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TO: Interested Persons
FROM: Jessika Shipley, Senior Analyst, 303-866-3528

SUBJECT: Jessica'sand Amber's Lawsin Colorado

This memorandum explains the status of Jessica's and Amber's Laws in Colorado. It
provides a short explanation of Jessica's Law and a side-by-side comparison with the provisionsin
Colorado law governing the sentencing and registration of sex offenders. The memorandum also
explains the federal Amber Hagerman Child Protection Act and how it has been implemented in
Colorado.

Jessica's Law

Model act. Jessica'sLaw istheinformal name of the Jessica Lunsford Act, a 2005 Florida
law addressing the punishment and supervision of sex offenders who target children. Jessica
Lunsford was a nine-year-old girl who was raped and murdered in February 2005 by an individual
with aprior conviction for asex offense. The Floridalaw has been used asamodel act for several
other states, although not every statewith aversion of Jessica'sL aw hasenacted all of theprovisions
of the Floridalaw.

The Florida act made seven major changes to the laws governing the registration of sex
offenders. It:

* increased the penalty for lewd and lascivious mol estation of achild (under the age of 12)
to life imprisonment or a split sentence of a mandatory minimum 25-year prison term,
followed by lifetime supervision with electronic (satellite) monitoring;*

* increased the period of time from 20 to 30 years before an individual can petition the
court to remove a sexua predator designation;

» alows prosecutors to seek the death penalty in cases where the victim of a sex offense
is murdered;

lLewd and lascivious molestation of a child is defined as intentionally touching in alewd or lascivious manner the breasts, genitals, genital area,
or buttocks, or the clothing covering them, of aperson lessthan 16 years of age, or forcing or enticing a person under 16 years of age to so touch the
perpetrator (Section 800.04 (5), Fla. Stat. Ann.). In Florida, sexual battery or rape of achild lessthan 12 years of ageisacapital felony, punishable
only by death or life imprisonment with no chance of parole.



» elevated failure to register as a sex offender or harboring a sex offender from aclass 4
felony to aclass 3 felony;

» requires al convicted sex offenders who are ordered to have an electronic (satellite)
monitor during probation to be monitored electronically for the entire period of
probation;

 increased the sex offender reporting and registration requirements;? and

* requires county probation officialsto search the sex offender registry any timethey are
assigned a new offender.

Federal law. A versionof Jessica'slaw, also called the JessicalL unsford Act, wasintroduced
in the U.S. House of Representatives in 2005, but never came to avote. The bill addressed the
registration and monitoring of convicted sex offenders, but did not impose mandatory minimum
sentences.

Comparison of Jessica's Law and Colorado Law

Table 1 provides a side-by-side comparison of the provisions added to Florida law by the
Jessica Lunsford Act in 2005 and current Colorado law with regard to sex offenses committed
against children. Thetable compares such things as mandatory minimum sentences, theremoval of
a sexual predator designation, authority to seek the death penalty, sex offender registration
requirements, and el ectronic monitoring of sex offendersinthecommunity. Attachment A provides
a short explanation of the indeterminate sentencing scheme for sex offenders under Colorado law
and Attachment B discusses sex offender registration in Colorado.

2An individual who is designated a sexual predator under Floridalaw isrequired to report in person twice ayear, in the month of hisor her birthday
and again during the six months following the birth month.
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Table 1

Comparison of the Provisions of Jessica's Law and Colorado Law on Sex Offenders

Subject

Jessica's Law

Colorado

Mandatory minimum
sentences for serious sex
offenses on a victim who
is under the age of 12

An individual convicted of lewd and
lascivious molestation of a child, who is
not sentenced to life, must be sentenced
to at least 25 years imprisonment,
followed by probation or community
supervision for the remainder of the
individual's natural life.

Most sex offenders in Colorado are subject to the
Colorado Sex Offender Lifetime Supervision Act
of 1998. Additionally, most sex offenses against
children are subject to enhanced sentencing
provisions. See Attachment A for an explanation
of indeterminate sentencing of sex offenders.

Petitions to
sexual
designation

predator

remove a

An individual must wait 30 years after
being designated as a sexual predator
prior to petitioning the court to remove
the designation.

Designation as a sexually violent predator is
made during the probation or parole process
using a risk assessment tool and by a
determination of the court. It may be appealed,
but the designation may not be removed.

Death penalty

Prosecutors may seek the death penalty
in cases where the child victim of a
sexual predator dies during (or as an
immediate result of) lewd and lascivious
molestation.

Prosecutors may seek the death penalty in cases
where an individual commits sexual assault on a
child and the victim dies during (or as an
immediate result of) the sexual assault.

Failure to register as a sex
offender

Third degree felony, punishable by a
term of imprisonment not to exceed 5
years.

A first offense is a class 6 felony (punishable by
1 year to 18 months in prison, a fine of $1,000 to
$100,000, or both) and a second offense is a
class 5 felony (punishable by 1 to 3 years in
prison, a fine of $1,000 to $100,000, or both).
Depending on the circumstances of the case, an
individual may petition to be removed from the
sex offender registry.

Harboring a sex offender

Third degree felony, punishable by a
term of imprisonment not to exceed 5
years.

Itis a class 5 felony to harbor an individual who
has committed, been convicted of, or is charged
with a crime, or is suspected or wanted for a
crime that is a class 3, 4, or 5 felony (all felony
sex offenses fall into one of these three
categories).?

Electronic monitoring

All sexual predators are required to be
monitored electronically, via global
positioning satellite (GPS), for the entire
period of probation.

Electronic monitoring, including GPS, is used as
a sentence by the courts in lieu of jail. It is also
used as a condition of bond for pre-trial
supervision, as well as for monitoring some
residential and non-residential parolees outin the
community. All offenders who are subject to
Intensive Supervision Program Parole (ISP-P)
are monitored electronically.*

3A class 5 felony is punishable by one to three years in prison, a fine of $1,000 to $100,000, or both.

“The ISP-P was established by statute for high risk-high needs offenders who present increased risk to the community. These offenders would not
generally be considered as good candidatesfor parole by the board and would not receive favorable consideration for rel ease (discretionary) because
of the risk posed were it not for the increased supervision, surveillance, and contact by community parole officers this program offers.
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Table 1 (Cont.)
Comparison of the Provisions of Jessica's Law and Colorado Law on Sex Offenders

Subject Jessica's Law Colorado

Sex offender registration | Sexual predators are required to report | Sexually violent predators and individuals subject
and reporting | inperson tore-register twice a year. to lifetime supervision must register quarterly
requirements (every 90 days). All other sex offenders re-
register annually. (See Attachment B for details
of the Sex Offender Registration Act of 2002.)

County probation officials | County probation officials are required to | In Colorado, probation cases are assigned
search the state sex offender registry | according to judicial district, rather than by
any time they are assigned a new | counties. Probation officers are not statutorily
offender. required to check the sex offender registry,
although some may do so as a matter of local
policy. Probation officers do receive presentence
reports, which include a criminal history, on every
offender.

Amber'sLaw

Amber Hagerman Child Protection Act. Amber'sLaw, aso knowsasthe Amber Hagerman
Child Protection Act, isafederal law enacted in 1996. It is named after anine-year-old Texas girl
who was kidnapped and murdered in 1996. The act provided for the creation of a national sex
offender registry and requires offenders with two or more convictions for sex offenses against
children to be sentenced to life without parole. It also led to the creation of the America's Missing:
Broadcasting Emergency Response (AMBER) Alert system, whichisanational child abductionalert
system.

AMBER Alert in Colorado. The AMBER Alert Program wasimplemented in Coloradoin
2002. Thelaw definesan abducted child asonewhois 17 yearsold or younger and isinimmediate
danger of serious bodily harm or death, and establishes a procedure for local law enforcement
agencies and the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) to follow when a suspected abduction
occurs.® The process includes the following steps:

» verifying the accuracy of the abduction report;

* issuing an aert viathe state emergency aert system; and

» cancelling the alert when the child has been found or the notification period expires,
whichever occurs first.

The AMBER Alert Program has been used atotal of 59 times since its inception in 2002,
with 79 children being recovered. The program is funded through a combination of General Fund
dollarsand gifts, grants, and donations. The exact amount spent on the program is unknown due to
thismixed funding mechanism. Additionally, variousunitsand officesinthe CBI provideresources
and staffing support as needed.

SSection 24-33.5-415.7, C.R.S.



Attachment A

I ndeter minate Sentencing for Sex Offendersin Colorado

According to the Colorado Sex Offender Lifetime Supervision Act of 1998, defendants who
are convicted of most sex offenses, including sexual assault and almost all offenses involving
children and family relations, are to be sentenced to the custody of the Colorado Department of
Correctionsfor an indeterminate term of at | east the minimum of the presumptiverangefor thelevel
of offense committed and a maximum of the offender's natural life. The sentencing scheme for all
applicable offensesis outlined in Table 2.

Table 2.

Sentencing Scheme for Sex Offenders under the

Colorado Sex Offender Lifetime Supervision Act of 1998

Normal
Presumptive Crime of Maximum Sentence under Mandatory
Class of Crime Range Violence Lifetime Supervision Parole
Class 2 81024 1610 48 The court is required to sentence a sex 5 years
years years : . ‘
offender to prison for an indeterminate
41012 810 24 term of at least the minimum sentence in
Class 3 the presumptive range and a maximum of S years
years years s .
the sex offender's natural life.
Class 3 (extraordinary 410 16 10 to 32 .
risk of harm®) years years If convicted for a sex offense that 5 years
constitutes a crime of violence, the court
| 2t06 410 12 is required to sentence the sex offender to
Class 4 years years prison for an indeterminate term of at 3 years
least the midpoint in the presumptive
Class 4 (extraordinary 2to 8 510 16 range for the level of offense and a
: ; ) 3 years
risk of harm?*) years years maximum of the sex offender's natural
life.
1to3 2t06
Class 5 . 2 years
years years If the sex offender committed a sex y
i offense that makes him or her eligible for
Class 5 (extraordinary lto4 25108 sentencing as an habitual sex offender 2 years
risk of harm?) years years against children,** the court is required to
h sentence the sex offender to prison for an
Class 6 1 year tk? 15 months | inqeterminate term of at least three times 1 year
18 months | t03years | the maximum in the presumptive range
. for the level of offense and a maximum of
Clqss 6 (extrai)rdmary 1102 18 months the sex offender's natural life. 1 year
risk of harm®) years to 4 years

*Felony crimes that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society include, but are not limited to, any Section 18-1.3-406 crime of
violence which includes sex offenses. Extraordinary risk of harm sentencing does not apply to Class 1 or Class 2 felonies. In all cases,
the minimum sentence for Class 1 felonies is life imprisonment and the maximum sentence is the death penalty.

**Any person convicted in Colorado of an unlawful sexual offense against a child who has been previously been convicted of an unlawful
sexual offense against a child, in this state or under the laws of any other state or under federal law, must be adjudicated by the court
as an habitual sex offender against children.



Attachment B
Registration and Sex Offendersin the Community

The Sex Offender Registration Act (Sections 16-22-101, et. seq., C.R.S.) was enacted in
2002. Definitions of the four sex offense classifications used in the act are listed in the
corresponding statutes: (1) enticement of a child;® (2) unlawful sexual offense;’” (3) unlawful
sexual behavior;® and (4) sexually violent predator.’

Whomust register? Colorado law requirestheregistration of any personwhoisatemporary
or permanent resident of Colorado and who:

» was convicted on or after July 1, 1991, of an unlawful sexua offense or
enticement of achildinthe state of Colorado, or an equivalent offensein another
state or jurisdiction;

* was released on or after July 1, 1991, from the Colorado Department of
Corrections (DOC) or any other state's corrections department, having served a
sentencefor an unlawful sexual offense or enticement of achild, or an equivalent
offense in another state or jurisdiction;

» wasconvicted on or after July 1, 1994, in Colorado of unlawful sexual behavior
or of another offense, the underlying factual basis of which involved unlawful
sexual behavior;

* isreleased from the custody of the DOC on or after July 1, 1994, after serving a
sentence for unlawful sexual behavior or for another offense, the underlying
factual basis of which involved unlawful sexual behavior;

» isconvicted of an offense in any other state or jurisdiction for which the person
isrequired to register in the state or jurisdiction of conviction, or for which such
person would be required to register if convicted in Colorado;

» recelvesadisposition or isadjudicated ajuvenile delinquent for committing any
act that may constitute unlawful sexual behavior; or

» receives a deferred juvenile adjudication for committing any act that may
constitute unlawful sexual behavior.

For the purpose of sex offender registration, any person from another state who occupies a
dwelling in Colorado, including a hotel or motel, for more than 14 days in any 30-day period is
considered atemporary resident. Sex offenderswho live in another state, but work or go to school
in Colorado are considered temporary residents. Theterm "other jurisdictions' includes, but is not

¢ Section 18-3-305 (2), C.R.S.
7 Section 18-3-411 (1), C.R.S,
® Section 16-22-102 (9), CR.S.

® Section 18-3-414.5 (1), C.R.S.



Attachment B

limited to, federal and military jurisdictions. Sex offenders who are convicted and sentenced in
Colorado, but move to another state upon their release must register in that state.

A court can exempt asex offender from the regi stration requirementsif: (1) the person meets
certain guidelines (e.g., the person was under the age of 18 at the time of the commission of the act);
and (2) the court determinesthat the requirement would be unfairly punitive and that exempting the
sex offender from the registration requirement would not pose asignificant risk to the community.
Prior to making adecision to exempt asex offender fromtheregistration requirement, the court must
give the prosecuting attorney and the victim a chance to be heard at a hearing.

Who notifies sex offenders of the requirement to register? DOC personnel, county jail
personnel, and probation and parole officers must notify sex offenders upon conviction or release
from custody of their duty to register with local law enforcement in each and any jurisdiction in
which they reside in the United States. In addition, Department of Human Services, Division of
Y outh Corrections personnel must notify juvenile sex offenders under their jurisdiction of the duty
to register.

Whereandwhen do sex offendersregister? Sex offendersmust register with either thelocal
chief of police or county sheriff in each and any jurisdiction in which they reside, whether in
Colorado, another state, or in multiple locations. The CBI maintains the statewide sex offender
registry in Colorado.

Registration must occur within five business days of one of the following: (1) release
into the community under criminal justice supervision (e.g., probation, parole, community
corrections); (2) notice of the requirement to register, if not incarcerated but sentenced directly to
community supervision; or (3) establishment of temporary, permanent, or secondary residence(s) in
the state. In addition to these requirements, sex offenders who are subject to lifetime registration
must re-register 90 days after their release into the community, and every 90 days thereafter. Sex
offenderswho arereleased from prisonin Col orado or another statewith no further supervision must
register the next business day following their release. Sex offenders are required to cancel their
registrationinajurisdictionif they moveand are no longer apermanent or temporary resident of that
jurisdiction.

What information must sex offenders provide upon registration? When registering, asex
offender must provide the following on a standardized form prepared by CBI:

* name, including any and all legal names or aliases;
* dateof hirth;

e address,

» place of employment;

e al eemail addresses;

* any instant messaging and/or chat room identities;
» acurrent photograph; and

» afull set of fingerprints.
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Sex offenders who are temporary residents of Colorado must also provide their addressin
their state of permanent residence and their place of employment in Colorado. Sex offenders who
areemployed at, are enrolled in, or volunteer for aninstitution of higher education must providethe
name and address of the institution, and all addresses and locations at which the person may be
physically located at theinstitution. Any sex offender whose place of residenceisatrailer or motor
homeisrequired to register the address at which the trailer or motor homewill be lawfully located.
Motor vehicles may not be listed a place of residence.

How often and under what conditions are sex offenders required to re-register? Sex
offendersmust re-register annually ontheir birthday. 1naddition, sex offendersmust re-register any
time they change addresses, establish additional residences, or legally change their name. Sex
offenders who are employed at, are enrolled in, or volunteer for an institution of higher education
must re-register when they begin studying or working at an institution as an employee, student, or
volunteer, and upon any change in work status or location at the institution. Also, if atrailer or
motor home is moved to another location, it isthe sex offender's responsibility to update his or her
registration information.

Certain sex offendersmust register quarterly (every 90 days) for theremainder of their lives,
including any person who'is:

» asexually violent predator;

» convicted in Colorado as an adult of any of the following: (1) felony sexual
assault, or first degree felony sexual assault or second degree felony sexual
assault, as they existed prior to July 1, 2000; (2) sexua assault on a child,;
(3) sexual assault on achild by onein aposition of trust; (4) sexual assault on a
client by a psychotherapist; (5) incest; or (6) aggravated incest;

» convicted in another state or jurisdiction of an offense for which aperson in that
state or jurisdiction must register quarterly; and

» convicted of an offense in another state or jurisdiction that would require the
person to register if the conviction occurred in Colorado.

Can a sex offender ever beremoved from theregistry? Sexually violent predators and sex
offenders who are subject to lifetime registration cannot be removed from the registry. Other sex
offenders can petition the court to discontinue their registration or the posting of their information
on the Internet, as long as they have not subsequently received a disposition for, been adjudicated
ajuvenile delinquent for, or been otherwise convicted of any sexual offense. Depending on the
offense for which they were convicted or factors surrounding the disposition of their case, sex
offendersareeligibleto request removal fromtheregistry anywherefromthetimethey successfully
complete their sentence to 20 years after their final release from the jurisdiction of the court.

What arethe penaltiesfor failing to register asa sex offender? Failureto register asasex
offender isaclass5 felony, aclass 6 felony, or aclass 1 misdemeanor, depending on the frequency
and the circumstances of the failure to register.
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I sthe public notified when sex offenders are released into the community? Community
notification is only mandated for sexually violent predators. The law contains a legislative
declaration from the General Assembly stating itsdesire to mandate community notificationonly in
cases involving the highest degree of risk to the community, and its belief that such notification
should only occur under carefully controlled circumstances.

The Sex Offender Management Board (SOMB), which is administered by the Colorado
Department of Public Safety, Division of Crimina Justice, establishes criteria, protocols, and
procedures under which asexually violent predator is subject to community notification. Theboard
also devel opsthe proceduresfor community notification, which local law enforcement agenciesmust
follow. The procedures require that notification be as specific as possible to the popul ation within
the community that is at risk. Because there is wide variation in the size, population, law
enforcement resources, and technol ogical capabilitiesof local jurisdictionsacrossthestate, theboard
developsseveral proceduresand permitslocal jurisdictionsto sel ect themost appropriateone. Thus,
the procedures that are used at the local level vary in accordance with the size, population, and
resources of each jurisdiction.

Local law enforcement agencies are required to conduct local notification when a sexually
violent predator is released into their jurisdiction. If there is a change to the sexually violent
predator's status that might put another area of the community at risk, such as the sex offender's
establishment of a new residence or place of employment, an additional notification may be
necessary.

Local law enforcement agencies can also make a list of registered sex offenders in their
jurisdiction available to the public for afee.

What information about sex offenders can be released to the public? Colorado law
containsalegid ative declaration fromthe General Assembly stating that the public must have access
to information concerning sex offenders so that they can protect themselves and their children.
However, the legislative declaration aso states that in making the information available to the
public, it isnot theintent of the General Assembly that the information be used to inflict retribution
or additional punishment on any convicted sex offender.

Anyonein Colorado may request information about sex offenders, regardless of wherethey
live. When requested, local law enforcement agencies may, but are not required to, release the
following information about a sex offender, at a minimum:

* name, address or addresses, and aliases of the person;

» the person's date of birth;

» aphotograph of the person, if requested and readily available; and
» the conviction resulting in the person's duty to register.
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If alocal law enforcement agency denies the request for this information by a person who
lives outside its jurisdiction, the agency may forward the request to CBI, which must provide the

information to the person who has requested it. Information about victims is not permitted to be
released.

I sinformation about sex offenders available on the I nternet? CBI isrequired to post on
the Internet alist of sex offenders who are:

» sexualy violent predators under the laws of Colorado or another state;

» personswho are required to register and have been convicted of two or more of
the following offenses: (1) felony unlawful sexual behavior; or (2) a crime of
violence; and

» personswho are required to register because of afelony conviction as an adult,
but have failed to register.

In addition, the CBI may post on the Internet alist of felony sex offenders. Thelists of sex
offenders posted by CBI are to include the sex offender's name, physical description, and address.
Physical description includes the person's sex, height, weight, any identifying characteristics, and
photograph. The CBI website can be accessed at: www.sor .state.co.us.

L ocal law enforcement agencies may post on the Internet registration information about sex
offenders on their registration list, if the sex offender is:

» anadult convicted of afelony sex offense;

» an adult convicted of a second or subsequent offense of any of the following:
(1) sexual assault; (2) unlawful sexua contact; (3) sexual assault on a client;
(4) sexual exploitation of achild by possession of sexually exploitive material;
(5) indecent exposure; or (6) sexual conduct in apenal institution;

* ajuvenile adjudicated for two or more offenses involving unlawful sexual
behavior or for acrime of violence; or

* ajuvenilewhoisrequired to register following adjudication for an offense that
would have been afelony, if committed by an adult, and has failed to register.

Any law enforcement agency that posts sex offender registration information on a public
website must a so post educational information concerning protection from sex offendersor provide
alink to the educational information included on the CBI web site. Educational material posted on
the Internet is to be developed by local law enforcement agencies, in cooperation with the SOMB
and sexual assault victims advocacy groups. Arapahoe, Boulder, El Paso, Jefferson, Larimer, and
Weld Counties, among others, currently post information about sex offenders online.
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