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The General Assembly considered a handful of transportation-related legislation during the
2013 session.  Topics addressed include transportation financing, transportation planning, and the
Colorado Department of Transportation.

Transportation Financing

The General Assembly considered three bills during the 2013 session pertaining to
transportation financing.  One bill was enacted; two were postponed indefinitely.

Highway User Tax Fund.  Senate Bill 13-048 authorizes counties and municipalities to
spend revenue that they receive from the Highway Users Tax Fund (HUTF) on transit-related
projects.  Current law authorizes the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) to spend a
portion of its HUTF revenue on transit-related projects, and specifies that the funding of these
projects constitutes maintenance and supervision of public highways to reduce traffic and
wear-and-tear on state highways and bridges. 

House Bill 13-1116, which was postponed indefinitely, would have transferred $10 million
from the General Fund to the HUTF if the sales and use tax growth in the preceding year increased
by 1.5 percent or more.  A transfer under this bill would have been required to be made in the year
preceding any transfer under Senate Bill 09-228, which transfers 2 percent of the General Fund to
the HUTF for five years, if personal income growth increases by 5 percent or more.  If the amount
of sales and use tax growth declined by 5 percent or more from the previous fiscal year, then a
transfer under this bill for the following year, and each thereafter, would have been reduced by
5 percent. 

Daily rental fee.  House Bill 13-1161 would have exempted rented vehicles that weigh at
least 10,000 pounds from the $2 daily rental fee when registering the vehicle.  Under current law,
vehicles that do not pay the daily rental fee must pay bridge and road safety surcharges.  The bill
was postponed indefinitely.   

http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2013a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/9D4690717C1FF9DC87257AEE00572392?Open&file=048_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2013a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/F65A695789DA419887257A8C00506F62?Open&file=1116_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2013a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/33D92C5D72022CB487257AEE00582714?Open&file=1161_01.pdf


Transportation Planning

The General Assembly considered one bill regarding transportation planning.

House Bill 13-1159 allows drivers to show proof of insurance on a cell phone or other
portable mobile device.  It also allows insurance companies to issue proof of insurance either in
paper or electronic format.  The bill indemnifies law enforcement officials from unintentional damage
that may occur while the device is handled to verify insurance status, and prohibits law enforcement
officials from exploring the contents of the device other than to examine a driver's insurance.   

Colorado Department of Transportation

Two bills were considered addressing the role and membership of the CDOT.  One was
signed into law; one was postponed indefinitely.

Motorcycle Operator Safety Training program.  House Bill 13-1083 requires the Office
of Transportation Safety in the CDOT to establish new eligibility standards for students and
instructors for the Motorcycle Operator Safety Training (MOST) program.  Under the bill, the CDOT
is required to create a system to record program data, including accidents, injuries, and fatalities. 
The bill also allows a driver's license holder from another state to enroll in a MOST course.

The bill also recreates the MOST advisory board.  The board, which will consist of
12 members, is required to make recommendations on training methods to increase safety and
program effectiveness.  The board is required to meet at least four times a year.  Board members
are not reimbursed for their board activities.  By September 1 of each year, the CDOT is directed
to report to the Legislative Audit Committee, House Transportation Committee, and Senate
Transportation Committee on the effectiveness of the program and other performance measures. 
The program is repealed, effective September 1, 2017, following a sunset review.

Transportation Commission.  The Transportation Commission currently consists of
11 members, each of whom is appointed by the Governor and represents a single transportation
district.  House Bill 13-1030 would have added two at-large members to the Transportation
Commission.  Appointed by the Governor, the two at-large members would have each represented
the entire state.  The bill specified that one of the at-large members reside on the western slope and
the other reside on the eastern slope.  The two at-large members would have served four-year
terms; except that the at-large member from the western slope would have served an initial term of
two-years in order to stagger the timing of future appointments.  The bill was postponed indefinitely. 
 

http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2013a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E29C81963A46BAD987257AEE00588C8C?Open&file=1159_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2013a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/4151F3D7AF42CB9187257AEE0057E27B?Open&file=1083_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2013a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/CD4E225FF04E941D87257A8C00506FD0?Open&file=1030_01.pdf



