
Colorado 
Legislative 

Council 
Staff

M E M O R A N D U M

July 25, 2014

TO: Interested Persons

FROM: Mistia Zuckerman, Research Analyst, 303-866-4364

SUBJECT: Cell Phone Use and Distracted Driving Laws

Summary

     With the rise in the use of smart phones, distracted driving from the use of these
devices has been identified as causing or contributing to automobile crashes.  This
memorandum provides statistics on automobile crashes that may have been caused
by distracted driving and also gives an overview of federal and state regulations on
the issue.    

Background

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) defines distracted driving as
any activity that could divert attention away from the primary task of driving. Possible distractions
include:

C using a cell phone, including texting or talking;
C using a navigation system;
C eating or drinking;
C talking to passengers;
C grooming;
C reading, including maps;
C watching a video; or
C adjusting a radio, CD player, or MP3 player.1
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According to the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), there were
107,544 crashes on Colorado roads in 2013.  Of these crashes:

C 6,795 involved minors under the age of 18;
C 431 were fatal, resulting in a total of 481 fatalities; and
C 10,021 caused injuries, resulting in 12,402 injured people.

When responding to a crash, an officer can indicate on a form his or her opinion about the
cause of the crash, even if the driver is not issued a citation for the suspected cause.  Of the
107,544 total crashes, officers indicated distracted driving as the cause for 14,003 crashes, or
13 percent.  Of this total, the crashes are further divided into four different categories of distraction,
as follows:

C 546 crashes were caused by distraction from a radio;
C 1,311 crashes were caused by distraction from a cell phone;
C 1,343 crashes were caused by distraction from passengers; and
C 10,803 crashes were caused by other distractions, such as food, objects, or pets.2  

Colorado Law

The Colorado General Assembly adopted legislation in 2009 that added new restrictions
on cell phone use and text messaging while driving.  Under previous state law, only drivers
possessing a temporary instruction permit or a minor's instruction permit were prohibited from using
a wireless communications device while behind the wheel.  The following sections discuss specific
provisions of the law.

Minor drivers.  Any driver under 18 years of age is prohibited from using a cell phone while
driving.  The prohibition includes phone calls, text messaging, or similar forms of manual data entry
and transmission.  

Adult drivers.  Adult drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone to text message, or
send similar forms of transmission, while behind the wheel.  Regular cell phone use for voice calls
is permitted.  

Exceptions.  Exceptions to the law are provided under specified circumstances.  Drivers,
regardless of age, may use a wireless device for phone calls or sending or receiving text messages
either to contact a public safety entity or during an emergency.  An emergency is defined as any
situation in which the following may occur:

• a person has reason to fear for his or her life or safety;
• a person believes that a criminal act may be perpetrated against him or her or against

another person;
• reporting of a fire;
• reporting of a serious traffic accident;
• reporting of a serious road hazard;
• reporting of a medical or hazardous materials emergency; or
• reporting of a person who is driving in a reckless, careless, or unsafe manner.3
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Penalties. Table 1 lists penalties assessed for violating state laws pertaining to cell phone
use and text messaging while driving.  The table indicates fines for both initial and subsequent
offenses.  In addition to fines set in statute, offenders are assessed a surcharge credited to the
Victims and Witnesses Assistance and Law Enforcement Fund and the Crime Victim
Compensation Fund.  

Table 1 
Penalties for Improper Cell Phone Use While Driving

Category Violation Points Fine Surcharge

Minor Drivers
(all cell phone use)

and
Adult Drivers

(text messaging)

Initial Violation
Class A Traffic Infraction

1 $50 $7

Subsequent Violation
Class A Traffic Infraction

1 $100 $7

            Source: Section 42-4-239, C.R.S. and Colorado State Patrol.

Enforcement.  These violations are primary offenses.  Current law states that a law
enforcement officer must observe the violation before a citation may be issued.  In 2013, CSP
issued citations for initial violations to 16 minor drivers and 354 adult drivers, and issued no
citations for subsequent violations.4

Other legislation.   In 2014, House Bill 14-1225 was introduced.  It would have prohibited
an adult from using a wireless phone to make or receive a phone call while driving, unless the
driver used a hands-free device.  The bill was postponed indefinitely by the House Transportation
Committee.  

Other States' Laws

Currently, no states ban all cell phone use by drivers.  Table 2 provides a breakdown of
distracted driving laws enacted by state legislatures as of June 2014:5  A primary offense is one
in which a law enforcement officer can pull a driver over and issue a citation specifically for that
offense.  If a citation can only be issued after a driver is pulled over for another reason, it is a
secondary offense.    
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Table 2 
Distracted Driving Laws

Offense

Number of states
with bans as

primary offenses

Number of states
with bans as

secondary offenses

Ban any cell phone use by minor or
"novice" drivers;

31 states + District of
Columbia

6 states

Ban any cell phone use by school bus
drivers, all of which are a primary offense;

20 states + District of
Columbia 

0 states

Prohibit text messaging for all drivers 39 states + District of
Columbia

5 states

Ban the use of a cell phone without a
hands-free device

13 states + District of
Columbia 

0 states

            Source: Governors Highway Safety Administration

Federal Legislation and Executive Orders

In response to increased occurrences of distracted driving accidents, the federal
government has also established restrictions to reduce cell phone use while behind the wheel.  

Federal employees.  In October 2009, President Obama signed an executive order
banning federal employees from text messaging while driving federal government vehicles.6  The
executive order also prohibits federal employees from text messaging on government-issued
phones while driving personal vehicles. 
  

Commercial motor vehicles.  In September 2010, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration (FMCSA) created a rule that prohibits commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers from
texting or holding a mobile phone while operating in interstate commerce and establishes
corresponding civil penalties for drivers who fail to comply.7  Additionally, motor carriers are now
prohibited from requiring or allowing their drivers to engage in texting while driving.  A driver,
including a school bus driver, could lose his or her commercial driver's license if convicted of texting
while operating a CMV under state or local traffic laws. 

Hazardous materials.  In December 2011, the federal Department of Transportation
(DOT) published a final rule that applies to all CMV drivers hauling hazardous materials that require
a DOT placard.8  The rule bans such drivers from using a hand-held mobile phone or texting while
driving, including when the CMV is stationary at traffic lights or stop signs.  However, a CMV driver
may still use a hand-held mobile phone if the vehicle is pulled to the side of the road and is
stationary.
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