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The legislature debated a number of bills that affect the state's public finances and
taxpayers in Colorado.  This document summarizes the bills that were considered during the 2013
legislative session regarding the state's budget and main tax sources for its operating budget. 
Other bills affected the administration of these taxes and the local governments that implement
these tax systems.  Additionally, bills affecting state cash funds and state fees are summarized.

Tax Legislation and the Economy   

The economy continued to expand in the second half of 2012 and the first seven months
of 2013. A number of tax bills were considered and adopted during the 2013 session. 
Amendment 64, a voter-approved ballot measure, pertaining to marijuana sales and use, resulted
in one measure being referred to voters that affects state sales and excise taxes.  

Changes to K-12 education funding triggered another initiative that will ask voters to
approve a state income tax rate increase to fund education.  This measure is tied to a future School
Finance Act enacted by the legislature during the recent session.  The School Finance Act will only
go into effect if the ballot measure is approved.  In addition to the ballot-related measures,
legislation that provides tax incentives through the state income tax system and changes to sales



and use tax exemptions, many of were also enacted by the General Assembly.  These policy
changes extended or modified legislation enacted in prior sessions.

Colorado's recovery from the most recent recession is one of the strongest in the nation. 
The state continues to see moderate  job growth, consumers who are spending money on big-ticket
goods such as automobiles, and a strong housing market.  Colorado is also seeing significant
growth in its export markets despite the fragile global economy.  All of these factors have
contributed to growth in General Fund revenue at levels that are higher than previously expected
for 2013.  As a result, General Fund revenue is estimated for FY 2012-13 to grow 10.9 percent over
the prior year and is expected to grow 3.8 percent and 6.6 percent in FY 2013-14 and FY 2014-15,
respectively. 

The ongoing revenue growth in 2013 is attributed to an improving economy and changes
in federal tax policy.  Some of the revenue growth is due to one-time revenue impacts tied to
federal tax law changes in the American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012.  All of these factors have led
to a 2013 legislative session that triggered much of the policy changes that are described in the
following sections.

Cash Fund Transfers

The state receives its revenue from the federal government, state taxes, and state fees. 
Most fee revenue and some tax revenue are deposited into state cash funds that are earmarked
for specific state programs.  The legislature debated bills that transferred money from some of
these cash funds to the General Fund, as well as from the General Fund to some cash funds. 

Table 1 lists bills making cash fund transfers to or from the General Fund that were adopted
during the 2013 session.  It also lists bills that may make cash fund transfers from the General
Fund if certain triggers are met.  A total of ten bills are listed in Table 1, showing a combined
transfer of up to $342.0 million from the General Fund to various cash funds over the course of the
next three fiscal years, including $2.2 million in FY 2012-13, $268.2 million in FY 2013-14, and
$71.6 million in FY 2014-15.

Table 1 
Cash Fund Transfers to or from the General Fund

Bill Number Cash Fund 

Net Impact to the General Fund

FY 2012-13 FY 2013-14 FY 2014-15

SB 13-233 Various repealed cash funds $0 $10,651 $0

SB 13-235 Colorado State Veterans Trust Fund 0 (3,860,429) 0

SB 13-236

Capital Construction Fund (420,184) (186,215,493) 0

Capital Construction Fund (transfer from
General Fund Exempt account)

0 (500,000) 0

Colorado Water Conservation Board
Construction Fund (transfer from General
Fund surplus)

0 0
up to

(30,000,000)

SB 13-269 Wildfire Risk Reduction Fund 0 (9,800,000) 0

SB 13-270 Wildfire Emergency Response Fund 0 (500,000) 0

HB 13-1001 Advanced Industries Acceleration Fund 0 (5,500,000) 0

http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/5184D224F2F0E15B87257B330058E136?Open&file=233_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/A803089DB3472FF787257B34007B8EF4?Open&file=235_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/67279CD441BC27A787257B32005DDD73?Open&file=236_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/75CCF750CEFF249E87257B17005849D1?Open&file=269_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/657A17382CBC12E387257B29008159DA?Open&file=270_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/24CD86949A5BF7A887257AEE00585EE6?Open&file=1001_enr.pdf


Table 1 (Cont.)
Cash Fund Transfers to or from the General Fund

Bill Number Cash Fund 

Net Impact to the General Fund

FY 2012-13 FY 2013-14 FY 2014-15

HB 13-1180 Tobacco Litigation Settlement Funds (1,792,244) (1,803,330) (1,820,072)

HB 13-1193
Advanced Industries Export Acceleration
Fund

0 (300,000) (300,000)

HB 13-1305* Tobacco Litigation Settlement Fund 0
up to

(40,000,000)
0

HB 13-1318**
Marijuana Cash Fund 0 (16,770,387) (33,540,774)

Various local jurisdictions 0 (2,959,480) (5,918,960)

Total ($2,212,428) ($268,198,468) ($71,579,806)

* Conditional on losing the Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement dispute.
**Conditional on voter approval.

Income Taxes

The legislature debated and enacted a number of bills affecting state income taxes.  The
state's income tax rate is 4.63 percent and is the same for all income levels for both households
and businesses.  This session saw a number of income tax bills related to:

• the School Finance Act — income tax funding mechanisms;
• issues of public health and safety;
• assistance to military personnel; 
• economic and business development; 
• tax assistance for low and middle income wage earners; and
• tax administration.

Some of these tax policy changes take the form of state income tax credits and deductions. 
Other state income tax-related measures affect the administration of the state tax by the Colorado
Department of Revenue.  

School Finance Act — income tax funding mechanisms.   Under current law, funding
for school districts is set by a statewide base per pupil amount, which is modified to provide
additional funding for each district according to various factors, such as a district's cost of living,
enrollment, or percentage of at-risk students.  

One measure affecting K-12 education that includes an income tax rate change is
Senate Bill 13-213.  This bill, enacted, provides a new funding formula for school districts and
Charter School Institute schools and it changes how pupils are counted for funding purposes.  The
bill creates a new school finance act, contingent on voter approval of a statewide ballot measure,
to increase state tax revenue for public education by requiring that a fixed percentage of revenue
from certain state taxes be annually set aside for schools.  The new act will commence in the
second budget year following approval of the ballot measure.  Therefore, the earliest the new
funding formula could start is FY 2015-16.

The ballot measure requires that at least 43 percent of state income, sales, and excise tax
revenue be set aside annually to pay for public education.  Beginning in tax year 2014 the measure
establishes a two-tiered income tax system, if approved by voters.  The ballot measure raises the

http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/101213080BE6841F87257AEF0078550A?Open&file=1180_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/9BA6AADB416CBD6C87257AEE0058A211?Open&file=1193_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/D036B6F9213B3C7487257B330058E15A?Open&file=1305_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/31D153749B49700187257B2F00580E15?Open&file=1318_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/27A661F189ABDCF787257AEE00571A66?Open&file=213_enr.pdf


state individual income tax rate from 4.63 percent to 5.0 percent on the first $75,000 of taxable
income and to 5.9 percent on taxable income over $75,000.  The legislature may adjust the
$75,000 income threshold annually by inflation.  If adopted by voters, the measure will increase
state income tax revenue by an estimated $950 million in budget year 2015-16, the first full year
of implementation.

Issues of public health and safety.  Under current law, homeowners in the wildland-urban
interface may deduct costs for wildfire mitigation measures from their Colorado taxable income.
The allowed deduction is for 50 percent of costs up to $5,000 or a maximum $2,500 deduction.
Wildfire mitigation measures include establishing defensible space around a residence (e.g., fuel
breaks, thinning vegetation, other site work).  This deduction is set to expire after tax year 2013. 
House Bill 13-1012, enacted, extended the wildfire mitigation income tax deduction to tax year
2014.

Assistance to certain military personnel.  The Military Family Relief Fund provides
emergency grants for financial hardships to members, including reservists, of the Colorado National
Guard and their families when ordered to active military duty.  House Bill 13-1024, enacted, 
establishes a deduction from taxable income for military families receiving a grant from the Military
Family Relief Fund.  The total amount of the grant received by a family is deductible from the
taxable income reported on and transferred from the taxpayer's federal form, assuming the grant
was reported as income.  The deduction takes effect for tax year 2014 and subsequent tax years.

Tax incentives for business development.  During the 2013 session and many other prior
years, the General Assembly adopted several bills for the purpose of encouraging business
development.  This policy perspective was emphasized during the years in which the economy was
recovering from two recessions during the 2000s.  These incentives are generally aimed at
encouraging businesses that are in the early-stage part of the business cycle or focused on letting
businesses keep more of their revenue so that businesses do not fail or have more money to hire
new employees. 

Two bills debated by the legislature affect income taxes paid by state-licensed medical
marijuana businesses and new recreational marijuana businesses established under
Amendment 64.  This amendment, approved by voters in the 2012 General Election, allows for an
adult 21 years or older to consume or possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana.  

House Bill 13-1042, enacted, allows state-licensed medical marijuana businesses to claim
a state income tax deduction beginning in tax year 2014 for business expenses that are otherwise
eligible to be claimed as a federal income tax deduction but are disallowed by Section 280E of the
Internal Revenue Code, such as rent and personnel costs.  Section 280E of the federal tax code
does not allow businesses to deduct expenses if the business is not legal at the federal level, like
growing or selling marijuana.  These amounts are currently taxed at a state rate of 4.63 percent. 
(Expenses for business start up and the cost of goods may be deducted.)  

Senate Bill 13-283, enacted, allows recreational retail marijuana businesses to deduct
certain business expenses from their state income taxes that are prohibited by federal tax law.  

Under current law, aircraft manufacturers, but not those involved with aircraft maintenance,
located in a Colorado aviation development zone, can claim a state income tax credit of $1,200 per
qualifying employee hired prior to tax year 2017.  House Bill 13-1080, enacted, expands the type
of industries that can claim the Aircraft Manufacturer New Employee Tax Credit to include
companies involved with the maintenance and repair, completion, or modification of aircraft.  This
bill applies until tax year 2023.
    

http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/4B75534D3719DBD687257B490074E195?Open&file=283_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/1384C4AC0C3740D287257A8E0073CB66?Open&file=1012_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/69F7B33CC108F71087257AEE0056FC1D?Open&file=1024_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/D12657F864EC4B2F87257AEE0058844F?Open&file=1042_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/318BE3FB738A80A687257A8C005070F2?Open&file=1080_enr.pdf


Another bill, House Bill 13-1142, enacted, capped a tax incentive and expanded several
other tax incentives available for businesses that conduct business activities under the Colorado
Enterprise Zone Program. Under state law, a taxpayer can claim a state income tax credit equal
to 3 percent of any qualified investment that is either acquired, placed into service, or constructed
and used exclusively in an enterprise zone for the first year of ownership by the taxpayer.  The
3 percent investment tax credit can be used to offset the first $5,000 of tax liability plus 50 percent
of tax liability in excess of $5,000.  Any amount of unused credits can be carried forward for
12 years after the first year for which the credit was claimed.  During the prior recession, the
General Assembly limited the amount of credit that could be claimed in tax years 2011, 2012, and
2013 to $500,000 and deferred any portion of the credit that exceeds $500,000 to tax year 2014. 

HB 13-1142 limits the 3 percent investment tax credit to $750,000 per year for investments
made in 2014 and later.  The bill also allows credits above the limit to be carried forward for
14 years and allows the Economic Development Commission to waive the limit.  The bill increases
the New Business Facility Employee Credit from $500 to $1,100 for each new qualified business
employee and increases the Employer Sponsored Health Insurance Credit from $200 to $1,000
for each new qualified business employee.  The bill also increases the Enterprise Zone Qualified
Job Training Program Investment Credit from 10 percent of the total investment to 12 percent.

In addition to the effect of HB 13-1142 on the 3 percent investment tax credit,
Senate Bill 13-286  extends the carry forward period of the Enterprise Zone Investment Tax Credit
by 8 years for renewable energy companies, thereby allowing these companies to carry forward
the credit for a total of 20 years.  The bill defines a renewable energy company as an entity in the
solar thermal electric, photovoltaic, landfill gas, wind, biomass, hydroelectric, geothermal electric,
recycled energy, anaerobic digestion, or renewable fuel business. 

Under current law, taxpayers are allowed to claim a state income tax credit for donating a
conservation easement.  The credit is equal to 50 percent of the fair market value of the easement,
with a cap of $375,000 per easement.  During the last recession of the 2000s, the legislature
capped the aggregate amount of credits at $22 million annually for tax years 2011 and  2012, and
increased the cap to $34 million in 2013.  House Bill 13-1183 continues the cap by adding an
aggregate limit on new donations made in a single tax year to $45 million in 2014 and each year
thereafter.  Claims for tax credits are awarded in the order in which they are submitted.  Any claims
for tax credits that exceed the limit are placed on a wait list and given credit in a future year when
the limitation has not been exceeded, except that no more than $15 million in claims can be placed
on the wait list in any given calendar year.   

For certain reasons, and taxpayer circumstances, the Department of Revenue can disallow
or reduce the amount of a state income tax credit that a taxpayer claims on their state income tax
form.  Over the years, the department has disallowed tax credits for certain conservation easement
donations because of appraisal value issues or other reasons that disqualify a taxpayer from
claiming a state income tax credit.  House Bill 13-1120, postponed indefinitely, would have
eliminated the department's ability to disallow or reduce an income tax credit for conservation
easement donations.   

Qualifying taxpayers are allowed a state income tax credit called the Job Growth Incentive
Tax Credit if they are doing business and create jobs in Colorado.  The income tax credit is equal
to one-half of the amount the employer is required to pay in federal social security and Medicare
taxes on the created jobs.   The credit is authorized through tax year 2014 and taxpayers may claim
the credits through tax year 2018.  House Bill 13-1287, enacted, extends this tax incentive by an
additional five income tax years through tax year 2019.

http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/2569EF9256E1A48187257B4F007ABB53?Open&file=286_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E26865E75738975587257AEE0054B580?Open&file=1120_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/5F083394CCA62F9287257AEE0054BD0D?Open&file=1142_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/631B6C4A76B2FCB487257AEF007C6A2F?Open&file=1183_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/BAF93967E3E2191687257B3500540FE6?Open&file=1287_enr.pdf


A state income tax credit called the Innovative Motor Vehicle Tax Credit is available through
tax year 2015 to taxpayers who purchase or lease an alternative fuel motor vehicle or convert a
vehicle to an alternative fuel.  House Bill 13-1247, enacted, extends this credit through tax year
2021. 

Tax relief for low- and middle-income wage earners.  Senate Bill 13-001, enacted, 
provides tax relief to qualifying taxpayers with low- and middle incomes by allowing a partial state
tax credit based on a portion of the federal earned income tax credit (EITC) and federal child tax
credit claimed.  The federal EITC is extended to low- and middle-income taxpayers who have
earned income working for another person or from operating a business or farm.  

TABOR, a constitutional tax and expenditure limitation, limits annual growth in most state
revenue to inflation plus the percentage change in population.  When state revenue exceeds this
limit, a TABOR surplus occurs.  Under TABOR, the state is required to refund any revenue
collected over the limit to taxpayers in the next fiscal year after the surplus revenue is collected. 
Based on the most recent June 2013 Legislative Council Staff revenue forecast, revenue will not
be sufficient to produce a TABOR refund through at least FY 2014-15, the end of the forecast
period.  

Under current law, the Colorado EITC is only available when the state has a large enough
TABOR surplus to fund the credit.  For example, if revenue growth is sufficient to produce a
TABOR surplus after the forecast period of about $102.5 million in FY 2015-16, the Colorado EITC
would be funded.  One year after the Colorado EITC is funded through the TABOR surplus,
SB 13-001 makes the Colorado EITC available the year immediately following the year it is used
to refund a TABOR surplus whether or not there is a TABOR surplus.  Thus, under SB 13-001, the
Colorado EITC is available each year thereafter as its availability is no longer contingent on TABOR
surplus revenue.  

Under Section 24 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), the federal government allows a
nonrefundable child tax credit equal to $1,000 per qualifying child age 16 and under. There is no
Colorado state credit under current law.  However, the state had a refundable child tax credit equal
to $300 per child age five and under during years when the state had a TABOR surplus in 2000 and
2001.  

SB 13-001 creates a refundable Colorado child tax credit, effective upon passage by
Congress of the Marketplace Fairness Act of 2013.  The act is a federal bill that requires
out-of-state retailers to collect and remit sales taxes to states that have met minimum simplification
requirements for sales tax administration.  The simplification requirements require a uniform tax
base within each state that allow a out-of-state retailer to easily determine the rate and products
that are subject to a sales tax.  As of the publication of this document in August 2013, the act is
pending in the U.S. House of Representatives after being passed by the U.S. Senate.  

During prior sessions, the legislature debated policy that would reduce taxes for qualifying
taxpayers who incur expenses related to a child's or dependent's school-related costs. 
House Bill 13-1094, postponed indefinitely, would have allowed an income tax credit to Colorado
residents that incur expenses related to their child's or dependant's school supplies or school fees.

  
Tax administration.  The Department of Revenue administers the state income tax and

other tax systems levied by the state.  The department's administration role provides for the review
and  adjudication  of  tax  disputes  and  the  final  determination  by  the  department  to  resolve
such tax-related issues.  House Bill 13-1140, postponed indefinitely, would have created the
Colorado independent tax appeal court.  The court would have been responsible for the
independent review for final tax resolution determinations by the department's executive director.
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State law requires the department to process state income taxes for Colorado residents as
well as certain nonresident individuals who earn income in Colorado.  House Bill 13-1143,
postponed indefinitely, would have exempted a nonresident from filing Colorado state income taxes
if they work in Colorado 30 days or less.  The bill would have also exempted the employer from
state income tax withholding requirements.

Income Tax Checkoff Programs 

In 1977, Colorado was the first state to create a tax "checkoff" allowing taxpayers to
voluntarily contribute to an organization on their income tax form by donating a portion of their
income tax refund or increasing the amount owed on their tax return.  Currently, there are
15 checkoff programs on the form, the maximum allowed by law.  During the 36 tax years that
programs have been on the form, organizations have received $41.3 million in contributions.  

Newly created programs and the "queue."  During the 2011 session, the legislature
made changes to the income tax checkoff program which established a priority order for
newly-created checkoffs.  To ensure that the 15-checkoff cap is not exceeded, the priority order
system specifies that continued or renewed checkoffs take precedence over newly-created
checkoffs.  Thus, if a checkoff that has appeared on the form is renewed or continued and has
donations of at least $75,000 during the third year that the checkoff has appeared on the form, the
checkoff remains on the form in the subsequent tax year.  Newly-created checkoffs can only
appear on the tax form when an existing checkoff is removed.  If more than one checkoff is placed
in a queue in any given year, the order of checkoffs is determined by the date and time the
Governor signed the bill creating the new checkoff.

Seven tax checkoff programs  resulting from legislation enacted during the 2011, 2012, and
2013 sessions are in what is known as the tax checkoff queue.  They will be added to the income
tax form as checkoffs drop off the form. Table 2 shows the order of income tax checkoffs in the
queue.  The earliest these checkoffs may be added to the form is tax year 2013.  Historically, about
one income tax checkoff program drops off the income tax form each year for either insufficient
donations or not being continued by the General Assembly.  Thus, one or two programs in the
queue may be added on the 2013 tax form. 

Table 2
Tax Checkoff Program Queue*

Queue Order Program 

Signed into Law

Date Time

(1) Senate Bill 11-109 Public Education Fund 06/02/11 5:17 p.m.

(2) House Bill 11-1071 Roundup River Ranch Fund 06/06/11 4:35 p.m.

(3) Senate Bill 12-055 9Health Fair Fund 04/16/12 2:13 p.m.

(4) House Bill 12-1290 Colorado For Healthy Landscapes Fund 04/26/12 1:26 p.m.

(5) House Bill 12-1006 American Red Cross Fund 04/26/12 1:33 p.m.

(6) Senate Bill 13-029 Habitat For Humanity of Colorado  Fund 03/15/13 3:30 p.m.

(7) House Bill 13-1237 Special Olympics Colorado Fund 04/19/13 3:11 p.m.

*Checkoffs may be added beginning tax year 2013 and subsequent tax years.

Table 3 provides donation information on checkoff programs from January 1, 2013, through
June 30. 2013, for checkoffs that appeared on the 2012 tax form. 
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Table 3
Donations for Tax Checkoff Programs

(2012 tax year: donation period from January 1, 2013 through June 30, 2013)

Tax Checkoff Programs Donations

Military Family Relief Fund
Colorado Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund
Colorado Domestic Abuse Fund
Pet Overpopulation Fund
Colorado Homeless Prevention Activities Fund
Make-A-Wish Foundation of Colorado Fund
Unwanted Horse Fund
Alzheimer's Association Fund
Colorado Healthy Rivers Fund
Colorado Cancer Fund
Families In Action For Mental Health Fund*            
Goodwill Industries Fund*
Colorado Multiple Sclerosis Fund*** 
Western Colorado State Veterans' Cemetery Fund**
Colorado 2-1-1 First Call For Help Fund 

$144,493
145,720
128,320
126,752
110,163
102,686

90,712
91,148
84,421
79,017
65,648
63,976
51,552
30,214
13,468

Totals*** $1,328,290

*Donation amounts for these checkoffs are for the second year each program has appeared on the form.  
**This income tax checkoff program is not subject to the $75,000 donation requirement to remain on the income tax form.
***This income tax checkoff program first appeared on the 2009 tax form but dropped off the form in 2011.  After one
year it was placed back on the tax form in 2012 and is subject to the $75,000 donation requirement.

2013 checkoff program legislation.  During the 2013 session, the legislature adopted
three tax checkoff bills as summarized in Table 4.  These bills:

• create a new checkoff program;
• extend an existing program; and 
• re-establish an older program that dropped off the form in 2011.

Table 4
Checkoff Program Legislation, 2013 Session

Legislation Creating New Programs

Senate Bill 13-029 Habitat For Humanity of Colorado Fund

Legislation Extending Current or Older Programs 

House Bill 13-1164 Colorado Unwanted Horse Fund*

Legislation Re-Establishing An Older Program 

House Bill 13-1237 Special Olympics Colorado  Fund**

*This program appeared on the 2010, 2011, and 2012 tax forms.  
**This program appeared on the 1997 tax form and each year thereafter through 2011.  The program sunset in 2012 and
during the 15 years on tax forms, averaged $186,000 annually in donations. 

Sales and Use Taxes

The General Assembly debated numerous bills during the 2013 session impacting state
sales taxes.  The state sales and use tax rate is 2.9 percent and is imposed on the purchase of
tangible personal property and certain services.  The bills considered:
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• propose to levy a special sales tax on marijuana under Amendment 64;
• propose funding for the cost of regulating marijuana;
• provide additional funding for senior services;
• propose additional funding for transportation;
• affect the collection of state sales and use taxes for online sales;
• affect the administration of state sales and use taxes;
• affect state and local government sales tax bases; and  
• modify or create state sales and use tax exemptions.

Sales and excise taxes on marijuana.  Amendment 64, passed by the voters in November
2012, allows for an adult 21 years or older to consume or possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana and
requires that a regulatory structure be established.  Beginning January 1, 2014, the cultivation,
processing, and retail sale of marijuana is allowed in Colorado.  House Bill 13-1318 creates a
special sales tax to be levied on retail marijuana beginning January 1, 2014, and refers a ballot
question to the voters at the 2013 general election for approval of the new taxes.  Revenue under
this ballot question would be exempt from the limitations on revenue, spending, or appropriations
contained in Section 20 of Article X of the State Constitution. 

  The special sales tax under HB 13-1318 authorizes a sales tax of up to 15 percent; although
the tax is initially set at 10 percent.  The retail marijuana sales tax is in addition to the current
2.9 percent state sales tax.  (The 2.9 percent rate is in place whether or not voters approve the
state sales taxes under HB 13-1318 because marijuana is considered tangible personal property
that is taxed like any other retail good.)  Local jurisdictions will receive 15 percent of the proceeds
of the retail marijuana sales tax apportioned according to the percentage of retail marijuana sales
in their boundaries, distributed monthly. 

In  addition  to  the  10  percent  sales  tax, HB  13-1318  creates  an  excise  tax  of  up 
to 15 percent of the average market rate of the unprocessed retail marijuana on its first sale or
transfer from a cultivation facility to a retail store, product manufacturing facility, or other cultivation
facility. 

Use of state sales tax revenue from the sale of marijuana.   State sales taxes are the
second largest revenue source for the General Fund.  Under current law, state sales tax collections
from the medical marijuana industry are General Fund revenue.  House Bill 13-1317, enacted,
implements major provisions of Amendment 64 by creating the Colorado Retail Marijuana Code,
under which the Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED), Department of Revenue (DOR), has the
authority to regulate both medical and retail marijuana.  Beginning July 1, 2013,  HB 13-1317
requires that all sales taxes from medical and retail marijuana sales, be used to fund the MED in
the DOR.  These sales taxes would otherwise be credited to the General Fund.   

Funding the cost to regulate marijuana.  In addition to HB 13-1318, which imposes state
sales taxes on retail marijuana requiring voter approval in the November 2013 general election
(above paragraph), the legislature debated Senate Concurrent Resolution 13-003.  The
resolution was directly tied to HB 13-1318, and would have posed two questions to voters in the
2013 election.  First, it asked voters:

• to approve the state taxes authorized on marijuana in HB 13-1318; and
• if the electorate did not approve the taxes authorized under HB 13-1318, to suspend the

sale of retail marijuana until voters approve new taxes sufficient to fund the state's cost
to regulate marijuana.
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SCR 13-003 was debated in the Senate Business, Labor, and Technology committee and
referred to the full Senate.  It was not brought up on the calendar for debate.

Provide additional funding for senior services.  One bill enacted by the General
Assembly, Senate Bill 13-127, transfers state sales and use tax revenue to the Older Coloradans
Cash Fund.  Under current law, a portion of state sales and use taxes is allocated to the Old Age
Pension Fund and $8 million is diverted to the Older Coloradans Cash Fund.  SB 13-127  increases
the diversion by $2 million to a total of $10 million per year beginning in FY 2013-14.

Propose additional funding for transportation.   Senate Bill 09-228 requires a five-year
block of transfers to transportation (and capital construction) as soon as Colorado personal income
increases by at least 5.0 percent during or after calendar year 2012.  Colorado personal income
is expected to increase by 5.0 percent in 2013, triggering the first year of transfers in FY 2014-15. 
An estimated $187.9 million, or 2.0 percent of General Fund revenue, is expected to be transferred
to the Highway Users Tax Fund in FY 2014-15. 

House Bill 13-1116, postponed indefinitely, would have allocated a portion of future state
sales and use tax net revenue growth that occurred during fiscal years before the first fiscal year
in which Senate Bill 09-228 transfers begin.  The bill would have required the state treasurer to
transfer $10 million per year from the General Fund to the Highway Users Tax Fund when certain
economic growth figures were met. 

Collection of state sales and use taxes for online sales.  The federal Marketplace
Fairness Act (MFA) of 2013 (S. 743), grants states the authority to compel online and catalog
retailers (no matter where they are located) to collect sales tax at the time of a transaction.  States
are only granted this authority after they have simplified their sales tax laws, which Colorado does
not have.  House Bill 13-1295 was enacted to meet the simplification requirements for online and
catalog sales in the MFA.  If the federal legislation is not adopted in 2013, but a version is adopted
in the future, HB 13-1295 will apply.  

If the MFA is enacted by Congress, the DOR will be responsible for collecting and auditing
sales taxes from out-of-state retailers.  Distributions by the DOR are required to the appropriate
local taxing jurisdictions in the fiscal year after Congress enacts federal legislation.  As of August
2013, The federal MFA has passed in the U.S. Senate but it has not been scheduled for a vote in
the U.S. House of Representatives.  House Bill 13-1295 does not impact how sales made by
Colorado retailers are administered.

For purposes of Colorado state sales taxes, nexus is the actual physical location or
presence within the state even if the business is based in another state.  The definition of nexus
is important because it determines whether a business has to comply with Colorado state sales tax
laws.  Simply said, establishing nexus for purposes of Colorado state sales tax law would require
that a retailer or manufacturer selling goods to consumers have an office, store, warehouse, or
other place of business, or representative or agent selling in Colorado.  When nexus is established,
state sales taxes must be collected and remitted to the state.  House Bill 13-1312,  postponed
indefinitely, would have expanded the definition of "nexus" for sales tax purposes, broadening the
types of business activities that would require the collection and remitting of state sales taxes. 
Specifically, the expanded definition would include certain methods of delivering a taxable good or
providing services through an agreement with an in-state company.  It is possible that the
expanded definition of nexus would have made most online retailers collect Colorado sales taxes.
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Administration of state sales and use taxes.  One bill enacted by the General Assembly,
House Bill 13-1009, affects the administration of state sales and use taxes.  In 2011, following a
dispute over the deadline for claiming a refund of overpaid sales and use taxes, the statute
concerning refunds was amended to extend the period for claiming a refund to three years. 
However, that bill omitted certain types of refunds, which instead defaulted to the general two-year
statutory limitation on civil actions.  HB 13-1009 extends the three-year statute of limitations to all
sales and use tax refunds.

State and local government sales tax bases.  House Bill 13-1288, enacted, requires the
DOR, with collaboration from organizations that represent counties and municipalities, to prepare
a report by December 31, 2013.  The report is required to identify the sales tax exemptions for each
jurisdiction across the state, estimate the revenue associated with each exemption, determine how
a uniform sales tax base can be revenue neutral for the state and local taxing jurisdictions, and
make recommendations to the General Assembly regarding the establishment of a uniform sales
tax base.  

Another bill enacted by the legislature, House Bill 13-1272, affects the state sales tax base
and the base of certain special districts.  The bill makes the sales tax bases of the Regional
Transportation District and Scientific and Cultural Facilities District identical to the state base.  

Modify or create state sales and use tax exemptions.  The legislature adopted one bill
affecting the state sales tax exemption for cigarettes.   Prior to July 1, 2009, cigarettes were
exempt from state sales and use taxes.  Through various legislative actions, cigarettes were
subject to the state sales and use tax from July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2013.  Under current law,
cigarettes become exempt from state sales and use taxes beginning July 1, 2013.  The cigarette
sales and use tax exemption does not impact the cigarette excise tax.  House Bill 13-1144
eliminates the state sales and use tax exemption for cigarettes.  The exemption for local taxing
jurisdictions is unchanged. 

Another bill, House Bill 13-1151,  postponed indefinitely, would have created a state sales
and use tax exemption for higher education textbooks on the fourth Monday of August for the next
five years.  In order to qualify for the exemption, new, used, or electronic textbooks must be
required or recommended for a course of higher education and purchased from the campus
bookstore.

One bill, House Bill 13-1059, postponed indefinitely, would have exempted from state sales
and use taxes any equipment used by a telecommunications company to provide broadband
internet services in Colorado.

Under current law, food for home consumption is exempt from the state sales and use tax. 
Generally, the current exemption applies to groceries.  Senate Bill 13-045,  postponed indefinitely,
would have extended the sales and use tax exemption to food for immediate consumption or
prepared food.  Typically, this food is purchased at restaurants, the deli counter of the grocery
store, cafeterias, convenience stores, and from caterers.  

Another bill, House Bill 13-1150, postponed indefinitely, would have created a sales and
use tax holiday (temporary exemption) for disaster preparedness items the first weekend in
September of 2013, 2014, and 2015.  Exempted items would have included batteries, weather
radios, duct tape, first aid kits, flashlights, shovels, gas cans, coolers, artificial ice, and bottled
water up to a limit of $60 for each item.  
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Property Taxes

The legislature debated several bills during the 2013 session that affect property taxes paid
on real and personal property. 

Residential assessment rate.  The Colorado Constitution requires the General Assembly
to establish the ratio of valuation of assessment for residential real property, or the residential
assessment rate, every two years.  This requirement is known as the Gallagher Amendment. 
House Bill 13-1319, enacted, established the residential assessment rate at 7.96 percent for tax
years 2013 and 2014, the same rate that has been in place since 2003.  

Property tax protest process.  House Bill 13-1113 affects the protest process for property
taxes.  Under current law, taxpayers may dispute an assessor's valuation by filing a protest with
the county board of equalization in May of each year.  Currently, taxpayers that do not file a protest
may dispute a property tax bill by filing an abatement petition with the board of county
commissioners.  HB 13-1113 authorizes the City and County of Denver, at the request of the
assessor and if approved by the city council, to implement a pilot alternate appeal process for
disputes concerning the valuation of taxable property.    

Senior Homestead Exemption.  The legislature enacted one measure and postponed
indefinitely another bill that affected the senior homestead exemption.  Colorado voters approved
adding the senior homestead exemption to the Colorado Constitution in November 2000.

Under current law, county assessors send notice of the exemption to all residential
addresses in the county. Applications for the exemption must be filed by July 15 of each year, but
persons who receive a waiver from the filing deadline at the discretion of the reviewing agency may
file after the late filing deadline for good cause.  House Bill 13-1145 authorizes county treasurers
to notify taxpayers about the availability of the senior property tax exemption in a mailing or
electronic distribution that coincides with the annual mailing of tax bills.  The bill also eliminates the
discretion of assessors to reject late applications prior to the late filing deadline or to accept late
applications after that date.

House Concurrent Resolution 13-1001 would have expanded the Senior Homestead
Exemption, but was postponed indefinitely.  The resolution would have submitted a referred
measure to the 2014 state ballot to amend the State Constitution to allow residential property
owners who have qualified for the senior property tax exemption to maintain the exemption if the
owner moves to a new residence because of a medically verified ailment.  

Nonprofit exemption.  House Bill 13-1246 exempts certain properties from property taxes. 
Under current law, property owners that use real or personal property for charitable purposes may
seek an exemption from property taxation by submitting an application to the Division of Property
Taxation in the Department of Local Affairs.  HB 13-1246 exempts properties sold to low income
households for construction or rehabilitation after the transfer of the property from nonprofit housing
providers.  The tax exempt status of such properties may continue for up to one year after the sale. 

Business personal property tax.  The legislature debated two measures pertaining to 
business personal property taxes, neither of which were adopted.  Business personal property
taxes are levied on equipment that is used in income-producing enterprises.  As examples, it
includes machinery, furniture, computers, and office supplies, as well as utilities,
telecommunications, and pipelines.  Under current law, the property tax exemption for business
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personal property on a single personal property schedule is $7,000 for property tax years 2013 and
2014, and an inflation-adjusted amount every two years thereafter.  

House Bill 13-1174 would have increased the exemption to $25,000 for property tax years
2015 and 2016 and $50,000 for property tax years 2017 and 2018, adjusted biennially for inflation
thereafter.  Beginning in property tax year 2015, the bill also would have exempted all locally
assessed business personal property that is fully depreciated.  Under current law, business
personal property that is fully depreciated is still subject to property taxation.  Another bill,
House Bill 13-1177, would have exempted from property tax the first $7,000 of actual value in tax
years 2013 and 2014 and an inflation adjusted amount thereafter.

Business incentive agreements (BIAs).  Local governments can offer businesses in
Colorado property tax incentives based on the amount of increased property taxes for qualifying
new business activity in their jurisdictions.  Local governments engage in this practice by using
BIAs that are authorized by either the state Constitution or statute.  These agreements serve as
an economic development tool that allows any taxpayer who establishes a new business facility in
a county (or other local government), a tax reduction in terms of business personal property taxes
in an effort to stimulate the economy.  Under current law, where a taxpayer has established a new
or expanded business facility, local governments may, for a term of up to 10 years, enter into a BIA
that provides a taxpayer an incentive payment or credit up to the amount of the taxpayer's personal
property tax liability.    

House Bill 13-1206 modifies the cap for statutory business incentive agreements applicable
to counties, municipalities, and special districts.  The bill adds authority for such BIAs to be formed
with any taxpayer that the local government determines, based on verifiable documentation, is at
risk of relocating a business facility from within the local jurisdiction to a location outside of
Colorado.

Excise and Gaming Taxes

In addition to policy changes that impact state income, sales, and local government property
taxes, the legislature enacted other tax policy measures that impact General Fund and cash fund
revenue.

Colorado's medical and recreational marijuana industry.  Amendment 64, passed by
the voters in November 2012, allows for an adult 21 years or older to consume or possess up to
1 ounce of marijuana and requires that a regulatory structure be established.  Beginning
January 1, 2014, the cultivation, processing, and retail sale of marijuana is allowed in Colorado,
except in cities or counties that have voted to ban the sale of recreational marijuana.  Until October
2014, the sale of recreational marijuana is restricted to vendors currently licensed to sell medical
marijuana.  House Bill 13-1318,  enacted, creates an excise tax (see sales tax section on
marijuana) of up to 15 percent of the average market rate of the unprocessed retail marijuana on
its first sale or transfer from a cultivation facility to a retail store, product manufacturing facility, or
other cultivation facility.  Revenue under this ballot question is exempt from the revenue, spending,
or appropriations limitation in the state Constitution.  The revenue raised by this excise tax will be
deposited in a fund for school construction.
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Gaming taxes.  Under current law, money from gaming taxes is distributed to the General
Fund and cash funds.  Money in these cash funds are used for historic preservation purposes
(State Historic Fund), community colleges, and economic development programs. 
Senate Bill 13-133, enacted by the legislature, affects the distribution of gaming revenue to the
General Fund and certain economic development programs.  This bill reduced General Fund
distributions in FY 2012-13 from $20.4 million to $11.1 million and increased transfers to economic
development programs from $22.5 million to $30 million.    

Legislation Affecting State Fees

During  the  2013  session, 38  bills were adopted eliminating, modifying, or creating new
state fees, including eight bills that continued existing fees at current levels.  Table 5 lists these
bills, by fund name, as well as ten state fee bills that were postponed indefinitely.  The total
estimated revenue impact of all bills adopted during the 2013 session that modify state fees is
$14.8 million for FY 2013-14 and $22.1 million for FY 2014-15.

Table 5
Legislation Affecting State Fees

Fee Fund Bill Number

Change in Fee

Amount

FY 2013-14

Fiscal Impact

FY 2014-15

Fiscal Impact

Enacted Bills

Building Regulation HB 13-1280 $1,011.00 $338,854 $0

CBI Identification Unit

SB 13-123 67.48 617,682 617,682

HB 13-1277 39.50 0 24,687

HB 13-1317 0.00 158,751 147,849

Colorado Domestic Abuse Program SB 13-011 20.00 31,000 26,000

Colorado State Titling and Registration SB 13-280 0.65 - 25.00 0 271,800

Community Association Manager Licensing HB 13-1277 330.00 0 206,250

Conservation Easement Tax Credit Certificate

Review
SB 13-221 800.00 to 3,000.00 315,000 400,000

Court Security Cash SB 13-123 5.00 2,500 2,500

Department of Natural Resources HB 13-1248 500.00  to 3,000.00 24,000 25,000

Division of Professions and Occupations

SB 13-026* $6.50 $211,250 $211,250

SB 13-039 145.00 to 267.00 126,903 4,350

SB 13-151* 17.34 to 23.34 31,212 322,092

SB 13-162* 34.00 298,720 298,720

SB 13-172 4.45 5,024 11,000

SB 13-180 34.00 to 166.00 41,500 97,530

SB 13-238 100.00 to 360.00 42,400 1,000

HB 13-1111 925.00 to 1,185.00 111,000 144,975

http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E33E79E998A9C4C887257AF6007D9FF9?Open&file=133_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/35CE5FDC5F040FF487257A8C0050715D?Open&file=011_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/6D3F5C76E45A1E8987257A8E0073C515?Open&file=026_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/2604CE4241D82A3087257AEE005720E1?Open&file=039_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/A819C02E528DFCD987257AEE005705B7?Open&file=123_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/A819C02E528DFCD987257AEE005705B7?Open&file=123_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/EF087DAE645F078687257AEE0054A9AA?Open&file=151_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/C2C8827246D8298287257AEE0054AAFC?Open&file=162_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/FAC447A2F88A0C3587257AEE0054AA43?Open&file=172_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/CAD0D339EF3C803587257AEE0054A961?Open&file=180_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/57DE74C22608D5A887257AEE00582E5A?Open&file=221_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/ED5FDE22AB3DC88C87257B05006F0F66?Open&file=238_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/506805BE7A459BB887257B180067B874?Open&file=280_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/CDCEE234E81BA08287257AEE0058374A?Open&file=1111_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/7DC007B50B310C9087257AF50061F594?Open&file=1248_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/530633556B80DA0787257B04006363C9?Open&file=1277_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/AE05E0617D1E51BB87257B330058E17E?Open&file=1280_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/807A035CD583C95E87257B1F005CDB59?Open&file=1317_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/530633556B80DA0787257B04006363C9?Open&file=1277_enr.pdf


Table 5 (Cont.)
Legislation Affecting State Fees

Fee Fund Bill Number

Change in Fee

Amount

FY 2013-14

Fiscal Impact

FY 2014-15

Fiscal Impact

Enacted Bills (Cont.)

Economic Gardening Pilot Project HB 13-1003 750.00 18,750 0

Electric Vehicle Grant HB 13-1110 20.00 55,781 142,609

General Fund
SB 13-123 169,000.00 84,500 84,500

SB 13-120 25.00 1,500 250

Highway Users Tax Fund

SB 13-224 25.00 25,000 2,500

HB 13-1011** 15.00 (73,584) (82,125)

HB 13-1110 30.00 83,672 213,914

Identification Unit SB 13-251 21.00 0 27,914

Illegal Drug Laboratory SB 13-219 200.00 to 500.00 90,000 38,000

Instant Criminal Background Check HB 13-1228 7.50 2,475,000 2,772,500

Judicial Stabilization SB 13-123 200.00 100,000 100,000

Justice Center SB 13-123 68.00 34,000 34,000

License Plate
SB 13-120 5.92 355 59

SB 13-224 5.92 5,920 592

Licensing Services

SB 13-120 25.00 1,500 250

SB 13-224 2,500.00 25,000 2,500

SB 13-251 21.00 0 949,069

Low-income Telephone Assistance SB 13-194** 0.84 (725,548) (725,548)

LPG and Natural Gas Inspection HB 13-1110*** 0.00 50,404 101,695

Miscellaneous Funds HB 13-1071* 137.52 4,480,667 (2,412,819)

Marijuana Cash Fund HB 13-1317 TBD 2,250,000 2,750,000

Peace Officer Standards Training Board SB 13-111 100.00 12,500 12,500

Recycling Resources Economics Opportunity SB 13-050* .02 to .07 207,498 622,494

State Highway Fund HB 13-1132** 70.00 to 100.00 (100,000) (100,000)

Vital Statistics Records SB 13-011 $3.00 $4,650 $3,900

Wildlife Cash HB 13-1232*** 0.00 (10,584) (10,584)

Subtotal, Enacted Bills $177,270.64 $11,452,777 $7,340,855

http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/3E7318C8CC793DC787257AEE0054BD32?Open&file=050_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/3006FD57CDD34B8287257AEE00570CDC?Open&file=111_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/240BCE7ACC86800487257AEE0057BC04?Open&file=120_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/240BCE7ACC86800487257AEE0057BC04?Open&file=120_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/A819C02E528DFCD987257AEE005705B7?Open&file=123_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/A819C02E528DFCD987257AEE005705B7?Open&file=123_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/A819C02E528DFCD987257AEE005705B7?Open&file=123_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/6B7E9FB58612F5F787257B040062621F?Open&file=194_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/24D70D6646DEE34087257AFE00564C41?Open&file=219_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E623DAFC2722A67087257B1E0059C33A?Open&file=224_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/451F0EE9B4195C0287257AEE0057DBD2?Open&file=251_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/73CEC1A2CC30294687257AEE0057435C?Open&file=1003_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/A4CEA70EAF26A00E87257A8E0073C6A8?Open&file=1011_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/833F1FD06937DCF387257A8C00506F88?Open&file=1071_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/0602C7EBF986A79387257AEE00574BCD?Open&file=1110_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/6F78851A3568446387257AEE005727DA?Open&file=1132_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/04005C2BDBC54E4087257AEE00585D19?Open&file=1228_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/ABF3C6C76BFAC25187257AEE0058302A?Open&file=1232_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/240BCE7ACC86800487257AEE0057BC04?Open&file=120_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/0602C7EBF986A79387257AEE00574BCD?Open&file=1110_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E623DAFC2722A67087257B1E0059C33A?Open&file=224_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E623DAFC2722A67087257B1E0059C33A?Open&file=224_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/451F0EE9B4195C0287257AEE0057DBD2?Open&file=251_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/0602C7EBF986A79387257AEE00574BCD?Open&file=1110_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/807A035CD583C95E87257B1F005CDB59?Open&file=1317_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/35CE5FDC5F040FF487257A8C0050715D?Open&file=011_enr.pdf


Table 5 (Cont.)
Legislation Affecting State Fees

Fee Fund Bill Number

Change in Fee

Amount

FY 2013-14

Fiscal Impact

FY 2014-15

Fiscal Impact

Enacted Bills, Existing Fee Authorized to Continue

Division of Banking SB 13-171 $0.00 $0 $223,000

Division of Financial Services SB 13-159 0.00 0 1,385,613

Division of Professions and Occupations SB 13-161 0.00 0 1,237,300

Division of Real Estate SB 13-155 0.00 0 1,682,280

General Fund SB 13-150 0.00 0 16,055

Mortgage Company and Loan Originator

Licensing
SB 13-156 0.00 0 2,400,000

Stationary Sources Control SB 13-152 0.00 0 1,182,914

Wildlife Cash Fund SB 13-175 0.00 3,300,000 6,600,000

Subtotal, Enacted Bills, Existing Fee Authorized to Continue $0.00 $3,300,000 $14,727,162

Grand Total, All Enacted Bills $177,270.64 $14,752,777 $22,068,017

Postponed Indefinitely

Division of Professions and Occupations
SB 13-259 170.00 42,500 42,500

HB 13-1133*** varies 0 (19,904)

Fixed Utility Fund HB 13-1218* increase 861,158 831,258

Highway Users Tax Fund Air Account SB 13-061*** 0.00 (200,000) (200,000)

Highway Users Tax Fund

SB 13-068 (28.00) to 10.00 (12,100,000) (12,200,000)

SB 13-128*** (25.00) (90,575) (90,575)

HB 13-1161 (2.00) to 76.00 (127,130) (127,130)

Identification Security Cash Fund SB 13-259 39.50 9,875 9,875

Identification Cash fund HB 13-1169*** 0.00 1,442,245 3,245,051

Instacheck Unit HB 13-1169*** 0.00 842,660 1,895,985

Judicial Stabilization Cash Fund HB 13-1214* 14.00 51,240 51,240

Licensing Services Cash Fund SB 13-128*** (25.00) (90,575) (90,575)

Offender Services Fund HB 13-1214*** 50.00 178,200 356,400

Solid Waste Management Fund SB 13-057 decrease (50,000) (50,000)

Statewide Bridge Enterprise Special Revenue

Fund
HB 13-1161 61.00 10,246 10,246

Victim Assistance Fund HB 13-1214* $85.00 $260,388 $260,388

Subtotal, Postponed Indefinitely $339.50 ($8,959,768) ($6,075,241)

*Increase to existing fee.
**Reduction in fee revenue due to partially or fully discontinued program or fee.
***Change in application of existing fee.
TBD = To be determined.

http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/78EEF277FBD2A4C587257AEE0057BE99?Open&file=057_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/53309E63AA3DED5C87257AEE0057C5F1?Open&file=061_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/C5059B0013CF146987257AEE00570199?Open&file=068_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/246D58006EC3518D87257AEE007F32FA?Open&file=128_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/5330C1286291435587257AEE0054ABD2?Open&file=150_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/48D96EB5A6B1609887257AEE0054A911?Open&file=152_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E12410A97DC2932087257AEE0054AAB1?Open&file=155_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/208850855738C9C787257AEE0054A9F4?Open&file=156_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/2CE13C5A6E4D22CC87257AEE0054AC8F?Open&file=159_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/59FC177B48F2416887257AEE0054A9CE?Open&file=161_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/99B141242CFB725E87257AEE0054AC69?Open&file=171_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/C3A71FACEDBA816987257AF5007998D5?Open&file=175_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/2FB500E51653EA4987257B2600715430?Open&file=259_ren.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/CB517C900EF8E08F87257AEE00573958?Open&file=1133_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/33D92C5D72022CB487257AEE00582714?Open&file=1161_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/7B601F1B6CD3348B87257AEE005E8836?Open&file=1169_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/7B601F1B6CD3348B87257AEE005E8836?Open&file=1169_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/33BC6B71361AA43D87257A8E0073CBE2?Open&file=1214_ren.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/33BC6B71361AA43D87257A8E0073CBE2?Open&file=1214_ren.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/33BC6B71361AA43D87257A8E0073CBE2?Open&file=1214_ren.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/E169FD4CB21AE0EE87257AEE0054BC9E?Open&file=1218_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/2FB500E51653EA4987257B2600715430?Open&file=259_ren.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/246D58006EC3518D87257AEE007F32FA?Open&file=128_01.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/CLICS/CLICS2013A/csl.nsf/fsbillcont3/33D92C5D72022CB487257AEE00582714?Open&file=1161_01.pdf

