
Colorado 
Legislative 

Council 
Staff

M E M O R A N D U M

August 1, 2013

TO: Members of the Juvenile Defense Attorney Interim Committee

FROM: Dave DeNovellis, Researcher, 303-866-3140

SUBJECT: The Role of the Office of the State Public Defender and State Law
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This memorandum provides an overview of the role of the Office of the State Public
Defender and the state indigency guidelines regarding the appointment of counsel.

The Role of the Office of the State Public Defender

The Office of the State Public Defender (OSPD) is established pursuant to Section 21-1-101
et seq., C.R.S., as an independent entity within the Colorado Judicial Branch  The single purpose
of the OSPD is to represent indigent persons, including juveniles, who are under arrest for or
charged with crimes where there is the possibility of being jailed or imprisoned.  

The state public defender is appointed by the five-member, court-appointed Public Defender
Commission.  The commission also has oversight of the OSPD.  The OSPD consists of 21 regional
trial offices and one appellate division throughout Colorado's 22 judicial districts and 64 counties,
and the office employs approximately 410 lawyers and 240 other staff positions.  A map of the 22
OSPD offices is included in Attachment A.  

The statutory and financial guidelines for state-appointed counsel are contained in Chief
Justice Directive 04-04, which was last updated in July 2011 (Attachment B).  In cases where there
is  a  conflict  of  interest  for  the  OSPD, the  Office  of  Alternate  Defense  Counsel (OADC) must
provide legal representation to indigent persons and juveniles.   The OADC provides legal1

representation by contracting with licensed attorneys and investigators.  Public defenders and other
court-appointed attorneys may hire case investigators, paid for by the Office of the State Court
Administrator, subject to authorization by the presiding judge or magistrate.  Maximum rates and
fees for court-appointed attorneys and investigators that are not a part of the OSPD are set by the
Colorado Supreme Court. 
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Indigency Determination

State law requires that the OSPD represent indigent persons without charge.   OSPD2

determines whether a person is indigent based on financial guidelines established by the Colorado
Supreme Court.  The income eligibility guidelines were last revised in March 2013.  Persons
seeking representation by a public defender, or, in the case of juveniles, the juvenile's parent or
legal guardian, must submit a public defender, court-appointed counsel, or guardian ad litem
application (Form JDF 208, Attachment C).  OSPD evaluates three factors to determine if an
applicant is eligible for representation by a public defender: 

• gross household income;
• household expenses compared to gross household income; and 
• the criminal charge compared to assets which may be used to pay defense costs.

For example, if an applicant is at or below the income guidelines, he or she is eligible for
a public defender.  An applicant is eligible if he or she is within 10 percent of the income guidelines
and has monthly expenses that exceed his or her income by over $100.  An applicant is also
eligible if he or she is within 75 percent of the income eligibility guidelines, is charged with a Class
1, 2, or 3 Felony, and has less than $750 in assets that could be used to cover defense costs.  The
eligibility scoring instrument is included in Chief Justice Directive 04-04.

Determinations made by the OSPD are subject to review by the court.  If a public defender
or other court-appointed counsel makes an appearance based on the application, the court may
assess a $25.00 fee to the applicant at the time of the final disposition of the case.  State law
requires defendants to repay all or part of the expense of state-supplied or court-appointed
representation if the court finds that the defendant is able to do so.   Either the court or the OSPD3

is required to reassess the indigency status of a person requesting court-appointed representation
for purposes of an appeal.

Additionally, the court may appoint counsel for a juvenile if the juvenile's parent, guardian,
or legal custodian refuses to retain counsel for the juvenile.   The court may order the parent or4

guardian to reimburse the cost of representation if it does not find good cause for the refusal.  An
example of good cause includes when a family member is alleged to be the victim of the juvenile's
actions. 

Section 21-1-103, C.R.S.2

Section 21-1-106, C.R.S.3

Section 19-2-706 (2), C.R.S.4
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OFFICES:  The following is a map of Colorado’s 22 Judicial Districts. The dots on the following map represent OSPD office locations. 
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SUPREME COURT OF COLORADO 
 

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE 
 

APPOINTMENT OF STATE-FUNDED COUNSEL IN 
CRIMINAL AND JUVENILE DELINQUENCY CASES AND FOR 

CONTEMPT OF COURT 
 
 
 
I. Statutory Authority 
 
A.  The federal and state constitutions provide that an accused person has the right to be represented 

by counsel in criminal prosecutions.  This constitutional right has been interpreted to mean that 
counsel will be provided at state expense for indigent persons in all cases in which actual 
incarceration is a likely penalty, unless incarceration is specifically waived as a sentencing option 
pursuant to §16-5-501, C.R.S., or Alabama v. Shelton, 535 U.S. 654 (2002), or there is a waiver 
of the right to counsel at the advisement. 

 
B.  State funds are appropriated to the Office of the Public Defender to provide for the representation 

of indigent persons in criminal and juvenile delinquency cases pursuant to §21-1-103, C.R.S.  
 
C.  State funds are appropriated to the Office of Alternate Defense Counsel to provide for the 

representation of indigent persons in criminal and juvenile delinquency cases in which the Public 
Defender declares a conflict of interest pursuant to §21-2-101, C.R.S. 

 
D.  Section 19-2-706(2), C.R.S., provides for the representation of juveniles in delinquency cases in 

which (1) the parent or legal guardian refuses to retain counsel for the juvenile, or (2) the court 
finds such representation is necessary to protect the interest of the juvenile or other parties 
involved in the case.  When such an appointment is necessary and the juvenile does not qualify 
for representation by the Public Defender or the Office of Alternate Defense Counsel, the Judicial 
Department will pay for the costs of counsel and investigator services.  However, reimbursement 
to the state may be ordered, as outlined in this directive. 

 
E.  Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure 107 and 407 provide for the appointment of counsel to an 

indigent person cited for contempt where a jail sentence is contemplated.  If the court appoints 
private counsel to prosecute a contempt action or to represent an indigent party for contempt 
charges, the Judicial Department will pay for counsel, as there is no statutory authority for the 
Public Defender or the Alternate Defense Counsel to represent clients for the sole purpose of 
addressing contempt charges. 

 
II. Indigency Determination 
 
A.  A defendant in a criminal case or a juvenile’s parent or legal guardian in a delinquency case must 

be indigent to be represented by the Public Defender or by Alternate Defense Counsel, in cases of 
Public Defender conflict, at state expense.  Such person(s) must also be indigent or otherwise 
qualify for court-appointed counsel as described in Section III for the court to authorize the 
payment of certain costs/expenses.  Any defendant in a criminal case, or the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian in a delinquency case, requesting court-appointed representation on 
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the basis of indigency must complete Form JDF208, Application for Public Defender, Court-
Appointed Counsel or Guardian ad Litem, signed under oath. 

 
B.  An indigent person is one whose financial circumstances prevent the person from having equal 

access to the legal process (Attachments A, B, and C). 
 
C.  Pursuant to §21-1-103 (3), C.R.S., the initial determination of indigency shall be made by the 

Public Defender subject to review by the court.  Therefore, all persons seeking court-appointed 
representation shall complete form JDF208 and shall first apply with the Office of the Public 
Defender.  The Public Defender will determine if the defendant, or a juvenile’s parent or legal 
guardian in a delinquency case, is eligible for representation in accordance with the fiscal 
standards.  

 
D.  In all cases, the court retains jurisdiction to determine whether the person is indigent based on all 

the information available.  Upon receipt of the finding by the Public Defender on the issue of 
eligibility for representation in accordance with the fiscal standards, the court shall review the 
person’s application for Public Defender, including any requests for exception to the 
determination of the Public Defender.  Based on a review of all information available, the court 
shall enter an order either granting or denying the person’s request for appointment of the public 
defender.  The court may use the judicial district’s Collections Investigator(s) to provide a 
recommendation to the court relative to the above determinations, if additional analysis is 
needed. 

 
E.  If the court finds the person indigent and appoints the Public Defender, or in the case of a 

conflict, the Alternate Defense Counsel, the court may consider ordering the person to make 
reimbursement in whole or in part to the State of Colorado pursuant to law using the process 
described in Section V. of this Chief Justice Directive.  

 
F. An attorney or other person appointed by the court on the basis of one or more party’s inability to 

pay the costs of the appointment shall provide timely notice to the court in the event financial related 
information is discovered that would reasonably call into question the party’s inability to pay such 
costs.  The court shall have the discretion to reassess indigence, and for purposes of possible 
reimbursement to the state, the provisions of Section V. of this Chief Justice Directive shall apply.  
Based upon a reassessment of a party’s financial circumstances, the court may terminate a state-paid 
appointment, require reimbursement to the State of Colorado of all or part of the costs incurred or to 
be incurred, or continue the appointment in its current pay status. 

 
 
III. Guidelines for Appointment of Counsel  
 
A. Appointment of Public Defender 
 

1. Appointments on the Basis of Indigency:  To be eligible for representation by the Public 
Defender (PD), a defendant, or a juvenile’s parent or legal guardian in a delinquency case, 
must be indigent, as defined above and determined by the PD, subject to review by the court.  
If such person is indigent, the court shall appoint the PD, except as otherwise provided in 
paragraph III.B.  

 
2. Appointments To Assist in Motions Under Rule 35 of the Colorado Rules of Criminal 

Procedure:  An indigent defendant may be entitled to representation by the PD to assist in 
motions under Rule 35 if the court does not deny the motion under Crim. P. 35(c)(3)(IV).  If 
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another attorney represents the defendant and withdraws, the PD may be appointed if the 
defendant is indigent and there is no conflict with such representation. 

 
3. Appointments for Appeals: 
 

a. The court or the PD shall reassess the indigency status of a defendant who requests 
court-appointed counsel, as described in Section II.A., for purposes of appeal. 

 
b. When an indigent person has an Alternate Defense Counsel attorney for the trial of a 

criminal or delinquency case, the PD shall be appointed to represent the defendant on 
appeal unless the court determines that the PD has a conflict of interest. 

 
B. Appointment of Alternate Defense Counsel 
 

The Office of Alternate Defense Counsel (OADC) shall maintain a list of qualified attorneys for 
use by the courts in making appointments.  Upon appointment of an Alternate Defense Counsel 
attorney, the clerk shall notify the OADC’s designee.  No more than one attorney may be 
appointed as counsel for an indigent person except in specific exceptional circumstances.  
Accordingly, upon specific written request by counsel for appointment of an additional attorney 
to assist in the defense of an indigent person, the OADC may approve appointment of an 
additional attorney for good cause shown.  Such requests should be made in writing and directed 
to the OADC. Alternate Defense Counsel shall be appointed under the following circumstances: 

 
1.  Conflict-of-Interest Appointments:  The PD shall file a motion or otherwise notify the court 

to withdraw in all cases in which a conflict of interest exists.  The court shall appoint an 
Alternate Defense Counsel attorney to represent indigent persons in cases in which the court 
determines that the PD has a conflict of interest and removes the PD from the case.  The 
OADC is responsible by statute to handle all PD conflict cases.  Therefore, the OADC shall 
establish policies and procedures to cover instances when Alternate Defense Counsel has a 
conflict. 

 
2.  Appointments To Assist in Motions Under Rule 35 of the Colorado Rules of Criminal 

Procedure:  An indigent defendant may be entitled to conflict-free counsel to assist in 
motions under Rule 35 if the court does not deny the motion under Crim. P. 35(c)(3)(IV) and 
if the PD notifies the court that a conflict of interest exists.  The provisions of III.B.1. above 
shall be followed in appointing an Alternate Defense Counsel attorney.   
 

3.  Appointments for Appeals:  If the court determines that the PD has a conflict of interest, it 
shall set forth in a written order the reason for the conflict of interest and the court shall 
appoint an Alternate Defense Counsel attorney to represent the defendant. 

 
C.  Appointment of Other Counsel  
 

1.  The Clerk of Court or the District Administrator shall maintain a list of qualified private 
attorneys from which appointments shall be made under this section.  Private counsel 
appointed under the following circumstances will be paid by the Judicial Department as 
established in this directive: 

 
a. Exceptional Circumstances: Counsel in Juvenile Delinquency Cases if Parties are Not 

Indigent:  The parents/legal guardians of juveniles are routinely expected to retain 
and pay for their own private counsel.  Upon any request that the State of Colorado / 
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Judicial Department pay counsel fees and costs, the initial determination shall be 
whether the party(ies) are indigent, and if so, the Public Defender or ADC shall be 
appointed, as described above.  If the juvenile and parents/guardians are not indigent, 
the court may appoint counsel in a juvenile delinquency case with consideration for 
the following: 

 
i. Counsel may be appointed if the court deems representation by counsel is 

necessary to protect the interests of the juvenile or of other parties or if the 
parent or guardian refuses to retain counsel, pursuant to §19-2-706(2), C.R.S. 

ii. If such appointment is made by the court and the juvenile and parents/guardians 
are not indigent (and therefore not eligible for representation by the Public 
Defender or ADC), the court shall order the parent or guardian to reimburse the 
court for the costs of counsel and if applicable, investigator appointment. 

iii. The court may waive the requirement that the parent/guardian reimburse the 
costs of representation if the court finds good cause for the refusal to retain 
counsel, such as when a family member is alleged to be the victim of the 
juvenile’s actions. 

 
b. Appointments of Advisory Counsel:  There is no constitutional right to the 

appointment of advisory counsel to assist a pro se defendant.  However, pursuant to 
case law, the court may appoint private advisory counsel either 1) at the request of an 
indigent pro se defendant, or 2) over the objections of an indigent pro se defendant to 
ensure orderly proceedings and to provide assistance to the defendant.  If the court 
appoints private advisory counsel for an indigent pro se defendant in a criminal case, 
the Judicial Department will pay for counsel, as there is no statutory authority for the 
Public Defender or the Alternate Defense Counsel to advise pro se defendants. 

 
c. Appointments of Contempt Counsel:  Private counsel may be appointed as a special 

prosecutor or as counsel for an indigent person facing contempt charges when 
punitive sanctions may be imposed, in accordance with Rule 107(d) and 407(d) of the 
Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure.  Costs and reasonable attorney’s fees in 
connection with the contempt proceeding may be assessed at the discretion of the 
court. 

 
d. Appointments of Counsel for Grand Jury Witnesses:  A witness subpoenaed to appear 

and testify before a grand jury is entitled to assistance of counsel pursuant to §16-5-
204, C.R.S.   For any person financially unable to obtain adequate assistance, counsel 
may be appointed at state expense.  Pursuant to case law, no attorney who provides 
counsel in the grand jury room may represent more than one witness in a single 
investigation without grand jury permission.  If the court appoints counsel for an 
indigent witness before a grand jury, the Judicial Department will pay for counsel, as 
there is no statutory authority for the Public Defender or the Alternate Defense 
Counsel to represent grand jury witnesses. 

 
e. Appointments of Counsel for Witnesses:  An indigent witness subpoenaed to appear 

and testify in a court hearing may be appointed counsel if the witness requests 
counsel and the judge determines the appointment of counsel is necessary to assist the 
witness in asserting his or her privilege against self-incrimination.  If the court 
appoints counsel for an indigent witness for this purpose, the Judicial Department 
will pay for counsel, as there is no statutory authority for the Public Defender or the 
Alternate Defense Counsel to represent a witness. 
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2. For appointments under this section, the appointing judge or magistrate shall, to the extent 

practical and subject to attorney-client privilege, monitor the actions of the appointee to ensure 
compliance with the duties and scope specified in the order of appointment. 

 
3. Attorneys appointed under this section shall notify the State Court Administrator, in writing, 

within five (5) days of any malpractice suit or grievance brought against them. 
 

4. Appointees shall maintain adequate professional liability insurance for all work performed.  In 
addition, appointees shall notify the State Court Administrator, in writing, within five (5) days if 
they cease to be covered by said liability insurance and shall not accept court appointments until 
coverage is reinstated.   

 
 
IV. Guidelines for Payment 
 
A.  Public Defender Costs 

 

The Public Defender’s Office has attorneys on staff (Deputy Public Defenders) to accept 
appointments.  Court costs and other expenses incurred by the Public Defender shall be billed to 
the Public Defender's Office in accordance with that office's policies and procedures. 
 

B.  Office of Alternate Defense Counsel Costs 
 

Claims for payment of counsel and investigator fees and expenses shall be filed with the OADC.  
A schedule of maximum hourly rates and maximum total fees for OADC state-funded counsel 
and investigators is shown in Attachment D (1).  Court costs incurred by Alternate Defense 
Counsel attorneys and investigators shall be billed to the OADC in accordance with that office's 
policies and procedures. 

 
C.  Other Court-Appointee’s Costs  
 

The fees and costs associated with appointments described under section III. C. shall be paid by 
the Judicial Department as follows: 

 
1.  Fees and Expenses:  Appointments may be made by the courts on an non-contract hourly fee 

basis or contract basis as set forth by the State Court Administrator’s Office.  A schedule of 
maximum hourly rates and maximum total fees for state-funded counsel and investigators is 
shown in Attachment D (2).  Upon appointment of counsel or other appointee, court staff 
shall enter the appointment in the ICON/Eclipse computer system and complete the 
appointment on the CAC system for payment and tracking purposes. Claims for payment on 
hourly appointments shall be entered in the Department’s Internet-based payment system 
(CACS); or, if the Financial Services Division of the State Court Administrator’s Office has 
granted the appointee an exception to the requirement to invoice using CACS, claims for 
payment shall be filed with the District Administrator in the respective judicial district on the 
Request and Authorization for Payment of Fees (form JDF207).  Claims for payment on flat-
fee, contract appointments shall be entered in the Department’s Internet-based payment 
system (CACS); or, if the Financial Services Division of the State Court Administrator’s 
Office has granted the appointee an exception to the requirement to invoice using CACS, 
such claims for payment shall be filed with the State Court Administrator’s Office using the 
process and format required by that office. All requests for hourly payment must be in 
compliance with Guidelines for Payment of Court-Appointed Counsel and Investigators Paid 
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by the Judicial Department for Itemized Fees and Expenses on an Hourly Basis (Attachment 
E) and shall follow the Court-Appointed Counsel and Investigators Procedures for Payment 
of Fees and Expenses (Attachment F).  All hourly payment requests shall be reviewed by the 
District Administrator or his/her designee to ensure that all charges are appropriate and in 
compliance with this directive and applicable fiscal policies and procedures, before 
authorizing the request.  The Office of the State Court Administrator may review, verify, and 
revise, when appropriate, authorizations for payment.  All incomplete or erroneous claims will 
be returned to the attorney or investigator with an explanation concerning the issue(s) 
identified. 

 
2.  Court Costs, Expert Witness Fees, and Related Expenses:  Costs incurred by counsel shall be 

pre-approved, billed to and paid by the appointing court.  Court costs include such items as: 
expert and standard witness fees and expenses, service of process, language interpreter fees, 
mental health examinations, transcripts, and discovery costs.  Payment of all court costs shall 
be in accordance with applicable statutes, Chief Justice Directives, and other policies and 
procedures of the Judicial Department, including the Mandated Costs chapter of the Judicial 
Department’s Fiscal Policies and Procedures manual.  Out-of-state investigation travel 
expenses incurred by the appointee must be accompanied by appropriate travel receipts. 

 
3.  Investigator Appointments:  If a court appointed attorney paid by the Judicial Department 

requires the services of an investigator, he or she shall submit a motion to the court 
requesting authority to hire an investigator.  The court shall authorize such appointments as 
the judge or magistrate deems necessary, and shall issue an order authorizing the amount of 
investigator fees and expenses that may be incurred, not to exceed the maximum fees set 
forth in Attachment D (2).  The Judicial Department shall pay for investigator services under 
these circumstances. 

 
4.  Online Appointee Billing:  Appointees shall invoice the Judicial Department using the 

Department’s Internet-based system (CACS) according to the policies and procedures set 
forth by the State Court Administrator’s Office.  An appointee may request an exception to 
this requirement by contacting the Financial Services Division at the State Court 
Administrator’s Office.  In the request, the appointee shall describe the extenuating 
circumstances preventing the use of CACS for invoicing.  The Director of Financial Services 
or his/her designee shall review such requests and shall have final decision authority 
concerning the granting or denial of the request.  Failure of an appointee to learn or avail 
him/herself of training on the use of CACS is not sufficient cause to warrant an exception. 

 
5.  To maintain the security and integrity of CACS, appointees shall immediately notify the 

Director of Financial Services, or his/her designee, in writing, of any changes in appointee’s 
staffing or practice that may require cancellation or other changes in the CACS login 
authority or credentials of appointee or appointee’s staff. 

 
6.  Failure of appointee to appropriately use CACS shall be sufficient grounds for denial of 

payment and may result in removal from consideration for future appointments. 
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D.  Court Costs, Expert Witness Fees and Investigator Fees of an Indigent Party who is Not 

Appointed Counsel 
 

1. In certain circumstances, a defendant’s court costs, expert witness fees, and/or investigator 
fees may be paid by the Judicial Department even though the defendant is not being 
represented by state-funded counsel (i.e., Public Defender; Alternate Defense Counsel; 
Judicial-paid counsel).  Payment by the local court is appropriate if any of the following 
statements apply:  

 

a) The defendant is indigent and proceeding pro se;  
b) The defendant is indigent and receiving pro bono, private counsel;  
c) The defendant is receiving private counsel but becomes indigent during the course of 

the case, and the court has determined that the defendant lacks sufficient funds to pay 
for court costs, and that it would be too disruptive to the proceedings to assign the 
Public Defender or Alternate Defense Counsel to the case. 

  

2. Court costs include such items as: expert and standard witness fees and expenses, service of 
process, language interpreter fees, mental health examinations, transcripts, and discovery 
costs. An investigator appointed by the court under this section shall be paid in accordance 
with the rates and maximum fees established in Attachment D (2).  A motion requesting 
authorization to hire an investigator, to pay court costs, or for expert witness fees shall be 
submitted to the court. The Court shall authorize such appointments or payments as the judge 
or magistrate deems necessary, and shall issue an order authorizing the amount of the costs, 
fees and expenses that may be incurred under this section.  For maximum rates for payment 
of expert witnesses, see CJD 87-01, as amended. 

 
E. In instances in which fees for activity such as travel time, waiting time, and mileage expenses 

were incurred simultaneously for more than one court appointment, appointees shall apportion 
the fees or expenses across cases, as applicable.   (For example, traveling to/from court would be 
billed 50% on the client A appointment and 50% on the client B appointment if the appointee 
made one trip to cover both clients’ hearings.) 
 

 
V. Reimbursement to the State 
 
A. If the court determines, at any time before, during the course of the appointment (at the court’s 

discretion if questions concerning indigence arise), or after the appointment of state-funded 
counsel, that the person has the ability to pay all or a part of the expenses for representation 
including related, ancillary costs, the court shall enter a written order that the person reimburse 
all or a part of said expenses and inform the responsible party of this obligation.  Such order shall 
constitute a final judgment including costs of collection, and may be collected by the state in any 
manner authorized by law.  The court’s financial review concerning ability to pay counsel fees 
and costs may be accomplished with the use of the judicial district’s Collections Investigator.  If 
the defendant is placed on probation, the court may require payment for the costs of 
representation as one of the conditions of probation. 

 
B. If the court appoints counsel for a juvenile in a delinquency case because of the refusal of a non-

indigent parent, guardian, or other legal custodian to retain counsel for the juvenile, the court 
shall order the responsible party(ies)  (unless the county department of social services or the 
Department of Human Services is the responsible party) to reimburse the state for the costs of 
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counsel unless the court finds there is good cause for the refusal to retain counsel pursuant to 
§19-2-706(2)(b), C.R.S.  

 
C. Collection of fees and costs related to court-appointed representation may be referred to the 

Collections Investigator or a private collector that has an agreement for such collection services 
with the State Court Administrator’s Office. 

 
D. Costs for representation provided may be assessed against the responsible party(ies) at the fixed 

hourly rate for state-funded private counsel, at the state-funded counsel flat fee rate, or at the 
hourly cost of providing legal representation by the Public Defender or Alternate Defense 
Counsel for the number of hours reported by counsel to the court.  Other costs incurred for the 
purposes of prosecution of the case may also be assessed including, for example, costs for 
transcripts, witness fees and expenses, and costs for service of process.  In addition, the 
responsible party(ies) may be required to pay costs of collection.  Costs incurred for 
accommodations required under the Americans with Disabilities Act, such as hearing interpreter 
fees, may not be assessed. 

 
VI.  Complaints 
 
A. All written complaints and documentation of verbal complaints regarding the performance of any 

state-paid counsel shall be submitted to the District Administrator.   
 

B. All complaints shall be referred by the District Administrator to the appropriate agency or person.  
Public Defender complaints shall be submitted to the Public Defender’s Office.  Complaints against 
an Alternate Defense Counsel attorney shall be submitted to the Alternate Defense Counsel Office.  
The District Administrator will forward all other complaints to the presiding judge or, if appropriate, 
the Chief Judge of the district unless a conflict exists due to the judge’s involvement in a pending 
case.  If a conflict exists, the District Administrator will forward the complaint to another judge 
designated for that purpose. 

 
C. If the complaint involves an attorney and the reviewing judge or District Administrator determines 

that the person may have violated the Colorado Rules of Professional Conduct, the information shall 
be filed with the Colorado Supreme Court Office of Attorney Regulation Counsel.  The Regulation 
Counsel shall advise the reporting judge or District Administrator and the State Court Administrator 
of the final outcome of the investigation. 

 
D. Copies of all written complaints and documentation of verbal complaints regarding state-paid 

counsel shall be forwarded by the District Administrator to the State Court Administrator’s Office.  
The State Court Administrator may investigate a complaint and take action he/she believes is 
necessary to resolve any concerns or issues raised by the complaint.  Such action may include, but is 
not limited to, terminating the contract with the attorney. 



Chief Justice Directive 04-04 
Amended July 2011 

 

 9 

 
 

VII.  Sanctions 
 
 

A. All contracts with the Judicial Department for appointments addressed in this Chief Justice Directive 
shall include a provision requiring compliance with this Chief Justice Directive.  Failure to comply 
with this Directive may result in termination of the contract and/or removal from the appointment 
list. 

 
B. Judges and Magistrates shall notify appointees that acceptance of the appointment requires 

compliance with this Directive, and that failure to comply may result in termination of the current 
appointment and/or removal from the appointment list. 

 
 
 
 
CJD 04-04 is amended and adopted effective July 1, 2011. 
 
Done at Denver, Colorado this      28th      day of June, 2011. 
 
 
 
 

                          /s/  
       Michael L. Bender, Chief Justice 

 
 
 



Attachment A 
Chief Justice Directive 04-04 

 

 

 
Applicant Name ________________________________ Court ___________________________________ 
 
Case Number _______________________ Case Name ___________________________________________ 
 
 

FISCAL STANDARDS - ELIGIBILITY SCORING INSTRUMENT 
Use information from Form JDF208 and information provided by applicant during screening interview.  Circle the points in the category that applies and 
transfer to the “Points” column.  Total at end. 
 
 

Factor    Points 
1.   Income Guidelines 
Gross income from all members of the household who contribute 
monetarily to the common support of the household.  Income 
categories include: wages, including tips, salaries, commissions, payments 
received as an independent contractor for labor or services, bonuses, 
dividends, severance pay, pensions, retirement benefits, royalties, 
interest/investment earnings, trust income, annuities, capital gains, Social 
Security Disability (SSD), Social Security Supplemental Income (SSI), 
Workman’s Compensation Benefits, Unemployment Benefits, and alimony. 
 

Gross income shall not include income from TANF payments, food 
stamps, subsidized housing assistance, veteran’s benefits earned 
from a disability, child support payments or other public assistance 
programs. 
 

NOTE: Income from roommates should not be considered if such 
income is not commingled in accounts or otherwise combined with 
the  Applicant’s income in a fashion which would allow the applicant 
proprietary rights to the roommate’s income.)  
 

At or below guidelines 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Up to 10% above 
guidelines 

11% to 75% above 
guidelines (Not 
eligible if income is 
more than 75% 
above guidelines.) 

 

150 100 0  

2.   Expenses vs. Income 
(Expenses for nonessential items such as cable television, club 
memberships, entertainment, dining out, alcohol, cigarettes, etc., 
shall not be included.) 

Monthly expenses 
exceed income by over 
$100 

Monthly expenses are 
within $100 of income  
 

Monthly income 
exceeds expenses 
by over $100 

 

 50 25 0  
3.   Charge (most severe)  vs. Assets which 

could be used to pay defense costs 
(Assets to include cash on hand or in accounts, stocks, bonds, 
certificates of deposit, equity, and personal property or 
investments which could readily be converted into cash without 
jeopardizing the applicant’s ability to maintain home and 
employment.) 

Class 1 – Class 3 
Felony or Habitual 
Offender related 

Class 4 - Class 6 
Felony 

Class 1 - Class 3 
Misdemeanor or 
jailable Traffic 

 

Assets $0 - $750 150 125 50  
Assets $751 - $1,500 125 100 25  
Assets $1,501 - $2,500 100 75 0  
Assets $2,501 - $5,000 75 50 0  
Assets $5,001 - $7,500 50 25 0  
Assets $7,501 - $10,000 25 0 0  
Assets over $10,000 0 0 0  

TOTAL POINTS  

 
150 or greater 
 

 
Less than 150 
 

 Indigent - Eligible for Public Defender 
(Note: Reimbursement of costs of representation may be ordered by the court pursuant to 

Section 21-1-106, C.R.S.) 
 
 

 Not Eligible for State-Funded Counsel 

 
 

 EXCEPTION REQUESTED TO [  ALLOW  /  DISALLOW  ] APPOINTMENT OF  
[  PUBLIC DEFENDER  /  ALTERNATE DEFENSE COUNSEL (if PD conflict)  ] NOTWITHSTANDING 
THE ABOVE SCORE.  (Documentation justifying request is attached.) 
 

 
Evaluated by ____________________________________  _________________________________       _______________ 

         Print/Type Name               Evaluator Signature         Date 
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INCOME ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES 
(amended January, 2013) 

Family Size Monthly 
Income* 

Monthly 
Income plus 

10% 

Monthly 
Income plus 

75% 

Yearly 
Income* 

Yearly Income 
plus 10% 

Yearly Income 
plus 75% 

1 $1,197 $1,317 $2,095 $14,363 $15,799 $25,134 
2 $1,616 $1,777 $2,827 $19,388 $21,326 $33,928 
3 $2,034 $2,238 $3,560 $24,413 $26,854 $42,722 
4 $2,453 $2,698 $4,293 $29,438 $32,381 $51,516 
5 $2,872 $3,159 $5,026 $34,463 $37,909 $60,309 
6 $3,291 $3,620 $5,759 $39,488 $43,436 $69,103 
7 $3,709 $4,080 $6,491 $44,513 $48,964 $77,897 
8 $4,128 $4,541 $7,224 $49,538 $54,491 $86,691 
       

* 125% of poverty level as determined by the Department of Health and Human Services  
       

For family units with more than eight members, add $335 per month to "monthly income" or $4,020 per 
year to "yearly income" for each additional family member. 

       
Source:  FEDERAL REGISTER (78FR5182, 01/24/2013)    
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FISCAL STANDARDS:  PROCEDURES FOR THE DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY 

FOR COURT-APPOINTED COUNSEL ON THE BASIS OF INDIGENCY 
 
A determination of indigency is necessary for certain appointments addressed in Chief Justice 
Directive 04-04.  Any defendant in a criminal case, or the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian in a delinquency case, requesting court-appointed counsel on the basis of indigency must 
apply for counsel as described below.  The Public Defender and court staff will determine the 
applicant’s eligibility for appointment of counsel in accordance with the following procedures: 
 
• The defendant shall apply for the Public Defender by completing the Application for Court-

Appointed Counsel, form JDF208 (Judicial Department Form). 
 
• If the defendant is in custody and cannot post or is not allowed bail, the Public Defender may 

automatically elect to represent the defendant, and will notify the court either verbally or in 
writing of the circumstances. 

 
• If the defendant’s income (or that of a juvenile defendant’s parents/guardians) is at or below the 

income eligibility guidelines and he or she has no assets, as determined on form JDF208, the 
Public Defender may automatically elect to represent the defendant, and will submit the form 
JDF208 to the court to demonstrate eligibility. 

 
• If the defendant’s income (or that of a juvenile defendant’s parents/guardians) is more than 75 

percent above the income eligibility guidelines, the Public Defender will note that the defendant 
is ineligible for court-appointed counsel, and will submit the form JDF208 to the court to 
demonstrate ineligibility. 

 
• If eligibility or ineligibility cannot be determined as described above, the eligibility-scoring 

instrument (Attachment A, CJD 04-04) will be completed, using information obtained on form 
JDF208.  The form is designed to use income and expenses to determine basic eligibility, with an 
added factor for assets available to pay for an attorney.  The points assigned in the “asset” 
category take into account both the dollar value of the assets and the class type of charges against 
the defendant.  This is to address variations in the types of expenses that might be incurred due to 
the nature of the charges. 

 
• The total score will determine whether the defendant will be represented by the Public Defender 

(or the Alternate Defense Counsel in case of Public Defender conflict), or whether the defendant 
is not eligible for representation at state expense on the basis of indigency.  The Public Defender 
or defendant may request an exception to the eligibility determination based on the score and 
may submit documentation of the reasons for the exception to the court, which then has the 
opportunity to make an appointment decision based on all of the information.
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ALTERNATE DEFENSE COUNSEL 
MAXIMUM HOURLY RATES 1 

 

ADC Fees    No Distinction of In/Out of Court Hours     Effective Date* 
Death Penalty Case (excludes travel)  

Attorney      $85.00 per hour       July 1, 2006 
Investigator     $39.00 per hour       July 1, 2006 

Type A Felonies     $68.00 per hour       July 1, 2008 
Type B Felonies     $65.00 per hour       July 1, 2008 
Juvenile, Misdemeanor & Traffic   $65.00 per hour       July 1, 2008 
Authorized Investigator    $36.00 per hour       July 1, 2007 
Authorized Paralegal/Legal Assistant   $25.00 per hour       July 1, 2007 
Travel (regardless of type of case) 
 Attorney     $65.00 per hour       July 1, 2008 
 Investigator     $36.00 per hour       July 1, 2007 
Mileage at rate defined by §24-9-104 C.R.S. - Reimbursement paid per OADC policy. 
 

* For work performed on or after this date (July 1, 2008)  
 

MAXIMUM TOTAL FEES PER APPOINTMENT 
 Appointment Type  With Trial / Without Trial  Effective Date 
 

Class 1 felonies & unclassified   
felonies where the maximum   
possible penalty is death, life  $ 24,000 /12,000   July 1, 2008  
or more than 51 years 
 

Class 2 felonies & unclassified   
felonies where the maximum   
possible penalty is 41 through  $  10,000 / 5,000   July 1, 2008  
50 years 
 

Class 3, 4, 5 and 6 felonies and   
unclassified felonies where the   
maximum possible penalty is  $   6,000 / 3,000   July 1, 2008  
from 1 to 40 years 
 

Class 1, 2, and 3 misdemeanors,  
unclassified misdemeanors, and  
petty offenses    $    2,000 / 1,000   July 1, 2008  
 

Juvenile Cases    $    2,500 / 1,750   July 1, 2008  
 
Juvenile and Misdemeanor Appeals: Refer to OADC web site for minimums/maximums based on 

case classification. 
 
Felony Appeals and Post-conviction: Refer to OADC web site for minimums/maximums based on 

case classification. 
 
Investigator maximum fee is what has been previously authorized by the ADC

                                                           
 
1 Rates may vary pursuant to Chief Justice Directive or ADC Order.  The appointee should contact the Office of the 
Alternate Defense Counsel or visit the web site at www.coloradoadc.org if there is a question concerning the current 
authorized rate. 
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JUDICIAL PAID APPOINTMENTS 
 

MAXIMUM HOURLY RATES 1 
 
All Case Types    In-Court and Out-of-Court  Effective Date* 
Court-Appointed Counsel Fee   $65.00 per hour   July 1, 2008 
 
Authorized Investigator   $33.00 per hour   July 1, 2006 

   
 
Paralegal / Legal Assistant Time   $25.00 per hour   July 1, 2006 
       
* For work performed on or after this date 
 
 

MAXIMUM TOTAL FEES PER APPOINTMENT 
 
 Appointment Type         With Trial / Without Trial  Effective Date 
 
Class 1 felonies & unclassified    
felonies where the maximum   
possible penalty is death, life      
or more than 51 years   $ 24,250 / 12,150   July 1, 2008 
 
Class 2 felonies & unclassified 
felonies where the maximum   
possible penalty is 41 through      
50 years    $ 12,150 / 6,425   July 1, 2008 
 
Class 3, 4, 5 and 6 felonies and   
unclassified felonies where the   
maximum possible penalty is   
from 1 to 40 years   $ 8,575 / 4,300   July 1, 2008 
 
Class 1, 2, and 3 misdemeanors,  
unclassified misdemeanors, and  
petty offenses   $ $2,150 / 1,450   July 1, 2008 
 
Juvenile Cases   $ 2,875 / 2,150   July 1, 2008 
 
  
Appeal    $ 8,575    July 1, 2008 
 
 
Contempt and Witness  $ 1,450    July 1, 2008 
   
 
• Billable time for appeals begins on the date of appointment and is for the appeal portion of the case only. 
• Investigator maximum fee allowed is calculated from the preceding chart using the case classification and the “without trial” maximum, 

exclusive of expenses. 

                                                           
1 Rates may vary pursuant to Chief Justice Directive or Order.  The appointee should contact the local district court, 
State Court Administrator’s Office or visit the web site at www.courts.state.co.us if there is a question concerning 
the current authorized rate. 
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Guidelines for Itemized Hourly Payment:  Judicial Paid Appointments Only 
 

Court-Appointed Counsel and Investigators  
 
A)  Claims for payment on an hourly basis by shall be submitted using the Judicial Department’s online 

CAC System (if the appointee is authorized to use this system) or submitted to the appointing court 
on form JDF207 ("Colorado Judicial Department Request and Authorization For Payment Of Fees") 
including attachments, and shall be in compliance with these guidelines. For appellate counsel only, 
claims for payment shall be submitted directly to the Court of Appeals. The claims and attachments 
shall conform to the Procedures for Payment of Fees and Expenses (Attachment F, this CJD).  In 
accordance with this CJD and all other applicable Department policies and procedures, and upon 
review and approval by the appointing court, the request for payment will be sent to the State Court 
Administrator’s Office (SCAO) for processing.  The SCAO may review, verify, and revise, when 
appropriate, such authorized requests for payment. 

 
B)  A schedule of maximum hourly rates for court-appointed counsel is established by the Supreme 

Court in Attachment D (2) and/or by Chief Justice Order.  No payment shall be authorized for 
hourly rates in excess of the Chief Justice Directive or Order.  The maximum total fee that 
may be paid to court-appointed private counsel for representation on a case is established in 
Attachment D (2).  This maximum includes appointee fees (both contract flat fees plus hourly, 
as applicable), allowable incidental expenses, paralegal, legal assistant, and law clerk time.  To 
find the allowed maximum total fee for investigators, exclusive of expenses, use the case 
classification type and the “without trial” maximum from the chart in Attachment D (2).  
 

 1. If there are unusual circumstances involved in the case and the appointee determines that 
additional work must be completed that will create fee charges over the maximum allowed, pre-
approval for fees in excess is to be obtained by submitting a Motion to Exceed the Maximum to 
the presiding judge/magistrate.  (While there may be exceptions in which pre-approval is not 
possible before additional work is performed, seeking pre-approval should be the norm.)  If 
satisfied that the excess fees are warranted and necessary, the presiding judge/magistrate should 
approve such motion. The District Administrator (or designee) should deny further payment 
unless accompanied by a Motion to Exceed the Maximum and an order granting the Motion by 
the presiding judge or magistrate. 

  
 2. The Motion to Exceed the Maximum must cite the specific special and extraordinary 

circumstances that justify fees in excess.  The judge or magistrate, in his or her discretion, may 
grant approval with an Order for Fees in Excess which provides a maximum up to 150% of the 
established maximum as outlined in Attachment D (2) of this Chief Justice Directive.  A 
subsequent Motion to Exceed Maximum must be submitted for the same appointment if total 
fees are expected to further exceed the maximum established by the judge or magistrate. 

 
C)  All court appointees and investigators must submit their JDF207 or invoice using CACS, as 

applicable, to the court within six months of the earliest date of billed activity.  For example, 
for an invoice containing work performed from January 1, 2010 through June 14, 2010, the court 
must receive the bill by June 30, 2010.  Any court appointee or investigator desiring to request an 
exception to the 6-month rule based on unusual circumstances shall make such request in writing to 
the Director of Financial Services at the SCAO, or the Director's designee, whose decision 
concerning payment shall be final.  Before an exception will be considered, the request must detail 
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the extraordinary circumstances concerning a bill or portion of a bill wherein the activity does not 
fall within the six-month rule. 

 
D)  The District Administrator or his/her designee will carefully review all hourly payment requests 

submitted for approval.  To assist in this review, attorneys and investigators must submit a detailed 
itemization of in-court and out-of-court hours with each request for payment as outlined in 
Procedures for Payment of Fees and Expenses, Attachment F.  Authorization for payment is not 
automatic, and the District Administrator (or designee) must be satisfied that the number of hours 
billed and expenses charged are appropriate and necessary for the complexity of the issues involved.  
If there are questions concerning the reasonableness of the bill, the appropriate judge or magistrate 
will be consulted.  If reimbursement to the state is to be ordered and such order is not already 
entered, the District Administrator or his/her designee shall notify the appropriate judge.    

 
E)  Requests by appointees for reimbursement of expenses must include itemized statements and 

accompany the request for payment. In addition, such requests must comply with Maximum Hourly 
Rates/Maximum Fees Per Appointment as set forth in Attachment D (2).  When practical, a 
paralegal or legal assistant should be used for tasks that require legal expertise but can be done more 
cost-effectively by an assistant, such as drafting court motions or performing some legal research.  
The billable hourly rate for a paralegal or legal assistant time is found in Attachment D (2). The 
Judicial Department does not pay for the time of administrative support staff.  Therefore, charges for 
time spent on administrative activities, such as setting up files, typing, copying discovery or other 
items, faxing documents, making deliveries, preparing payment requests, and mailing letters are not 
reimbursable costs.  Attorneys are expected to have sufficient administrative support for these 
activities. 
 

1. Certain court costs are paid individually by the appointing court (not SCAO) with prior 
court approval.  The appointing court pays court costs incurred by counsel.  Counsel or 
investigators should submit the bills for items listed below directly to the local court and 
should not include these costs for reimbursement on the Request for Payment form 
(JDF207) nor through online billing. 
 
Costs Paid Locally by the Individual Court 
• Cost of subpoenas; 
• Fees and expenses of witnesses; 
• Service of process; 
• Language interpreters; 
• Mental Health examinations/evaluations; 
• Transcripts; 
• Discovery Costs (including: Lexis Nexis research charges, medical records, etc.) 

 
2. Court-appointed counsel and investigators may request reimbursement for certain 

reasonable out-of-pocket expenses that are incurred on behalf of their clients.  The 
following expenses may be claimed on the Request for Payment form (JDF207) or using 
CACS.  
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Other Allowable Expenses 
• Copy charges at the rate of $0.10 per page (specify the number of copies made); 
• Mileage at the rate defined by §24-9-104 C.R.S. (the actual number of miles must be 

specified for each trip); 
• Long-distance telephone calls at cost (if total billing exceeds $50, it must include a 

copy of the telephone bill with the following information highlighted: date, phone 
number, and charges); 

• Postage at cost (regular 1st class mail charges); 
• Reimbursement for delivery and express mail charges are only reimbursable for a case 

on appeal.  A receipt or invoice for these charges must be attached to the order for 
payment; 

• Requests for payment of overnight travel or out-of-state travel require prior authorization 
by the court and must be in accordance with state travel regulations as described in the 
Travel section of the Colorado Judicial Department’s Fiscal Policies and Procedures 
manual.  Out-of-state travel expenses incurred by the appointee shall be submitted to 
the court using form JDF207 with the appropriate copies of travel receipts included. 

 
3. The following items are not authorized for payment or reimbursement. 

 
Non-Allowable Expenses 
• Phone calls when no contact is made (i.e., no answer, client not available or message 

left to call back, etc.); 
• Fax charges; 
• Parking Fees; 
• Items purchased for indigent (or other) persons represented which includes meals, 

books, clothing, and other personal items; 
• Administrative activities (as previously discussed) 
• Electronic filing fees for which state funded counsel appointments are exempt; 
• Any other cost or expense not authorized under Colorado law or Chief Justice 

Directive for payment by the state or reimbursement to counsel or other party. 
 
F)  In any case in which a payment has been made to the attorney by a party who is later determined 

to be indigent, the state will reimburse the attorney for the total number of hours expended on the 
case, less any payments received from the party for fees incurred prior to the determination of 
indigence.  The payment calculation is at the allowed Chief Justice Directive and/or Chief Justice 
Order hourly rate applicable to when the activity occurred. 

 
G)  Attorneys shall maintain records of all work performed relating to court appointments and make 

all such records available to the Judicial Branch for inspection, audit, and evaluation in such form 
and manner as the Branch in its discretion may require, subject to attorney/client privilege. 

 
H)  The Judicial Department will review and respond promptly to any question or dispute concerning 

a bill received, submitted, or paid. However, due to research time and record retention 
limitations, there is a time restriction of two years for billing questions and disputes. The two-
year restriction starts from the activity date (or date of service) that is in question.  For prompt 
resolution concerning questions or disputes concerning hourly or contract payment requests, all 
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questions and disputes must be directed to the local court or State Court Administrator’s Office 
immediately when issues arise.   
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Judicial Paid Appointments 
 

*  Procedures for Payment of Fees and Expenses  * 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
These procedures apply to requests for payment of fees and expenses for court-appointed counsel, 
other appointees, and investigators paid by the Judicial Department on an hourly basis.  Payment 
requests shall be submitted via the Department’s online CAC System (CACS) in accordance with the 
policies and procedures set forth by the State Court Administrator’s Office or, if an exception has 
been granted pursuant to Section IV.C.4. of this Chief Justice Directive, by using the standardized 
"Colorado Judicial Department Request and Authorization For Payment of Fees” form JDF207 
(Judicial Department Form).  Completion, including attachments, should adhere to the procedures 
described below.  Requests for payment that do not include the necessary information will be 
returned to the appointee or to the court for completion or correction. 
 
All appointees, both hourly and contract, who have not yet received payment from the Judicial 
Department must submit a completed W-9 form and, if applicable, an “Authorization to Pay a Law 
Firm” form before a payment can be issued.  Payments are issued/submitted to whomever the 
attorney has authorized and approved on W-9 and “Authorization to Pay a Law Firm” forms.  
Therefore, if an attorney is no longer with the law firm indicated on a prior W-9 and/or Authorization 
to pay a Law Firm, he/she must complete a new form(s) and submit them to the Financial Services 
Division at SCAO.  The forms are available from the court or from the Financial Services Division 
by calling (303) 837-3639. 
 
To change only the mailing address, send the address change to the Colorado Judicial Department, 
Financial Services Division, 101 W. Colfax, Suite 500, Denver, CO 80202, or call for e-mail 
instructions. 
 
Billing for Representation of Client with Multiple Cases:  When billing for multiple cases in 
representation of the same client (i.e., companion cases), the appointee should work with the 
Financial Services Division at the State Court Administrator’s Office to ensure the 
appointments/cases are designated as “concurrent” for billing purposes.  Appointees must use the 
“Concurrent Appointment Notification” form, which is available from the Financial Services 
Division upon request.  This applies to situations in which activity occurs simultaneously in the 
representation of the party across the multiple cases (example: the appointee attends a single court 
hearing during which more than one of the client’s cases is discussed) and allows for the activity to 
be billed once via a “master” case.  Cases in which the appointee’s activity does not overlap multiple 
cases should not be billed concurrently, and should instead be billed by submitting separate invoices 
for each respective case. 
 
When an attorney is appointed to continue on a case for the purposes of appeal, payment shall be on 
an hourly basis even if the original appointment was on a contract, flat fee basis. 
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A. PROCEDURES FOR BILLING 
 
1. Detail of Itemized Billing 
 
Time sheets must be attached to the JDF207 to support the summarized hours billed.  (If CACS 
online billing is used, the detail is entered in this system.)  Time must be described in sufficient detail 
to justify the amount of time spent on the activity.  Time reported must include all time spent 
between the beginning and ending dates of the billing and must be in chronological order.  Time 
sheets must be legible – preferably typed.  Expenses must be described.  A sample itemization is 
shown on the next page. 
 

Rates may vary pursuant to Chief Justice Directive or Order.  The appointee should contact 
the local district court, State Court Administrator’s Office or visit the web site at 
www.courts.state.co.us  if there is a question concerning the current authorized rates.  
 

a. The billing detail and itemization needs to include date, distinguish between out-of court and 
in-court time, and a description of service performed.  Time must be billed in tenths of an 
hour using the decimal system.  One-tenth of an hour is equal to six (6) minutes.  For 
example, 12 minutes is charged as 0.2 hours. 

b. Mileage itemization must include the date of the trip, the purpose of the trip, and the number 
of miles traveled for each trip. 

 
2. Other Attachments 
 

a. Investigators must include the order of appointment appointing the attorney for whom the 
investigator is working, the court’s order authorizing an investigator, and the amount of 
expenses the investigator may incur. 

 

b. If the total fee request (including past payments and the current invoice) exceeds the 
maximum fee allowed by this Directive as specified in Attachment D (2), a copy of the 
court’s order authorizing fees beyond the maximum must be submitted.  Submitting this copy 
once is sufficient as long as subsequent billings remain within the newly authorized amount. 

 
c. If total expenses exceed $50, all receipts or invoices for those expenses must be submitted 

with the invoice.  If using CACS online billing, submit the receipts to the local court and 
clearly indicate the case number and billing time frame for which the receipts relate. 

 
d. All receipts for any expenses outside of the guidelines and an explanation for the additional 

costs must be submitted. 
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John  Sample, Attorney at Law 
 

 

  Date           Activity     In-court Out-of-court Paralegal 
05/06/10    Court appearance –pending charges   0.4 
05/06/10    Conf with client, father and DA          1.1 
06/05/10    Review family service plan           0.5 
06/09/10    Court appearance, plea, sentencing    0.3    
06/10/10    Meet with client to discuss placement         1.0 
06/11/10    Prepare motion to reconsider placement          0.2 
08/07/10    Travel to Lookout Mtn Detention round trip (57 miles)       1.4  
08/07/10    Conf. With client/staffing at Lookout Mtn.         1.0 
08/07/10    Draft restitution Motion            0.2     
08/14/10    Restitution Hearing       0.3   
Dates of service 05/6/10 – 08/14/10 Total hours   1.0        5.0       0.4 
 

SUMMARY OF FEES Activity:  
 6.0 hours @ $65 per hour $390.00
 0.4 hours @ $25 per hour $10.00
 TOTAL FEES $400.00
   
TOTAL MILEAGE 57 miles @ $0.45 per mile (or rate defined by §24-9-104 C.R.S.) $25.65
   
SUMMARY OF OTHER 
EXPENSES 

Copies: Police report and complaint = 12 pgs @ 
$0.10 

$1.20

 Postage $0.44
 TOTAL OTHER EXPENSES $1.64
  

TOTAL BILLING $427.29
 
 
 
COMPLETION OF THE JDF207 (Hourly Billing if not billing online) 
 
Completion of the JDF207 form is required by the Judicial Department for payment of court 
appointees appointed on an hourly basis unless the appointee has been authorized to invoice using 
CACS (online system).  The appointee should keep a copy and submit the original plus one copy.  
All applicable sections of the form should be completed as indicated in the instructions.  Attach all 
required documents before submitting to the local court.  All incomplete Requests for Payment will 
be returned to the appointee for correction(s). 
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Section I. 
Enter the case number of the charges being billed.  When billing for multiple cases in representation of 
the same client (i.e., companion cases), enter all applicable case numbers.  If the bill is for appellate 
charges, include the appeal case number and the original case number being appealed. 
 
Include the name and number of person/(s) represented, the name of the case, applicable county, name 
of appointing judge/magistrate and current judge/magistrate.  Indicate if the case jurisdiction is district or 
county. 
 
Section II.  
Enter all applicable appointee information, attorney registration number, name, complete address, phone, 
fax, e-mail.  If the address has changed, check new address box. For more information concerning 
changes, review the General Information section in this attachment.  
 
The Social Security Number or Tax Id Number must be included on each JDF207 (for more information 
concerning authorized payee changes, review the General Information section in this attachment). 
 
Indicate the appointment date, if you are an original or substitute appointee, if the case has or has not 
gone to trial, if the case was originally under contract. If originally under contract, explain why an hourly 
bill is being submitted and the date circumstances changed resulting in hourly billing.  
 
Section III.  
Indicate the type of representation provided.   
 
Section IV. 
Indicate the authority/statute title allowing for the appointment.  This is indicated on the original 
appointment form/order.  
 
Section V. 
The indigency status of the person represented must be noted.  If the person is found indigent, use the 
date of determination.  If the person is not indigent, indicate which statement is applicable to the 
party represented and if reimbursement is to be ordered by the presiding judge.  This information is 
usually included in the order of appointment or may be found in the application for court-appointed 
counsel (form JDF208) or another affidavit of indigence, as requested by the court. 
 
Section VI. 
Under this section all charges are to be summarized.   
 
For the activity from date, enter the first chronological date of activity billed from the itemized detail 
document.  For the activity to date, enter the last chronological date in which activity occurred as 
itemized in the detail document.  Group the start and to date for activities in which the effective date 
of the rates (as set by Chief Justice Directive or Chief Justice Order) are the same. 
 
Instructions for summarizing attorney hours and fees are located on the reverse side of the Request 
and Authorization for Payment of Fees form (JDF207) #5.       
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For non-attorney billing activity, summarize all non-attorney hours by category.  Next, apply the rate 
as set by Chief Justice Directive or Chief Justice Order and enter the total charge requested in the 
right column.  Summarize all expenses by type, apply the correlating rates and/or receipts and enter 
the total charge per category.  Charges must correspond to attached receipts.   
 
Total all charges and calculate total amount billed. 
 
Include all prior amounts invoiced for the appointment in the “Total Amount Previously billed” line, 
(excluding the current request). 
 
Determine the cumulative total of fees charged by appointee for the case by adding the “Total 
Amount Previously billed” plus the current request amount.  If the cumulative total is over the 
authorized maximum, check the indicator box “Exceeds allowed maximum”.  Include the Motion to 
Exceed Maximum and the approved Order to Exceed Maximum (if possible, this should be 
judge/magistrate pre-approved and not requested after services are performed).     
 
Appointee signature and date are required. 
 
If this is the final bill, check the “Final Bill” box.  
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APPLICATION FOR PUBLIC DEFENDER, COURT-APPOINTED COUNSEL, OR GUARDIAN AD LITEM 
Pursuant to §21-1-103(3), C.R.S., a processing fee of $25.00 may be collected by the court upon final disposition of this case. 

 

Case number: _____________________Court Room: _________________________________________ District: ____________________________ 

Most serious charge: ________________________________________________ Next hearing date/Type: __________________________________ 
All sections must be completed.  Print neatly.  If an item does not apply, write N/A. 

Applicant Applicant’s Employer 
Name ____________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address ____________________________________________ 

Street Address (if different) ____________________________________ 

City, State, Zip _____________________________________________ 

Phone number _____________________________________________ 

Soc. Sec. No. ____________________ Birthdate __________________ 

Driver’s License No. ____________________ State ________________ 

Company  _________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address ____________________________________________ 

Street Address (if different) _______________________________________ 

City, State, Zip _____________________________________________ 

Phone Number _____________________ Position _________________ 

Length of Employment _________________ Hours/Week ___________ 

Pay Dates: _______________________  Pay Rate: $_______________ 
Other Household Members (Spouse, Parent, etc.) Other Household Member’s Employer  
Name ____________________________________________________ 

Relation to Applicant _________________________________________ 

Mailing Address ____________________________________________ 

Street Address (if different) ___________________________________ 

City, State, Zip _____________________________________________ 

Phone number _____________________________________________ 

Soc. Sec. No. ________________________ Birthdate ______________ 

Driver’s License No. ______________________ State ______________ 

Company  _________________________________________________ 

Mailing Address ____________________________________________ 

Street Address (if different) _______________________________________ 

City, State, Zip _____________________________________________ 

Phone Number ___________________ Position __________________ 

Length of Employment ________________ Hours/Week ____________ 

Pay Dates: _______________________  Pay Rate: $_______________ 

Marital Status:  Single   Married   Separated   Divorced    Total Number of Dependents (including yourself):___________ 
Gross Monthly Income (See definitions 
on reverse for further information.) 

Amount Monthly Expenses (See definitions on 
reverse for further information.) 

Amount 

Self (wages, salary, commission) $ Rent/Mortgage $ 
Spouse/Other Household Members  Groceries  
Parents (if same household)  Utilities  
Unemployment Benefits  Clothing  
Social Security/Retirement Funds  Maintenance/Alimony and/or Child Support  
Maintenance/Alimony   Medical/Dental   
Other Income (see Page 2)  Other Expenses (identify source)  
Other Income (see Page 2)  Other Expenses (identify source)  
Total Household Income $ Total Expenses $ 
Assets Amount Description 
Savings Account Balance $ Name of Bank:                                                         
Checking Account Balance  Name of Bank:                                                         
Value of Vehicles  Year and Model: 
Value of Recreation Vehicles   Amount Owed: $ 
Value of House  Type: 
Value of Other Property   Type: 
Value of Stocks, Bonds, Mutual Funds   Type: 
Value of Other Investments  Year and Model: 
Total Assets $ Convertible to Cash = $ 
References: 
1. Name/Address/Phone ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. Name/Address/Phone ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Guidelines:  

At or below or Above or 
Automatically eligible for PD/GAL/RPC   ( In custody &/or bond allowed Out on bond ) or  
Refer to scoring instrument (Criminal, Misdemeanor, Traffic, Juvenile Delinquency cases )   

 

Signature of investigator/clerk/PD:________________________________________      Date: ___________________________ 
I swear under penalty of perjury that the above-contained information is true and complete.  I also understand that if the court grants 
this request, I may later be ordered to reimburse the State of Colorado for attorney fees spent on my behalf. 
 

Client signature ____________________________________________________          Date:  __________________________ 
 

Signature of judicial officer: ____________________________________________        Date: ___________________________ 
 

Request:   granted or denied 
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APPLICATION FOR PUBLIC DEFENDER, COURT-APPOINTED COUNSEL, OR 
GUARDIAN AD LITEM 

 
General Information 

 
It is important that you accurately complete all sections of this form as appropriate based on your 
personal circumstances.  If a section does not apply, please write N/A .   
 
 
A.  Gross Monthly Income.  Includes income from all members of the household who contribute monetarily to 
the common support of the household.    
 

 Income categories to include: 
Wages, including tips, salaries, commissions, payments received as an independent contractor for 
labor or services, bonuses, dividends, severance pay, pensions, retirement benefits, royalties, 
interest/investment earnings, trust income, annuities, capital gains, unemployment benefits, Social 
Security Disability (SSD), Social Security Supplemental Income (SSI), Workman’s Compensation 
Benefits, and alimony. 

 
Note:  Income from roommates should not be considered if such income is not commingled in accounts or 
otherwise combined with the applicant’s income in a fashion which would allow the applicant proprietary rights 
to the roommate’s income. 
 

 Income categories do not include: 
TANF payments, food stamps, subsidized housing assistance, veteran’s benefits earned from a 
disability, child support payments, or other public assistance programs. 

 
  
B. Liquid Assets.  Includes cash on hand or in accounts, stocks bonds, certificates of deposit, equity, and 

personal property or investments which could readily be converted into cash without jeopardizing the 
applicant’s ability to maintain home and employment. 

  
 
C. Expenses.  Nonessential items such as cable television, club memberships, entertainment, dining out, 

alcohol, cigarettes, etc., shall not be included.  Allowable expense categories are listed on JDF 208. 
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