MISDEMEANORS

This section contains a current listing of misdemeanor offenses. Misdemeanor offenses are
categorized as follows: class 1, class 2, class 3, and unclassified misdemeanors. The penalty for the
commission of a misdemeanor offense depends on its classification. The penalty scheme for misdemeanors
is indicated in Table 3 below.

Table 3

Sentencing Scheme for Misdemeanors

Class of Misdemeanor

Minimum Sentence

Maximum Sentence

Class 1
(extraordinary risk of harm*)

6 months jail,
$500 fine, or both

24 months jail,
$5,000 fine, or both

Class 1 6 months jail, 18 months jail,
$500 fine, or both $5,000 fine, or both

Class 2 3 months jail, 12 months jail,
$250 fine, or both $1,000 fine, or both

Class 3 $50 fine 6 months jail,

$750 fine, or both

Unclassified

Specified in statute

Specified in statute

* Misdemeanor offenses that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society include the following: third degree
assault;” sexual assault; second degree sexual assault as it existed prior to July 1, 2000; unlawful sexual contact;
third degree sexual assault as it existed prior to July 1, 2000; child abuse; second and all subsequent violations
of a protection order; misdemeanor failure to register as a sex offender; and misdemeanor invasion of privacy for
sexual gratification (Section 18-1.3-501 (3), C.R.S.).

T If a defendant is convicted of third degree assault and the victim is a peace officer, emergency medical service
provider, emergency medical care provider, firefighter, or mental health professional at the Colorado Department
of Human Services engaged in the performance of his or her duties, the minimum sentence is 24 months in jail and
the maximum sentence is 48 months in jail. The court may also impose a fine of $500 to $5,000 (Section 18-1.3-
501 (1.5) and (1.7), C.R.S.).

T If a defendant is convicted of class 3 misdemeanor reckless endangerment and the victim is a mental health
professional who is engaged in the performance of his or her duties at the Colorado Department of Human
Services, the minimum sentence is 6 months in jail and the maximum sentence is 12 months in jail. The court may
also impose a fine of $50 to $750 (Section 18-1.3-501 (1.7), C.R.S.).

It is important to note that not all persons convicted of a misdemeanor offense receive a sentence
to the county jail. Many offenders receive a sentence to probation.

The crimes in this listing are grouped according to the statutory title in which they appear. In addition,
those crimes that appear in Title 18 are further designated by their article. For example, crimes in Article 3

of Title 18 are identified as “Offenses Against the Person.”

All listings are current through the 2014 regular session laws.
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