledger documents should be transferred to 

Worksheet. Worksheet 2 must be signed, dated and attached to application. An expense is 

something that is necessary to keep a business in operation. 

1. Expenses can include, but are not limited to: 

 Rent of business premises 

 Wholesale cost of merchandise 

 Utilities 

 Taxes 

 Labor 

 Upkeep of necessary equipment 

2. Self-employment expenses do not include: 

 Depreciation of equipment. 

 Cost of payment on principal of loans for capital assets, or durable goods. 

 Personal income tax payments, lunches, transportation to and from work, and 

other personal expenses. 

3. Self-employed licensed, certified or approved day care providers may receive the 

following deductions each month to compensate for wear and tear on the 

residence: 

 $55 for the first child for whom day care is provided; and 

 $22 for each additional child. 

However, if the applicant can document a cost of doing business, which is greater than 

the amounts described above, use the expenses identified in Section 8.05 (1). 

4. For businesses that are operating out of the home, ⅓ (one-third) of the expenses 

should be attributed to the business. For home expenses that can be used for 

personal and business purposes, designate a percent for the amount of time that a 

particular expense is used for the business. 
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Example 

A subcontractor works out of his primary residence. The subcontractor’s gross 

monthly income is $2,000. The business expenses are as follows: 

Internet $45 

Phone $50 

Mortgage $900 

Utility $100 

Supplies $60 

Internet $45 Subcontractor uses the internet for 75% of the business 

$45 multiplied by .75 = $33.75 

$33.75 is the amount used for business expense 

Mortgage $900 Subcontractor works from primary residence, deduct ⅓ as expense 

$900 divided by 3 = $300 

$300 is the amount used for business expense 

Utility $100 Subcontractor works from primary residence, deduct ⅓ as expense 

$100 divided by 3 = $33.33 

$33.33 is the amount used for business expense 

Phone $50 Subcontractor has a separate business telephone. Count entire 

expense for business purposes - $50 

Supplies $60 Subcontractor only uses supplies for business purposes. Count 

entire expense for business purposes - $60 

Total Monthly Business Expenses: $477.08 

Total Monthly Gross Income: $2,000.00 

Subtract $2,000.00 - $477.08 = $1,522.92 (monthly) 

Annualize $1,522.92 x 12 months =$18,275.04 (yearly) 

Write the annualized self-employment income on Line 3 of the application. 

Section 8.06 Total Income 

To calculate total income for Section II of the application, add “Gross Employment 

Income (line 1)” PLUS “Unearned Income (Line 2)” PLUS “Self-Employment Income 

(Line 3)”. Take the total from lines 1, 2, and 3, and record the amount in “Total Income 

(line 4)”. 
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Calculating Equity in Resources 

The “Equity in Resources” portion of the application shows the amount of equity in 

resources available to an applicant. 

1. Calculating Vehicle Equity 

For calculating the amount of vehicle equity to record on the application, 

complete the following steps: 

Step 1. Determine the total value of all vehicles owned by the applicant using 

the instructions included below. Write this amount on the “Value” line. 

To determine the value of vehicles, request a copy of the client’s 

vehicle registration. 

Step 2. Determine the total amount owed on all vehicles owned by the 

applicant. Write this amount on the “Amount Owed” line. You should 

receive confirmation (verbal or written) from the applicant’s bank to 

confirm outstanding vehicle loans. 

Step 3. The CICP protects a total of $7,500 (“Minus Protected Portion” 

column) for all vehicles owned. 

Step 4. Subtract the “Amount Owed” and $7,500” FROM the “Value” of all 

vehicles. Write this amount on Line 5, under the “Vehicle Equity” 

portion of the application. If this amount is less than zero (a negative 

amount), you must record $0. 

Vehicle Equity Pricing Instructions: 

1. Navigate to the National Automotive Dealers Association (NADA) guide 

website.  

2. Click on “New & Used Car Prices” 

3. Under “Research by make”, use the drop down menu to choose the make of the 

vehicle.  

4. Select the year of the vehicle from the drop down menu. 

5. You can now select the body style of the vehicle from the second drop down 

menu, or you can scroll through all vehicles shown and select the vehicle the 

applicant owns. 

6. On the next screen, select the trim level of the applicant’s vehicle (i.e. Coupe, 

Sedan, LS, LT, etc.). 

7. Enter the current mileage of the applicant’s vehicle. 

a. A rounded mileage will work, if the applicant is not sure of the exact 

mileage. 

8. From the Optional Equipment list, check the options that are on the applicant’s 

vehicle (i.e. Cruise Control, Leather Seats, Sunroof, etc.). 

9. Click Continue at the bottom of the Optional Equipment list. 

http://www.nadaguides.com/
http://www.nadaguides.com/
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10. Now you should see various trade-in prices for the applicant’s vehicle. 

a. The trade-in price that should be used as the Vehicle Equity is the one 

under the “Average Trade-In” column and “Price with Options” line. 

Vehicle Equity - Example 

An applicant has 2 vehicles. One vehicle is valued at $9,000 but the applicant 

owes $8,000 on this vehicle; the second vehicle is valued at $2,000 with no 

money owed. The “Value” is $11,000 ($9,000+$2,000). The “Amount Owed” is 

$8,000. Therefore, the equity is $3,000 ($11,000-$8,000) before subtracting the 

Protected Portion. The “Minus Protected Portion” is always $7,500. The “Amount 

to Use for the CICP” is $0 since $3,000-$7,500 is -$4,500. For the CICP, you 

cannot record negative numbers. 

2. Liquid Resources  

Liquid resources are resources that can be converted to cash immediately. 

Examples of liquid resources are: checking accounts, saving accounts, trust 

accounts (if funds are available immediately), the cash value of life insurance, 

short-term Certificate of Deposits (CD’s) and partnership earnings kept in reserve. 

Retirement accounts and Tax Sheltered Annuities are liquid resources, if the 

applicant can draw funds out of the account without a penalty. Most retirement 

plans are subject to a penalty if the person withdrawing money is under the age of 

59 ½. 

For applicants with a partnership (i.e. partnership in a farm), request their Federal 

Income Tax Schedule K-1 and Schedule E. Schedule K-1 summarizes the total 

amount of cash available to all partners. Schedule E shows all partnership 

agreements and the amount earned by the partnership. Include that amount of cash 

available to the applicant in the liquid resource calculation on the application. 

For applicants with a Certificate of Deposit (CD), count the principal (amount of 

original investment) of a CD as a resource regardless of the maturity date of the 

CD. Do not subtract the penalty for an early withdrawal from the principal. If an 

applicant has recently cashed a CD that has reached its maturity date, count the 

principal in addition to the interest earned. 

The following example explains how to calculate liquid resources for the CICP. 

An applicant has $3,000 in savings plus they can withdraw $2,000 from a Tax 

Sheltered Annuity without penalty. Their total liquid resources are therefore 

$5,000. 

It should be made clear to applicants that liquid resources that can be made 

available without penalty must be used even if the applicants believe their savings 

are their “reserves”. 

3. Total Equity in Resources 
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“Total Resources” is Line 6 of the CICP Client application. This cannot be a 

negative number. If you get a negative number on either form, enter $0 (zero). 

Section 8.07 Less Family Size Deductions 

The CICP protects $2,500 in resource equity per family member on the application. 

There are two steps to calculating the “Family Size Deduction:” 

Step 1. Write the number of family members (including applicant) listed by the 

applicant in the “Household Members” section of the application in Line 

11 - “Family Size”.  

Step 2. Multiply the family size obtained in Step 1 by $2,500. Write this amount 

on Line 7. 

Section 8.08 Equity in Resources for the CICP 

On the CICP application, Line 8 - “Equity In Resources” equals Line 6 - “Total 

Resources,” MINUS Line 7 - “Less Family Size Deduction”, If this amount is less than 

$0 (a negative amount), you must record $0 and not the negative amount. 

Section 8.09 Total Family Financial Status  

On the CICP application, Line 9 - “Total Family Financial Status” equals Line 4 - “Total 

Income” PLUS Line 8 - “Equity in Resources”. This amount cannot be zero. 

Section 8.10 Allowable Deductions (Expenses, self-declared)  

The following are allowable deductions (expenses) and may be self-declared, however 

waivers may be granted from the Department to those providers who wish to require 

documentation. 

1. Child support payments  

2. Alimony paid by the applicant 

3. Health (including dental and vision) insurance premiums 

4. Daycare 

5. Elderly care 

The provider should request amounts paid in the past 90 days and annualize, if incurred 

from the application date back 365 days. These figures do not include vacation or 

entertainment expenses. 

Section 8.11 Allowable Deductions (Must be documented) 

The following allowable deductions must be documented: 

1. Medical expenses for services received at a hospital, clinic, private physician’s 

office and pharmacist are allowable deductions and must be documented. In 

addition, allowable deductions include medical services prescribed by a physician 
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rendered for vision, dental, durable medical equipment (DME) and 

pharmaceuticals. 

a. Effective July 1, 2015, verifiable current monthly payments should be 

annualized as a deduction. Patients will be responsible for demonstrating 

their monthly payment amount toward outstanding bills. Bills may only be 

annualized up to the equivalent of 12 months of demonstrated payments. If 

on the current payment schedule the client will pay off the remaining 

balance in less than a year, then only deduct the remaining balance of the 

bill. Example: If a client is paying $100 a month on a bill that only has 

$900 remaining, then deduct $900 instead of the annualized amount of 

$1,200. Verifiable single payment medical expenses (copayments to non-

CICP providers, presciptions) incurred within 12 months prior to 

application, will be applied as a single, flat deduction. 

b. The amount of medical bills if paid or outstanding from a CICP provider 

may not be deducted from the income if incurred within the 90 days prior 

to the application date. These medical bills will be received at the CICP 

discount to the client and cannot be included as a deduction on the 

application. Copayments to a CICP provider are not an allowable 

deduction. 

2. Applicants who use their own personal vehicle in the course of performing their 

job may be allowed a deduction in the amount of $200 per month. The $200 per 

month personal vehicle use deduction should only be allowed if the applicant 

submits documentation from their employer which verifies the following: 

a. The applicant uses the personal vehicle in the performance of his or her 

job functions; and 

b. The applicant receives no reimbursement for mileage or the use of the 

vehicle. 

Acceptable documentation is a signed and dated letter from the applicant’s 

employer or the use of the Department’s “Personal Vehicle Use Verification 

Form. 

3. To calculate the deductions for Line 10 of the CICP Client application, perform 

the following steps: 

Step 1. Request amount paid in the previous month or previous year for 

allowable deductions (expenses). 

Step 2. Complete Worksheet 4 for the allowable deductions.  

Step 3. Record the Grand Total on Line 10 of the CICP Client application. Do 

not annualize one-time or annual payments. 
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Section 8.12 Net CICP Income and Equity in Resources  

Line 11 determines the amount of income to use in the determination of the CICP rating. 

Line 11 equals Line 9 – “Total Family Financial Status” MINUS Line 10 – “Allowable 

Deductions.” 

Section 8.13 Liquid Asset Spend Down 

The Liquid Asset Spend Down Provision enables applicants whose combined income and 

liquid resources precludes them from the CICP discount at 250% of the Federal Poverty 

Level. An applicant may be determined eligible if they have sufficient liquid resources to 

“spend down,” or reduce their income enough to determine them eligible for the CICP. 

The amount an applicant must “spend down” is calculated as the difference between the 

CICP eligibility standard at 250% of the Federal Poverty Level and the applicant’s 

income. The “spend down” reduces the amount of liquid resources available to the 

applicant and should be applied to the current medical bill (paid to the provider). The 

remainder of the medical bill is then discounted under the CICP. The client is still 

responsible for the CICP copayment. 

Example: A client has employment income of $16,000 per year and has a bank account of 

$16,500. With a family size of 1, the Family Size Deduction is $2,500, the 

Equity Resources is $14,000 ($16,500 – $2,500 = $14,000). Total family 

financial status is $30,000 ($16,000 + $14,000 = $30,000), with no allowable 

deductions. This person is currently ineligible for a CICP discount, but is 

unable to pay a current medical bill of $25,000. Using the Liquid Asset Spend 

Down provision, the client is eligible for a CICP discount at $29,425 (family 

size of 1, at 250% of Federal Poverty Level), the liquid assets need to be 

reduced by $575 ($30,000 – $29,425 = $575). The $575 is applied to the 

current medical bill of $25,000 and paid to directly the provider. The 

remaining medical bill is $24,425 ($25,000 - $575 = $24,425). The client is 

now eligible for the CICP discount, with a total family financial status of 

$29,425 ($16,000 employment income and $13,425 in equity and resources). 

When reporting information on the CICP Summary Spreadsheet, the provider 

may record the total bill of $25,000 and the client spend down of $575 as a 

third-party payment 
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ARTICLE  IX. COLORADO RESIDENCY AND LAWFUL PRESENCE 

Section 9.01 Colorado Resident 

1. A Colorado resident is a person who currently lives in Colorado and intends to 

remain in the state. If the applicant is unable to provide actual proof of Colorado 

residency, they are allowed to self-declare their intent to remain in Colorado. 

The following questions can be used to assist in determining if the applicant is a 

Colorado resident: 

a. Where is the applicant’s primary home? A primary home is the place of 

residence where a person lives and the place where that person, whenever 

absent, intends to return, regardless of the length of absence. A primary 

home cannot be a business address or a vacant lot or a post office box. 

b. Is the applicant’s primary home address the same as the address on the 

applicant’s motor vehicle registration and state income tax return? If yes, 

the applicant meets the CICP’s residency requirements. Individuals who 

have recently moved to Colorado must apply for a Colorado title and 

registration for their vehicle within 30 days from establishing Colorado 

residency.  

c. Is applicant employed in the state of Colorado? 

d. Is there a current lease, mortgage bill, or utility bill for the applicant’s 

primary home? 

e. Does the applicant have a current Colorado Driver’s License or 

Identification Card? 

Section 9.02 Residency Code 

To qualify for the CICP, the applicant must be lawfully present in the United States either 

a, U.S Citizen, a documented legal immigrant or a migrant worker, and a Colorado 

resident Colorado residency is a separate determination from Lawful Presence. 

The CICP has established residency codes to use with the application. The client must 

record one of the following residency codes for each family member. 

1. Colorado Resident & U.S. citizen; 

2. Colorado Resident & documented legal immigrant; 

3. Migrant farm worker & U.S. citizen; 

4. Migrant farm worker & documented legal immigrant; 

5. Non-resident counted in family size only; 

6. Medicaid or CHP+ eligible, counted in family size only; or 

7. Counted in family size only. 

If family members are non-residents (residency code - 5) or eligible for Medicaid 

(residency code 6), they cannot receive care under the CICP but can be included in family 
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size. Family members who are eligible for CICP, but do not want to be covered under 

CICP may be counted in family size if they receive 50% of their support from the 

responsible party (residency code - 7). 

1. Determining the CICP Residency Code 

To determine which residency code to record on the application, use the three steps 

outlined below for each family member applying for the CICP. All applicants must 

meet steps 1 and 2 to comply with the CICP’s residency requirements. 

Step 1: Determine if the applicant is lawfully present using the guidelines listed in 

Section 1.35 below. If the applicant is lawfully present and is a U.S. 

Citizen or documented legal immigrant, go to step 2. If the applicant is not 

a U.S. Citizen or a documented legal immigrant, they cannot receive 

discounted care through the CICP, but can be used to determine family 

size. 

Step 2: Determine if the applicant meets one of the following: 

i. The applicant is a Colorado resident (see “Colorado Resident” under 

Section 9.01) OR 

ii. The applicant is a migrant worker according to the criteria outlined under 

“Migrant Workers” 

Step 3: Record the residency code for each family member. 

Section 9.03 Lawful Presence 

During the 2006 and 2007 legislative sessions House Bill 06S-1023 and HB 07-1314 

were passed and directed the Department of Revenue to establish rules to ensure that 

recipients of public benefits demonstrate that they are legally residing in the United 

States. The Department of Revenue promulgated “Rules for Evidence of Lawful 

Presence” at 1 CCR 201-17, effective August 1, 2007. In order to comply with these 

requirements, the CICP amended its rules pertaining to the application process, effective 

January 1, 2008.  

All applicants 18 years and older, must sign the “Affidavit for Lawful Presence, Colorado 

Indigent Care Program” (Affidavit) and provide an approved document that demonstrates 

they are lawfully present in the United States.  

A copy of the Affidavit is included the miscellaneous section of the CICP provider 

manual. The various types of documents that can be accepted to prove lawful presence 

can be found on the back of the Affidavit. In order to complete the Affidavit the applicant 

must do the following: 

1. Indicate Citizenship Status. The applicant must indicate on the Affidavit 

whether he/she is a U.S. citizen OR whether he/she is a legal permanent resident, 

or otherwise lawfully present in the United States. 
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2. Sign the Affidavit. Each applicant must sign the top portion of the Affidavit and 

indicate that they are either a U.S. citizen, or otherwise lawfully residing in the 

United States. A family member or authorized representative may do this for a 

deceased client. 

The Affidavit must be signed by each applicant within a household who is 18 years of 

age or older. Household members who do not apply in person must also sign the 

affidavit. Providers are not required to directly witness an applicant’s signature. 

Therefore, a blank Affidavit may be sent to a non-present applicant. The signed Affidavit 

may be returned to the provider by mail, fax or hand-delivered to the provider’s facility. 

In order to prove lawful presence the applicant must do the following: 

1. Applicants Submit One Document. To meet the lawful presence requirement, 

each applicant must provide one and only one acceptable document from the list 

of all acceptable documents printed on the reverse side of the Affidavit for Lawful 

Presence. Within the list of acceptable lawful presence documents none are 

“preferred” over others. All are equally acceptable. Citizens of the United States 

may present any one of the documents numbered 1 through 29 listed below and 

also on the reverse side of the Affidavit. Applicants demonstrating lawful 

presence in the country who are not U.S. citizens may furnish any document 

numbered 30 through 51 listed below and also found on the reverse side of the 

Affidavit. 

2. Providers Establish Lawful Presence—Not Identity. The rules pertaining to 

public benefits require only the establishment of lawful presence—not identity. 

Thus, it is not necessary for an applicant to provide a document with a 

photograph. Notwithstanding, many of the acceptable documents listed on the 

reverse side of the Affidavit do display a photograph of the holder. 

3. Original Documents. Lawful presence documentation may be accepted from the 

applicant, the applicant’s spouse, parent, guardian or authorized representative in 

person, by mail or facsimile. In general, applicants must present original 

documentation. Notarized copies are not acceptable. However, providers shall 

accept copies of an applicant’s lawful presence documentation that have been 

verified by other CICP providers, Medical Assistance sites, county departments of 

social services, or any other entity designated by the Department of Health Care 

Policy and Financing through an agency letter, provided that the verification 

identifies that the copy is from an original and that the individual who reviewed 

the document(s) signifies such by including their name, organization, address, 

telephone number and signature on the copy. 

Providers shall develop procedures for handling original documents to ensure that 

the documents are not lost, damaged or destroyed. Providers shall develop and 

follow procedures for returning or mailing original documents to applicants 

within five business days of receipt. 

Applicants who are U.S. citizens must provide one of the following documents to meet 

the lawful presence requirement.  
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1. Colorado Driver’s License; 

2. Colorado Identification Card; 

3. Driver’s License or State Identification Card issued in an approved state. All 

states are approved with the exception of the following: 

 Hawaii 

 Illinois 

 Maryland  

 Nebraska 

 New Mexico 

 Utah 

 Washington 

4. United States Military Identification Card or Military Dependents’ Identification 

Card; 

5. United States Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Card; 

6. Native American Tribal Document; 

7. Birth Certificate from any state, the District of Columbia or any United States 

territory; 

8. United States Passport; 

9. Report of Birth Abroad of a United States Citizen (FS-20); 

10. Certificate of Birth issued by a foreign service post (FS-545); 

11. Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350); 

12. Certification of Naturalization (N-55- or N-570); 

13. Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561); 

14. U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-97); 

15. Northern Mariana Identification Card (for births prior to November 3, 1986); 

16. Statement by a U.S. Consular Officer certifying that the individual is a U.S. 

citizen; 

17. American Indian Card with classification code “KIC” identifying members of the 

Texas Band of Kickapoos; 

18. Religious records recorded in one of the fifty states, the District of Columbia or 

U.S. territories issued within three months after birth showing that the birth 

occurred in such jurisdiction and the date of the birth or the individual’s age at the 

time the record was made;  

19. Evidence of civil service employment by the U.S. government before June 1, 

1976; 

20. Early school records showing the date of admission to the school, the child’s date 

and place of birth and the names’ and places of birth of the parents; 



______________________________________________________________________________________ 

CICP FY 2015-16 Manual – Eligibility 07/01/2015 
32 

21. Census record showing name, U.S. citizenship or a U.S. place of birth or age of 

applicant; 

22. Adoption Finalization Papers showing the child’s name and place of birth in one 

of the 50 states, D.C. or U.S. territories. Where the adoption is not finalized and 

the State or other jurisdiction listed above in which the child was born will not 

release a birth certificate prior to final adoption, a statement from a state-approved 

adoption agency showing the child’s name and place of birth in one of such 

jurisdictions. The source of the information must be an original birth certificate 

and must be indicated in the statement; 

23. Any other document that establishes a U.S. place of birth or in some way 

indicates U.S. citizenship; 

24. Documents for Collectively Naturalized Citizens from Puerto Rico (PR), the U.S. 

Virgin Islands (VI), or Northern Mariana Islands (NMI), formerly part of the 

Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI): 

a. Puerto Rico 

i. Evidence of birth in PR on or after April 11, 1899 and the applicant’s 

statement that he or she was residing in the U.S., a U.S. possession, or PR 

on January 13, 1941; or 

ii. Evidence that the applicant was a PR citizen and the applicant’s 

statement that he or she was residing in PR on March 1, 1917 and that he 

or she did not take an oath of allegiance to Spain. 

b. U.S. Virgin Islands 

i. Evidence of birth in the U.S. Virgin Islands (VI) and the applicant’s 

statement of residence in the U.S., a U.S. possession, or the U.S. VI on 

February 25, 1927; or 

ii. The applicant’s statement indicating residence in the U.S. VI as a Danish 

citizen on January 17, 1917 and that he or she did not make a declaration 

to maintain Danish citizenship; or  

iii. Evidence of birth in the U.S. VI and the applicant’s statement indicating 

residence in the U.S., U.S. Possession or Territory or the Canal Zone on 

June 28, 1932. 

c. Northern Mariana Islands (formerly part of the Trust Territory of the Pacific 

Islands) 

i. Evidence of birth in NMI, TTPI citizenship and residence in the NMI, the 

U.S., or a U.S. territory or possession on November 3, 1986 (NMI local 

time) and the applicant’s statement that he or she did not owe allegiance 

to a foreign state on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time); or 

ii. Evidence of TTPI citizenship in the NMI since before November 3, 

1981(NMI local time), voter registration prior to January 1, 1975 and the 

applicant’s statement that he or she did owe allegiance to a foreign state 

on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time); or  
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iii. Evidence of continuous domicile in the NMI since before January 1, 1974 

and the applicant’s statement that he or she did not owe allegiance to a 

foreign state on November 4, 1986 (NMI local time); 

25. Applicants with Derivative U.S. Citizenship 

a. Applicant born abroad to two U.S. citizens: 

i. The applicant shall present evidence of U.S. citizenship of the parents 

and the relationship of the applicant to the parents, and the evidence that 

at least one parent resided in the U.S. or an outlying possession prior to 

the applicant’s birth. 

b. Applicant born abroad to a U.S. citizen parent and a U.S. non-citizen national 

parent: 

i. The applicant shall present evidence that one parent is a U.S. citizen and 

the other is a U.S. non-citizen national, evidence of the relationship of the 

applicant to the U.S. citizen parent and the evidence the U.S. citizen 

parent resided in the U.S., a U.S. possession, American Samoa or 

Swain’s Island for a period of at least one year prior to the applicant’s 

birth. 

c. Applicant born out of wedlock abroad to a U.S. citizen mother: 

i. The applicant shall present evidence of U.S. citizenship of the mother, 

evidence of the relationship to the applicant and, for births on or before 

December 24, 1952, evidence that the mother resided in the U.S. prior to 

the applicant’s birth or, for births after December 24, 1952, evidence that 

the mother had resided, prior to the child’s birth, in the U.S. or a U.S. 

possession for a period of one year. 

d. Applicant born in the Canal Zone or the Republic of Panama: 

i. The applicant shall present a birth certificate showing birth in the Canal 

Zone on or after February 26, 1904 and before October 1, 1979 and 

evidence that one parent was a U.S. citizen at the time of the applicant’s 

birth; or 

ii. A birth certificate showing birth in the Republic of Panama on or after 

February 26, 1904 and before October 1, 1979 and evidence that at least 

one parent was a U.S. citizen and employed by the U.S. government or 

the Panama Railroad Company or its successor in title. 

e. All other situations where an applicant claims to have a U.S. citizen parent 

and an alien parent, or claims to fall within one of the above categories but is 

unable to present the listed documentation: 

i. If the applicant is in the U.S., refer him or her to the local Department of 

Homeland Security (formerly known as the Immigration and 

Naturalization Service, or INS) office for determination of U.S. 

citizenship; or 
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ii. If the applicant is outside the U.S., refer him or her to the State 

Department consular office for a U.S. citizenship determination; 

26. Adoption of a foreign-born child by a U.S. citizen 

a. If the birth certificate shows a foreign place of birth and the applicant cannot 

be determined to be a naturalized citizen under any of the above criteria, refer 

the applicant to the local Department of Homeland Security office for a 

determination of U.S. citizenship; 

27. U.S. citizenship obtained by marriage 

a. The applicant shall present evidence that she was married to a U.S. citizen 

before September 22, 1922, or 

b. If the husband was an alien at the time of their marriage, that the husband 

became a U.S. citizen before September 22, 1922. 

c. If the marriage was later terminated, the woman shall demonstrate that she 

resided in the U.S. at the time it was terminated and that she has continued to 

reside in the U.S.; 

28. Waiver requested from the Department of Revenue (See Section 9.03); 

29. Written self-declaration or third-party declaration 

(See the optional section on the bottom portion of the Affidavit for a self-

declaration form that may be used by applicants.); 

Additional clarification is provided below which pertains to acceptable lawful presence 

documentation for U.S. Citizens: 

 Drivers’ Licenses: Drivers’ licenses and state identification cards issued in 

Colorado and other acceptable states (see the reverse side of the affidavit for a 

list of acceptable states) must be valid. This means they must be current and not 

expired. If a hole is punched in an otherwise acceptable driver’s license, for 

evidence of lawful presence purposes, the license is deemed acceptable. 

 Passports: Current and expired United States passports are permissible for 

demonstrating lawful presence. Limited passports issued for less than five years 

are not acceptable, even if they are not expired. 

 Presumed Genuine: In general, any document presented from the acceptable list 

of documents for U.S. citizens, (see Section 9.03), shall be presumed genuine 

unless there is a reasonable basis for questioning the authenticity of the 

document. 

 Do Not Use SAVE: Documents pertaining to U.S. citizens cannot be verified 

through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) web-based 

verification information system application. This system only applies to non-U.S. 

citizens. 

Applicants who are not U.S. citizens must provide one of the following documents to 

meet the lawful presence requirement.  
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30.  “Green Card” (a.k.a. Alien Registration Receipt Card), Department of Homeland 

Security Form I-551 for aliens lawfully admitted for permanent residence 

31. “Green Card” (a.k.a. Alien Registration Receipt Card), Department of Homeland 

Security Form I-551 with the code CU6, CU7 or CH6 for Cuban or Haitian 

entrants 

32. Unexpired Temporary I-551 Stamp in a foreign passport or on a Department of 

Homeland Security Form I-94 for aliens lawfully admitted for permanent 

residence 

33. Unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in a foreign passport or on Department of 

Homeland Security Form I-94 with the code CU6, CU7 or CH6 for Cuban or 

Haitian entrants 

34. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 with a stamp showing admission 

under Section 203(a)(7) of the Immigration and Nationality Act for aliens granted 

conditional entry 

35. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 annotated with a stamp showing 

admission under Section 207 of the Immigration and Nationality Act for refugees 

36. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 with a stamp showing admission for 

at least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act 

for aliens paroled into the U.S. for at least one year. (Applicant cannot aggregate 

periods of admission for less than one year to meet the one-year requirement.) 

37. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 annotated with stamp showing grant 

of asylum under section 208 of the Immigration and Nationality Act 

38. Department of Homeland Security Form I-94 with a stamp showing parole as a 

“Cuban/Haitian Entrant” under Section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and 

Nationality Act 

39. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 

annotated 274a.12(a)(3) for refugees 

40. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 

annotated 274a.12(a)(5) for asylees 

41. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 

annotated 274a.12(a)(10) for aliens whose deportation or removal was withheld 

42. Employment Authorization Card, Department of Homeland Security Form I-688B 

annotated ”A3” for aliens granted conditional entry 

43. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form 

I-765 for refugees 

44. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form 

I-766 annotated “A3” for refugees or aliens granted conditional entry 

45. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form 

I-766 annotated “A5” for asylees 
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46. Employment Authorization Document, Department of Homeland Security Form 

I-766 annotated “A10” for aliens paroled into the U.S. for at least one year 

47. Grant letter from the Asylum Office or U.S.C.I.S. for asylees or a Grant letter 

from the Department of Health and Human Services granting refugee status to 

human trafficking victims 

48. Refugee Travel Document, Department of Homeland Security Form I-571 

49. Order from an immigration judge showing deportation withheld under Section 

243(h) of the Immigration and Naturalization Act as in effect prior to April 1, 

1997, or removal withheld under Section 241(b) (3) of the Act. 

50. For aliens who have been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, see 

Attachment 5, Exhibit B, at U.S. Attorney General Order No. 2129-97. The 

documentation for Violence Against Women Act self-petitioners is the 

Department of Homeland Security-issued “Notice of Prima Facie Determination” 

or “Notice of Approval”. 

51. Waiver requested from the Department of Revenue 

(See Section 9.03) 

Section 9.04 Expired or Missing Documents from Non-U.S. Citizens 

1. Expired Documents or No Documents: If an applicant who is not a U.S. citizen 

presents expired documents or is unable to present any documentation evidencing 

his or her immigration status, the provider should refer the applicant to the local 

Department of Homeland Security office to obtain documentation of lawful 

presence status.  

2. G-845 Document Verification Request: In unusual circumstances involving 

applicants who are hospitalized or medically disabled or who can otherwise show 

good cause for their inability to present documentation and for whom securing 

such documentation would constitute undue hardship, if the applicant can provide 

an alien registration number, the provider may file U.S.C.I.S. Document 

Verification Request Form G-845, along with the alien registration and a copy of 

any expired Department of Homeland Security document, with the local 

Department of Homeland Security office to verify status. To obtain the current G-

845 Document Verification Request form, go to the U.S. Citizenship and 

Immigration Services website and enter G-845 in the search box. 

3. Receipt for Replacement Document: If an applicant has lost a document and 

presents a receipt indicating that he or she has applied to the Department of 

Homeland Security for a replacement document, the provider should file 

U.S.C.I.S. Form G-845 and Supplement with a copy of the receipt with the local 

Department of Homeland Security office to verify lawful presence status. 

Section 9.05 Options for Applicants without Acceptable Documentation 

1. Request Waiver from Department of Revenue (DOR): Applying for a 

“Request for Waiver-Restrictions on Public Benefits” from the Colorado DOR 

authorizes the DOR to verify evidence of lawful presence for the applicant. 

http://www.uscis.gov/
http://www.uscis.gov/
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a. Who May Apply: Any applicant, regardless of citizenship status, who does 

not provide a document permissible for establishing lawful presence may 

apply for a “Request for Waiver-Restrictions on Public Benefits” from the 

Colorado DOR.  

b. Where to Find the Waiver Form: For convenience, this Waiver may be 

found on the Department website under For Our Providers, Provider Services, 

Forms, Colorado Indigent Care Program, “Lawful Presence”. 

c. How to Apply: The Waiver may be completed by the applicant or the 

applicant’s representative. Applicants are not required to apply for this waiver 

in person. The applicant may mail, fax, e-mail, or hand-deliver this form to 

the DOR. The Request for Waiver must be accompanied by all documents that 

the applicant is able to produce to assist in the verification of lawful presence.  

d. Affidavit of Lawful Presence: Applicants using the waiver process must still 

complete the “Affidavit of Lawful Presence, Colorado Indigent Care 

Program” form. 

e. Approved Waivers: Unless the DOR provides the provider or applicant 

written notification of denial, providers are to assume the Request for Waiver 

is approved. 

f. Special Information for Non-U.S. Citizens: Applicants requesting a waiver 

who are not U.S. citizens should be made aware of the following, which is 

excerpted directly from The DOR’s “Rules for Evidence of Lawful Presence” 

at 1 CCR 201-17, effective August 1, 2007. 

3.1.6 Waivers are assumed to be permanent, but may be rescinded and 

cancelled if, at any time, the Department becomes aware of the 

Applicant’s violation of immigration laws. Upon making a decision to 

rescind and cancel a waiver, the Department will notify the Applicant 

and the appropriate County Department of Human Services.  

3.1.6.1 Individuals whose waivers are rescinded and cancelled shall have the 

right to appeal such decision by the Department. Individuals may 

appeal by requesting a hearing within thirty days of the waiver being 

rescinded or cancelled by making a written request for hearing to the 

Hearings Section of the Department at 1881 Pierce St. #106, 

Lakewood, CO 80214.  

3.1.6.2 The Hearings Section shall hold the hearing in accordance the 

provisions of the State Administrative Procedure Act and the 

provisions of Title 42 of the Colorado Revised Statutes. 

3.1.6.3 The only issue at hearing shall be whether the applicant has violated 

immigration laws.  

3.1.6.4 The hearing officer shall issue a written decision within fifteen (15) 

business days of the completion of the hearing, and shall constitute 

final agency action, and is subject to judicial review as provided by 

§ 24-4-106, C.R.S. 
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3.1.7 Waivers issued by the Department since August 1, 2006, but prior to 

approval of this rule, will continue in effect unless otherwise rescinded 

or cancelled by the Department, as authorized in Section 3.1.6. 

2. Self-Declaration of Lawful Presence: Signing a self-declaration is a valid, 

acceptable way of establishing lawful presence for purposes of receiving 

discounted health care services under the CICP; however, the CICP Provider must 

first request acceptable Lawful Presence documents and it will not be necessary 

for the Provider to complete the shaded box on the Affidavit for Lawful Presence 

application. 

a. Who May Self Declare: U.S. citizens and non-citizen nationals may self-

declare that they are lawfully residing in the United States. Non-citizen 

nationals are defined in federal regulations as individuals from American 

Samoa, Swains Island, or Northern Mariana Islands. 

b. Who May Not Self Declare: Non-U.S. citizens may not self-declare that they 

are lawfully residing in the country. 

c. Where to Find the Self-Declaration Form: The Self-Declaration form is 

found under the optional section located at the bottom of the “Affidavit for 

Lawful Presence, Colorado Indigent Care Program” form. 

Section 9.06 Non-Discrimination and Special Assistance 

1. Non-Discrimination: CICP providers shall not discriminate against applicants on 

the basis of race, national origin, gender, religion, age or disability. 

2. Special Assistance: If an applicant has a disability that limits the applicant’s 

ability to provide the required evidence of lawful presence, the provider shall 

assist the individual to obtain the required evidence. Examples of reasonable 

assistance that may be expected include, but are not limited to, providing contact 

information for the appropriate agencies that issue required documents; 

explaining the documentation requirements and how the applicant may provide 

the required documentation; or referring the applicant to other agencies or 

organizations which may be able to provide assistance. 

Additional assistance shall also be provided to applicants who are unable to 

comply with the documentation requirements due to physical or mental 

impairments or homelessness and who do not have a guardian or representative 

who can provide assistance. Examples of additional assistance include, but are not 

limited to, contacting any known family members who may have the required 

documentation; contacting any known health care providers who may have the 

required documentation; or contacting other social services agencies or 

organizations that are known to have provided assistance to the applicant. 

The provider is not required to pay for the cost of obtaining required 

documentation. The provider shall document its efforts of providing additional 

assistance to the applicant and retain such documentation in the applicant’s file. 
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Section 9.07 Administrative Procedures for Documents from U.S. Citizens 

1. Indication of Documents Verified: Providers are to check the box on the “For 

Eligibility Use Only” section of the Affidavit indicating which document the 

applicant has provided for demonstrating evidence of lawful presence. 

2. Retain Copy of Document: A photocopy of the lawful presence document 

presented should be retained in the applicant’s file.  

3. Exception Process for Clients Reapplying: If a U.S. citizen reapplies for CICP 

with the same provider, it is not necessary to make a new copy of their lawful 

presence document again if the following conditions are met: 

a. The provider verifies that the document presented at the time of renewal is 

identical to the copy of the lawful presence already on file; 

b. The provider makes a notation in the file that the original document was 

viewed again and found to be acceptable; and 

c. The provider signs and dates the notation. 

This same process applies to providers who have electronically scanned client files. 

This process may never be used for non-U.S. citizens. Lawful presence must be 

established for non-U.S. citizen clients each time they apply for the CICP. 

Section 9.08 Administrative Procedures for Documents from Non-U.S. Citizens 

1. Verification of Documentation in SAVE: Documentation submitted from 

applicants who have checked the second box on the “Affidavit for Lawful 

Presence, Colorado Indigent Care Program”, indicating that they are not a U.S. 

citizen, must be verified through the federal Systematic Alien Verification for 

Entitlements (SAVE) web-based verification information system application. 

Providers must verify through SAVE within 30 days of receiving applications 

from non-U.S. citizens. 

a. SAVE is Not for U.S. Citizens: Only documents for non-U.S. citizens may 

be verified for authenticity in SAVE. It is not possible to verify documents 

applicable to U.S. citizens through SAVE. 

b. Use Affidavit until SAVE Verification is Complete: Until lawful presence 

is confirmed in SAVE, clients are eligible to receive discounted health care 

services through the CICP if they have signed the Affidavit stating that they 

are lawfully present in the United States. 

c. No Match Found in SAVE: In cases where a match in SAVE is not initially 

verified, yet the client asserts that they are legally residing in the country, the 

provider should begin the manual SAVE process and conditionally accept the 

client until status is confirmed or denied in SAVE. This provisional period of 

eligibility should be granted for not less than one month, but not more than 

three months. The length of the provisional acceptance is at the discretion of 

the provider. The provider shall take into consideration any known special 

circumstances of the client when setting the length of the conditional 
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eligibility period. The provider should make the client aware of any 

information obtained through the SAVE process. 

d. The SAVE program also requires participating agencies, institutions and other 

entities to use manual verification when directed by an VIS/CPS system 

message or when the automated check or initial inspection of an 

applicant’s/recipient’s documentation, or information provided from such 

documentation, reveals material discrepancies. To conduct a manual 

verification, user agencies complete the Document Verification Request 

(Form G-845), attach copies of the non-citizen’s immigration documentation, 

and mail it to their local immigration status verification office. Providers in 

Colorado would mail documents and form to: U.S. Citizenship and 

Immigration Services, 300 N. Los Angeles Street, B120, Los Angeles, CA 

90012, Attention: Immigration Status Verification Unit. Once the immigration 

status verification office receives and processes the Form G-845, it is returned 

to the User Agency via the U.S. Postal Service.  

2. Indication of Documents Verified: Providers are to check the box on the “For 

Eligibility Use Only” section of the Affidavit indicating which document the 

applicant has provided for demonstrating evidence of lawful presence. 

3. Retain Copy of Document: A photocopy of the lawful presence document 

presented and used in the SAVE search should be retained in the applicant’s file.  

4. Retain Copy of SAVE Documentation: Providers should print the Verification 

Result Screen from the SAVE search and retain this printout in the applicant’s 

case file. The provider should make the client aware of any information obtained 

through the SAVE process and note such in the application file. 

Section 9.09 U.S. Citizen 

A U.S. citizen is a person who has signed the Affidavit of Lawful Presence, checking the 

line indicating that he/she is a U.S. citizen and provides one acceptable document for 

proving evidence of lawful presence from the list of numbered 1 through 29 in this 

manual, Section I Eligibility, Article IX Colorado Residency and Lawful Presence, 

Section 9.03 Lawful Presence. 

Section 9.10 Documented Immigrants 

Documented immigrants are people who reside in the United States and possess a Social 

Security Number and one of the) lawful presence documents listed in Article IX 

Colorado Residency and Lawful Presence, Section 9.03 Lawful Presence of this manual. 

Section 9.11 Migrant Workers 

Migrant workers and all dependent family members must meet all of the following 

criteria to comply with CICP residency requirements: 

1. Do not live permanently in Colorado; temporary living in Colorado for 

employment reasons; 

2. Meet lawful presence requirements; and 
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3. Employed in Colorado. Must have letter of employment. 

Eligibility is extended to dependent family members of migrant workers when the 

residency requirements are met for the CICP including: if the family members establish a 

temporary home in Colorado and meet U.S. citizenship OR meet established immigration 

documentation requirements. Requirement number three may not be applicable to all 

family members. 
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ARTICLE  X. APPLICANTS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE CICP  

Section 10.01 Applicants Not Eligible for the CICP  

1. Applicants for whom lawful presence cannot be verified. 

2. An applicant in custody of a law enforcement agency. An applicant is not 

eligible when they are serving time for a criminal offense or confined involuntarily 

in a City, County, State or Federal prison, jail, detention facility, or other penal 

facility. This includes individuals who are being involuntarily held in detention 

centers awaiting trial, involuntarily residing at a wilderness camp under any type 

of governmental control, and involuntarily residing in a half-way house under any 

type of governmental control. Even if the medical condition is considered “pre-

existing” prior to incarceration, once the applicant is held involuntarily under any 

type of governmental control they are not eligible for CICP. 

a. Prior to Incarceration: The applicant is eligible for CICP. If an applicant has 

been convicted of a crime but has not reported to the penal facility to start 

their sentence, the applicant remains eligible for CICP. 

b. Parole or Probation after Incarceration: An applicant on parole or probation is 

eligible for CICP. An applicant who is living in a halfway house is eligible for 

CICP only if they are on parole. Most residents of a halfway house are still 

considered inmates and are involuntarily residing under a type of 

governmental control. If the applicant has not been officially released through 

a parole board, he/she is still considered an inmate and is therefore NOT 

eligible for CICP. 

c. Applicants on parole must present documentation of their parole status. 

d. CICP funds cannot be used to provide for medical care that the state, city, or 

county should otherwise be responsible for. 

3. College students from outside Colorado or the United States who are in Colorado 

for the purpose of higher education. These students are not Colorado residents and 

cannot receive services under the CICP. 

4. Visitors from other states or countries temporarily visiting Colorado who have 

primary residences outside of Colorado. 

5. Persons who qualify for Medicaid or CHP+ 
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ARTICLE  XI. HEALTH INSURANCE 

Applicants with other medical insurance may still qualify for CICP. Therefore, 

applications should be completed for applicants with other medical insurance. In some 

cases, other medical insurance may not cover certain medically necessary benefits or 

applicants may have used all of their benefits. Applicants may not know if their other 

medical insurance will cover certain charges until after the CICP application time limit of 

90 days has expired. Charges for services received up to 90 days prior to application, or 

in the case of applicants with other health insurance coverage, when the third-party payer 

has adjudicated claim, can be reported to the CICP. Applicants cannot be denied CICP if 

they have other insurance, and it is the responsibility of the provider’s 

collection/claims office to bill all other medical insurance companies first before 

reporting the charges to CICP. 

Section 11.01 Health Insurance 

Obtain all information related to the insurance policy and attach a copy of the policy or 

insurance card to the application. Required information includes the name of the 

insurance company, the address where the medical claim forms must be submitted, policy 

number and any other information determined necessary. The clinic or hospital will bill 

the commercial health insurance policy first for all medical expenses incurred. Unpaid 

medical expenses will be billed to the CICP minus the health insurance copayment or the 

CICP copayment, whichever is lower. 

Providers can report contractual write-offs required under some commercial health 

insurance contracts in total charges and are only required to report payments due from the 

commercial health plan in third-party liability. Client liability is the payment due from 

third-party insurance, including Medicare. This is not payments actually received, but the 

amount owed by the client’s primary insurance. CICP will reimburse for contractual 

adjustments; therefore, do not include these adjustments as liabilities or as payments due. 

If an applicant receives Veterans Benefits they may also receive CICP benefits provided 

that the following is met: 

 Recipient is unable to receive a specific medical service or treatment from the 

Veterans Administration (VA); 

 Veterans Benefits have been verified. Call 1-877-222-8387 to verify health 

benefits; and 

 If the veteran has primary insurance they must utilize this first. The VA requests 

that a veteran not utilize their Veterans Benefits if they have primary insurance. 

Veterans receiving authorized services from a CICP provider cannot be charged an 

additional CICP copayment after VA reimbursement. 
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Examples of Primary Insurance:

 Group Health Insurance 

 Military Health Insurance 

 Medicare 

 Workers’ Compensation 

 Veterans Benefits 

 HMO 

 Medicaid 

 COBRA 

 Other commercial health plans 
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ARTICLE  XII. CICP RATING  

The CICP rating determines a family’s copayments and the client’s annual copayment 

cap. CICP ratings are effective for one year from the date of the rating; unless the client’s 

financial situation changes or the rating changes is issued due to a provider management 

exception. 

The “CICP Rating Box” is where you record the CICP letter rating or “Denied” for the 

applicant. You must assign a rating or denial and notify the applicant of his/her status 

within five working days of the applicant completing the application. 

The denial letter should include a statement informing the applicant that he/she has 15 

days to appeal the rating. The denial letter should clearly identify to whom the letter is 

addressing, with an address and phone number of the person the applicant should contact 

regarding the appeal. Family members receiving CICP discounted services under the 

same application all have the same CICP rating. 

CICP ratings are usually effective for 12 months from the date of the application. 

Extenuating circumstances sometimes requires that the rating be effective for a shorter 

period of time. When a client is rated for a period less than 12 months, it is the 

responsibility of the primary rating provider to perform the re-rating within the specified 

time. 

Section 12.01 Determining the CICP Rating 

To determine the CICP rating, complete the following steps: 

On the CICP “Ability to Pay Scale” locate the appropriate family size corresponding to 

the family size recorded on Line 11 of the application. 

Slide across the CICP “Ability to Pay Scale” until you find the range where the amount 

on Line 15 - “Equals CICP Income and Equity in Resources” of the applicaiton falls. The 

letter rating at the top of this column is the family’s CICP rating. 

The letter codes mean the following: 

N = 40% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) before qualified deductions. Families 

rated at this level should be referred to Medicaid before CICP is considered. 

A, B, C, D, and E = Families 133% of FPL before qualified deductions should be 

referred to Medicaid.  

Women rated at the D and E level and who are pregnant are possibly eligible for 

Medicaid or other entitlement programs. Refer those women to Medicaid and 

require them to have a denial letter prior to participating in the CICP. 

F, G, H, and I = Families not eligible for Medicaid. However, children and pregnant 

women age 19 and over should be referred to CHP+. 

Z = Applicants at or below 40% of FPL with the following conditions: Homeless 

individuals, or individuals living in transitional housing designed to promote self-
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sufficiency, or individuals who have no permanent residence of their own and are 

temporarily residing with others who have no legal obligation to financially support 

them, or recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy Disabled financial assistance 

program. There is no copayment required for this rating. Applicant should be referred 

to Medicaid prior to approval for CICP. 

Record the family’s CICP rating in the “CICP Rating” box of the application. If the 

family does not qualify for the CICP, write “Denied” in the “CICP Rating” box of the 

application. 

Give the family a copy of the completed application. 

Section 12.02 Client Re-rate 

Clients are re-rated due to specific situations or household changes. Client re-ratings 

affect only future charges. Therefore, bills incurred after the initial rating but prior to the 

re-rating are discounted based on the client’s initial rating. 

When clients request a re-rating and can document that their circumstances have changed 

since the initial rating, you must re-rate them. Reasons for a re-rating to occur may 

include one or more of the following: 

1. Family income has changed significantly; 

2. Number of dependents has changed; 

3. An error in the calculation; OR 

4. The year rate has expired. 
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ARTICLE  XIII. CLIENT COPAYMENT  

Section 13.01 Client Annual Copayment and Cap 

For all client ratings except the N-rating, annual copayments for CICP clients cannot 

exceed 10% of the family’s “Grand Total Net CICP Income,” recorded on Line 13 of the 

application. Annual copayments for clients with N-ratings cannot exceed $120. The CICP 

Client Annual Copayment Cap (annual cap) is based on the client’s application date. 

Only copayments that have been paid can be applied to the copayment cap. Clients are 

responsible for any charges incurred prior to receiving their CICP rating. Clients are 

responsible for tracking their copayments and informing the provider in writing 

(including documentation) when they meet their annual cap. However, if clients overpay 

their annual cap and inform the provider in writing, the provider’s facility must reimburse 

the client for the amount overpaid. The client’s annual cap is reset when the client 

completes a new application.  

Annual caps apply to charges incurred only after a client is eligible for the CICP, and 

apply only to services incurred at a CICP provider. For example: A client received 

services from a provider’s facility in March and did not qualify for the CICP. In 

November, the client receives services from a provider’s facility and does qualify for the 

CICP. Payments made by the client for the services received in March do not apply to the 

annual cap. 

Sometimes clients want to prepay their annual cap prior to receiving services. The 

Department does not support this practice because if the client does not incur charges 

equal to the prepaid copayment cap, the provider’s facility will need to refund the 

overpayment to the client. 

Section 13.02 Calculating the CICP Client Copayment Annual Cap 

To calculate the “CICP Client Copayment Annual Cap,” multiply Line 13 of the 

application by 0.10 (10%). (Do not round Line 13 up to the next highest dollar amount.) 

Enter this amount on the “Client Copayment Annual Cap” Line in the Client Copayment 

box 

Example: In February, a family of four applies for the CICP. Their “Net CICP 

Income,” Line 13, is $32,000. Their CICP rating is “F.” Their CICP annual cap is 

$3,200 ($32,000 x 0.10). By July, the family has paid $2,700 in copayments. The 

mother loses her job in June, so the family can request to be re-rated. Although the 

client is eligible for a new rating, the copayments already paid will not count 

towards the new CICP copayment cap.  

Section 13.03 Client CopaymentsGeneral Policies 

CICP clients are responsible for paying a portion of their medical bills. The client’s 

portion is called the “client copayment.” CICP providers must charge each CICP client a 

copayment (unless the client is a “Z” rating). The Department recommends that CICP 

providers require clients to pay their copayment prior to receiving care (except emergent 

care). For the CICP, there are different copayments for different service charges. The 
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following information explains the different types of medical care charges and the related 

client copayments: 

1. The Hospital Inpatient Facility & Ambulatory Surgery copayment is required 

for charges related to non-physician (facility) services incurred while receiving 

care in a hospital for a continuous stay of 24 hours or longer and Ambulatory 

Surgery for operative procedures received by a client who is admitted to and 

discharged from the hospital setting on the same day. For a patient seen in the 

hospital setting, only the hospital inpatient or emergency room copayment, plus 

the physician copayment can be charged. The emergency room copayment covers 

all services received while in the emergency department. 

2. The Inpatient and Emergency Room Physician copayment is required for 

charges related to services provided directly by the physician in the hospital 

setting, including emergency room care.  

3. The Clinic copayment is required for charges related to non-physician (facility) 

and physician services received in the clinic setting. This includes charges for 

primary and preventive medical care. It does not include charges for outpatient 

services provided in a hospital (i.e., emergency room care, outpatient surgery, 

radiology). If labs or x-rays are performed in the clinic, the additional lab or 

radiology copayment can be added. 

 For example, if a CICP client with an A rating was seen in the emergency 

department and had lab work done, the client would owe the $25.00 

emergency room copayment plus the physician copayment of $35.00. If the 

same CICP client with an A rating was seen in the Provider’s primary care 

clinic and not the emergency room and had lab work done, the client would 

owe the $15.00 outpatient clinic copayment plus the $10.00 laboratory 

services copayment. 

4. The Outpatient Hospital copayment is required for charges related to non-

physician (facility) and physician services received in the outpatient hospital 

setting.  

5. Hospital Emergency Room and Emergency Transportation copayment is 

required for charges related to non-physician (facility) services incurred while 

receiving care in the hospital setting for a continuous stay of less than 24 hours, 

including the Emergency Room. 

6. Specialty Outpatient Clinic copayment is required for charges related to non-

physician (facility) and physician services received in the specialty outpatient 

clinic setting, but does not include charges for outpatient services provided in the 

hospital setting (i.e., emergency room physician, ambulatory surgery). Specialty 

outpatient charges include distinctive medical care (i.e., oncology, orthopedics, 

hematology, pulmonary) that is not normally available as primary and 

preventative medical care. 

7. Prescription copayment is required for prescription drugs received at a qualified 

CICP health care provider’s pharmacy. To encourage the availability of 

discounted prescription drugs, providers are allowed to modify (increase or 
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decrease) the Prescription Copayment with the written approval of the 

Department. 

8. Laboratory Services copayment is required for charges related to laboratory tests 

received by the client that are not associated with an inpatient facility or hospital 

outpatient charge during the same period. (clinic providers) 

9. Radiology and Imaging Services copayment is required for charges related to 

radiology and imaging received by client in the outpatient clinic setting, but does 

not include charges from outpatient or inpatient services provided in the hospital 

setting. 

10. Hospital Inpatient Facility copayment is required for charges related to a 

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computed Tomography (CT), Positron 

Emission Tomography (PET), Sleep Studies, Catheterization Laboratory (cath lab 

or other Nuclear Medicine services in an Outpatient setting.  

11. The Emergency Transportation is required for charges related to emergency 

transportation/ambulance services from CICP providers  

12. Z-Rating is no longer limited to only homeless clients. The Z-Rating has been 

expanded to encompass clients who are at or below 40% of the Federal Poverty 

Level (qualify for an N-Rating) and are homeless, living in transitional housing, 

temporarily residing with others, or recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy 

Disabled financial assistance program. 

 Homeless clients are exempt from client copayments. Homeless patients are 

also exempt from the income verification requirement, and providing proof of 

residency when completing the CICP application.  

 Transitional housing clients are clients who are participating in programs 

designed to assist individuals in becoming self-supporting. Clients living in 

transitional housing must provide a written statement from their counselor or 

program director asserting that they are participating in a transitional housing 

program. Transitional housing clients are exempt from client copayments. In 

addition, transitional housing clients are exempt from the income verification 

requirement when completing the CICP application. 

 Clients who have no permanent housing of their own and who are temporarily 

living with a person who has no legal obligation to financially support the 

client are exempt from client copayments. The individual allowing the client 

to reside with him or her may be asked to provide a written statement 

confirming that the client is not providing financial assistance to the 

household and that the living arrangement is not intended to be permanent. 

Clients residing with others are exempt from the verification of denied 

Medicaid benefits requirement when completing the CICP application. Clients 

residing with others are NOT exempt from the income verification 

requirement. 

 Recipients of Colorado’s Aid to the Needy Disabled (AND) financial 

assistance program who are eligible and enrolled to receive the monthly grant 

award are exempt from client copayments. In addition, recipients of 

Colorado’s Aid to the Needy Disabled (AND) financial assistance program 
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are exempt from the income verification when completing the CICP 

application. The majority of applicants in this category should qualify for the 

Expansion Medicaid program. 

Section 13.04 Determining a Client's Copayment  

Using the client rating recorded in the ”CICP Rating Box,” look up the corresponding 

rating on the “CICP Client Copayment Table”. The copayment amount is listed by 

service. 

Section 13.05 Responsible Party Signature 

The responsible party listed on the first line of the application must sign the application 

within 90 days of the date of service. If an applicant is unable to sign the application or 

has died, a spouse, relative or guardian can sign the application. CICP Providers can sign 

the application on behalf of deceased patient, only as the last remedy An unsigned 

application means the application has not been completed, the applicant cannot receive a 

discount for services under the Program, and the applicant has no appeal rights. The 

application must be completed before the responsible party can sign. 

The prospective client has 15 days to provide requested information. The application 

completion process must be completed within 45 days. If requested documentation is not 

provided by the applicant, the provider has the right to deny CICP eligibility. The 

applicant has a right to obtain a copy of the completed application. 

Section 13.06 CICP Policy on Fraudulent Applications 

Clients should be notified of the following State Statutes prior to signing the CICP 

application: 

Any person who represents that any medical service is reimbursable or subject to 

payment under this article when he or she knows that it is not and any person who 

represents that he or she is eligible for assistance under this article when he or she knows 

that he or she is not commits a class 2 misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided in 

section 18-1.3-501, C.R.S. 

C.R.S. 18-5-102 – Forgery 

1. A person commits forgery, if, with intent to defraud, such person falsely makes, 

completes, alters, or utters a written instrument which is or purports to be, or 

which is calculated to become or to represent if completed: 

a. A written instrument officially issued or created by a public office, public 

servant or government agency. 

2. Forgery is a class 5 felony. 

C.R.S. 18-1.3-401 Felonies classified - presumptive penalties 

Class 5 Felonies carry a minimum sentence of one-year imprisonment up to a maximum 

sentence of three years imprisonment with a mandatory period of parole of two years. In 

addition, a minimum fine of one thousand dollars up to a maximum fine of one hundred 

thousand dollars may be imposed.  
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C.R.S 18-5-114 - Offering a false instrument for recording 

1. A person commits offering a false instrument for recording in the first degree if, 

knowing that a written instrument relating to or affecting real or personal property 

or directly affecting contractual relationships contains a material false statement 

or material false information, and with intent to defraud, he presents or offers it to 

a public office or a public employee, with the knowledge or belief that it will be 

registered, filed, or recorded or become a part of the records of that public office 

or public employee. 

2. Offering a false instrument for recording in the first degree is a class 5 felony. 

3. A person commits offering a false instrument for recording in the second degree 

if, knowing that a written instrument relating to or affecting real or personal 

property or directly affecting contractual relationships contains a material false 

statement or material false information, he presents or offers it to a public office 

or a public employee, with the knowledge or belief that it will be registered, filed, 

or recorded or become a part of the records of that public office or public 

employee. 

4. Offering a false instrument for recording in the second degree is a class 1 

misdemeanor. 

Reporting fraud is the responsibility of the provider who completed the CICP application 

for the implicated client. 

If a provider is notified that a client has possibly committed fraud on a CICP application, 

that provider is responsible for notifying the District Attorney of the client’s county of 

residence, in writing. The provider should not turn over the CICP application, medical 

records or billing records without a direct request from the District Attorney. The CICP 

application is property of the State, stored and maintained by the provider. If the District 

Attorney requests the CICP application, that application and all supporting 

documentation must be provided.  

If the provider is notified that a client has possibly committed fraud on a CICP 

application, but that provider did not complete the CICP application, that provider is 

responsible for notifying the CICP provider who did complete the application of the 

report. That notification should be in writing. 

The Department should be copied on all correspondence. The Department has been 

directed to assist all inquiries from the District Attorney, but will not submit any formal 

request for an investigation to the District Attorney. There is no State Agency with the 

authority to investigate fraud on the CICP application. 

Once the provider has notified the District Attorney, the provider is not responsible for 

any further action unless requested by the District Attorney or the Department. 

If the provider receives any reimbursement on a claim previously reimbursed by the 

CICP due to fraud, or any other reason, the provider must notify the Department in 

accordance with the CICP Manual. (See Section II: Data Collection, Article VI. - 

Previously Charged Claim Adjustments). 
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ARTICLE  XIV. APPEAL PROCESS  

Section 14.01 Re-rating 

To re-rate a client, you must complete a new CICP application. 

Sometimes even though clients’ financial situations may not have changed, they feel their 

initial ratings do not accurately reflect their current financial situations. The CICP has 

several methods for changing a CICP client’s initial rating. The methods are listed in 

order below: 

1. Provider Management Appeal 

2. Provider Management Exception 

Section 14.02 Instructions for Filing an Appeal 

You must inform the client that they have the right to appeal if they are not satisfied 

with the rating. All appeals must be handled at the provider level. For example, the client 

must receive a written denial for a Provider Management Appeal and Provider 

Management Exception. A client can request a Provider Management Appeal and/or 

exception in the same letter. Each of these methods requires the client to submit a written 

request and provide documentation supporting the reasons for the request. 

Section 14.03 Provider Management Appeals  

A Provider Management Appeal means that an eligibility technician at your facility has 

found that the client’s initial rating was inaccurate. Provider Management Appeals can 

result in higher or lower ratings depending on the documentation. A client has 15 days 

from the date of completing the application to request a Provider Management Appeal. If 

this time frame is not met and there was not a death in the client’s immediate family, you 

do not have to review a Provider Management Appeal. However, please notify the client 

that the Provider Management Appeal was denied because the client did not submit the 

request by the deadline. 

A client can request a Provider Management Appeal for the following reasons: 

1. The initial rating contains inaccurate information or miscalculations because the 

family member or representative was uninformed, OR 

2. Miscommunication between the client and the rating technician caused 

incomplete or inaccurate data to be recorded on the application. 

Each provider must designate a manager to review client appeals and grant management 

exceptions. A Provider Management Appeal involves receiving a written request from the 

client and reviewing the application completed by the rating technician, including all 

back-up documentation, to determine if the CICP application is accurate. Your facility 

must notify clients in writing of the results of Provider Management Appeals within 15 

working days of receipt of the appeal request from the client. 

If the designated manager finds that the initial application is not accurate, the designated 

manager must correct the application and assign the correct rating to the client. The 

correct rating is effective retroactive to the initial date of application. This means that 
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charges incurred 90 days prior to the initial date of application must be discounted. If the 

initial application is accurate, the designated manager may grant a management exception 

to the client. 

Section 14.04 Provider Management Exception 

A Provider Management Exception means that the client has an unusual circumstance, 

which may justify the lowering of the CICP rating. Provider Management Exceptions 

should not be used for applicants who do not qualify for the CICP because their 

resources exceed the limit (as an example, applicants earning $100 over income 

limit). Clients can either request Provider Management Exceptions when requesting a 

Provider Management Appeal or within 15 days from receipt of a Provider Management 

Appeal notice. If this time frame is not met, the provider does not have to review the 

Provider Management Exception request. However, please notify the client in writing 

that the Provider Management Exception was denied because the client did not submit 

the request by the deadline. 

Your facility must notify clients in writing of the results of Provider Management 

Exceptions within 15 working days of receipt of the exception request from the client. 

Designated managers can authorize a three-month exception to a client’s rating based on 

unusual circumstances. After the 90-day period ends, the client must be re-rated. You 

must note Provider Management Exceptions on the application and the designated 

manager must initial the application. The number of Provider Management Exceptions 

granted by a provider cannot exceed 5% of all ratings performed. Providers must treat 

clients equitably in the Provider Management Exception process. 

Ratings from a Provider Management Exception are effective retroactive to the initial 

date of application. This means that charges incurred 90 days prior to the initial date of 

application must be discounted. CICP providers do not need to honor exceptions made by 

other CICP providers. 

Section 14.05 Department Appeals  

The Department has determined that the CICP is NOT a “covered entity” under the 

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 privacy regulations (45 

C.F.R. Parts 160 and 164). Because the CICP is not a part of Medicaid, and its principal 

activity is the making of grants to providers who serve eligible persons who are medically 

indigent, CICP is not considered a covered entity under HIPAA. The state personnel 

administering the CICP will provide oversight in the form of procedures and conditions, 

to ensure funds provided are being used to serve the target population, but will not be 

significantly involved in any health care decisions involving a qualified health care 

provider or client. 

HIPAA prevents the Department from being involved in client issues due to the Personal 

Health Information (PHI) clause. Each provider should establish procedures at their 

facility that sets forth the manner for handling appeals. The applicant should also be 

notified of these procedures.   
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ARTICLE  XV. APPENDIX 

Section 15.01 Medicaid Programs and Child Health Plan (CHP+) 

Medicaid is a state and federally funded program that pays for medical services for low-

income families and individuals. Medicaid is a program for the categorically needy, 

meaning that an individual or family must fall below a certain income/resource limit. 

CHP+ is a public health insurance for low-income children ages 18 and under and 

pregnant women. CHP+ is a program for applicants who are not eligible for Medicaid 

due to income limits, and must not have other health insurance. 

Providers must screen CICP applicants for Medicaid eligibility and CHP+ prior to 

assigning a CICP rating. This is beneficial for both providers and applicants because 

under Medicaid and CHP+ providers receive higher reimbursement and applicants 

receive more benefits and may have lower copayments. The Provider Compliance Audit 

requires verification that the applicant was determined “not categorically eligible” for 

Medicaid or CHP+. 

Section 15.02 Denial of Medicaid or CHP+ Eligibility 

If the applicant appears to meet the eligibility criteria for CHP+ or any of the Medicaid 

eligibility categories, a denial letter from CHP+ or the local county Department of 

Human or Social Services must be received.  

A letter from CHP+ or the local county Department of Human, Medical Assistance Site 

or Social Services indicating voluntary withdrawal or denial due to refusal to submit 

complete documentation is not sufficient proof that the applicant has applied for CHP+ or 

Medicaid and been denied.  

Section 15.03 CICP Eligibility and Other Health Programs 

The table below illustrates what program categories can be used in conjunction with 

CICP. 

Children’s 

Programs 
Description of Programs 

Federal 

Poverty 

Level 

CICP 

Eligibility 
Effective Date 

Child 

Health Plan 

Plus 

(CHP+)  

Low-cost health insurance for children 

under 19. Enrollment fees may apply 

250% 

FPL 
No 

First day of 

month of CHP+ 

application. 

CHP+ 

Presumptive 

Eligibility 

(PE) 

Access to immediate temporary medical 

coverage for children, for at least 45 days 

while eligibility for full health care 

benefits is determined. 

250% 

FPL 
No N.A. 

Medicaid 

Presumptive 

Eligibility 

(PE) 

Access to immediate temporary medical 

coverage for children, for at least 45 days 

while eligibility for full health care 

benefits is determined. 

133% 

FPL 
No N.A. 
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Children’s 

Programs 
Description of Programs 

Federal 

Poverty 

Level 

CICP 

Eligibility 
Effective Date 

Children 

with low-

income 

Medicaid coverage for children under 19. 
133% 

FPL 
No 

Backdates up to 

90 days from 

Medicaid 

application. First 

day of the month 

of application, if 

no backdates are 

requested. Five 

year ban lifted as 

of July 1, 2014. 

Children 

with 

Disabilities 

Under age of 19; meet Social Security 

Administration definition of disability. 

Premium amounts may apply. 

300% 

FPL 
No 

Backdates up to 

90 days from 

Medicaid 

application. First 

day of the month 

of application, if 

no backdates are 

requested. 

Foster Care 

Covers persons less than 21 years of age 

for whom a county is assuming full or 

partial financial responsibility; who are in 

foster care, in homes or private 

institutions, or in subsidized adoptive 

homes prior to the final decree of 

adoption.  

N.A. No N.A. 

Former 

Foster Care 

Medicaid coverage to age 26 for youth 

who have aged out of foster care who 

were not adopted and who did not 

emancipate prior to turning 18. 

N.A. No N.A. 

Pregnant 

Women 

Programs 

Description of Programs 

Federal 

Poverty 

Level 

CICP 

Eligibility 
Effective Date 

CHP+ 

Low-cost health insurance for 

pregnant women. Enrollment fees 

may apply. 

250% 

FPL  
No 

First day of 

month of CHP+ 

application. 

CHP+ 

Presumptive 

Eligibility 

Access to immediate temporary 

medical coverage for pregnant 

women for at least 45 days, while 

eligibility for full health care benefits 

is determined. 

250% 

FPL 
No N.A. 

Medicaid 

Presumptive 

Eligibility 

(PE) 

Immediate temporary Medicaid 

coverage for pregnant women. 

185% 

FPL  
No N.A. 

 


